3.9

Reviews of The Metropole

James's Street, R95 D922 Kilkenny, Ireland

  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    It’s a good place to stay according with the price that you’re paying. It’s one of the cheapest hotel in the city so you can’t expect too much as you’re paying less than the usual. All the facilities was good and the hotel was clean. The shower didn’t turned on properly but was okay too.

  • Raymond

    Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Very Bad It's old, run down properly. I slept on top of the bed in my clothes. It felt dirty. Electronic doors, but yet someone just walked into my room.

    Property response:

    jayus pity about you!!!

    The Metropole
    28 August 2025
  • Erin

    Reviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Location

    Pubes on pillow case

  • 7.0 Good
    Tim

    Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Darren

    Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Norah

    Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Room filthy, no door on shower, no cold water from tap in sink, shower drain blocked

  • Sean

    Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Location

    The fleas in both beds in the room, 15 was the kill count and what can you do. I had to sleep there. Shower needed a grouting job, not hugely expensive, toilet seat needs fixing. Carpets stained. Bed clothes good exceot for animal life which I have not seen for 50 years.

  • Delaney

    Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    This place is fine if you just need a place to sleep for a night after a night out.

  • See the property
  • Javier

    Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Nothing at all

    Cleanness, furniture, atention, the hot water tap on the bath was broken, the room seemed fron 50s. The room was not cleaned on all the time. And IT was imposible to talk with anyone of the staff.

  • Riho

    Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Hmmmmmm

    Not

  • Abdeldjalil

    Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    I didn't expect a hotel in Europe to be this dirty.

    Dirty mattresses Spiders everywhere No water in the bathroom Only two towels for two people

  • See the property
  • 7.0 Good
    Mark

    Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Dylan

    Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Damien

    Reviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Nothing

    A shit hole why would booking.com have this.false advertisement

    Property response:

    for cheap gobchites like you!!!

    The Metropole
    13 August 2025
  • See the property
  • 3.0 Poor
    Danny

    Reviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Location was good

    Musty smell from the room, place wasnt very clean, the whole place ws very rundown

  • Karen

    Reviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    It was very close to the pubs and restaurants

    No tv in the room or cups for cup off tea or tea bags

  • 7.0 Good
    Bernie

    Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • 3.0 Poor
    Declan

    Reviewed: 8 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Great location..

    Key app worked occasionally, no staff in the building at all, shower door was broken. Stains on the walls, carpet and towels.

  • Mcmenamin

    Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Stains on floor, mould in bathroom Overall very poor condition and hallway to need room is in poor condition

  • See the property
  • Catherine

    Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Nothing

    It is not a hotel

    Property response:

    we never said we were also 3 nights centre of town double room bank holiday weekend for 250 what did you expect the Sherbourne!!! you should treat partner to a decent couple of nights away and not to be such a cheap git

    The Metropole
    14 August 2025
  • Mullins

    Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Giammarcopasqua

    Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    There were weird dirty stains on my sheets and the ceiling was covered by mosquitos

  • See the property
  • Linda

    Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Location is very central. that is probably the only positive thing i can stay about this place.

    "Staff" were not present on site, and when i contacted them they were less than helpful.

    Property response:

    40 euro pp for accommodation in city centre what did you expect the taj mahal!!!

    The Metropole
    13 August 2025
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Newpark Hotel

Kilkenny, Ireland

Kilkenny House Boutique Hotel

Kilkenny, Ireland

Barra Sul Hotel

Balneário Camboriú, Brazil

Comfort Suites Tulsa Central

Tulsa, United States

The Melrose

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom

Finca Los Ciruelos Casas Rurales

Icod de los Vinos, Spain

La Terrasse de Marie-Jeanne

Carcassonne, France

Linden Cottage II

Great Rowsley, United Kingdom

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...