8.4

Reviews of Camp Taveuni

Main Coastal Road Matei, Matei, Fiji

  • Julien

    Reviewed: 16 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    The conviviality of Allen and Mary, the meals (breakfasts and dinners), the facilities and the cute dogs and cat!

    Maybe the cold water in the showers because it was the start of the raining Season (i suppose in full summer, the cold showers are totally adapted!)

  • Adam

    Reviewed: 9 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    Super friendly staff. Would do anything to help and make your stay as pleasurable as possible. Amazing views from the Camp

    You get what you pay for, so nothing really, however, a hot shower would’ve made the stat a tad better. In saying that, I would still go back. Mary and Allen were both so wonderful.

  • Archie

    Reviewed: 23 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    Camp Taveuni is a 10 minute walk to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! We had the place to ourselves pretty much as they usually do camps for school kids so we had the pool overlooking an amazing view just for us. We had wifi which was really helpful as not many other places have wifi in Fiji. Mary was lovely she helped us with anything we needed and the staff and taxi driver Jass were all really friendly and helpful. All the facilities were really clean and it was great value for money.

    The camp has two dogs which are pretty boisterous and bark very loudly at you when you come and go. We like dogs so it wasn't too bad but if you aren't a dog person this would be pretty difficult. Our room was very small and there is nowhere to put your stuff or hang your towels to dry.

    Property response:

    Thanks, it was great hosting you. Safe travels!

    Camp Taveuni
    23 October 2024
  • See the property
  • Lahiri

    Reviewed: 20 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024

    Verified review

    Had a very relaxed couple of days there. Lovely spot to chill and not have to do anything. The host Allan is very welcoming and willing to do drop offs or arrange anything needed. Big plus are the pets, i love pets and it was great having a puppy there to play with. Will defo come again, cheers

    Property response:

    Thanks Lahiri. Zazu is definitely missing you!

    Camp Taveuni
    21 May 2024
  • Descamps

    Reviewed: 13 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024

    Verified review

    Alan is amazing

    Property response:

    It was a pleasure hosting you both.

    Camp Taveuni
    14 May 2024
  • Lauren

    Reviewed: 12 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024

    Verified review

    My partner and I stayed at Camp Taveuni for four nights. We originally booked the small twin room but upgraded to the larger en-suite when we arrived. Tons of space and a super comfortable bed. No AC, but the two large fans were more than sufficient given the relatively mild temps when we were there (low 80s). We appreciated the filtered water from the bathroom tap and that the room was tidied up every day while we were out. Allen really made our time in Taveuni. He picked us up from the airport and gave us a brief tour of town to help us get our bearings. He made sure we were always set with activities and dinner plans for the next day (with no pressure to do or book anything in particular) and facilitated interactions between his guests. His extensive local knowledge was invaluable. Don't miss out on the Lavena Coastal Walk or the kayaking trip out to the islands (but make sure the tide isn't too low to easily navigate the reef!). A few other details: the property is located up a dirt road close to town. It can be a bit muddy if it's been raining, but we walked to and from the Dive Cafe multiple times without issue. We also enjoyed the two dogs (including a chaotic but adorable puppy) and the cat on the property. We were able to do laundry for a reasonable price, and there was a washing station and hanging lines for our wet clothes when we came back from activities. Overall, we had a fantastic time in Taveuni and would highly recommend staying at Camp Taveuni as an alternative to the resorts.

    Property response:

    It was a pleasure hosting you both. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay in Taveuni. I hope we see you again at some stage.

    Camp Taveuni
    14 May 2024
  • See the property
  • Monica

    Reviewed: 5 May 2024 · Stayed in April 2024

    Verified review

    The view is incredible, the location is really convenient (restaurants, shops, diving, airport and gelato stall all in walking distance), breakfasts are great. The two best things for me were the host's generous sharing his local knowledge and the sense of calm and ease at the property.

    Property response:

    it was an absolute pleasure hosting you Monica. Hope to see you again soon.

    Camp Taveuni
    6 May 2024
  • Dina

    Reviewed: 5 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024

    Verified review

    Garden

    Rude staff, bad access road, no access in the rain, lack of mosquito nets, rooms like a cellar, dugout. It smells damp and dark inside. The windows do not close tightly, which allows ants and mosquitoes to be inside. An unpleasant place with poor accessibility on a hill with a broken road. Here you cannot buy water, there is no kettle or other opportunity to have a snack. There is nothing nearby. We need to go down the mountain

    Property response:

    Hi, Lets put a truthful perspective to this. You clearly arrived at our property in a combative move. You were angry about everything. Found fault where this was no fault. You booked a cheap bed in a dormitory and tried to get upgraded to your own private room at no extra staff. Your tactic was to fluster our staff in doing this. When advised that you would not be upgraded, you would become abusive to management and staff. We do not accept this behaviour; we value our staff and expect guests to treat them appropriately. You were then asked to leave the property due to your behaviour, and you now have a lifetime ban from this property. Clearly, you have now used this platform in revenge. You were at the property for less than an hour. Pointless discussing all your concerns . You were not shown all the facilities as you were to busy trying to get the upgrade. We provide restaurant and bar/cafe facilities

    Hi, Lets put a truthful perspective to this. You clearly arrived at our property in a combative move. You were angry about everything. Found fault where this was no fault. You booked a cheap bed in a dormitory and tried to get upgraded to … Show more

    Camp Taveuni
    6 May 2024
  • Ani

    Reviewed: 12 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Juergen

    Reviewed: 12 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024

    Verified review

    The location, the unirts, the host, breakfast, pool - everything exceeded our expectations. A great place and a superb host. Allan is outstanding!

