Reviews of Bungalows India, El Valle, Samana
Carretera Arroyo Seco Km 0.2, 32000 Santa Bárbara de Samaná, Dominican Republic

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 30 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe place wasn't clean it smelled like urine there was no soap in the bathroom the flower in the room was dead it was extremely hot in the room
Reviewed: 5 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewGreat location, beautiful beach nearby, host was very welcoming, felt reconnected to nature.
Reviewed: 27 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 11 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewI really do not have another option then to give the best score on each aspect. We had such a great time! The cabin is beautiful, location is perfect and the best of all; the staff is just magnificent! Service is of an extraordinary level!! Cristina, thank you so much for having us, we hope to come back soon!
Reviewed: 5 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewWonderful host, great staff. Beautiful place
Dear Jeff, I am very glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay , especially the service provided by our staff and the beauty of our small lodge. It was a pleasure meeting you , and I hope you come back again next time you travel to the Dominican Republic. Regards, Cristina, owner
Dear Jeff, I am very glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay , especially the service provided by our staff and the beauty of our small lodge. It was a pleasure meeting you , and I hope you come back again next time you travel to the Do… Show more
Reviewed: 10 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewI loved the location, the scenery, the pool, the property was beautiful.
There was nothing not to like
Dear Stephanie, I am very happy to see that you enjoyed our little hotel, its secluded location, our swimming pool , facilities, and our personalized service. It was great meeting you and I am looking forward to seeing you soon again. Regards, Cristina
Dear Stephanie, I am very happy to see that you enjoyed our little hotel, its secluded location, our swimming pool , facilities, and our personalized service. It was great meeting you and I am looking forward to seeing you soon again. Re… Show more
Reviewed: 24 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewThe place appeared to be fine
The pool was not clean. So we did pay cash but did not stay there.
Dear Mr Lopez, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comments will be evaluated and taken into consideration to improve our guests´ experience. Since we are located in a jungle-like setting, we are exposed to heavy tropical rains, storms, and strong winds,....and this could have possibliy impacted the pool´s condition. We apologize for the inconvenience this could have caused. to you. We hope you give us a second chance and come back in the near future. Regards, Cristina
Dear Mr Lopez, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comments will be evaluated and taken into consideration to improve our guests´ experience. Since we are located in a jungle-like setting, we are exposed to heavy tr… Show more
Reviewed: 25 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewthe nature is breathtaking. the host is very friendly and helpful.
We were attacked by wild dogs in front of the accommodation and suffered serious bite injuries and had to be immediately hospitalized for 6 hours due to the risk of rabies and wound healing. As a result, we no longer had the confidence to leave the accommodation on foot without any worries and had to cut short our stay. What's really a shame is that the security person was still making fun of it when we arrived immediately after the wild dogs attacked. The place is not allowed to be visited at night without a car. The host should have pointed out that arriving was not recommended, especially at night. The room was very small for two people (160x200)
Dear guest, We are really sorry about your dog attack, which happened in the main road coming into El Valle, about 1.5 km from our hotel. All our guests rent cars and travel by car in this country , as the Dominican Republic is full of dogs and other animals in the roads, which makes it quite dangerous to travel by motorcycle, like you chose to do. We accept check-ins 24 hours a day, as our reception never closes. Regarding our security guard, he is Haitian and maybe his English or Spanish is not great, leading to possible misundestandings on your arrival. We already spoke to him and we are working on this issue. Nevertheless, we tried to be as supportive and helpful as we could, by offering them our First Aid kit, over the counter medication and information on nearby medical centers. . We are very sorry to hear that you found our Queen size bed (160X200) uncomfortable for you. We do not have King size beds in our hotel, although we have a room with 2 full size beds that would be a possibility next time you stay with us. We hope you recover soon from the dog attack. Wishing you all the best. Cristina, manager
Dear guest, We are really sorry about your dog attack, which happened in the main road coming into El Valle, about 1.5 km from our hotel. All our guests rent cars and travel by car in this country , as the Dominican Republic is full of… Show more
Reviewed: 2 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 20 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023
Verified reviewFriendly service on check in, a lot of useful information provided by the host, hotel premises - beautiful and well maintained
everything would be good but the hair in the bed... The room itself looked clean but the cleanliness of the bed really disappointed. I would not complain about one hair, but there was a lot of it.
