8.8

Reviews of Penelope Ensuite Double Room

70 Kings Avenue 70A, 2nd floor, Flat 3, Lambeth, London, SW4 8BH, United Kingdom

  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Great location, fantastic facilities

    Nothing

  • Stevie

    Reviewed: 15 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The check-in instructions were clear. The main parking spaces were taken, and the hosts were very quick to respond letting us know we can park near the gate. It was a really hot weekend and everywhere was super stuffy, but with their blackout curtains and wall-mounted fan pointing at the bed, we had no issues with being uncomfortable! It was absolutely spotless and had everything we needed. We got an Uber to o2 Academy which was under £10, and walked back which was less than half hour (lots of traffic on the way their though, so do allow yourself a little more time than you think you need!).

  • Birch

    Reviewed: 12 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The host was very welcoming,the room was spot on,clean and all you could need for a night,great location with public transport at your door,great value for money,cant think of anything that you could of done better.

  • See the property
  • Tymon

    Reviewed: 5 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    I really liked the accesibillity and the rate of price to accomodation. The owners were very helpfull and nice. The photos are literally showing the real room.

    Thin walls.

  • Bogdan

    Reviewed: 5 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Good location and value.

    A little difficult to access. Hot and humid although fan worked well.

  • Mark

    Reviewed: 1 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Paul

    Reviewed: 21 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Exceptionally clean ,great location

    Nothing

  • Z-jay

    Reviewed: 18 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The location was close enough to the city, The transportation was good.

    It was a bit noisy, but that's London.

  • Robin

    Reviewed: 14 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    This room offers superb accommodation at a very reasonable price for London. We stayed here as we were going to a concert at the Brixton 02 Arena. It was a 25-30 minute walk to the venue, which could alternatively have been done by bus or taxi. For a one night stay it gave us all we needed. A good sized room, excellent toilet and bathing facilities and a fridge, microwave and hot drink making equipment. It was extremely clean, and because of the secure entry system we felt very safe. Would definitely stay again for an event in the Brixton area. It is situated on a long residential road, which must be the only road in the capital without any form of shop on it. So if you think you'll need any provisions, buy them before you arrive!

    There was only one pod of coffee provided for the coffee machine, which was a major disappointment for the two of us who need their coffee in the morning!

  • See the property
  • Anaie

    Reviewed: 3 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Everything was very nice especially the wifi password

  • Olivia

    Reviewed: 30 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Close to bus stops and not too far to walk to the tube stations! The room was comfortable and had everything we needed for the few nights we stayed. Also the cute cats downstairs made the stay even better :)

    Everything was great, the only issue was the lock on the door was a bit difficult to unlock/lock

  • Samantha

    Reviewed: 17 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Selvi

    Reviewed: 15 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Even if the space available was not much, the room was well structured and cleaned, with a big bed and a table to have breakfast on and tea was offered by the host. The shower was also big and the bathroom really modern. It is also located in a quite residencial zone.

    The doors were difficult to open and close due to some damages and the location was a little bit far from the center and the metro station but bearable.

  • Richard

    Reviewed: 25 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Abass

    Reviewed: 8 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Ewa

    Reviewed: 12 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    The location was great with free parking. Very cosy room with everything you need for short stay.

    Everything was great.

  • Francesca

    Reviewed: 6 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Everything was PERFECT except one single thing: the noise from other rooms and from the corridor was unbearable, especially during the night. Also, there were two big body towels and one medium-size face towel: I would suggest that you put at least one other face towel, as the two people may not want to share the only one. Other than that, as I already said, everything was great: we didn't have many problems with the self check-in, self check-out at any time was great; the room was very clean and full of useful stuff (microwave, dishes, cups, body and hair soap, hair dryer, even UK adaptors!); the position is fantastic as it is in the second zone, with one bus stop in front of the building (also night bus stops there) and another one 3 minutes away. I highly recommend it!

    No soundproof doors and walls.

