8.6

Reviews of The Juniperlea Inn

Blackshiels Pathhead, Pathhead, EH37 5TE, United Kingdom

  • Emma

    Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Yvonne

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The room was great, restaurant and bar had a great atmosphere

    Nothing really apart from trying to turn right onto a very busy road

  • Judith

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    We loved the apartment, just perfect and we definitely enjoyed the hot tub. Nice and relaxing

  • Julie

    Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The room was fab the beds were comfy and the room was perfect size for hubby n myself, met the owners before they left felt very safe and secure we just chilled with a glass of wine and the tv

    The bathroom is superb however my only criticism is the shower its a huge walk in shower and I thought would have been amazing but unfortunately the water pressure just wasn’t good enough, however that would not put us off staying here again

    Property response:

    Hello Julie Many thanks for you’re lovely review It was lovely to meet you even though it was brief! The room is disabled access so we can accommodate wheelchairs hence why the shower tray is so big. The shower is electric and the pressure unfortunately isn’t as good as the other rooms which run off the mains Glad you had a relaxing night Thankyou Carly

    Hello Julie Many thanks for you’re lovely review It was lovely to meet you even though it was brief! The room is disabled access so we can accommodate wheelchairs hence why the shower tray is so big. The shower is electric and the press… Show more

    The Juniperlea Inn
    16 August 2025
  • Karen

    Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Really good for Short Term stay. Restaurant is fine. Good hint regarding breakfast outside

    Property response:

    Hello many thanks for you’re lovely review

    The Juniperlea Inn
    16 August 2025
  • See the property
  • Judith

    Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Location

    Fact that we were put in a room that had flooded, smelled revoltingly damp, dust and stour from remedial works covered beds, furniture and still charged full rate. This room should not have been let until issues resolved

    Property response:

    Hi Judith Very disappointed to read this review I pointed out the damage to the decor in the corner of your room due to a small leak not a flood! I told you all rooms were decorated in January and the storm damaged the roof just weeks later! I said we had to temporarily fix the roof as best we could till my roofer could come and rip it all out and replace (this is being done now) rooms will be redecorated again in January 2026. It’s a busy time for us just now and we don’t feel the room needs closed off It’s perfectly adequate and does not have stour on the beds or furniture or smell disgusting we both know that and I find it unbelievable you would say otherwise You and your adult grandchild seemed absolutely fine with the room, shame you didn’t say at the time you actually weren’t! Unhelpful review

    Hi Judith Very disappointed to read this review I pointed out the damage to the decor in the corner of your room due to a small leak not a flood! I told you all rooms were decorated in January and the storm damaged the roof just weeks la… Show more

    The Juniperlea Inn
    10 August 2025
  • Stephen

    Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Didn’t stay for breakfast - evening meal was good

    Property response:

    Thank you for leaving us a review

    The Juniperlea Inn
    16 August 2025
  • Maryanne

    Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The rating on this property online is all false, booked a night, on getting there, it was a dilapidated building, couldn't see myself or family staying there? Asked for cancellation as I didn't stay there and booked with cancellation insurance but the manager who has negative customer service called and was very rude , refuse to refund my booking fee, paid over a 100 pounds for uber to and fro location to look for another accommodation elsewhere for the night. This was worst experience I have encountered ever since I started booking hotels and guest inm Will never recommend this location for even an enemy

    Property response:

    The ratings on this property are left by guests that have stayed You didn’t stay In fact you didn’t even enter the building so that’s all I’m saying on this terrible review you have decided to leave!

    The Juniperlea Inn
    10 August 2025
  • See the property
  • David

    Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Nice stay as I like hotels a little out of the way after a long day visiting customers. Bar closed on the Monday, but I knew that anyway, so not a problem The room was clean and well equipped. Access is really easy.

    Not much

    Property response:

    Hello we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed you’re stay with us Thankyou

    The Juniperlea Inn
    16 August 2025
  • Kate

    Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Great host, lovely pub and a comfortable room for me and my daughters.

    Nothing! Great stay 😀

    Property response:

    Thankyou very much for your kind words

    The Juniperlea Inn
    16 August 2025
  • Bettinaschlenker

    Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    We felt very much at home. The proprietor thought of everything. Our room was clean and cosy. We will be making it a point to stay again. Also, the food was exceptionally good. The restaurant is closed on Mondays but there are other restaurants close by. Honestly, we didn’t want to leave, so we will be trying to stay there again in the future. 10/10 recommend.

    Property response:

    Thankyou so much for your lovely review it means a lot to all of us

    The Juniperlea Inn
    16 August 2025
  • See the property
  • David

    Reviewed: 25 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Shona

    Reviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    We had a warm welcome, a delicious evening meal and a really nice room. The bed was super comfy. I found the duvet a wee bit warm for summer but that's just personal preference and doesn't reflect on it's quality. All the bed linens and towels were lovely and the bathroom new and good water pressure in the shower. Everything was spotless with lots of extra touches. Loved having the little fridge with fresh milk, orange juice, yoghurts & water. There was a tray with a choice of cereals, muesli, croissants , jams etc to assemble our own continental breakfast (which is what the Juniperlea Inn includes). This suited us perfectly as we had to be away early and we wouldn't have time to fit in a 'sit down' breakfast. We left at 7.30am and were in the Grassmarket at 8.10am, it was an easy journey into Edinburgh even in the rush hour. If you have transport why stay in a city centre chain hotel with no parking and pay double! Much better to support an independent business. It's a lovely wee place and we'd certainly stay again.

