Reviews of New Garden Hostel
62 Nathan Road Flat F1, Floor 5, Mirador Mansion, Yau Tsim Mong District, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 24 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewThe location is good.
Dirty, the toilet door cannot lock.
hello, thank you for your review. we are a family style hostel located in the prime area of tsim sha tsui. we provide high value for money and very good for budget travelers who don't need luxury facilities like swiming pool and gym. we are a great place for accommodation and very accessibility to different places of hk. I hope to see you again!
hello, thank you for your review. we are a family style hostel located in the prime area of tsim sha tsui. we provide high value for money and very good for budget travelers who don't need luxury facilities like swiming pool and gym. we… Show more
Reviewed: 8 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewwe got an upgrade for 2 out of 3 nights. but it was a bunk bed for the first night which was not what I booked.
We had to build the bunk beds together because the wooden plate on the metal construction was so instable that we feared it would break. also in the upgraded room the noise was almost unbearable. a lady from the staff decided to renovate the room next to us at 2am (!!!) in the night, moving fridges and other heavy stuff. we had to complain in the middle of the night and could not sleep. no windows.
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for your experience. Your reservation was for a standard twin room with a shared bathroom, which is why we provided you with that room. Regarding the issues on your first day, we offered you a complimentary room change to one with a private bathroom. Although the first night's experience was not ideal, we worked to resolve it. We kindly ask for another opportunity to serve you better.
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for your experience. Your reservation was for a standard twin room with a shared bathroom, which is why we provided you with that room. Regarding the issues on your first day, we offered yo… Show more
Reviewed: 7 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewGood location, close to MTR.
The hostel only has free luggage storage until 2pm. You need to leave a good review if you want to extend the session without paying. The real room is totally different from the picture. The hostel used my room as storage room (all the stuff in the pictures are not mine) as I don't have enough space for myself. The reception is on another floor but the lift is one way only, people need to transfer on ground floor before going to the reception level. They only have one staff for the whole building, more than 10 people is waiting for check in when I arrived. And nobody answer the phone/WhatsApp/ Booking enquiry (they asked me to visit the reception). They don't have enough people for cleaning either, room is not ready after 3pm. No hair dryer. I was trying to get one from the staff but she said she was busy. She promised to get me one later but I never get it until I left.
thank you for your review. hk land is expensive and our luggage is small and limited. unlike many other small guesthouses that dont even provide luggage storage service, we can provide to specific guests only. thank you for your understanding. when you arrive, it's the peak checkin hours, and people were lining up. we have improved recently to facilitate self checkin. guests can add our what s app or we chat in advance. guest will get the room card and self checkin handbook and can go to the room directly. For other potential guests, we would avice you to avoid the peak checkin hours of 3-5pm. once your booking is confirmed, the room is reserved and you may arrive anytime after peak hours. thank you very much for your advice. as the business is growing, indeed we are hiring more front desk officers. have a great day!
thank you for your review. hk land is expensive and our luggage is small and limited. unlike many other small guesthouses that dont even provide luggage storage service, we can provide to specific guests only. thank you for your understandi… Show more
Reviewed: 30 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 10 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewThe room very small, location very noisy, scrounging very dirty, and no reception area to ask.. NO person to ask during our stay. Very bad experience with our stay..
We are a hostel, it is not fair for us to match the standard of a hotel with such a low price. We are a budget hostel and our guests choose us because of our cheap prices. We have our own costs and budgets, just like our guests. Our problems are: the rooms are not very big, the rooms are on different floors, the front desk is not staffed 24 hours a day, etc. But to solve these problems, we have different types of rooms. However, in order to solve these problems, we have different types of rooms, guests can upgrade their rooms if they are not satisfied, and we have a professional receptionist and lounge area (because hotels usually do not have a receptionist), and will show guests to their rooms. We try our best to solve the needs of our guests, and at the same time, we also try our best to improve the facilities and standards of the rooms, we are now redecorating some rooms every day to meet the requirements of our guests. Thank you for your understanding and tolerance of us. --Melisa
We are a hostel, it is not fair for us to match the standard of a hotel with such a low price. We are a budget hostel and our guests choose us because of our cheap prices. We have our own costs and budgets, just like our guests. Our problem… Show more
Reviewed: 17 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewnice and budget friendly. Clean room and accommodating staff. They give us free upgrades and let us keep luggage for free after check out. Thank you!
Your favorable comments on the quality of our services are greatly appreciated! We always uphold the principle of guest-oriented, through professionally trained staff and high-quality service facilities, to create an unforgettable accommodation experience for each guest. We look forward to providing you with even more satisfactory service next time!--Melisa
Your favorable comments on the quality of our services are greatly appreciated! We always uphold the principle of guest-oriented, through professionally trained staff and high-quality service facilities, to create an unforgettable accommoda… Show more