    Nothing!

    Property response:

    Thanks, Juergen. Looking forward to seeing you and Ben back in Taveuni.

    Camp Taveuni
    17 April 2024
  • Sharma

    Reviewed: 27 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    The location and price.

    Washroom is not within the room.

  • Odin

    Reviewed: 3 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review

    They have a nice pool and a good view on the ocean. Marry was very nice and cooperative.

    Allen was very grumpy 90% of the time and really stressed. The accommodation got cleaned every day only one day not... The Water was full of algee so i couldnt wash my cloth properly because the got green...even the shower and the "drinking valve..." he told us everyday another Story why it is so. The meals were ok but pricy...normaly between 20-30fjd even breakfast u could take 3-4pc of toast with Butter and marmelade for 6fjd or with eggs and bacon for 20...If u bring ur own food u cant put it in their frige and if u ask for a plate (just to borrow not to buy) or hot water you are getting charged for it. All in all it was ok but not worth the money like other accommodations (lavena, maravu)

    Property response:

    Hey Odin, sorry you and Leon had concerns about the water. As Allen mentioned there had been no town water for several weeks before you arrived and once the water came back on it did initially have some algae - this was checked and tested and for caution we treated as soon as we possibly could. As there had been very little rain during this time even our own tanks were almost empty - thankfully we had some good rain. You can be assured the drinking water and water for cooking, dishes and laundry done by our staff was perfect. Just for clarity, breakfast at 6FJD did include coffee, breakfast is $10 for museli and yogurt, and coffee, $15 for eggs, toast and coffee, and the dinners are $20 - $25. We know we offer a good value for food in this area. We offered a late check out to accommodate you and did a few drop offs without charge. Great you enjoyed the pool and the view. Safe travels. Mary and Allen

    Hey Odin, sorry you and Leon had concerns about the water. As Allen mentioned there had been no town water for several weeks before you arrived and once the water came back on it did initially have some algae - this was checked and tested a… Show more

    Camp Taveuni
    4 January 2024
  • See the property
  • Janice

    Reviewed: 3 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review
  • Benjamin

    Reviewed: 28 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review

    Facilities, ocean views

    Property response:

    Thanks Ben, safe travels - stay well!

    Camp Taveuni
    4 January 2024
  • Dhananjay

    Reviewed: 18 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review

    If you're looking to spend some time on Taveuni, I'd highly recommend you check out Camp Taveuni. Hosts Allen and Mary were great. They made sure I was comfortable and even helped organise a taxi for me to visit the Bouma and Lavena falls. The Place itself is really lovely - well maintained and clean! It's easily accessible from the airport and walking distance to the few restaurants in Matei. You'd be hard pressed to find a better valued stay on the island. Camp Taveuni offers dorms as well as single/double occupancy rooms. I stayed in the private room and it was great! Nothing fancy, a queen sized bed, a table with a few drawers and a fan to keep you cool. You don't need much more when you're here and living the island life. They also have a nice pool if you want to take a dip. The beach is a 10 minute walk from your room and you have a nice view of the ocean from the common area. They also have to cutest dogs (Xena and Zoe) and the sweetest cat (Miley). If, like me, you're missing your pets while you're traveling, having the cat and dogs around definitely helped! Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Allen and Mary really made my trip to Taveuni special! It was great getting to know them and I'd highly recommend checking out Camp Taveuni! Vinaka Mary and Allen!

    Property response:

    Thanks DJ - it was a pleasure hosting you. Miley is missing you. Unfortunately, Xena passed away yesterday. Very sad day.

    Camp Taveuni
    18 December 2023
  • See the property
  • Julia

    Reviewed: 16 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review

    Our stay at camp Taveuni was a highlight for us on a long term trip. Allen & Mary are really attentive hosts, always asking if we needed anything and Alan was happy to lend a hand booking activities or a ride to any guests if he was on his way into Matei. On top of that he maintained a really laid back atmosphere at the resort, being really accommodating with meals (and they were great and affordable! - If you’re diving, get the muesli with local yogurt :)) & happy to share a beer and a good story or two! He’s built the place himself, and our dome was like a much-needed oasis from the heat of the day and sounds in the night that might wake us (roosters…). The bath facilities were spacious and clean, with great water pressure in the shower. Clean drinking water was provided and the view from the pool is lovely (the place is on a hillside with sea views). It’s up a hill off the main road, but it only takes ~5 min or less to go up or down. We really loved our stay here and met some other great backpackers. Would highly recommend it, it’s excellent value. Thanks so much Allen & Mary!!