    I can't fault it really! One thing I should point out is if you have the window open you may have some road noise as it's near a busy trunk road. But with the window shut it's fine.

    Property response:

    Many thanks for you’re review we are pleased to hear the stay was enjoyed

    The Juniperlea Inn
    16 August 2025
  • Robert

    Reviewed: 20 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Friendly welcome and kindly accommodated earlier arrival due to wedding timings, with the access code. Stayed in the new pod at the rear. Lovely self contained set up.

    Property response:

    we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the pod thankyou

    The Juniperlea Inn
    22 July 2025
  • See the property
  • Jennifer

    Reviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Paula

    Reviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely room and good location to then get to Edinburgh

    Getting in if you arrive late can be a bit tricky as there aren’t staff around and it can be difficult to get hold of someone if it’s very late (took us 20 mins) and you can’t get the number lock to work, which was the problem we had. That said there are a couple of phone numbers on the notice and Graeme did call us back, was very helpful and we got it sorted curtesy of the ‘C’ button to reset it a few times.

    Property response:

    Hello Paula thanks for the feedback, we are pleased you liked the room and the location was ideal for you im sorry if you weren't told about the number lock, if a mistake is made putting the number in then C must be pressed to reset. ive made staff aware to tell all guests this self checking in kind regards Carly

    Hello Paula thanks for the feedback, we are pleased you liked the room and the location was ideal for you im sorry if you weren't told about the number lock, if a mistake is made putting the number in then C must be pressed to reset. iv… Show more

    The Juniperlea Inn
    22 July 2025
  • Milda

    Reviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Nicely decorated room with smooth bedsheets and a clean bathroom.

    It’s noisy early due to traffic. So, I unfortunately I wouldn’t stay again. Basic breakfast with no fruit. The bathroom door is hard and loud to close, and the carpet feels dusty. Curtains don’t block morning light well. The restaurant was closed and there was no other restaurant nearby.

    Property response:

    Hello thanks for your feedback I’m sorry you wouldn’t stay again I can’t help the road noise but I haven’t had a guest being unable to sleep by it so I apologise if you didn’t It’s a black out blind that’s in your room and we will now add curtains to this to block out any light Sorry there wasn’t any fruit I’m guessing there wasn’t any fresh at the time so this would’ve been substituted with another breakfast item so you wouldn’t have lost out with what you paid The carpets are hoovered everyday so unsure why the would feel dusty… You messaged me quite a few times with lots of questions well in advance of you’re arrival and knew upon booking and beyond that our bar and restaurant were closed on Mondays so I’m sorry you felt the need to put it as a negative The restaurant has been trading for 8 years and always been closed on the Monday to give our small team of staff a break after a busy weekend.

    Hello thanks for your feedback I’m sorry you wouldn’t stay again I can’t help the road noise but I haven’t had a guest being unable to sleep by it so I apologise if you didn’t It’s a black out blind that’s in your room and we will now ad… Show more

    The Juniperlea Inn
    17 July 2025
  • See the property
  • Jenna

    Reviewed: 15 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Paula

    Reviewed: 13 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The Inn was clean, welcoming and beautifully decorated. Beds were comfy, our room was fab, staff were lovely and food was great

    If you were looking for a base to explore the area, there is nothing close by. If you’re looking for a bed for the night after food and drink in the bar, then this is perfect.

    Property response:

    Hello Paula many thanks for the lovely review. we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us kind regards Carly

    The Juniperlea Inn
    22 July 2025
  • Briggs

    Reviewed: 12 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The bedrooms and bar area were excellent. We stayed for one night after golfing and attending the Scottish open.The staff were friendly and the food was excellent quality.

    The bar closed at 10am and whilst we were residents for the evening were told we had to sit outside to finish our drinks .Good job it was a warm evening but this needs looking at.We also booked with breakfast and were told it wasn't included and we should take this up with booking.com as a £8 supplement pp should be refunded .Shame these 2 issues dampened what is a great place to stay

    Property response:

    Hello thanks for your feedback the bar closes at 10pm its under discretion of the staff working if they choose to stay open later, our particular staff member that was working had been in since 11am so im sure you can appreciate it was a long day for them, and they wanted to close up for the evening and you were not told you had to sit outside you were told that the bar was closing, you chose to sit outside. if you hadnt received the breakfast i will get this refunded to you now, its not very clear with booking.com as it shows room only rate so it needs to be checked through the booking.com portal if breakfast is included and this wasnt checked as its usually myself that looks at this but i was on leave. i apologise for this, and breakfast still couldve been given no problem so i will speak to the staff on this ive passed your comments on the food to the chef and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal regards Carly

    Hello thanks for your feedback the bar closes at 10pm its under discretion of the staff working if they choose to stay open later, our particular staff member that was working had been in since 11am so im sure you can appreciate it was a lo… Show more

    The Juniperlea Inn
    12 July 2025
  • See the property
  • Rob

    Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Jacqueline

    Reviewed: 7 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Patrick

    Reviewed: 6 July 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Paul

    Reviewed: 5 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The location in the countryside was very quiet which was a nice change from busy city hotels.

    The Inn and my room was very homely and relaxing. Comfy beds, nicely decorated and furnished, spacious bedroom and bathroom. Having a fridge in the room was appreciated.

    Property response:

    many thanks for your lovely comments its great to hear you enjoyed your stay

    The Juniperlea Inn
    12 July 2025
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...