Reviews of The Long Barn
Reen, Myross, Skibbereen, West Cork, Skibbereen, Ireland

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 14 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe authentic rustic feel of the barn, the fire to warm the cooler evenings. Loved the escape from city life.
Place could be a little cleaner of dust and cobwebs etc
Reviewed: 3 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 13 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe place was done and decorated with taste. Gorgeous little bathroom, very cute kitchen, all in wood and all working. Charming and in a secluded location for a quiet time in a very natural environment.
Reviewed: 7 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewWe had a lovely four nights at the Long Barn. We were given a very warm welcome and were given the freedom to enjoy the property at our own leisure. Even though it was the middle of winter, it was possible to get the barn warm in a short space of time thanks to the excellent log burner. The kitchen was well equipped and the living space was spacious and easy to use. Nice bathroom with powerful hot water too.
It was all fine for us. Maybe the accommodation is ready for a simple freshen up in time for the summer season, is all I'd suggest.
Reviewed: 28 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewNice quiet location
No complaints
Reviewed: 6 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 2 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewLocation Hosts Animals
Nothing
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again, perhaps as a neighbour!
Reviewed: 21 May 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewDuring our recent stay at The Long Barn, we found the location to be easily accessible with clear instructions provided by the owners. The barn had all the necessities and felt just like a home.
However, we did encounter a few issues. There was a slight musty smell, but it wasn't too bothersome. We also noticed that the floorboards leading to the kitchen and dining area were a bit uneven which is a potential hazard . On the last night of our stay, we heard some movement a noises coming from the kitchen, as it turned there was rodent droppings under the kitchen sink,understanably mice are commonly found in an old building but not a nice thought for guests on there stay. It was a bit unsettling for us, and we had to throw away our food left on the counter. Despite these issues, we appreciated our stay at The Long Barn and hope that the owners will address these concerns for future guests.
What a shame you obviously didn't enjoy your stay in West Cork. We investigated and found no sign of rodents, there is no "trip hazard" in the floor, and no musty smell we, or any of our other satisfied guests, could detect. From the scores you gave, you clearly didn't like the location (5 out of 10), which is remote West Cork, hence the 5 out of 10. We take great pains to point out that this is a remote retreat, five minutes drive from the nearest village. It is a converted barn situated in wild gardens on an organic headland. If you are looking for a cheap alternative to hotel accommodation, you might well be disappointed: go and stay in the West Cork Hotel - you will be much happier. If you are looking for a very good value, lovely relaxing stay close to nature, far away from modern stresses, we can gaurantee you will be delighted.
What a shame you obviously didn't enjoy your stay in West Cork. We investigated and found no sign of rodents, there is no "trip hazard" in the floor, and no musty smell we, or any of our other satisfied guests, could detect. F… Show more
Reviewed: 20 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 9 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewThe peace & quiet. Beautiful location with friendly chickens and dogs greeting us!
Nothing!
Thanks for the fab reivew. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much!
Reviewed: 16 March 2024 · Stayed in January 2024
Verified reviewThanks for the fab review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
Reviewed: 15 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified reviewLovely house. Very tastefully renovated. Comfy bed, great shower, fully equipped kitchen. Plenty of privacy. A little remote, but then that's the idea, isn't it?
Nothing really
Thanks for the fab review. It is remote, but, as you say, that is one of the fundamental attractions to stressed out city folk!
Reviewed: 15 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023
Verified reviewThe beautiful remote, tranquil location of the house and its expansive organic grounds, amazing scenery in all directions incorporating rugged countryside, harbours, lakes, hills and winding roads with wonderful views. Richard and Joan were exceptional and went to great trouble to welcome us and make our stay so comfortable and relaxing and we enjoyed so much also the free range organic eggs from the hens roaming freely around the grounds. It was a memorable and most enjoyable stay. We are definitely going back.
We have no complaints whatsoever, only praise.
So glad you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon! Best, Richard.
Reviewed: 3 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023
Verified reviewTranquil location, lovely rustic and cozy property. Comfortable bed and absolute quietness at night . Long awaited escape from the city . Friendly and accommodating owners .
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Makes sharing the space really worthwhile.
Reviewed: 16 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewPlaying fetch with rocks from the sea with my 2 new best friends pixie and bailey
Haha! Yes, they are keen to play! We are soon going to be upgrading the main bed to a king-sized bed - guests want larger beds these days. Hope you enjoyed the chocolate and banana cake! Best, Richard.
Reviewed: 9 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewLovely and rural area with plenty to explore
I appreciate the rustic charm of the property but I still would expect it to feel clean which is didn’t in my opinion. The bedroom radiators didn’t work causing it to feel and smell very damp through the barn and no response from the owner to resolve the issue when asked meaning my stay was uncomfortable. I’m not usually one to moan as long as I have somewhere comfortable to sleep but the two nights I had to go it of my way to overcome the issues best I could, which as a paying guest I don’t feel is acceptable. Overall with a little tlc it really could be a really lovely place. Maybe better to visit in the summer so the damp/mould not so apparent but sadly I won’t be doing that given my recent experience
Hi there. We're extremely sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in the Barn. The radiators in the bedrooms do work, it's just a question of turning them on. We've had previous guests turn them off saying the Barn is too hot! This is what must have happened. There is someone at home at all times - I dont know why they didnt hear your knock, and I have received no messages or phone calls, so naturally assumed everything was fine. Please do come again for free and we'll show you what a fabulous place the Barn is. Best wishes. The Long Barn
Hi there. We're extremely sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in the Barn. The radiators in the bedrooms do work, it's just a question of turning them on. We've had previous guests turn them off saying the Barn is too ho… Show more
Reviewed: 26 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewAbsolutely nothing
Firstly it was impossible to find with absolutely no signage whatsoever on the road for it When we eventually found it the property was tucked away behind the owners house barely could make the entrance out, upon entering the property your immediately hit with a musty smell, the place was damp, cold & with mould around the windows, doors & bath. The washing machine, fridge & tumble dryer had rust on them the whole place lacked care & attention utterly disappointing we didn’t stay a night there
Thanks for your feedback, Anonymous. I've now included a picture of the tumble dryer, with the "rust" on it, in the property photos, just so that people can make their own minds up about this review. If you zoom in on the photo, in the very middle of the bottom of the door, is a speck of rust about a centimetre long. We will fix that.
Thanks for your feedback, Anonymous. I've now included a picture of the tumble dryer, with the "rust" on it, in the property photos, just so that people can make their own minds up about this review. If you zoom in on the phot… Show more
Reviewed: 18 July 2023 · Stayed in July 2023
Verified reviewthe location was perfect for the quiet relaxing break we wanted. The area is very quiet and quite isolated so was perfect for just relaxing. Very peaceful.
Because we wanted a quiet, relaxed break everything was fine.
Thanks for your review. I'm not sure why you marked a quiet, relaxed break as "unhappy"? Perhaps that was a mistake?!
Reviewed: 10 July 2023 · Stayed in June 2023
Verified reviewComfortable facilities in quiet surroundings.
Unfortunately the back door lock didn't work which caused problems with the owner's dogs getting in and taking some of our food while we were out.
Sorry about that. The dogs do not generally approach the barn unless encouraged to do so by people staying there. We advise everyone staying not to offer scraps to the dogs, and shoo them away if they do approach or they will be pestered no end - they are labradors, and a labrador is a walking stomach! The lock has been fixed.
Sorry about that. The dogs do not generally approach the barn unless encouraged to do so by people staying there. We advise everyone staying not to offer scraps to the dogs, and shoo them away if they do approach or they will be pestered no… Show more
Reviewed: 21 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023
Verified reviewSome directions before arrival
Hi there, You're not the only guest to have said our directions are not great. How can we improve them? Did you not get our arrival instructions email? It should be sent out automatically by the website. Many thanks.