8.5

Reviews of Hôtel du Donjon 3 stars

4 rue des Hivers, 17470 Aulnay, France

  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Very nice place i will kom back , love it

  • Susan

    Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Very comfy bed, hot water, view of pretty and quiet courtyard

    Owner a little pushy when insisting one must not eat in the room Owner requiring one to leave the breakfast room just ten minutes after last serving time

  • Liz

    Reviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Location in small village. Friendly staff. Lovely garden. Interesting old property.

    The one restaurant in the village was fully booked the night we were there.

  • See the hotel
  • Sue

    Reviewed: 1 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The hotel was very clean and nice decor.

    A smile from the hostess would have made such a difference. We have never felt more unwelcome, treated us with such disrespect. No drinking water supplied and no hand soap. We had problems with the broken showerhead fitting that led to a bit of water leaking downstairs. We were told off and warned not to do it again! No one came to rectify the problem. There were no umbrellas provided to protect us from the sun in the scorching 38deg.C heat in the garden. We do not recommend this hotel.

    Property response:

    Madam, Sir, I am disappointed by your comment, because it is unfounded. The water damage you caused is not due to the damaged shower hose (because it isn't, I checked it Sunday evening upon my return), but rather to your lack of vigilance. Furthermore, at no time did you come to warn us. We had to see water falling from the ceiling onto the small living room to notice it. At no time did you apologize for this problem, and you let an 84-year-old person (my mother) clean it up for you! Should we make you pay for the damage? I have plenty of photos to prove it, and we've contacted our insurance company to estimate the cost of repairs, and based on that, our insurance company will get back to you. Soap, you should have looked carefully. There are two squeeze bottles on the bathtub with shower gel and soap. As for the water, you could have asked for it... We have some in stock and it's fresh... And honestly, given your lack of manners during your stay, it's best not to see us again. And waiting until you're behind your screen, instead of telling me about it as you leave, would have been more honest. Good luck to you. Sandrine - Director

    Madam, Sir, I am disappointed by your comment, because it is unfounded. The water damage you caused is not due to the damaged shower hose (because it isn't, I checked it Sunday evening upon my return), but rather to your lack of vigila… Show more

    Hôtel du Donjon
    1 July 2025
  • Geert

    Reviewed: 14 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Ronald

    Reviewed: 29 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    The hotel is situated just of the main village square in a quiet location. Our host was very welcoming and helpful, and the room was absolutely charming. The evening meal was very good, and the breakfast, including a lightly boiled egg, delicious.

  • See the hotel
  • Max

    Reviewed: 13 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review
  • Judith

    Reviewed: 19 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review
  • Yates

    Reviewed: 1 August 2024 · Stayed in July 2024

    Verified review

    Breakfast was OK Location was very good for us

    Didnt like noisy people smoking in the garden when we arrived

    Property response:

    Dear customer, We thank you for your kind comment. For the people who were in the garden chatting and smoking, I am sorry but they had the right to do so. This is the very principle of life in hotels, a community life where tolerance is essential. Wishing you good luck Sandrine

    Dear customer, We thank you for your kind comment. For the people who were in the garden chatting and smoking, I am sorry but they had the right to do so. This is the very principle of life in hotels, a community life where tolerance is ess… Show more

    Hôtel du Donjon
    2 August 2024
  • See the hotel
  • Derek

    Reviewed: 15 July 2024 · Stayed in May 2024

    Verified review
  • Manuel

    Reviewed: 27 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    Very nice persons. Very good cuisine.

    The internet conection

  • Sue

    Reviewed: 16 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    Comfy bed and good pillows. Really clean and helpful staff.

    Unable to have dinner in the restaurant as we’d booked after 12:00 noon. Would benefit from an upgrade of bathrooms.

