Reviews of Academy Pension
1014 Budapest, 21 Országház utca, Hungary

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewI am happy with the staying
Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewVery authentic setting in good part of buda
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewIt is very clean, nicely decorated and the lady at the reception is extremely polite!
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe location was second to none. You really did have to pinch yourself with how beautiful everything was and the Fishermans' Bastion was just about around the corner!! There was also cooling, which on a really hot night was very much appreciated.
There was a big solid door and no sign on it, so I rang the doorbell. Only to be told by someone there to 'greet' me in a deadpan voice and looking like they'd just woken up that "It was open...". The greeting didn't get better as I asked for some help with directions that were dismissed. After the epic ride there, to be greeted so coldly was disappointing. There was also a really loud group across from me. Not the hotel's fault, but it made for an unpleasant night. I had to ask them to settle down. It was very reasonably priced, I guess you get what you pay for as the room was fairly basic and the shower head fell off as soon as any water pressure was added.
Dear Guest! Thank you for your feedback. Our guesthouse is in an excellent location, in the middle of the castle quarter. However, it may not be easy to find your way around the many historical buildings. Neon signs are not allowed in such an environment. We specifically ask our guests to provide their arrival time, but unfortunately not everyone does, and sometimes we have to cancel the guest's arrival at night. We apologize if you did not find the tone with the colleague, he only indicated that the door was open, because banging and ringing the bell can also disturb other guests. Our guesthouse's pricing does not allow us to have a host for every guest, but we are sorry that you had a loud argument with other guests. We try to remain a quiet place. Our average clientele continues to be researchers and academics, who choose us for the silence.
Dear Guest! Thank you for your feedback. Our guesthouse is in an excellent location, in the middle of the castle quarter. However, it may not be easy to find your way around the many historical buildings. Neon signs are not allowed in such… Show more
Reviewed: 4 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewQuiet area in Buda Castle District
6 nights and not once were the beds made, or glasses replaced after drinking orange juice. When asked for room to be made up all they did was replace towels. Air conditioner wasn’t great, didn’t really cool the room.
Dear Guest! You have booked a room in our guesthouse at a very discounted price. You have not booked a hotel room. We are sorry that you did not indicate your requirements. As a general rule, we do not touch the bed if the guest's personal belongings are in it. We try to fulfill all guest requests. Sorry, but we do not watch when you drink orange juice. Hundreds of clean glasses are available for our guests. We are glad that you liked the location. Akadémia Panzió
Dear Guest! You have booked a room in our guesthouse at a very discounted price. You have not booked a hotel room. We are sorry that you did not indicate your requirements. As a general rule, we do not touch the bed if the guest's pers… Show more
Reviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewBest location, beautiful antique furniture, great ambiance
The beds could have been more comfortable
Reviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewPerfect location, clean, and beautifully decorated
Thank you very much your kind words. You are very nice !
Reviewed: 20 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLovely old house in really good location 😍
Thank you for your kind words.
Reviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat staff, good location in historic district with good connection to public transit
breakfast selection was pretty limited (though staff one day offered to fry up some eggs and provide some variety:)
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed: 11 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat location, clean
Nothing to dislike
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed: 4 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewFab stay near the bastion. Location was good and the room was lovely
Only minus was we thought it would have Aircon. In the end it didn't matter as we kept the windows open and it cooled down really well.
Thank you for your feedback. The air conditioning is working again in your room.
Reviewed: 19 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe location is in the Buda castle, close to all the historical sites. The apartment was convenient.
A bit old.
Thanks the feedback
Reviewed: 19 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 18 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful olde-world setup with antique furniture, much appreciated air-con, lovely staff, basic but varied breakfast options. Brilliant location in a really beautiful (and quiet!) street and a couple of minutes away from Fishermen's Bastion and Mathias Church. We'll definitely book again when we return to Budapest!
N/a
Thanks
Reviewed: 14 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe hotel was charming and clean. The location was convenient and close to a bus stop. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Thank you very much for the feedback!
Reviewed: 8 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 7 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReally nice hotel for a perfect price. The location is amazing, within walking distance of several locations for sightseeing and public transport. The service was great and everyone was extremely helpful.
Thank you for your kind words, our dear guest.
Reviewed: 6 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThis place is a hidden architectural gem in a quiet beautiful historic neighborhood, just ever so very slightly off the beaten tourist track, but only by a tiny bit. Walk just a few steps and you are in the middle of everything. This really is the ideal location. If it is available, it should be booked immediately without hesitation.
The ideal location. The historic building. The friendly hosts. The quiet beautiful neighborhood. The convenient proximity to the most beautiful views in all of Europe.
Thank you for your kind words, our dear guest.
Reviewed: 27 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe location was excellent!
The Wi-Fi was pretty bad. They had placed extenders around the hallways, but at least for our room it was inadequate. I would suggest extenders in every occupied room. The breakfasts were good but a bit on the lean side compared to other hotels.
Thank you very much for the feedback!
Reviewed: 18 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 12 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful hotel in a beautiful location.
Bathroom raidiators needs a dust but that is a minor issue the hotel an staff were brilliant.
Thank you very much for the feedback!
Reviewed: 12 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 9 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewBrilliant location. Staff very friendly, unobtrusive but right there and almost prequessing what we needed and ready with a suggestion and solution.
Too short a stay for us. Will go back and highly recommend.
Thank you very much for the feedback!