8.2

Reviews of Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence" 3 stars

12 Rue de la Terre Rouge, 17740 Sainte-Marie-de-Ré, France

  • Simon

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Michael

    Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Perfect for a short break. There is a really lovely and clean pool area, friendly reception staff who allowed us to check in an hour early after a long journey and the secure parking was great. Breakfast was ok. The hotel is in a quiet area of the island and about a 20 min walk to Sainte-Marie where there are a couple of restaurants there on the lovely square, the food wasn’t right for our family with kids but was lovely to enjoy a drink.

    Air con would have been great but I understand this is part of the hotel’s green policy and not common on the island.

    Property response:

    Dear Sir, Thank you for your comments following your short family stay at our establishment. We are very happy to hear your compliments about the friendliness of our staff, the peaceful surroundings and the easy access to Sainte-Marie and its restaurants. We appreciate your understanding regarding the lack of air conditioning, which is in line with our commitment to sustainable development and the Clef Verte label. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Hôtel de Ré! Élodie - Quality Service

    Dear Sir, Thank you for your comments following your short family stay at our establishment. We are very happy to hear your compliments about the friendliness of our staff, the peaceful surroundings and the easy access to Sainte-Marie and… Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    25 August 2025
  • Elena

    Reviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Friendly staff, clean and quiet location

    No air con

    Property response:

    Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your positive feedback following your stay. We are delighted that you found our team friendly and appreciated the calm and clean surroundings of our establishment. We do our best every day to offer our guests an environment conducive to relaxation and rejuvenation. Regarding the lack of air conditioning, our commitment to sustainable and environmentally friendly tourism, validated by our Clef Verte label, encourages us to favour ecological solutions. The Île de Ré enjoys a mild climate, and with a few tricks such as good ventilation during the cooler hours, it is possible to maintain a pleasant temperature in the rooms. We would be delighted to welcome you back to prolong these pleasant moments. Élodie - Quality Service

    Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your positive feedback following your stay. We are delighted that you found our team friendly and appreciated the calm and clean surroundings of our establishment. We do our best every day to offer our … Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    18 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Tracy

    Reviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Kellie

    Reviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely family run small hotel with gorgeous pool area and well equipped apartment

    Property response:

    Dear Madam, It is a pleasure to read your feedback following your family stay. We are delighted that you appreciated the family atmosphere and charm of our hotel. This is precisely the atmosphere that the entire team strives to create, a place where guests can feel at home. Our heated swimming pool, nestled in the heart of the garden, is indeed the perfect place to relax after a day exploring the island. We would be happy to welcome you back, perhaps for a slightly longer stay, so you can explore more of the wonders of our region. Élodie - Quality Service

    Dear Madam, It is a pleasure to read your feedback following your family stay. We are delighted that you appreciated the family atmosphere and charm of our hotel. This is precisely the atmosphere that the entire team strives to create, a … Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    18 August 2025
  • Walsh

    Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    I should have researched more as this hotel was way off the beaten track. We have 3 kids under 7 and this hotel does not cater for kids. The facilities were fine but very much retirement home vibes. The breakfast was fine but they served no other food and there was no restaurant or shops in walking distances with 3 small kids. The apartments also weren't equipped for cooking even though they supplied pots and pans. When I asked for some pasta that we had to be boiled on the hotel kitchen, they told us they didn't have boiling facilities. All in all the trip was good but VERY quiet and not suited for families... especially if are are cycling and looking to visit the likes of La Flotte and Saint Martin.

    Property response:

    Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed feedback on your stay at the Hôtel de Ré. It is true that our establishment cultivates a particularly calm and peaceful atmosphere, often appreciated by those who wish to disconnect. However, we are happy to welcome guests of all ages with an outdoor play area, a heated swimming pool (in season), and a range of services designed to make family stays easier. When it comes to dining, our breakfast buffet showcases fresh, local produce in a gourmet and environmentally friendly way. However, we prefer to let our guests explore the cuisine of Ré in the nearby restaurants and markets, so they can discover the best the island has to offer. In addition, some of our apartment categories have a fully equipped kitchen. We hope that you have been able to appreciate the beauty of our island and its many natural attractions. Élodie - Quality Service

    Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed feedback on your stay at the Hôtel de Ré. It is true that our establishment cultivates a particularly calm and peaceful atmosphere, often appreciated by those who wish to di… Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    20 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Grace

    Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely pool and modern room

    No air con, breakfast only allowed one croissant.

    Property response:

    Dear Madam, We are particularly touched by your appreciation of our swimming pool and modern rooms. With regard to air conditioning, we have opted for natural ventilation, in keeping with the island spirit and our environmental commitment. The sea breezes and our architectural design generally provide a pleasant temperature, although we understand that this may come as a surprise on particularly hot days. When it comes to breakfast, we are committed to offering a selection of local and organic products that will delight your taste buds. Although we have specified one croissant per person in order to limit food waste, you can request an additional pastry from our team in advance. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and offer you an even more memorable stay on our beautiful island, nestled between the ocean and nature. Élodie - Quality Service

    Dear Madam, We are particularly touched by your appreciation of our swimming pool and modern rooms. With regard to air conditioning, we have opted for natural ventilation, in keeping with the island spirit and our environmental commitmen… Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    20 August 2025
  • Liam

    Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Breakfast was ok but could offer more choice - coffee machine was poor Location is a good bike ride from main urban centres on the island

    Room was too small for 2 adults n 2 kids Staff wouldn’t book a taxi for us at reception

    Property response:

    Dear Madam, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions after your stay at the Hôtel de Ré. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our prime location in Sainte Marie de Ré, which offers easy access to the island's wonders via numerous cycle paths. I am sorry to hear that the Comfort Room did not fully meet your family's expectations. As you are no doubt aware, each room has a private terrace overlooking our garden, a place conducive to relaxation. For future bookings, please do not hesitate to ask us to choose more spacious accommodation that better suits your needs. Regarding taxi reservations, our team is normally available to assist you with this type of service. We will clarify this point with our staff to understand what happened. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and offer you a more satisfying experience. Élodie - Quality Service

    Dear Madam, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions after your stay at the Hôtel de Ré. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our prime location in Sainte Marie de Ré, which offers easy access to the island's wonde… Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    18 August 2025
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 29 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Ben

    Reviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Rosalind

    Reviewed: 18 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Hotel was quiet with mainly older adult people. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was continental with sufficient choice.

    Pool doesn't open until 10.00. Bicycle hire doesn't open until 10.00 even though it was written that bicycles could be hired from 8.30 the evening before. No safe available even though again it is written in their welcome pack

  • Tim

    Reviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • 7.0 Good
    Sabrine

    Reviewed: 8 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • John

    Reviewed: 7 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Swimming pool

    Property response:

    Dear sir, We would like to thank you for your comment and your excellent rating following your stay at the Hôtel de Ré. You highlighted our swimming pool, and we are delighted that you particularly enjoyed it. Nestling in the heart of our garden and bathed in calm, it is designed as a real invitation to relax. It's the ideal place to unwind after a day spent exploring the island's cycle paths or strolling along the nearby beach. We hope that this short stop will have inspired you to come back and explore the treasures of our region at greater length. Élodie Quality Service

    Dear sir, We would like to thank you for your comment and your excellent rating following your stay at the Hôtel de Ré. You highlighted our swimming pool, and we are delighted that you particularly enjoyed it. Nestling in the heart of our… Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    17 July 2025
  • Charlie

    Reviewed: 2 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The hotel was quiet with secure parking.

    Nothing not to like.

    Property response:

    Dear Guest, We are delighted by your enthusiastic feedback on your stay at the Hôtel de Ré. Your appreciation of our clean and comfortable rooms warms our hearts. Our team strives to create an atmosphere conducive to relaxation. As for the secure car park, it is indeed a point that allows you to enjoy your stay on the Ile de Ré with peace of mind. Your trouble-free stay is our greatest reward. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Élodie Quality Service

    Dear Guest, We are delighted by your enthusiastic feedback on your stay at the Hôtel de Ré. Your appreciation of our clean and comfortable rooms warms our hearts. Our team strives to create an atmosphere conducive to relaxation. As for t… Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    4 July 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Michael

    Reviewed: 26 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Position, pool, staff and breakfast

    No air con and no extractor fan in the bathroom that was working

    Property response:

    Dear Sir, Many thanks for your complimentary feedback and for the charming title you chose for your comment. The whole team is delighted that you enjoyed the welcome you received, as well as our ideal location for exploring the island. Regarding the ventilation in the bathroom, please don't hesitate to ask us at the time, our team would have been pleased to help. As for the air conditioning, it's a choice in keeping with our commitment to the environment and our Green Key label. The island enjoys mild nights which, by airing out your room overlooking the garden, enable you to maintain a very pleasant temperature. We hope you have fond memories of your stay on the island and would be delighted to welcome you back. Élodie Quality Service

    Dear Sir, Many thanks for your complimentary feedback and for the charming title you chose for your comment. The whole team is delighted that you enjoyed the welcome you received, as well as our ideal location for exploring the island. R… Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    30 June 2025
  • Rosalind

    Reviewed: 22 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Quite hotel , sufficient continental breakfast with fruit, yogurt, breads, cereals, eggs . Staff friendly and helpful. Pool well maintained and cleaned daily.

    Pool doesn't open until 10 am. Bike hire not available until 10 am even though it states on their literature that you could hire from 8.30 on the previous evening. No safe. Additional cleaning fee for apartments which isn't clearly stated when booking.

    Property response:

    Dear Madam, Thank you for your lovely comment and for choosing us for your family holiday on our beautiful island of Ré. We are delighted that you found our hotel relaxing and that you enjoyed our breakfast, carefully composed of organic and local produce, perfect for recharging the batteries before a day of exploring. With regard to the opening times of the swimming pool and bikes, we fully understand that you would have appreciated an earlier opening time; these times are adapted to the arrival of the maintenance staff, to guarantee the quality of the facilities. For bike hire, it is possible to book the day before at reception, and we are always available to explain how this works. We look forward to welcoming you back for an equally pleasant and relaxing stay. Élodie Quality Service

    Dear Madam, Thank you for your lovely comment and for choosing us for your family holiday on our beautiful island of Ré. We are delighted that you found our hotel relaxing and that you enjoyed our breakfast, carefully composed of organic… Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    30 June 2025
  • Dennis

    Reviewed: 21 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Alwyne

    Reviewed: 21 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Yvonne

    Reviewed: 14 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely little place. Friendly staff. Great breakfast

    Property response:

    Dear Madam, We are delighted that your stay at the Hôtel de Ré has left a charming impression on you. Our attentive team is delighted to have helped make your experience a pleasant one thanks to their warm welcome. Your compliment on the breakfast is particularly touching. Our varied buffet features island flavours with local produce and homemade specialities. It's a pleasure to start the day around a gourmet table in a friendly atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you and helping you discover more of the charms of our beautiful island of Ré. Élodie Quality Service

    Dear Madam, We are delighted that your stay at the Hôtel de Ré has left a charming impression on you. Our attentive team is delighted to have helped make your experience a pleasant one thanks to their warm welcome. Your compliment on the… Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    17 June 2025
  • James

    Reviewed: 12 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Clean with an very clean bathroom. Overall a little tired .

    There was a menu board so we asked about dinner . It was explained that ‘the meals are put in a jar and microwaved’….. we didn’t eat there. Quite expensive for what it is. No air conditioning

    Property response:

    Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our establishment. I am delighted to hear that you found your accommodation clean, particularly the bathroom, which is often an important criterion for our visitors. Cleanliness is indeed one of our priorities and we make it a point of honour to maintain this standard. With regards to catering, we offer a selection of takeaway dishes in jars from the ‘Vrais et Bon’ range, which are home-made and thought out to offer a simple, high-quality alternative. It's a flexible option that many of our visitors appreciate. As for the absence of air conditioning, our establishment, committed to an eco-responsible approach, relies on natural solutions. I sincerely hope that you were able to leave with some wonderful memories of our beautiful region. Quality Service

    Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our establishment. I am delighted to hear that you found your accommodation clean, particularly the bathroom, which is often an important criterion for our visitors. Clea… Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    17 June 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Claire

    Reviewed: 11 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Linda

    Reviewed: 8 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Not a lot!

    We booked for 2 nights stay but left after the first night the weather was dreadful not the fault of the hotel, however, we were very cold and wet and I asked if we could have a heater but told NO! the restaurants were all closed even though there were signs saying their opening times! No smoking ANYWHERE...even in our own car in the car park!!! How dictatorial can you be!! We expect no smoking inside but outside is usually OK...never again!! We were very disappointed 😞

    Property response:

    Dear Madam, We have received your feedback regarding your stay with us. First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience. We understand your disappointment with the capricious weather. Unfortunately, the sun in Rete, as generous as it usually is, doesn't always shine. If, during your next stay, the temperature in your room does not suit you, please do not hesitate to let us know. Our team will be happy to suggest solutions to ensure optimum comfort. As far as the smoking ban is concerned, it applies to our entire property, including the car park, in order to protect everyone's well-being and comply with legislation. This information appears on our website and on the booking platforms. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to discover all the wonders of our island under a radiant sky. Élodie Quality Service

    Dear Madam, We have received your feedback regarding your stay with us. First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience. We understand your disappointment with the capricious weather. Unfortunately, the sun in Rete, a… Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    12 June 2025
  • Ian

    Reviewed: 2 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Lena88888

    Reviewed: 29 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Amazing location and cute hotel.

    Unflexibility with reservation when a change occured, uninformative check-in and unfriendly reception.

    Property response:

    Dear Madam Your words about our "amazing" location and our "cute" hotel are very touching. We are delighted that you enjoyed our exceptional location and the charm of our hotel. Being just a stone's throw from the ocean and being able to explore the island's beautiful cycle paths certainly enhances our guests' experience. We want to be fair to all our guests. This is why we make it a point of honour to respect the conditions for modifying or cancelling booked offers. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our peaceful garden, our rooms with terrace and a hearty breakfast of local delicacies. Élodie Quality Service

    Dear Madam Your words about our "amazing" location and our "cute" hotel are very touching. We are delighted that you enjoyed our exceptional location and the charm of our hotel. Being just a stone's throw from the… Show more

    Hôtel de Ré, "The Originals Résidence"
    6 June 2025
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Super 8 by Wyndham Duncan

Duncan, Canada

Crown Imperial Court

Cameron Highlands, Malaysia

Selva Bananito Lodge

Westfalia, Costa Rica

42C The Chic Hotel

Nakhon Sawan, Thailand

Hotel Pashmina Le Refuge

Val Thorens, France

Sherman Inn

Sherman, United States

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...