Reviews of Riu Palace Bavaro - All Inclusive 5 stars
Playa Arena Gorda, Bavaro, 23000 Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewI liked the cleanliness of entire resort. Some nights the entertainment was okay.
Some of the staff had attitudes when asked for certain drinks or food we felt tips were a big factor on how service will be provided upon asking for specific things offer from hotel. The hotel does not offer any type of instrumental music in the whole facility besides the night time shows. It is not a hotel I will be going back too. I am very disappointed going there especially when we went to celebrate my daughter's bday And my anniversary 😢.
Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThere honestly wasn’t much to like about our stay at Riu Palace Bavaro. The only real highlight for me was the room itself. It was well-equipped, cleaned daily, and the building I stayed in had the convenience of an elevator. Unfortunately, my family, who stayed in another building, stayed on the third floor and didn't have an elevator. very disappointing. The quality of food was some days better than others, but overall decent.
1. Room Allocation We had five rooms and requested in advance to be near each other. The hotel replied that it couldn’t be arranged ahead of time and told us to sort it out at check-in. As expected, this was poorly managed — it took almost an hour at reception to find a workable solution. For a large, busy hotel, this showed a real lack of planning. 2. Reception Service Reception was consistently unhelpful across several interactions: Check-in: slow and disorganised. Property Credit: what was advertised as a property credit was actually just a discount, with no terms available online. I’ve escalated this to Booking.com as misleading. Birthday Surprise: I tried to arrange something small for my sister’s birthday. Balloons were promised but never delivered, and we were told to organise a birthday song ourselves at the restaurant. For a 5-star hotel, the “can’t do” attitude was very disappointing. Taxi Pickup: On departure, hotel security blocked my taxi from entering. I had to go back to reception twice, which delayed my journey to the airport by 20 minutes. 3. Restaurant Service Service in the restaurants was poor. Dirty tables were left uncleared for long periods, and the atmosphere was not what you’d expect from a supposedly 5* resort. 4. Wi-Fi The Wi-Fi was unreliable and frustrating. Guests are given a long code, which has to be re-entered constantly as the signal drops when moving around the resort. Even when connected, the speed was disappointing. 5. Do Not Disturb The “Do Not Disturb” sign was ignored. On a day when I wasn’t feeling well, I was disturbed twice despite the sign. Once by housekeeping and once by minibar staff.
Dear guest, We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. We regret that your recent stay did not meet what you expected. We will take your comments into account and share them with the relevant departments. Room requests are always subject to availability. However, our Front Desk team does its bests to satisfy and accommodate all requests from our valued guests. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding your reservation and the amenities that you received. Our managers are working constantly to prevent this kind of incident in the future. Unfortunately, since your reservation was made through a third party, we cannot manage it directly. This is because we do not have authority over the terms and conditions of these platforms. Therefore, we highly recommend you contact the company where you made your reservation directly for any request. Regarding the Resort Credits, we are sorry that the details of their use were not made completely clear when you booked through your provider. For any further questions or complaints, we recommend you contact them directly. We are sorry to learn that our service in our restaurants did not fulfil your expectations, but we are glad to know that we were able to meet your taste with the buffet. We can assure that we do check daily our food offer and quality providing a wide selection of dishes catering for all tastes. Certainly, we will share your opinion with corresponding department. We are disappointed to hear that our WiFi connection failed to live up to your expectations. Your comments help us improve and we take them very seriously, therefore, we have reported your views to the relevant departments. We trust that we will be able to welcome you back in the future and thus provide you with an experience that exceeds your expectations. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Palace Bávaro Online Reputation Manager
Dear guest, We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. We regret that your recent stay did not meet what you expected. We will take your comments into account and share them with the relevant departments. R… Show more
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLove all you can eat, quality of food, friendly staff. Location of the resort to the beach.
N/A
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewthe restaurants were good. enjoyed having many different pools to go to.
the sheets, towels and wash clothes had stains on them. I had to continuously request wash clothes and some times they didn’t even end up bringing them or fully restocking the linens they took.
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe staff at this resort was exceptional they were full of energy very welcoming. The food here was very good. We loved the vibe the energy that the staff brought when it came to pool party and clubs
We loved everything i really didn't have any complaints. I couldn't find anything that i didn't like . we had such a great time
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe resort setup, decor, amenities and variety of areas for patrons to eat and be entertained such as restaurants, casual pop in places and pool options including water parks was excellent. The rooms were in very good condition and lot of thought put into layout and comfort. There is attention to detail in all aspects and staff made sure everyone had a great time. Place was very clean and the recent renovations are good for everyone including families.
First thing in the morning you can hear the other room doors squeaking open and shut hard as rooms were offered bottles of water or patrons left rooms. These sounds woke us up and I first thought there was some kind of construction but it was not. This can be fixed by applying some fix to the doors to limit the noise. The bathroom items were not all replaced consistently such as floor mat, soap and Kleenex tissues during cleaning. We had to request this. Seaweed on the beach was a problem and we did not spend time there as we planned. Some of it was cleared on the third day we were there but still overall an issue. Could add entertainment for families with kids such as movies under the stars etc. in both Spanish and English. The large entertainment area was unused during the day and could be used for daytime activities for breaks for kids from the pool and beach.
Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewI like the hotel, personal, food and drinks.
As a recommendation, the hotel needs more activities and shows during the day in the pool , and at night they need more entertainment, because all the activities is doing outside the resort .
