Reviews of Mercure Livingston Hotel 3 stars
Almondview/Almondvale East, Livingston, EH54 6QB, United Kingdom

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Agua Amarga, Spain
Tijuana, Mexico
Dalian, China
Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Lires, Spain
Vienna, Austria
Emmen, Netherlands
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe location of the property is very convenient.
The room was in a poor condition. The lights were making strange noise every time they were turned on. The carpet and walls of the room was old and stained. The staff at the breakfast were not that friendly except one Asian lady who was very nice.
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe reception staff were very friendly and helpful
Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe beds were very comfy, and you could open windows and get fresh air. The staff were generally friendly.
The food was a bit average, the Caesar salad with haloumi was literally lettuce and a tiny bit of uncooked haloumi. Not really worth the money as a main meal, would have been okay for a side salad.
Dear Sam, We appreciate your feedback and pleased that you were comfortable enough before departing on the long haul home. Regards Jill
Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewStuff was overall very friendly and helpful. Just one was a bit curious but overall, we rate it with pretty good and nice in fact! The room itself was spacy in our case, but the furniture was quite old and not really that good anymore. However, we stayed there just for little while and it was okay for us. Breakfast was very well indeed. Choices were good and everything we tried was good. IMO it's a good location also, shopping, food cords are nearby as well as EDI and EDI airport So overall it was a good stay whereas the hotel needs some renovation here and there already.
old furniture, some maintenance challenges for the future
Dear Bernd, Thankyou for your feedback, all of which is very important to us and shared with the team. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and found everything to your satisfaction. Regards Jill
Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGood situation, close to the airport. Easy to find it. Nice staff.
Old-fashioned building
Dear Sandor, We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay and found the location perfect for your needs. Regards Jill
Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewFamily room and comfortable beds Quiet room
Staff were not well trained and food served very late The dessert menu brought to us and forgotten about it then has become too late to have it
Dear Zheen, We very much appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay and we can only apologise for the delay you experienced whilst dining. Overall we are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Jill
Dear Zheen, We very much appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay and we can only apologise for the delay you experienced whilst dining. Overall we are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable and rel… Show more
Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLevel access from the car park into the hotel and checking in was problem free. Our family room (138) had a double bed with two separate single beds and was very clean and quiet. We all enjoyed a good night’s sleep. Electric kettle and plenty of tea and coffee options are provided. The bathroom has a combined shower/ bathtub with a strong water supply for a nice shower or soak. Nice amount of storage space / room furnishings and a large tv on top of a set of drawers. Overall a very pleasant family stay. FYI The Livingston designer outlet malls area is only a five minute walk away from the hotel. Highly recommend a visit to anyone who likes a fantastic shopping experience. We were surprised at the mix and size of the shop choices from foods to coffee and clothing brands both Glasgow or Edinburgh are easy to get to using the M8 motorway.
Not applicable.
Dear Charles, Thankyou for your lovely feedback, the team will be delighted to learn that you and your family had a great stay in comfortable surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Jill
Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe gas had went down so I had to get a refund on my evening meal and order a Just Eat instead
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your feedback, we are sorry for the inconvenience with the gas but it was a situation that we had no control over. That aside we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the team to be helpful and friendly. Regards Jill
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your feedback, we are sorry for the inconvenience with the gas but it was a situation that we had no control over. That aside we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the team to be helpful and fri… Show more
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewPoor choices
The stale smell within the hallways, dirty and worn carpets
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your feedback, all of which is greatly appreciated and shared with the team. Regards Jill
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewBreakfast was plentiful, and good quality. However, the food was almost cold, and this was not helped by the fact that the plates from the warming machine were at most tepid. Surely, you can do better than this!!
See above
Dear Menai, We are delighted that you had a great stay and have taken your feedback on board to convey to the team. Regards Jill
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewNice breakfasts. Some evening meals in the restaurant were good, but others less exciting. Overall the food and accommodation was reasonable. A short drive to Livingston North station for trains to Edinburgh. Staff were always friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable with nothing lacking.
Overall the hotel is a little dated in decor and facilities but was generally acceptable in all respects.
Dear Anthony, We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay, finding the location ideal for your needs and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Jill
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe reception staff very polite. The breakfast staff excellent.
Only 1 towel in a twin room. Should NOT need to goto reception. No instant coffee at breakfast. Had to ho back to room to get the sachets provided in room. The bathroom fan is ridiculously loud and stays on far too long post light off. The decor is very tired throughout the hotel and feels like it should be a film set for a horror film. Shining 2? Pillows either flat or very hard. We felt we had cauliflower ears when we awoke from not a relaxing sleep. We were tired the next day which made our journey home very unsafe.