    Property response:

    Dear Client, We thank you for your comment. Regarding the catering at our table d'hôte, if you read the description correctly on Booking.com, it is noted that you must reserve before noon, because it is a "Table d'Hôte" and not a restaurant with a maximum of 8 people. As we have 3 restaurants in Aulnay, you will have no difficulty dining upon your arrival. Wishing you good luck, Sandrine

    Dear Client, We thank you for your comment. Regarding the catering at our table d'hôte, if you read the description correctly on Booking.com, it is noted that you must reserve before noon, because it is a "Table d'Hôte" an… Show more

    Hôtel du Donjon
    18 November 2023
  • See the hotel
  • Eoin

    Reviewed: 5 November 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review
  • Cris

    Reviewed: 2 October 2023 · Stayed in September 2023

    Verified review

    Lovely traditional building in a quiet village setting.

    Not applicable

  • Simon

    Reviewed: 6 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023

    Verified review

    If you are in the area, this is the place you must stay. The landlady is the most helpful person and the facilities are great.

    Nothing

  • See the hotel
  • Trevor

    Reviewed: 29 July 2023 · Stayed in July 2023

    Verified review

    Great location and lovely old building.

    All good

  • Peter

    Reviewed: 9 July 2023 · Stayed in July 2023

    Verified review

    This is a charming and.very comfortable little hotel. We arrived late after our flight was delayed but the proprietress could not have been more understanding and helpful.

  • Kevin

    Reviewed: 13 June 2023 · Stayed in June 2023

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Doug

    Reviewed: 14 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023

    Verified review
  • Tapioh

    Reviewed: 1 November 2022 · Stayed in October 2022

    Verified review

    Very friendly personnel, spaceous room, good bed. Quiet environmet. Sufficient and tasty breakfast. Perfect place for us.

  • David

    Reviewed: 14 October 2022 · Stayed in October 2022

    Verified review

    Dinner was excellent and so was the breakfast.

    There was tea and coffee in the room but supplies were very limited and only tiny paper cups were allowed. Madame would not allow ceramic cups or mugs. A nice pair of ceramic mugs in each room and a good supply of tea bags would greatly enhance the comfort after a long journey.

    Property response:

    madam Thank you for your comment. Regarding the courtesy tray in your room (free), it is only used for troubleshooting and indeed, as I explained to you, we follow the imposed, ecological standards of hotels and put recyclable cups. If you want to have a real tea or coffee with real porcelain cups, we had our bar at your disposal (which is not free). Hoping to have answered your request, Cordially Sandrine

    madam Thank you for your comment. Regarding the courtesy tray in your room (free), it is only used for troubleshooting and indeed, as I explained to you, we follow the imposed, ecological standards of hotels and put recyclable cups. If you … Show more

    Hôtel du Donjon
    17 October 2022
  • See the hotel
  • Anthony

    Reviewed: 22 September 2022 · Stayed in September 2022

    Verified review

    Very friendly staff and extra comfy bed

    Property response:

    Dear customer, we thank you for your comment. For us too it was a pleasure to receive you and to have shared an excellent moment with you. See you soon Sandrine

    Hôtel du Donjon
    23 September 2022
  • 7.0 Good
    Rob

    Reviewed: 19 September 2022 · Stayed in August 2022

    Verified review
  • Stuart

    Reviewed: 4 September 2022 · Stayed in August 2022

    Verified review

    Lovely hotel with great service

    Nothing

    Property response:

    Dear customer, we thank you for your wonderful comment. It was a pleasure for our team and myself to receive you. Hoping to see you again soon, Sandrine

    Hôtel du Donjon
    5 September 2022
  • See the hotel
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Hotel Garni Rifflsee

Sankt Leonhard im Pitztal, Austria

York

Faro, Portugal

Peñamar Tour

Puerto Rico de Gran Canaria, Spain

Hotel von Stephan

Westerland (Sylt), Germany

Weingut Langmayer

Wösendorf, Austria

Antico Palazzo Scala

Sorrento, Italy

Ackee Tree Sea View Villa

Port Antonio, Jamaica

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...