7.7

Reviews of Hôtel Miramar 3 stars

167 avenue Bougearel, 06140 Vence, France

  • Anne

    Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The location and character of the old villa, a quick.walk into the centre for restaurants. Nice terrace for breakfast or drinks.. We have been here on more than one occasion

    Oh...the endless stairs, with cases! But to be fair we.know there is no lift! Next time I will ask for a room on a lower floor!

  • Edward

    Reviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Steve

    Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely old building, great swimming pool with stunning views of mountains. Nice continental breakfast but €14 pp is expensive for what you get.

    No aircon, rooms were too hot and uncomfortable with just one floor fan. The lady who ran the hotel and clearly the staff’s boss was extremely rude and didn’t speak any English. When we first arrived she only gave us one key for two rooms and insisted that was all we needed. She probably didn’t understand me saying that one key was not enough surely for 2 rooms on two different floors for our family of four. When she finally realised after us trying the one key for both locks she didn’t apologise and just gave us another key. She was very friendly to other French guests but didn’t smile at all to us. How can anyone running a hotel not speak English? She had to use a translation app on her phone. She also charged us city tax on arrival and departure and later acknowledged just before we left that that was a mistake and gave us cash back thankfully. No smiles, no pleasant welcome. No feeling that we were welcome at all. She told us the code for the main front door only after we got locked out and didn’t apologise for that either. We feel the staff need to speak English.

    Property response:

    Hello, We would like to remind you of certain facts to correct your inaccurate statements. Upon your arrival, both room keys were indeed available at the reception. If you only took one, that is a matter of your choice and not an error on our part.Regarding the air conditioning, it is clearly stated in the hotel's description that some rooms have fans and others have portable air conditioners. You were aware of this when you made your reservation. You claim to have been uncomfortable, yet you stayed for three nights, and your wife spent a large part of the stay in the room. As for the 'lack of smiles', allow us to clarify that politeness is reciprocal. Your attitude and your repeated requests (particularly regarding the bar hours that we communicated to you several times, including when you sent your daughter) demonstrated more of a lack of consideration on your part than a concern for hospitality on ours. You also requested a room service while lying on the bed, with the door open, which is not an appropriate way to address the staff. Finally, you indicated upon your arrival that you did not wish to have breakfast. The next day, however, you helped yourself without authorization. Respect works both ways.As for the language, our establishment is located in France and the working language is naturally French. We make efforts to adapt to our international clients, but it is excessive to reproach a French hotel for not mastering English fluently.We regret that you did not enjoy your stay, but your comments do not reflect the reality of your behavior or that of our establishment. Best regards,

    Hello, We would like to remind you of certain facts to correct your inaccurate statements. Upon your arrival, both room keys were indeed available at the reception. If you only took one, that is a matter of your choice and not an error on o… Show more

    Hôtel Miramar
    21 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Qing

    Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The hotel bulding is beautiful and we've a good vue. The swimming pool is good.

    We don't have the aircondition in room, it was very hot more than 35. we can't get to sleep in night, it was terrible. We booked a room for three as the description in Booking, but the property would like to invoice 10 euros per night for my son's bed, after a conversation finally she remove this additional unreasonable fees. However it caused the confusion and unpleasant feeling.

    Property response:

    Madam, Let’s put things back into context. You booked a panoramic double room for two people, with the option of adding an extra bed for an additional fee — this is clearly stated in the room description (double bed for two people + option for a paid extra bed). Perhaps you didn’t take the time to read it, but you are the first client to make such a remark. Despite this, I showed goodwill by graciously offering you this extra bed.Furthermore, you mention an "unpleasant" stay, yet you stayed three nights. It would have been more honest to express your grievances on the first day rather than only afterwards. Finally, allow me to point out certain facts that you are omitting: your son's behavior at the pool troubled our other clients (he notably popped a float by jumping on it), I had to intervene while you said nothing. He also entered the hotel completely soaked without even bothering to dry off. And I will just briefly mention your husband's lack of respect, who at 8 in the morning, was yelling while leaving your room, forcing us to ask him to lower his voice for the sake of the other guests. Respect is mutual.

    Madam, Let’s put things back into context. You booked a panoramic double room for two people, with the option of adding an extra bed for an additional fee — this is clearly stated in the room description (double bed for two people + option … Show more

    Hôtel Miramar
    20 August 2025
  • Jason

    Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Really noisy people partied until 4 in morning with no consideration

    Views were amazing

    Property response:

    Hello, We see that you particularly enjoyed the view, which is already a great satisfaction. You mention outside noise during the night: as you can imagine, we are in no way responsible for the incivility of certain individuals. We immediately took measures by contacting the authorities, and the situation returned to normal quickly. Your rating therefore surprises us a bit, as there is no negative point related to the accommodation or our service mentioned in your comment.

    Hello, We see that you particularly enjoyed the view, which is already a great satisfaction. You mention outside noise during the night: as you can imagine, we are in no way responsible for the incivility of certain individuals. We immediat… Show more

    Hôtel Miramar
    16 August 2025
  • Francesca

    Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The place is located in a beautiful setting and the views are amazing.

    Staff didn’t speak English. Our dog wasn’t allowed to be left on her own in the room. That is quite ridiculous.

  • See the hotel
  • Jelena

    Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Clean, beautiful

    No restaurant, no bar until evening , no possibility to even order a coffee

    Property response:

    Hello, Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness and charm of our establishment. If you had taken the time to read the information clearly indicated on our website, you would have seen that there is no restaurant. The bar is open from late afternoon until 11 p.m., and I believe you took advantage of it. As for your coffee, it was served as soon as you asked for it... unless we're mistaken.

    Hello, Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness and charm of our establishment. If you had taken the time to read the information clearly indicated on our website, you would have seen that there is no restaurant. The bar is open from late… Show more

    Hôtel Miramar
    11 August 2025
  • Fiona

    Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Terrace, pool, breakfast

    Pool area not very clean

    Property response:

    Thank you for your comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed the terrace, the pool, and the breakfast. Regarding the pool area, we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations. We do our utmost every day to ensure the cleanliness of the premises, including the maintenance of the garden surrounding the pool. Looking forward to seeing you again,

    Thank you for your comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed the terrace, the pool, and the breakfast. Regarding the pool area, we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations. We do our utmost every day to ensure the cleanliness of the … Show more

    Hôtel Miramar
    10 August 2025
  • Sarah

    Reviewed: 18 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Great pool. Beautiful views and close to the old city. Parking was great.

    Check in was quite late, would be nice to have an early check in option. No mosquito netting on the windows, coupled with a very noise air con made not a bad night sleep.

  • See the hotel
  • Albert

    Reviewed: 6 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The views from the patio and our room on the top floor are fantastic breakfast is very nice. With a good choice of meats, cheese fresh fruit and pastries. There is off street free parking and it’s a short walk to the center of town and the old town of Vence. Quiet and serene

    It’s difficult to get to the hotel from the parking lot if you have trouble walking. There’s a steep cobblestone path with many uneven steps. Also there is no elevator for the higher floors. It’s 22 steps per flight. The top floor where we stayed in room 24 is 88 steps. The manager is only there in the morning and leaves after breakfast. Check in is remote and there is a password for the front door lock which we had to get from a guest as we arrived in the afternoon when no manager was there. . There is also an unseen step just inside the front door which can cause a nasty fall if you’re not prepared for it. Rooms are comfortable but furniture shows its age.

  • 7.0 Good
    Alan

    Reviewed: 24 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Dorit

    Reviewed: 21 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    I loved the hotel Miramar. I loved its refreshing, rarely-encountered-now simplicity, the yellow walls and terracotta-coloured simple furniture, and I still remember the "Ah!" when I walked through the door and saw the view, which is even more beautiful from the terrace. It was a lovely room to stay in. The hotel offers a lavish, varied buffet breakfast for 14 euro, very good value. The Miramar is for people who can appreciate this combination of basic comfort and cleanliness with simplicity.

  • See the hotel
  • Anna

    Reviewed: 15 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Anton

    Reviewed: 21 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    It’s an older hotel but beautifully furnished. Rooms are spacious. Lady at reception didn’t speak much English but she was incredibly friendly. The panoramic view of my room was so beautiful. Walking downtown is about a 6 minute walk. It’s my 2nd visit and I recommend staying here.

  • Daniel

    Reviewed: 7 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Perfect location as a home base to explore Vence and its neighboring villages, the historical vibe of the hotel and the decoration. The hotel owners are very attentive and friendly as well.

    I don’t have anything that I disliked.

  • See the hotel
  • Elena

    Reviewed: 5 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    I had a very nice room with a balcony and wonderful views of the valley and mountains.

    There were a few things I didn't like that really ruined my experience of the hotel: 1. The bathroom was dirty. When I filled it with hot water, it smelled bad. 2. The sink had a clogged pipe and the water didn't drain well (it took a minute for the sink to fill up, so it was hard to even wash your face). 3. When I opened the lid of the table in my room, there was someone's long hair and trash... 4. The pool was closed. It was early November and the weather was fine. I would have liked to sit by the pool (or maybe even swim). And the fact that it was closed was unpleasant. 5. The hotel advertised a bar and that it was possible to order a glass of Aperol or wine... And there was a menu with prices in the hotel. But the bar area was empty, there was no one there during the day... That is, there was no opportunity to sit on the hotel terrace (for which I stayed in this hotel) and order an Aperol to drink it with a view of the mountains... just an empty hotel, an empty bar, an empty terrace (which was also not always open) 6. Breakfast at the hotel for 14 euros is the worst (look at he photo). Poor. Apart from a cup, saucer and teaspoon there were no additional utensils. I had to eat muesli with milk with a small spoon. The choice of products is super-poor. A big disappointment.

  • Martin

    Reviewed: 12 November 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    Perfect location, wonderful panorama, breakfast on a sunny terrace, room with a view, swimming pool, Vence old town in walking distance, super friendly and helpful management!

  • Henrik

    Reviewed: 4 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    The location is great. Amazing view from the balcony. Easy to park.

    The service was non existent. Bathe day before arrival we were informed in French that nobody would be in the reception upon arrival. The code functioned and we found our key and room. We met the staff the next day, they did not want to speak to us at all. No welcoming at all. The staff seemed hostile towards us - we are danish - but seemed friendly to the French guests. Very very unpleasant. It was not possible for us to get breakfast, we couldn’t even have a cup of coffee. The breakfast room - that we obviously did not use was covered we negative notes like: only 3 cups of coffee per person. Only for breakfast. Don’t bring the service to your room etc. very hostile attitude. The flush mechanism in the toilet was broken so we were worried if it would work. There wasn’t enough toilet paper for a two night stay. No extra left in the room. The bathtub could not be used as they had removed the lid in the bottom so it couldn’t hold the water. Very little pressure in the shower, took ages to get warm. The door to the balcony is in the bathroom. It works but not perfect. The price for this double room should be no more than euro 100.

  • See the hotel
  • Alejandro

    Reviewed: 30 October 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review
  • Mark

    Reviewed: 26 October 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review

    Wonderful view from the terrace and pool. Only 10 mins flat walk to Vence from a quiet area. It is next to the football pitches so some kids noise on Saturday afternoon but nothing to worry about. Breakfast was excellent and the newish owners are doing it up, so not everything is super modern yet, but that's part of the charm. Wifi was good too!

    Very little. All good.

  • Vincenzo

    Reviewed: 24 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    Position, mountain/valley view.

    Maintenance slightly run down. Rooms very basic, obsolete bathroom. Breakfast, poor value for money.

  • See the hotel
  • Amir

    Reviewed: 13 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    The terrace.

    The beds, the size of one of our rooms and the lack of heating!

  • 7.0 Good
    Lindsey

    Reviewed: 5 October 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review
  • Georgia

    Reviewed: 30 September 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review

    Great pool and great view

    The room lacked aircon and no fridge. The room was so hot we didn't sleep. The bar was only open from 5pm in the evening, and during hot summer days they could have provided cold drinking water.

  • See the hotel
  • Sara

    Reviewed: 25 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Hestia Hotel Barons Old Town

Tallinn, Estonia

Pensión Arosa

Barcelona, Spain

Apartment Lannaz-Résidence

Crans-Montana, Switzerland

Černá louže

Branžež, Czech Republic

Horváthapartman

Bük, Hungary

Masseria Brica Rossa

Corigliano Calabro, Italy

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...