    N/a

  • Timmy

    Reviewed: 14 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review

    Excellent host and value for Taveuni!

    That we couldn't stay longer

  • Katy

    Reviewed: 21 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    A unique property set at the top of the hill in Taveuni with amazing views! A short track to access. The owner was very accommodating and a big rugby fan and happy to share his local knowledge!

    Access a little bit tricky but seems that way for everywhere in Taveuni

  • See the property
  • Umut

    Reviewed: 2 November 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review

    nothing

    Since the booking from Camp Taveuni was not cancelable, I stayed in both there and Maravu lodge, and was able to properly compare those two. I stayed in dorms both. They are 100 m away from each other. - Maravu lodge has hot water and AC in the dorms, camp Taveuni does not - Camp taveuni is more inside on a dirty road every time you go there you have to deal with 3 aggressive dogs from neighbor attacking you - Maravu lodge has kava ceremonies at night with guitar by local Fijian people, camp taveuni plays english music from a small speaker and Alan (expat owner) constantly asks you whether you want a drink, tour, or food in front of others. - Maravu lodge is bigger, has more people, lively meeting area where people freely roam and better internet connection - Mosquitoes eat you alive in Camp Taveuni - I asked for a knife to eat papaya in common area, later Alan comes and rebukes the employee who gave me the knife. Apparently we are not entitled to eat papaya in common area. He also booked wrong day for diving for my friend in the dorm. She missed diving the highlight of Fiji (the great white wall) since it can only be dived 2 days a month due to currents. No apologies given. There were many other cases only in 2 days time.  I would rather stay in a place with local character not managed by despotic owners if there are better alternatives.

    Property response:

    Bula, While we appreciate this is your opinion, you did not indicate any concerns during your actual stay with us. We are very open to constructive input on how we can improve the experience for guests and ensure safety for all – we believe in this instance we focused on providing a safe environment for our female guests. You are fully aware your behaviour on returning to Camp Taveuni in the evening following your check-out required us to report you to booking.com. As you had completed your stay with us and you were found in areas reserved for guests, our concern for the safety and enjoyment for all guests and staff was so high you were asked to leave the premises as you had completed your stay with us. Any option to have cancelled your booking rests within the policies of booking.com and are available for all guests at booking. Vinaka, we trust you enjoy safe travels.

    Bula, While we appreciate this is your opinion, you did not indicate any concerns during your actual stay with us. We are very open to constructive input on how we can improve the experience for guests and ensure safety for all – we believ… Show more

    Camp Taveuni
    8 November 2023
  • Andrew

    Reviewed: 30 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review
  • Alan

    Reviewed: 27 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review

    - Excellent location close the airport, as well for diving, snorkeling and exploring the island, up above the village with a fantastic view - Allen was extremely helpful and attentive - nothing was too much trouble. His help planning and arranging activities was invaluable, given his excellent local knowledge. He was also highly flexible to changing plans. - Clean and comfortable accommodation, including a pool and firepit. - Walking distance from local restaurants, as well as good quality and good value food on site. Would highly recommend to anyone who is looking for a base to explore Taveuni!

    Nothing - as advertised and exactly what we needed!

    Property response:

    Alan, thank you for your review, great to hear you enjoyed the location and facilities. Safe travels. Camp Taveuni

    Camp Taveuni
    31 October 2023
  • See the property
  • Alison

    Reviewed: 25 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review

    The owner sent abusive messages after my stay. Allen had followed me on Facebook - not ‘friends’ (I’m a photographer) and a few days after I left sent unprovoked and upsetting insults and accusations to my private message box regarding an opinion he disagreed with. The resorts response is totally untruthful.

    Bizarre, upsetting and unusual experience with the owner.

    Property response:

    Hi Alison, We tried to fulfil all your expectations, remembering that we are a budget friendly facility. We understand you are seeking partnerships to support your business venture and as a new facility we are not yet at the capacity of other resorts to support influencers as you may have been expecting. It was very intersting, that after staying for 1 noght, you returned for another nights accomadation a few days later. Any discussion relating to your business partnership requirements would be separate to our staff performance who, as you can see offer a great service as per reviews provided by other guests. We wish you well in promoting Taveuni as the amazing dive location, and authentic Fiji experience it is.

    Hi Alison, We tried to fulfil all your expectations, remembering that we are a budget friendly facility. We understand you are seeking partnerships to support your business venture and as a new facility we are not yet at the capacity of ot… Show more

    Camp Taveuni
    23 October 2023
  • Joanne

    Reviewed: 12 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review

    Very conscientious of the environment very comfortable and clean rooms and facilities. Lovely family feel to the place and super friendly welcoming and helpful owner Allen. Was amazing experience highly recommended

    Property response:

    Thanks Joanne.

    Camp Taveuni
    22 October 2023
  • Beth

    Reviewed: 6 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review

    Really sociable, lots of activities, super friendly staff, nice open space and garden

    Some parts could be a little cleaner but not too bad

    Property response:

    Thanks Beth

    Camp Taveuni
    22 October 2023
  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...