Reviews of Penelope Ensuite Double Room
70 Kings Avenue 70A, 2nd floor, Flat 3, Lambeth, London, SW4 8BH, United Kingdom

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat location, fantastic facilities
Nothing
Reviewed: 15 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe check-in instructions were clear. The main parking spaces were taken, and the hosts were very quick to respond letting us know we can park near the gate. It was a really hot weekend and everywhere was super stuffy, but with their blackout curtains and wall-mounted fan pointing at the bed, we had no issues with being uncomfortable! It was absolutely spotless and had everything we needed. We got an Uber to o2 Academy which was under £10, and walked back which was less than half hour (lots of traffic on the way their though, so do allow yourself a little more time than you think you need!).
Reviewed: 12 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe host was very welcoming,the room was spot on,clean and all you could need for a night,great location with public transport at your door,great value for money,cant think of anything that you could of done better.
Reviewed: 5 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewI really liked the accesibillity and the rate of price to accomodation. The owners were very helpfull and nice. The photos are literally showing the real room.
Thin walls.
Reviewed: 5 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGood location and value.
A little difficult to access. Hot and humid although fan worked well.
Reviewed: 1 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewExceptionally clean ,great location
Nothing
Reviewed: 18 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe location was close enough to the city, The transportation was good.
It was a bit noisy, but that's London.
Reviewed: 14 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThis room offers superb accommodation at a very reasonable price for London. We stayed here as we were going to a concert at the Brixton 02 Arena. It was a 25-30 minute walk to the venue, which could alternatively have been done by bus or taxi. For a one night stay it gave us all we needed. A good sized room, excellent toilet and bathing facilities and a fridge, microwave and hot drink making equipment. It was extremely clean, and because of the secure entry system we felt very safe. Would definitely stay again for an event in the Brixton area. It is situated on a long residential road, which must be the only road in the capital without any form of shop on it. So if you think you'll need any provisions, buy them before you arrive!
There was only one pod of coffee provided for the coffee machine, which was a major disappointment for the two of us who need their coffee in the morning!
Reviewed: 3 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewEverything was very nice especially the wifi password
Reviewed: 30 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewClose to bus stops and not too far to walk to the tube stations! The room was comfortable and had everything we needed for the few nights we stayed. Also the cute cats downstairs made the stay even better :)
Everything was great, the only issue was the lock on the door was a bit difficult to unlock/lock
Reviewed: 17 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 15 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewEven if the space available was not much, the room was well structured and cleaned, with a big bed and a table to have breakfast on and tea was offered by the host. The shower was also big and the bathroom really modern. It is also located in a quite residencial zone.
The doors were difficult to open and close due to some damages and the location was a little bit far from the center and the metro station but bearable.
Reviewed: 25 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 8 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 12 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewThe location was great with free parking. Very cosy room with everything you need for short stay.
Everything was great.
Reviewed: 6 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewEverything was PERFECT except one single thing: the noise from other rooms and from the corridor was unbearable, especially during the night. Also, there were two big body towels and one medium-size face towel: I would suggest that you put at least one other face towel, as the two people may not want to share the only one. Other than that, as I already said, everything was great: we didn't have many problems with the self check-in, self check-out at any time was great; the room was very clean and full of useful stuff (microwave, dishes, cups, body and hair soap, hair dryer, even UK adaptors!); the position is fantastic as it is in the second zone, with one bus stop in front of the building (also night bus stops there) and another one 3 minutes away. I highly recommend it!
No soundproof doors and walls.
Reviewed: 4 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewWonderful owners, quickly responded to all (even small) notices regarding the apartment.
Reviewed: 13 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 8 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewThe property was really good. A little appartment good for a short stay. Clean and had all amenties.
A bit far from Tube stations. Neighbours were noisy till late in the night. The details about the location and pick up of keys was not clear. When called for help the person on the phone was rude. She started shouting at me saying i should read the instructions before i call her for help. Later she made me walk all way down to the ground floor and asked me to read the instructions i had, i told her i did read the instruction she insisted i read again. Adn then made me walk back again to the second floor where i was already standing. She could have easily told me what to do at the first instance instead of shouting at me. Not the type of person you want to be dealing with after a busy day at work. The instruction for the keys only gives code for the different doors. Instruction of which door has the lock box is not clearly explained. You have to walk up to the second floor to the actual appartment door with the keybox (In the instruction this is explained as main door but the main door was in the ground floor wide open with a fire extinguisher). Inside the appartment door are the little rooms with attached bathrooms with different room names. Hopefully this will help for anyone booking next.
Mr Asir, thank you for your review. But it was quite clear that you hadn't even read the instructions. You asked exactly the information that was explicit, expecting someone to open the door for you. So much so that, after reading the instructions, you managed to enter the apartment by yourself. In other words, the problem with people who are too lazy to read and get better informed is this: they always find it difficult to carry out what was proposed to them. All the objections you mentioned above I can prove that, contrary to what you say, they were strategically thought out and arranged. We receive more than 1000 guests per year, and only those who disregard the instructions have problems getting in. I hope I helped.
Mr Asir, thank you for your review. But it was quite clear that you hadn't even read the instructions. You asked exactly the information that was explicit, expecting someone to open the door for you. So much so that, after reading the instr… Show more
Reviewed: 1 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewGreat value for money, amazing staff. They were super helpful - even when I thought I lost my key ;). They were always very responsive throughout the process and it was an overall great stay.
Reviewed: 11 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewEverything pleasant The compact features. Good roomy refrigerator Abundant hot water Quiet location The cleanliness The furnishings Ability to open window The view Immediate attention to my queries Close to shopping, train and bus Coffee machine!! Great quality towels Good lighting day and night options Modern Good storage
The old fashioned key to get into the room! 😜 The microfiber protector sheet on the bed. Maybe cotton sheets would assist breathability
Dear guest, we would like to thank you for your positive review. We will keep improving to better assist our customers. Thank you very much once again. It was a pleasure to welcome you 😊
Reviewed: 31 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewThe room isn't very large, but it has everything you need and is very convenient. The host is really nice and does everything possible to help you.
The soundproofing of the door is average, but the house is mostly quiet most of the time
Hi dear, First of all, thank you very much for setting a time apart and leaving us a review. It's very important to us. We truly appreciate serving our guests and offering them the best. We'll keep improving to better attend our customers. We wish you the best!
Hi dear, First of all, thank you very much for setting a time apart and leaving us a review. It's very important to us. We truly appreciate serving our guests and offering them the best. We'll keep improving to better attend our customers. … Show more
Reviewed: 20 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewQuiet residential street. Excellent comms/service. Clean room, comfy bed. Good price. On site parking.
Difficulty reading the tiny numbers on the key holder box, age not helping here mind.
You are completely right! For this reason we have already provided a solution placing a proper light in the corridor. Thank you for you reply.