8.8

Reviews of Apart-Hotel "El Lago"

4-05 5A Calle, Zona 1, 01001 Guatemala, Guatemala

  • Edward

    Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Jade

    Reviewed: 26 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    10/10

  • Jade

    Reviewed: 26 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely host!! Very helpful and friendly! Great location, close to airport and bus stop if heading to Flores

  • See the property
  • Alexander

    Reviewed: 19 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    It’s very nice and so close to everything. The host is as super nice and very helpful. He answered all the many questions we had. I really enjoyed the stay here

    Didn’t find anything bad

  • Elana

    Reviewed: 16 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Booking.com let me book a room that was overbooked, oops, but when I got there the employee yelled at me because of booking.com, insisting he sent a message earlier which he had not (I got the message about the cancellation just as I arrived), and didn’t even want to let me sit in the lobby to figure out next steps, even though I’m a woman traveling alone and might was falling. If you’re looking for actual hospitality and safety, don’t stay here.

    The employee was one of the meanest people I’ve ever met while traveling.

    Property response:

    Dear Elana. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We truly regret that your experience was not as expected and understand how these situations can be frustrating. However, we believe it's important to clarify the context in a respectful and transparent manner. At the time you made your reservation, we promptly informed you via message that an overbooking had occurred due to a technical issue on the Booking.com platform — an external digital travel agency. Despite having read this message, you chose to arrive at the property and verbally demanded a room that had already been communicated as unavailable. Our team remained courteous and initiated the relocation process in line with our customer service standards. Nonetheless, it is also our responsibility to ensure a safe and respectful environment for both guests and staff. We have an active video surveillance system that supports our version of events. Please note that Amaya Centro Histórico is a privately owned business, and as such, we reserve the right of admission. We strive to uphold values of respect, safety, and hospitality at all times. Unfortunately, your actions did not align with these values, and we believe it is important to acknowledge this. We are proud of the many positive reviews we receive from guests who value our team's warmth and professionalism. In this case, a guest misconduct report has been filed, as your behavior was incompatible with the type of experience we aim to provide. We sincerely wish you all the best in your future travels. Sincerely, Operations Management Amaya Centro Histórico

    Dear Elana. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We truly regret that your experience was not as expected and understand how these situations can be frustrating. However, we believe it's important to clarify the context in a respectful… Show more

    Apart-Hotel "El Lago"
    16 May 2025
  • Gerzon

    Reviewed: 17 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Maxim

    Reviewed: 9 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Very cool and helpful host, a few blocks from the main Sq, pretty safe and clean.

  • Derek

    Reviewed: 3 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Host doesnt communicate properly when you are sounding the bell outside expect to be kept out for an hour at least.

    It was ok

  • Brian

    Reviewed: 29 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Really enjoyed our stay here…. Such reasonable value for what is essentially an apartment with everything you need (kitchen, tv, bathroom) Our host Juan was such a lovely guy…. Gave us loads of recommendations for Guatemala City and the area we were staying… He was so knowledgeable as well and even gave us some very solid recommendations for our next destination in El Salvador. A true gent and we will definitely return here the next time we’re in Guatemala City.

    No complaints really… Keep in mind it is very central so it can get a little bit noisy but not too bad. Same as most other central locations.

  • See the property
  • Johnny

    Reviewed: 20 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review
  • Marco

    Reviewed: 28 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review
  • Linda

    Reviewed: 24 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Helpful and informative host, clean facilities, comfy beds, privacy curtains, close to markets and local sights.

    Only thing I'd change is to have coffee in the morning.

  • See the property
  • Robert

    Reviewed: 8 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Perfect location for zone 1. Very good value for money. Hostel felt very safe. Host gave valuable information and advice.

    Worth mentioning very noisy with traffic outside. Would have been great if we could have dropped our bags before check in time.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience! We're delighted to hear that you found our location convenient, our hostel safe, and our service valuable. Your feedback truly means a lot to us. We appreciate your understanding regarding the city noise—being in the heart of Zone 1 does come with its lively atmosphere. We'll definitely take your comment into account to keep improving our guests' comfort. As for early bag drop-off, we always do our best to accommodate requests whenever possible. On your next visit, feel free to reach out to us in advance, and we'll be happy to assist you with your luggage. We hope to welcome you again soon! Safe travels!

    Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience! We're delighted to hear that you found our location convenient, our hostel safe, and our service valuable. Your feedback truly means a lot to us. We apprec… Show more