Dear Philip, Thankyou for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay. All comments are shared with the team so that improvements can be made where possible. We are pleased that you found the team to be welcoming and friendly and the location ideally suited to your needs. Regards Jill
Dear Philip, Thankyou for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay. All comments are shared with the team so that improvements can be made where possible. We are pleased that you found the team to be welcoming and fri… Show more
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewIt was clean, with friendly and helpful staff. Decent breakfast, gluten free bread was provided!
The price was high in comparison to the age of furnishings.
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your feedback, all of which is greatly appreciated and shared with the team. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the breakfast before departure. Hopefully we see you return again in the future. Regards Jill
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your feedback, all of which is greatly appreciated and shared with the team. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the breakfast before departure. Hopefully we see you return again in the futu… Show more
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewHandy location for airport. Entrance area is clean and the staff were helpful
Room a bit tatty. Carpet very worn
Dear Merida, We are pleased to learn that you found the Hotel to be clean and comfortable with a friendly team on hand to support and the location perfect for your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. Regards Jill
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewIf wanting to shop at the Shopping Centre it is very close.
Dear Guest, We are pleased to see that you had a comfortable stay and found the location perfect for the shops in Livingston. Regards Jill
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewEasy to find, suited the location for our onward travel, clean room and comfortable bed, free parking.
Felt like we were given the worst room next to the Drome of the boiler room, and availability to upgrade. Couldn’t believe the Karen bar didn’t accommodate for a bitter drinker, not even a bottled choice. We stayed for our evening meal, which including the two of us, only had one other guest eating. The choice was very basic, what I would call freezer surprise. We tried an evening walk, but the location is next to an industrial area and council estate, so not much to look at. At breakfast I was invited to ask for any type of egg, poached etc. when I did actually ask for a couple of poached, they never arrived, some 15 minutes after my request when I questioned it, I was told they were having issues so I told them not to bother. I can’t say I would stay again.
Dear David, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay at the Mercure Livingston. All feedback received is greatly appreciated and shared with the team so that going forward improvements can be implemented where possible. Overall we are glad that you were comfortable enough and that our location was perfect for your onward journey. Regards Jill
Dear David, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay at the Mercure Livingston. All feedback received is greatly appreciated and shared with the team so that going forward improvements can be implemented where possible. Overall we… Show more
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewIdeal location for our needs as on LEJOG. Allowed us to keep expensive bike in room which settled husband! Whilst breakfast was ideal catering for Gluten Free but not so evening meal- see below. Lovely reception staff who were exceedingly helpful to our needs. Clean and good rooms though noisy bathroom extractor fan( we just cut the light there! Would have liked less bedding as so hot but no air con but used fan provided which helped but had to run all night( thankful we hit Scotland in the sunshine not the expected rain! ) suited our needs except see comments below on traffic etc!
Location! Livingston is like Milton Keynes on a bad day with so many roundabouts and lack of signage,Husband took an hour for a 10 minute route from the hotel despite maps! Not the hotels fault but location on route was importantly to us. Traffic too as I had sat nav and went to get petrol which added half hour to my leaving for a station only 3 minutes away! Evening meal had limited Gluten Free choice- 2 items - which for a medical condition is poor when vegan/ vegetarian had several and that is only a lifestyle choice!! So please upgrade. Staff rushed off their feet as we coincided with a large coach party and insufficient servers for the bookings! The two front of house were trying their best but it meant a wait for us. We were warned and whilst our drinks arrived promptly the food was on the drag. Fortunately the Lionesses were playing a Euro match which we watched. The servers front of house could not have been more apologetic!
Dear Jean, Thankyou for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay at the Mercure Livingston. All feedback is greatly received so that going forward improvements can be implemented where possible to ensure a better guest experience. We are pleased that you were comfortable enough and found the team to be helpful and friendly throughout. Regards Jill
Dear Jean, Thankyou for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay at the Mercure Livingston. All feedback is greatly received so that going forward improvements can be implemented where possible to ensure a better guest… Show more
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewAll the staff were excellent from reception, to housekeeping and were very polite. The location was good for what we needed. Breakfast was nice and the staff were very helpful. The bed linen and towels were clean, beds were fine.
The Hotel itself needs a complete overhaul, It obviously hasn’t had an upgrade in many, many years, it still smelt of stale cigarettes which must be ingrained in the carpets, walls, furniture etc. it’s such a shame it could be a really nice place. The hotel was very busy so the footfall must be good.
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your feedback, all of which is greatly appreciated and shared with the team. We are delighted that you found the team to be friendly and helpful and look forward to seeing you return in the future. Regards Jill
Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewPaid a lot due to last minute booking. Place was really tired, including holes in carpet of my room. Worse - it obviously hadn't been hoovered as there were crumbs on the floor
Dear Ben, Thankyou for your comments, all of which are greatly appreciated and shared with the team so that going forward amendments can be implemented where possible. Regards Jill
Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewIts was OK
Dear Eddie, We are pleased to see that you had a comfortable stay and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Regards Jill