Reviews of YHA Boggle Hole 3 stars
Mill Beck, Fylingthorpe, Fylingthorpe, YO22 4UQ, United Kingdom

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Miami, United States
Sam Roi Yot, Thailand
Lisbon, Portugal
Gwynfe, United Kingdom
Beijing, China
Wattala, Sri Lanka
İsmayıllı, Azerbaijan
Santiago, Chile
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat location for a short stay. The staff were very friendly and the property was very clean. We would definitely stay again if back in the area.
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLocation and staff amazing
Nothing
Thanks for the great review!
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe location is great. The restaurant is good. A great and special stay on a long hike.
Somehow YHA ran, at least this summer, a reverse dynamic pricing. We booked early and paid a lot. Same room was 40% cheaper, closer to travel date. Given families are main clients, this is a questiianable strategy.
Thank you for the review
Reviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewStunning spot, loved it
Nothing
Thanks for the great review!
Reviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewHonesty.
I think the honesty lies with you, you arrived at our premise on the wrong day and said it was our fault, your booking conformation that you received, and we also had a copy of clearly stated the date you had booked a room for. It is very unfair of you to give us a bad review when it was obviously your error and you did not stay with us.
I think the honesty lies with you, you arrived at our premise on the wrong day and said it was our fault, your booking conformation that you received, and we also had a copy of clearly stated the date you had booked a room for. It is very u… Show more
Reviewed: 20 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewUnbelievable location, one of the most picturesque places ive stayed
Thank you James, we really appreciate your review :D
Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLovely clean, characterful property. Staff polite and helpful. Amazing location with excellent facilities.
Thank you for a fab review :)
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe location is just perfect . Such a beautiful unspoiled place .
Thank you! We love it here too. Hopefully see you again :)
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewbreak fast and food was good for the price. Staff very helpful and friendly. Amazing location on the beach,
Thanks for the review Chris :)
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation food and very clean
The noise from other guests here every movement in our room next time need to be in top guest house
Thank you for leaving a review. We will take your comments on board, and see what we can do to improve this!
Reviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe location has to be one of the.best. Absolutely stunning and such a lovely walk to Robin Hoods Bay.
Very noisy fire doors such a shame as the facilities were lovely and so clean just so difficult to open and close them quietly without waking people up.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed the location. Thank you for leaving a review.
Reviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewBest beautiful set out of a youth hostel
Hi Samantha so delighted you liked Boggle, i hope you become a regular to us :)
Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLoved the location but the walk down nearly killed us off after a full day walking round Whitby 🤣 the food was amazing, the staff were so kind and welcoming. The other visitors were so kind and friendly.
Theres actually not a lot I didn’t like about this. It’s ideal & seems to be a popular place! The beds weren’t the comfiest and we hardly had any signal but forced us all to interact and ended up having a brilliant time.
Thanks for the review!
Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThis place is incredible! The location speaks for itself, but the staff were all wonderful. My youngest was ill during our stay and the help from the staff made it so much easier for us. Thanks to all of you!
The walk back up the hill with our luggage!
Thanks for the lovely review! We hope they are feeling better :)
Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat location beautiful setting Friendly staff most helpful
Below average breakfast Noisy doors banging cramped rooms no ventilation Expensive for YHA especially at weekends
Thank you for the review. We are lucky to be in such a unique setting and we are proud of all our staff for their efforts and helpfulness. We take your comments seriously and will look at how we can improve the problems you've raised for the future. Many thanks, Boggles.
Thank you for the review. We are lucky to be in such a unique setting and we are proud of all our staff for their efforts and helpfulness. We take your comments seriously and will look at how we can improve the problems you've raised for th… Show more
Reviewed: 29 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe staff was always helpful, food at the bar was loverly & the rooms were clean & tidy.
Liked everything
We really appreciate your feedback :) thank you! Boggles
Reviewed: 26 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewLocation, value for money, staff, bar, common areas.
Steep hill to bedrooms, flies, parking 15minutes walk away from reception.
Thank you for your review.
Reviewed: 24 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe location was idyllic.
I didn't like sharing space with a large party of children so much.
Thank you for your review, with been a Youth Hostel we do attract a lot of children :)
Reviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewFantastic location , very clean
Nothing
Thank you so much :D
Reviewed: 22 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewWe 've booked it last minute ...whithout reading about this place .As a couple 50 years old We were pleasntly surprise .Beautiful place , Lovely sunset , quiet place when children not playing around . Clean bathroom and Rooms. Perfect for one night stay. Staff is great , excellent service , the map of the place is awesome !
If you have a knee problem this place is not for you . Please bring your towells and hairdryer ;)
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay :)