8.1

Reviews of Small quirky studio

2 St Andrews Rd, Henley on Thames, RG9 1HP, United Kingdom

  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Location. Free parking. Safe area. Products, shower gel etc. Kettle with T&C facilities. easy communication with owner. Hanging rail and shelves. Decent central lighting.

    Misleading and mis information given in description of property. Basics such as inaccessible electrical plugs, either too high up, hidden behind chest of drawers or under sink unit covered by shelf. Winter weight duvet in middle of hot summer. No bedside table or light. No instructions for use of electric shower. Mirror in the wrong place. Macerated toilet which ‘plays up’ is very noisy and needs turning off to stop the noise and get it working again. Seriously. When you are charging people to use your property, everything needs to be working properly. Wifi didn’t work because although the password was given, no info on which wifi code to use. I am responding to the owners reply to my negative feedback. Firstly, the push lights above the bed did not work. Secondly, the plugs above the kettle you mention were too high up to use in any practical way and I would challenge you to try drying your hair, least of all stand on the bed to plug in the hair dryer..Not exactly safe. Thirdly, if you know the toilet is making a whirring sound and needs to be turned off to stop it then do the decent thing and let people know in your main advert, along with the plugs which are inaccessibly placed high up, near the ceiling on the wall above the kettle.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your review Sue. This has come after you asked me for a full refund for 2 reasons. 1) being that the toilet carried on whirring in the morning and 2) you said there were no accessible plugs apart from behind the chest of drawers or in the sink unit. I explained that the macerator has been looked at and the man explained that they do randomly whir. This unit is 18 months old and has a lifespan of 8-10 years. There is a card inside the studio explaining that it can be turned off, if required, by the switch. it isn’t “not working” they are just a temperamental item which I wish I didn’t have to use but I do. I also pointed out (and sent you pics) that there were extra electric plugs above the kettle which you obviously didn’t realise as you have now changed your complaint to “the plugs are too high”. The tog for the bed is indeed a summer tog and I bought new pillows today as you said yours were lumpy. There are 2 “push” lamps above the bed in the wall you seem to have missed too. I genuinely am sorry you weren’t happy and, as we discussed in private, I simply don’t feel I could give you a FULL refund because the toilet whirred in the morning. I’m sorry you couldn’t work out which WiFi to choose but my number is in the studio asking you to let me know if there’s anything I can help with and it’s also written in the studio!

    Thank you for your review Sue. This has come after you asked me for a full refund for 2 reasons. 1) being that the toilet carried on whirring in the morning and 2) you said there were no accessible plugs apart from behind the chest of drawe… Show more

    Small quirky studio
    17 July 2025
  • Jeremy

    Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Perfect overnight stop visiting Henley and Relatives

    Tad noisy with traffic 'till about midnight. Replacing the front double glazing panel may help. Overall a good overnight stay.

    Property response:

    Thank you Jeremy and really sorry for the traffic disturbing you.

    Small quirky studio
    21 August 2025
  • Paul

    Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Ideal little spot.. Has everything you need a very clean

    Property response:

    Thank you for the very nice review Paul. Thank you for choosing to stay here

    Small quirky studio
    21 August 2025
  • See the property
  • Matthew

    Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Great little place with facilities

    Nothing

    Property response:

    Thank you both so much. Hope your feet aren’t too sore this morning!

    Small quirky studio
    17 August 2025
  • Lester

    Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The host really went above and beyond with a commitment to hospitality. Easy to find, quiet location, nice room with good amenities. Was super helpful

    Property response:

    Thank you so much Lester. Pleasure to host you

    Small quirky studio
    17 August 2025
  • Duncan

    Reviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Compact but just what we wanted. Free WiFi. Good shower and comfy bed.

    Nothing

    Property response:

    Thank you so much Duncan. Hope you enjoyed the party!

    Small quirky studio
    12 August 2025
  • See the property
  • Ange

    Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Everything you need in a cosy space with people who go above and beyond to look after you! Thank you so much!

    Property response:

    I really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the lovely feedback

    Small quirky studio
    12 August 2025
  • Paul

    Reviewed: 26 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Wareez

    Reviewed: 22 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Ailla

    Reviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Very convenient location

    Property response:

    Thank you so much Ailla. It’s comments like these that keep me going

    Small quirky studio
    20 July 2025
  • August

    Reviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    This is a good value for money, clean and comfortable space for a single person stay

    I would have appreciated meeting the host. Furthermore, they said I could call if I had any questions but then did not pick up when I tried to call around check-in time because I had trouble locking the door since I did not know I needed to lift the handle to be able to(this is not something I am used to). If that would be the case it would have been better to state ”I will be unavailable by phone from x to x, but send me a message and I will do my best to find a moment to respond”. Also, this is definitely not a place you want to stay two people in since the toilet is right next to the bed without any enclosure and also has a sump pump so loud it will wake up the other person if you need the toilet at night.

    Property response:

    Many thanks for your review August and thank you for choosing to stay with us. I’m really sorry you didn’t know to lift the handle. I will leave instructions on this moving forward.

    Small quirky studio
    17 July 2025
  • Paul

    Reviewed: 13 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Steven

    Reviewed: 11 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The small studio was very clean and tidy. It had everything needed for a 1 night stay, and it is in a convenient location being a short walk from the train station and town center along with the riverside. The hosts made me feel very welcome. On this occasion I stayed here for day 2 of the Henley Festival. It made it so much easier and more relaxing rather than worrying about how to get home at the end of the night. I would certainly be interested in booking this again and would recommend it especially for anyone travelling solo.

    Property response:

    Thank you very much Steven. I’m really glad you had a great time and would love you to return

    Small quirky studio
    12 July 2025
  • Paul

    Reviewed: 11 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Convenient, easy/no hassle arrival

    Nothing. I should be clear that the property is very small and basic, but this is clear when you book. If you just need somewhere to sleep that is clean and convenient then this place is great

    Property response:

    Thank you for your very kind and honest review Paul. Really happy you enjoyed your stay

    Small quirky studio
    12 July 2025
  • Julia

    Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Location

    Warned that the macerating toilet was sometimes malfunctioning! Tiny space, suffocatingly hot.

    Property response:

    I’m so very sorry your husband wasn’t happy during his stay Julia. As explained privately, there is a fan in the room (pictured) which he must have mistook for a heater but I will leave clearer instructions in future. The macerator will sometime whir randomly but this can be turned off as per instructions. It works perfectly fine but the random noises can indeed be disturbing and for that I apologise again.

    I’m so very sorry your husband wasn’t happy during his stay Julia. As explained privately, there is a fan in the room (pictured) which he must have mistook for a heater but I will leave clearer instructions in future. The macerator will som… Show more

    Small quirky studio
    17 July 2025
  • See the property
  • Liz

    Reviewed: 6 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    It was just what we needed, great location & exactly as described. Owner was a great host and responded to queries straight away. Would definitely recommend.

    Property response:

    Oh Liz thank you. This kind of review is what makes me want to keep on hosting! Thank you again!

    Small quirky studio
    6 July 2025
  • Louise

    Reviewed: 4 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Neil

    Reviewed: 1 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Great location and nice host .Will stay again

    Property response:

    Thank you so much Neil. Always welcome back

    Small quirky studio
    1 July 2025
  • See the property
  • Iestyn

    Reviewed: 23 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Cliodhna

    Reviewed: 23 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Great location, very central in Henley and great for a short few days stay. Perfect for travelling on your own.

    I thought there was a mini fridge but there isn't in case you are expecting one!

    Property response:

    Thank you. You were one of my tidiest guests!!!

    Small quirky studio
    23 June 2025
  • 7.0 Good
    John

    Reviewed: 21 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Elise

    Reviewed: 16 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Great location, good value for money, nice touches like complimentary teas and snacks. The host is very communicative and very helpful in accommodating our requests.

    There isn't much room for luggage and the mattress was not very comfortable, but for the price it was ok.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your review Elise and sorry you didn’t get a great nights sleep

    Small quirky studio
    16 June 2025
  • Sheila

    Reviewed: 14 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Proximity to town and riverside

    Property response:

    Thank you so much Sheila x

    Small quirky studio
    16 June 2025
  • Jay

    Reviewed: 18 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Ideal location

    N/A

    Property response:

    Thank you Jay. Lovely to meet you both

    Small quirky studio
    1 June 2025
  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...