  • Konradas

    Reviewed: 4 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Wonderful owners, quickly responded to all (even small) notices regarding the apartment.

  • See the property
  • Amal

    Reviewed: 13 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review
  • Vin

    Reviewed: 8 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    The property was really good. A little appartment good for a short stay. Clean and had all amenties.

    A bit far from Tube stations. Neighbours were noisy till late in the night. The details about the location and pick up of keys was not clear. When called for help the person on the phone was rude. She started shouting at me saying i should read the instructions before i call her for help. Later she made me walk all way down to the ground floor and asked me to read the instructions i had, i told her i did read the instruction she insisted i read again. Adn then made me walk back again to the second floor where i was already standing. She could have easily told me what to do at the first instance instead of shouting at me. Not the type of person you want to be dealing with after a busy day at work. The instruction for the keys only gives code for the different doors. Instruction of which door has the lock box is not clearly explained. You have to walk up to the second floor to the actual appartment door with the keybox (In the instruction this is explained as main door but the main door was in the ground floor wide open with a fire extinguisher). Inside the appartment door are the little rooms with attached bathrooms with different room names. Hopefully this will help for anyone booking next.

    Property response:

    Mr Asir, thank you for your review. But it was quite clear that you hadn't even read the instructions. You asked exactly the information that was explicit, expecting someone to open the door for you. So much so that, after reading the instructions, you managed to enter the apartment by yourself. In other words, the problem with people who are too lazy to read and get better informed is this: they always find it difficult to carry out what was proposed to them. All the objections you mentioned above I can prove that, contrary to what you say, they were strategically thought out and arranged. We receive more than 1000 guests per year, and only those who disregard the instructions have problems getting in. I hope I helped.

    Mr Asir, thank you for your review. But it was quite clear that you hadn't even read the instructions. You asked exactly the information that was explicit, expecting someone to open the door for you. So much so that, after reading the instr… Show more

    Penelope Ensuite Double Room
    8 December 2024
  • André

    Reviewed: 1 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    Great value for money, amazing staff. They were super helpful - even when I thought I lost my key ;). They were always very responsive throughout the process and it was an overall great stay.

  • See the property
  • Anne

    Reviewed: 11 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    Everything pleasant The compact features. Good roomy refrigerator Abundant hot water Quiet location The cleanliness The furnishings Ability to open window The view Immediate attention to my queries Close to shopping, train and bus Coffee machine!! Great quality towels Good lighting day and night options Modern Good storage

    The old fashioned key to get into the room! 😜 The microfiber protector sheet on the bed. Maybe cotton sheets would assist breathability

    Property response:

    Dear guest, we would like to thank you for your positive review. We will keep improving to better assist our customers. Thank you very much once again. It was a pleasure to welcome you 😊

    Penelope Ensuite Double Room
    12 November 2024
  • Ting

    Reviewed: 31 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    The room isn't very large, but it has everything you need and is very convenient. The host is really nice and does everything possible to help you.

    The soundproofing of the door is average, but the house is mostly quiet most of the time

    Property response:

    Hi dear, First of all, thank you very much for setting a time apart and leaving us a review. It's very important to us. We truly appreciate serving our guests and offering them the best. We'll keep improving to better attend our customers. We wish you the best!

    Hi dear, First of all, thank you very much for setting a time apart and leaving us a review. It's very important to us. We truly appreciate serving our guests and offering them the best. We'll keep improving to better attend our customers. … Show more

    Penelope Ensuite Double Room
    1 November 2024
  • Chris

    Reviewed: 20 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    Quiet residential street. Excellent comms/service. Clean room, comfy bed. Good price. On site parking.

    Difficulty reading the tiny numbers on the key holder box, age not helping here mind.

    Property response:

    You are completely right! For this reason we have already provided a solution placing a proper light in the corridor. Thank you for you reply.

    Penelope Ensuite Double Room
    20 October 2024
  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...