Dear valued guest, We are glad to hear you enjoyed our service and the hotel decor and maintenance. We apologize for the hair you found on the bed. We tell our housekeeping team to be very careful about keeping the rooms and beds very clean. We will take this information into consideration, so future guests don´t experience this unpleasant situation. Thank you for choosing us , and we hope to see you again in our little paradise. Regards, Cristina, manager
Dear valued guest, We are glad to hear you enjoyed our service and the hotel decor and maintenance. We apologize for the hair you found on the bed. We tell our housekeeping team to be very careful about keeping the rooms and beds very cl… Show more
Reviewed: 11 January 2023 · Stayed in December 2022
Verified reviewthis property was a bad imitation of the Dominican Tree House hotel. She tried but it was definitely a miss.
The idea was great the results were not. The toilet and shower were right next to each other in the family room. which would have been perfectly fine in a none family suite. also the shower curtains did not stay up because the installation was poorly done. when you shower the bedroom gets flooded so be sure to have all belongings on the bench and not the floor or they will get wet. Also the bathroom is not separate from the room there is no ceiling or door for the bathroom even though the bedroom is completely enclosed. If the room was a bit more open like windows or an opening to the outside this would not be an issue. But if someone has to have a bowel movement the whole family has to sit in the concentrated smell or leave completely there’s not much outdoor circulation and there’s also no vents or AC. Also they will charge your card AB’s then make you pay again once you arrive. You will be passing double for the room and it is up to you to fight with your bank to receive your money back.
Dear valued guest, We are sorry to hear you didn´t enjoy your stay and found many issues , especially in the way the cabins are built. Regarding payment, we never charge twice for a reservation . We do a pre-authorization on the guest credit card several days before check-in to confirm the reservation. That hold gets released 8 days after your check in (therefore, it is not a charge. It is a temporary hold on your credit card). Once the guests arrive, they have the option to pay by cash. Please let us know if you are still having problems with the temporary hold and we will solve the issue right away. The money should have been released by now. Sorry for the misunderstanding regarding payment, and the inconvenience this may have caused to you. We will take your comments into consideration, to improve our facilities for future guests. Thank you for choosing us , and taking the time to write this review. Regards, Cristina, manager
Dear valued guest, We are sorry to hear you didn´t enjoy your stay and found many issues , especially in the way the cabins are built. Regarding payment, we never charge twice for a reservation . We do a pre-authorization on the guest cr… Show more
Reviewed: 5 December 2022 · Stayed in December 2022
Verified reviewIs a very piece full place . You are in the wilderness surrounded of beautiful plants and beautiful sounds of nature. Loved it , was very connected to nature.
There nothing not to like of these place.
Dear valued guest, We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our little paradise, its location in the middle of nature with its tropical plants, and the peacefulness around us. Thank you for choosing us , and we hope to see you again in our hidden paradise in the near future. It was a pleasure meeting you . Regards, Cristina, manager
Dear valued guest, We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our little paradise, its location in the middle of nature with its tropical plants, and the peacefulness around us. Thank you for choosing us , and we hope to see you again in o… Show more
Reviewed: 9 October 2022 · Stayed in October 2022
Verified reviewfriendly host, good food
Thank you very much for providing us with your valuable feedback regarding the service provided by our staff and the meals served at our little restaurant. We would love to see you back at our special paradise next time you travel to Dominican Republic.
Thank you very much for providing us with your valuable feedback regarding the service provided by our staff and the meals served at our little restaurant. We would love to see you back at our special paradise next time you travel to Domin… Show more