Dear Aylin, Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with us about your stay. It is fundamental for our team to know that you enjoyed all the services provided at the premises. Please be assured that we will share your impressions with the corresponding department in order to make adjustments if needed. We hope to welcome you back soon to one of our hotels and that next time you enjoy your stay just as much or even more. Kind regards, Hotel Riu Palace Bávaro Online Reputation Manager
Dear Aylin, Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with us about your stay. It is fundamental for our team to know that you enjoyed all the services provided at the premises. Please be assured that we will share your impressi… Show more
Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewFriendliest of staff
The associate neglected to provide towel cards at checkin which created confusion and hassle. Response to warm room temperature took too long. I also got sick after eating at Agave. I suspect due to unsanitary conditions.
Dear Leandra, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are using a towel card system, in order to keep check of the towels and minimize the reservation of the sunbeds before the open hour. We are sorry to read that you consider our food and beverage area as a possible area of infection. Please allow us to outline that Health, Hygiene and Safety are our priorities. We follow strict procedures while handling our food products in order to prevent and avoid any kind of alimentary risks or hazards. Sometimes when you are on holiday and change your food & drink habit you can get some digesting issues. We offer medical help in all our hotels. Hopefully you contacted them to get assistance. We hope you visit us again soon so we can offer you another pleasant stay. Kind regards, Hotel Riu Palace Bávaro Online Reputation Manager
Dear Leandra, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are using a towel card system, in order to keep check of the towels and minimize the reservation of the sunbeds before the open hour. We are sorry to read th… Show more
Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe food and drinks were great.
The room was extremely noisy. We mentioned to the front desk we would like a quiet area in the hotel and they provided us a room over the outside entertainment area where the music was extremely loud and we could not sleep till 2am most nights. This really put a dent in the vacation since me and my friend are busy moms and were looking for a quiet area to rest and relax and get a lot of sleep during our little break away. I would like a discount on the room which I would say is fair since we did not get the room we requested over and over with the front desk and also the manager of the hotel.
Dear Natasha, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We regret that you were unable to enjoy the hotel as much as you had planned. We value your comments and will channel them to the appropriate areas for management. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for being disturbed by noise but you can be sure that all our rooms are built considering the legal requirements regarding insulation. Room requests are always subject to availability. However, our Front Desk team does its bests to satisfy and accommodate all requests from our valued guests. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding your reservation and the amenities that you received. Our managers are working constantly to prevent this kind of incident in the future. We sincerely hope you will still consider staying with us in the future and give us the opportunity to offer you a more pleasant experience. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Palace Bávaro Online Reputation Manager
Dear Natasha, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We regret that you were unable to enjoy the hotel as much as you had planned. We value your comments and will channel them to the appropriate areas f… Show more
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe property was good , the ambience, the pools, the beach, the staff were friendly and helpful. It’s beautiful, the rooms are clean with comfortable beds.
For me the food and drinks were good but nothing special.
Dear Zulema, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. In order to fulfil every guest expectations regarding food, our main buffet and theme restaurants are offering a great range of food options. We are sorry to learn that our offered variety did not fulfil your expectations. We hope to see you again soon. With our best wishes, Hotel Riu Palace Bávaro Online Reputation Manager
Dear Zulema, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. In order to fulfil every guest expectations regarding food, our main buffet and theme restaurants are offeri… Show more
Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe breakfast was excellent. The location was not that great. Not much around outside of the resort.
The ocean had a lot of seaweed so we didn't go in the ocean.
Dear William, On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your positive comments; it is very motivating for us to know that we are heading in the right direction. In regards to the beach, certain times of the year seaweed can accumulate depending on winds and tidal flows which is something beyond human’s control and a completely natural occurrence. Even though it is a public beach, who’s cleaning is done by the government, our management allocates staff when occupancy allows in order to help with the cleaning as much as we can. We hope you choose us again soon to spend a few days with us. Kind regards, Hotel Riu Palace Bávaro Online Reputation Manager
Dear William, On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your positive comments; it is very motivating for us to know that we are heading in the right direction. In regards to the beach, certain times of the year seaweed can accumula… Show more
Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewRenovated structure ( the cafe station at the lobby and its staff were excellent everyday)
No customer service in restaurant specially the buffet, food most of it was tasteless. Almost same menu every day. Ants all over the room
Dear Mahjoub, We truly appreciate you taking the time to review us. However, we are saddened to hear that we did not meet your expectations this time. We will take good note of your suggestions and present them to the relevant departments. In order to fulfil every guest expectations regarding food, our main buffet and theme restaurants are offering a great range of food options. We are sorry to learn that our offered variety did not fulfil your expectations. Unlike our theme restaurants that have table service, in the main restaurant there are self-service points for water, soft drinks, juices, wine and national beer. This was introduced based on the results obtained through our customer surveys and with the aim of reducing waiting time as well as improving the comfort of our customers. Due to the warm weather and the location of our resort, which is surrounded by vegetation, it is possible that insects can enter our facilities. We work hard to keep them under control, since our grounds have extensive garden areas. We fumigate continuously all areas to keep insects away from our grounds. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Palace Bávaro Online Reputation Manager
Dear Mahjoub, We truly appreciate you taking the time to review us. However, we are saddened to hear that we did not meet your expectations this time. We will take good note of your suggestions and present them to the relevant departments… Show more
Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified review