Reviews of Mango Island Lodges
Syers Estrate, Saint Joseph, Saint Joseph, Dominica

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
San Bruno, United States
Nice, France
Bremen, Germany
Limone Piemonte, Italy
Side, Turkey
Krynica Zdrój, Poland
Michigan City, United States
Avoca, Ireland
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 22 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewIt’s in a very beautiful location, and it’s a very quiet area. The lodge was very Caribbean, and I felt like a local there. The staff was very nice. WiFi was exceptional Surprisingly.
It’s an island, there are tons of mosquitoes, you just have to get used to that. They did have a mosquito net on the bed. The bed wasn’t the most comfortable, but it was an overall good stay. I did think the food was a little pricey for what you get. The breakfast wasn’t good at all, and I just felt like they didn’t need to charge as much as they did for that food.
Hi Gabriel and many thanks for your review. All our mattress are in perfect condition and are purchased in USA as one of the best brand, but we understand that it cannot fit the expectation of everybody. Our cooking is made with the best quality ingredients we can fin on the island, especially for the meet, and we cook with the maximum of fresh ingredients. I'm wondering what do you mean by "We charge so much for that food" when you breakfast was offered ??? Any way, if fresh fruits (no limit), fresh juice, coffee, tea, milk, cereals, home made jam, cheddar, bread, etc... for free, make a "breakfast not good at all" i don't know how to fit your expectation... and i'm sorry about that, to please all our client is a real challenge ! Have a nice day, Stephane
Hi Gabriel and many thanks for your review. All our mattress are in perfect condition and are purchased in USA as one of the best brand, but we understand that it cannot fit the expectation of everybody. Our cooking is made with the best qu… Show more
Reviewed: 21 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe room was spacious dominated by a very comfortable queen sized bed complete with netting surround. The bathroom also very roomy with three different shower options. There was also a ceiling fan and air conditioning. Everything was very clean and decorated in theme. There was a lovely terrace with table and chairs for two and a wonderful view of the sea. The pool was a glorious necessity, clean and well maintained. The pulley system delivering our drinks from the bar to the pool was an entertaining touch. The staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Special thanks to Marina who made breakfast and looked after us and the rooms, and Lina who made the best margaritas and pina coladas. The bar was available all day. Stephane ensured we could get back up the steep hill to the bungalows after a day at the local beach by providing us with a mobile phone for free local calls to request a ride back as we did not have a car.
If I had to specify something negative, it would be the “wellness room”. It was small and hot inside. Not sure if there was air conditioning. The elliptical trainer looked very old and the bike had been removed for repair. The curtain to the massage area was permanently closed with a note saying massage in progress when I don’t think it was. So it was impossible to tell if the room was available for exercising without peeping around the curtain This did not detract from our stay as we were quite happy to just relax.
Hi Joan and many thanks for your review. The wellness area was not built as a fitness center, but more as a place to relax and exercise a little bit. Its a Caribbean construction, shutters and door open and roof over the top beam to allow the air to go in. A fan is on site. The bicycle is actually out of order and it's very difficult to buy equipment in Dominica. We are waiting for 2 more equipment to join the actually elliptical one which is not old, but basic. We should be able get them early October ! Yes, it's not easy to get stuff ! You're right, i also realize that the sign for "massage in progress" was outside. We had already a little meeting with the staff, to avoid this issue in the future, we're sorry about that. Thanks again for choosing the Mango, All the best, Stephane
Hi Joan and many thanks for your review. The wellness area was not built as a fitness center, but more as a place to relax and exercise a little bit. Its a Caribbean construction, shutters and door open and roof over the top beam to allow t… Show more
Reviewed: 10 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe owners and staff were very friendly and helpful and made the stay wonderful! Location was good in central part of island making it easy to get anywhere. Views are also amazing.
Hello and thanks a lot for your review, your happiness makes our happiness ! All the best, Stéphane
Reviewed: 30 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 3 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThe property was beautiful, well maintained, private, and perfectly located in Dominica to explore the island.
Thanks a lot Desiree for your review, it was a pleasure to make your stay comfortable. All the best, Stephane
Reviewed: 25 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewI highly recommend staying here while visitng Dominica. The food and service is excellent but the location & rooms perched on top of a hill overlooing Mero Beach, with stunning sunset views over the Carribean sea.
Hello Byron, Many thanks for your review, deeply appreciated !
Reviewed: 23 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewSo beautiful. And the hosts are so kind.
Hi Katalin, thanks a lot for your review ! Stephane
Reviewed: 13 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewEverything. Mango Island is a beautiful, tranquil place that makes for a perfect vacation getaway. The owners are gracious, welcoming and caring. We loved our time there and would gladly recommend it to others.
Dear Barry, many thanks for posting your review. it's always a pleasure for us to feel our clients happy. All the best, Stephane
Reviewed: 27 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewAmong other things, the dinners were delicious.
Hello Jose and many thanks for your review. Of course ! Fresh ingredients, last minute cooking, we always do our best to offer you the best quality. Thanks again for choosing the Mango, Stephane
Reviewed: 26 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewI LOVED the decor, especially in the dining room. And the view and the grounds were lovely. The pool was very pretty, but could use more loungers. The room had great decoration, but was not very big (i.e., I like having the bathroom sink in a separate room). The staff was AMAZING. So helpful and kind. Really a class act. The food at dinner was fantastic. And great wine and cocktails too.
It is high up on a hill and there are no other places, e.g. restaurants, to walk to. Once you're there, you're there. It is a beautiful lodge, I just wish it was more convenient to Mero or Portsmouth. I think for breakfast and the price, they could have included eggs.
Many thanks Barbara for your review and let me clarify few points. Our 12usd breakfast (coffee, tea, hot chocolate and milk, fresh juice, detox water, 3 cereals and 3 different dry fruits, 3 home made jams, peanut butter, honey, laughing cow and cheddar, 2 different breads and fresh fruits is OFFERED when you book via our website or Booking.com, so, yes, eggs and sausages, crepes are on extra. We are perfectly located on the center of the west coast and from us, you can visit the entire island, we are located 50min from east, north and south. Of course, if you want to have a breakfast in Portsmouth (north), you will have to drive, and if you stay in Portsmouth and want to have your breakfast in Roseau, you will have to drive the double... We also are located up the hill of St Joseph, 2min driving from the main road and 15min walking (on request, we OFFER you a drop off and pick up, that you can place with the phone we give you upon your arrival as FREE SERVICE, to feel comfortable) from Mero beach where you have restaurants. Everything is a point of view and i respect yours, but what i explained above is just the truth. All the best, Stephane
Many thanks Barbara for your review and let me clarify few points. Our 12usd breakfast (coffee, tea, hot chocolate and milk, fresh juice, detox water, 3 cereals and 3 different dry fruits, 3 home made jams, peanut butter, honey, laughing co… Show more
Reviewed: 20 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewMango is situated on a clifftop with a beautiful view out to the ocean. The facilities are well-kept, the food is solid and the staff is extremely helpful. This hotel is an excellent value and a good launching point to explore Dominica. The masseuse was great too!
Hi Jordan, What a pleasure to read your review ! Thanks again for choosing the Mango. Stephane
Reviewed: 15 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewOur stay at the Mango was incredible. The accommodations were clean, safe, and comfortable. The staff was attentive, helpful and went above and beyond. The location was perfect. The Mango is near Mero Beach and not far from any excursions and adventures you may book while on the island. The owners of the hotel are incredibly helpful. They can assist with flights/rental cars/drivers... you name it and they can arrange it. The food during our stay was incredible as well. There were many options to choose from and expertly prepared.
It was perfect.