    Apart-Hotel "El Lago"
    8 February 2025
  • Hendrik

    Reviewed: 29 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Rien

    DANGER, DON’T BOOK HERE. If staying at Amaya Centro Historico, you are taking risks for your safety and that of your fellow travellers! This is the first time that I feel obliged to warn guests not to book at a place, after 10+ happy years on booking.com. I have also asked booking.com to take Amaya Centro Historico from their website to avoid any harm for their customers, with video evidence documenting the agressive, threatening and dangerous behaviour of the hotel owner. The erratic hotel owner exploded after I kindly inquired about the use of the kitchen (foreseen in the booking) and mentioned (again, politely) that it was unfortunate that the use of kitchen was not possible. As documented in the video recording sent to booking, the owner of the Amaya centro historico hotel, shouted at me, threatened me and kicked me out, leaving me out in the street with my belongings as the sun went down. District One, in Guatemala City, where the hotel is located, becomes with the night fall a high crime area in one of Latin America’s more dangerous capitals. The hotel owner knowingly put me at risk and even refused to let me stay in the lobby for a few minutes additional minutes to let me find another hotel, threatening me again. After my complaint on booking.com, the owner sent me a message falsely claiming that I had recorded his employees, though he was the only person present in the lobby when I felt obliged to record him kicking me out, shouting at me, threatening me and saying that, as a business owner, he did not need to provide any reason (so no mention of his fiction of me filming his employees). I think my polite remark about the unavailable kitchen must just have triggered a mental break down. I really hope that booking.com takes the necessary steps to take out this hotel, to avoid any physical harm to hotel guests getting kicked out in the dangerous streets of districts one for no reason and with no warning in the middle of the night.

    Property response:

    Dear Hendrik, We take guest feedback very seriously, and we would like to clarify the circumstances surrounding your stay to provide an accurate representation of the events. 1. Unauthorized Recording & Policy Violation: Your reservation was terminated due to your engagement in unauthorized video recordings of our staff, which is a direct violation of both our internal policies and Guatemalan law (Law 4487-2014), which explicitly prohibits recording inside private property without consent. This policy is in place to protect the privacy and security of both our staff and our guests. 2. Kitchen Availability & Early Check-in Courtesy: Before your early check-in at 13:00, which was granted as a courtesy, you were explicitly informed that the kitchen would not be available due to renovations. You accepted the reservation as is, knowing this limitation in advance. As an alternative, you were granted access to another kitchen, which you chose not to use. 3. Misrepresentation of Events: Your description of the situation is exaggerated and misleading. At no point were you left in the street "in the middle of the night"—your check-out was during daylight hours. You were not "kicked out for no reason", but rather for engaging in unauthorized video recording—something that you yourself admitted in your complaint. Your behavior was disruptive and disrespectful toward our staff, which is why we had to take firm action. 4. Regarding Safety Concerns in Zone 1: Zone 1 is the historic center of Guatemala City and one of the most visited areas in the capital, filled with cultural sites, embassies, and businesses. Like in any major city, caution is advised, but to suggest that we "knowingly put you in danger" is misleading and unfair. 5. Refund Process: Despite the circumstances, we have already processed your refund as a courtesy. Please check with your financial institution for confirmation. At Amaya Centro Histórico, we are committed to providing a safe and respectful environment for all our guests. However, privacy violations, disrespect towards staff, and failure to follow policies are not tolerated under any circumstances. We understand that you are disappointed with the outcome of your stay, but we encourage all guests to respect the rules that are in place to ensure mutual respect, security, and a pleasant experience for everyone. Sincerely, Amaya Centro Histórico Management

    Dear Hendrik, We take guest feedback very seriously, and we would like to clarify the circumstances surrounding your stay to provide an accurate representation of the events. 1. Unauthorized Recording & Policy Violation: Your reservat… Show more

    Apart-Hotel "El Lago"
    29 January 2025
  • Jeffrey

    Reviewed: 22 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Perfect location in historical zona1 . The beds were super comfy and I had the whole dorm to myself . WiFi is bang on and Tony speaks fluent English and there’s a great restaurant just around the corner ! Perfecto

    I would have given this place a 10 but for the ice cold showers and no towels provided

    Property response:

    Thank you for your review and for highlighting our location, comfort, and the service provided by our team! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding towels, we would like to clarify that they are not included with hostel beds, but they are available for rent in the shared dormitory. This allows us to keep our prices affordable for all travelers. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again in the future.

    Thank you for your review and for highlighting our location, comfort, and the service provided by our team! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding towels, we would like to clarify that they are not includ… Show more

    Apart-Hotel "El Lago"
    29 January 2025
  • See the property
  • Myslik

    Reviewed: 22 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review
  • Renato

    Reviewed: 19 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review

    The hostel is very well located, close to restaurants and shops as well as the city bus station. It also has very good facilities and cleanliness. I definitely recommend it.

  • Anette

    Reviewed: 18 December 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    I loved the apartment. I felt super at home, had lots of space and everything I needed. Bed was super comfy, it was quiet (with closed windows as it is next to a busy street). I felt safe.

  • See the property
  • Jouda

    Reviewed: 11 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review
  • Richard

    Reviewed: 26 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    Friendly staff, good WiFi, comfortable bed, nice common area, good location

  • Travel

    Reviewed: 18 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Andrea

    Reviewed: 16 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    Very helpful and flexible staff Central location Brand new equipments and high levél of comfort

    -

  • John

    Reviewed: 14 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    Awesome location in zone 1

    Traffic noise from road

  • Darron

    Reviewed: 11 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    Tony the hostel manager was amazing and couldn't do enough to help. Can't believe this hostel hasn't got more positive reviews. The hostel is walking distance to everything in Zone 1. Secure great WiFi and the room had a sitting area, separate kitchen and separate bedroom and bathroom. Felt like your own one bedroom apartment. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

    Everything was perfect.

  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...