Reviews of The Juniperlea Inn
Blackshiels Pathhead, Pathhead, EH37 5TE, United Kingdom

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe room was great, restaurant and bar had a great atmosphere
Nothing really apart from trying to turn right onto a very busy road
Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewWe loved the apartment, just perfect and we definitely enjoyed the hot tub. Nice and relaxing
Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe room was fab the beds were comfy and the room was perfect size for hubby n myself, met the owners before they left felt very safe and secure we just chilled with a glass of wine and the tv
The bathroom is superb however my only criticism is the shower its a huge walk in shower and I thought would have been amazing but unfortunately the water pressure just wasn’t good enough, however that would not put us off staying here again
Hello Julie Many thanks for you’re lovely review It was lovely to meet you even though it was brief! The room is disabled access so we can accommodate wheelchairs hence why the shower tray is so big. The shower is electric and the pressure unfortunately isn’t as good as the other rooms which run off the mains Glad you had a relaxing night Thankyou Carly
Hello Julie Many thanks for you’re lovely review It was lovely to meet you even though it was brief! The room is disabled access so we can accommodate wheelchairs hence why the shower tray is so big. The shower is electric and the press… Show more
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReally good for Short Term stay. Restaurant is fine. Good hint regarding breakfast outside
Hello many thanks for you’re lovely review
Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation
Fact that we were put in a room that had flooded, smelled revoltingly damp, dust and stour from remedial works covered beds, furniture and still charged full rate. This room should not have been let until issues resolved
Hi Judith Very disappointed to read this review I pointed out the damage to the decor in the corner of your room due to a small leak not a flood! I told you all rooms were decorated in January and the storm damaged the roof just weeks later! I said we had to temporarily fix the roof as best we could till my roofer could come and rip it all out and replace (this is being done now) rooms will be redecorated again in January 2026. It’s a busy time for us just now and we don’t feel the room needs closed off It’s perfectly adequate and does not have stour on the beds or furniture or smell disgusting we both know that and I find it unbelievable you would say otherwise You and your adult grandchild seemed absolutely fine with the room, shame you didn’t say at the time you actually weren’t! Unhelpful review
Hi Judith Very disappointed to read this review I pointed out the damage to the decor in the corner of your room due to a small leak not a flood! I told you all rooms were decorated in January and the storm damaged the roof just weeks la… Show more
Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewDidn’t stay for breakfast - evening meal was good
Thank you for leaving us a review
Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe rating on this property online is all false, booked a night, on getting there, it was a dilapidated building, couldn't see myself or family staying there? Asked for cancellation as I didn't stay there and booked with cancellation insurance but the manager who has negative customer service called and was very rude , refuse to refund my booking fee, paid over a 100 pounds for uber to and fro location to look for another accommodation elsewhere for the night. This was worst experience I have encountered ever since I started booking hotels and guest inm Will never recommend this location for even an enemy
The ratings on this property are left by guests that have stayed You didn’t stay In fact you didn’t even enter the building so that’s all I’m saying on this terrible review you have decided to leave!
Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewNice stay as I like hotels a little out of the way after a long day visiting customers. Bar closed on the Monday, but I knew that anyway, so not a problem The room was clean and well equipped. Access is really easy.
Not much
Hello we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed you’re stay with us Thankyou
Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat host, lovely pub and a comfortable room for me and my daughters.
Nothing! Great stay 😀
Thankyou very much for your kind words
Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewWe felt very much at home. The proprietor thought of everything. Our room was clean and cosy. We will be making it a point to stay again. Also, the food was exceptionally good. The restaurant is closed on Mondays but there are other restaurants close by. Honestly, we didn’t want to leave, so we will be trying to stay there again in the future. 10/10 recommend.
Thankyou so much for your lovely review it means a lot to all of us
Reviewed: 25 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewWe had a warm welcome, a delicious evening meal and a really nice room. The bed was super comfy. I found the duvet a wee bit warm for summer but that's just personal preference and doesn't reflect on it's quality. All the bed linens and towels were lovely and the bathroom new and good water pressure in the shower. Everything was spotless with lots of extra touches. Loved having the little fridge with fresh milk, orange juice, yoghurts & water. There was a tray with a choice of cereals, muesli, croissants , jams etc to assemble our own continental breakfast (which is what the Juniperlea Inn includes). This suited us perfectly as we had to be away early and we wouldn't have time to fit in a 'sit down' breakfast. We left at 7.30am and were in the Grassmarket at 8.10am, it was an easy journey into Edinburgh even in the rush hour. If you have transport why stay in a city centre chain hotel with no parking and pay double! Much better to support an independent business. It's a lovely wee place and we'd certainly stay again.
I can't fault it really! One thing I should point out is if you have the window open you may have some road noise as it's near a busy trunk road. But with the window shut it's fine.
Many thanks for you’re review we are pleased to hear the stay was enjoyed
Reviewed: 20 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewFriendly welcome and kindly accommodated earlier arrival due to wedding timings, with the access code. Stayed in the new pod at the rear. Lovely self contained set up.
we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the pod thankyou
Reviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewLovely room and good location to then get to Edinburgh
Getting in if you arrive late can be a bit tricky as there aren’t staff around and it can be difficult to get hold of someone if it’s very late (took us 20 mins) and you can’t get the number lock to work, which was the problem we had. That said there are a couple of phone numbers on the notice and Graeme did call us back, was very helpful and we got it sorted curtesy of the ‘C’ button to reset it a few times.
Hello Paula thanks for the feedback, we are pleased you liked the room and the location was ideal for you im sorry if you weren't told about the number lock, if a mistake is made putting the number in then C must be pressed to reset. ive made staff aware to tell all guests this self checking in kind regards Carly
Hello Paula thanks for the feedback, we are pleased you liked the room and the location was ideal for you im sorry if you weren't told about the number lock, if a mistake is made putting the number in then C must be pressed to reset. iv… Show more
Reviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewNicely decorated room with smooth bedsheets and a clean bathroom.
It’s noisy early due to traffic. So, I unfortunately I wouldn’t stay again. Basic breakfast with no fruit. The bathroom door is hard and loud to close, and the carpet feels dusty. Curtains don’t block morning light well. The restaurant was closed and there was no other restaurant nearby.
Hello thanks for your feedback I’m sorry you wouldn’t stay again I can’t help the road noise but I haven’t had a guest being unable to sleep by it so I apologise if you didn’t It’s a black out blind that’s in your room and we will now add curtains to this to block out any light Sorry there wasn’t any fruit I’m guessing there wasn’t any fresh at the time so this would’ve been substituted with another breakfast item so you wouldn’t have lost out with what you paid The carpets are hoovered everyday so unsure why the would feel dusty… You messaged me quite a few times with lots of questions well in advance of you’re arrival and knew upon booking and beyond that our bar and restaurant were closed on Mondays so I’m sorry you felt the need to put it as a negative The restaurant has been trading for 8 years and always been closed on the Monday to give our small team of staff a break after a busy weekend.
Hello thanks for your feedback I’m sorry you wouldn’t stay again I can’t help the road noise but I haven’t had a guest being unable to sleep by it so I apologise if you didn’t It’s a black out blind that’s in your room and we will now ad… Show more
Reviewed: 15 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 13 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe Inn was clean, welcoming and beautifully decorated. Beds were comfy, our room was fab, staff were lovely and food was great
If you were looking for a base to explore the area, there is nothing close by. If you’re looking for a bed for the night after food and drink in the bar, then this is perfect.
Hello Paula many thanks for the lovely review. we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us kind regards Carly
Reviewed: 12 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe bedrooms and bar area were excellent. We stayed for one night after golfing and attending the Scottish open.The staff were friendly and the food was excellent quality.
The bar closed at 10am and whilst we were residents for the evening were told we had to sit outside to finish our drinks .Good job it was a warm evening but this needs looking at.We also booked with breakfast and were told it wasn't included and we should take this up with booking.com as a £8 supplement pp should be refunded .Shame these 2 issues dampened what is a great place to stay
Hello thanks for your feedback the bar closes at 10pm its under discretion of the staff working if they choose to stay open later, our particular staff member that was working had been in since 11am so im sure you can appreciate it was a long day for them, and they wanted to close up for the evening and you were not told you had to sit outside you were told that the bar was closing, you chose to sit outside. if you hadnt received the breakfast i will get this refunded to you now, its not very clear with booking.com as it shows room only rate so it needs to be checked through the booking.com portal if breakfast is included and this wasnt checked as its usually myself that looks at this but i was on leave. i apologise for this, and breakfast still couldve been given no problem so i will speak to the staff on this ive passed your comments on the food to the chef and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal regards Carly
Hello thanks for your feedback the bar closes at 10pm its under discretion of the staff working if they choose to stay open later, our particular staff member that was working had been in since 11am so im sure you can appreciate it was a lo… Show more
Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 7 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 July 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe location in the countryside was very quiet which was a nice change from busy city hotels.
The Inn and my room was very homely and relaxing. Comfy beds, nicely decorated and furnished, spacious bedroom and bathroom. Having a fridge in the room was appreciated.
many thanks for your lovely comments its great to hear you enjoyed your stay