Hi Aimee and many thanks for your review. We always give our best to please our clients and are happy when the feeling is shared. Stephane
Reviewed: 20 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewWe liked the location. Really need to rent a car to fully explore the island which is true for any lodging in Dominica. Staff were friendly and helpful. We like small hotels that still have a local flavor and Mango Lodges certainly had these qualities. We come to Dominica for the hiking and its natural beauty. This property is in a lovely setting on a hillside with a view of the Caribbean.
We were fully satisfied.
Reviewed: 16 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewWe enjoyed the dinners at the lodge and the friendly staff. The owner helped us set up day trips around the island with a driver. Room very comfortable and aircon worked great
No complaints!
Hi Barry and many thanks for your review ! All the best ! Stephane
Reviewed: 6 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewThe owners were very welcoming and very helpful. With an intimate knowledge of the island, they helped us with the planning of our activities and organised guides where required. The staff were friendly, happy, very efficient and attentive. The accommodation was perfectly located for all the hikes and island activities, lovely views from the rooms and the pool, and the rooms were quiet, clean and well equiped. Highly recommended.
There wasn't anything about the Mango Island Lodge that we didn't like.
Hi Mike and many thanks for your review, it's always a pleasure to know our clients satisfy and happy. Stephane
Reviewed: 16 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewHost/Hostess went above and beyond for any need we had
Maybe more selections forsmaller lighter lunches
Dear Sylvia, Thanks for your review, it was a pleasure to make your relaxing stay comfortable. We cook on request with a maximum of fresh ingredients, you requested a special sandwich and we made it. As you said it was so good, you ask for the same every day at lunch, requested also some extra potatoes and we made it. We had few long chats together and you never mention me your wish about having something else for lunch, always requesting the same sandwich. We were open to please your wish, cannot wait to see you again to cook some more small lunch ! All the best, Stephane
Dear Sylvia, Thanks for your review, it was a pleasure to make your relaxing stay comfortable. We cook on request with a maximum of fresh ingredients, you requested a special sandwich and we made it. As you said it was so good, you ask for… Show more
Reviewed: 13 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewThe property was so beautiful. the decor in the rooms was thoughtful and unique, and our space was clean and comfortable with a great view from our balcony. We enjoyed delicious home cooked meals while enjoying the amazing view from the dining area. The staff were so kind and helpful at meal times, and made us feel welcome. We really appreciated Stefan our host and all the detailed info he gave us for our day travels.
Hi Martin and thanks a lot for this amazing review ! Your happiness is our main goal, so , thanks again for sharing your feeling. All the best, Stephane
Reviewed: 5 August 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewFamily owned and operated. Very attentive and knowledgeable of the area. A very pleasant stay with a BEAUTIFUL view.
Narrow and steep entrance.
Dear Gretchen, Many thanks for your review, it was a pleasure. Stephane
Reviewed: 22 July 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewI'm always a little late to write my reviews, but I couldn't miss the chance to give the praise that was due. The Mango Lodges greatly exceeded any expectation I had - I intentionally chose the location since it was close to the West Coast highlights, but found myself staying on the property much more of the time than planned. The family and staff that runs the hotel was very friendly, are great cooks, and were keen to help with any request I had. I still think about the Lobster Pasta! Bonus - they are able to organize a lot of the local sightseeing and adventures directly, which makes everything that much easier. The pool was amazing too.
Honestly, no callouts - I would easily stay here again at my next stay.
Many thanks Nicholas for your amazing review ! It was our pleasure to make your stay unforgettable ! All the best, Stephane
Reviewed: 27 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 May 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewThe staff were amazing. They were incredibly friendly and truly love the island. With their advice and encouragement we made it to the boiling lake.
Reviewed: 16 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewBy far our best accommodation on Dominica. The whole area is very well maintained and created with a lot of focus on details. The room was spacious and we loved the decor. The views are amazing. Would definitely come again.
Dear Isabella, So many thanks for your review, It will be a pleasure to see you again ! All the best, Stephane