8.5

Reviews of Hostl - Beds & Rooms - The Hostel Inn Paphos, Old Town

Andrea Ioannou 18, 8047 Paphos City, Cyprus

  • Sara

    Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Has a spacious garden with loads of seating opportunities to hang out and washing machines to do your laundry for 3€.

    Unfortunately one of my worst hostel experiences ever and I felt very unsafe as a woman travelling alone. I booked the dorm with 10 beds, all other guests seemed to be between 40-60 years old, almost all of them men. When I got into the room at night, one of the elderly men was sleeping fully naked in the bed next to me. The AC shut off at random times during the night which was unbearable in a tiny room with 10 people. Personal belongings were scattered across the rooms, including used underwear and tissues… the bathrooms were dirty, full of hair and shampoo bottles. I felt so uncomfortable and unsafe that I left after one night. Never met the host on site. I messaged him asking for a refund and even though he seemed to be understanding of my situation he refused to refund me and ghosted me eventually.

    Property response:

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We always respect feedback, but we need to clarify important points for future travelers. Our dorms are mixed-gender, as clearly stated during booking. Age or gender of other guests is not controlled by us — that’s the nature of hostels, where people of all backgrounds meet. Regarding the claim about a naked guest: while such things can happen in hostels, it is not something that can be predicted or always prevented. The proper step would have been to report it immediately, so we could relocate you. You only messaged us the following night, and we replied at 3 a.m. offering to move you to a different room. By then you had already decided to leave. On cleanliness: we have 4 bathrooms cleaned daily. Belongings scattered in the dorm are from other guests using the space — that is normal in hostels. The air-conditioning runs all night with a short programmed pause at 3 a.m., something most guests do not find an issue. About the refund: our policy is transparent and agreed to at the time of booking. You even wrote to us that you understood the policy and that your bed could be given to another guest. Complaining afterward about “no refund” is unfair when you explicitly acknowledged the rules. Also, you mentioned being “ghosted” — not true. We responded to your message and explained the situation respectfully. Finally, we must add for future guests: If you come to a hostel only to damage people’s hard work with unfair reviews, please reconsider. Hostels, like life, come with unexpected moments — just like a delayed flight or traffic on the road. These things happen, and the important part is to let us know so we can fix them. If you are not willing to communicate or give a chance for a solution, then maybe a shared hostel is not the right choice. If you are intolerant of any small inconvenience, it may be better to stay home rather than travel. We put our heart into this place since opening and are always available to assist — in person, by phone, or WhatsApp. Most of our guests appreciate the effort and enjoy their stay, and we remain committed to making sure everyone feels welcome. Safe travels.

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We always respect feedback, but we need to clarify important points for future travelers. Our dorms are mixed-gender, as clearly stated during booking. Age or gender of other guests i… Show more

    Hostl - Beds & Rooms - The Hostel Inn Paphos, Old Town
    28 August 2025
  • Rebecca

    Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Chiachun

    Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    It was the best hostel I’ve stayed in a while! Much appreciated the whole experience. Highly recommended to everyone!!

  • See the property
  • Ljubojević

    Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The host is very kind and helpful, recommendation for the place ☺️

  • Tim

    Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Good location, good staff. Cozy back yard

    Extremely small bathrooms. Should be more cautious with who they let stay

  • Cbk_cbk

    Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Serena

    Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Silvia

    Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Dávid

    Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Dayne

    Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Great chill hostel, good location close to shops and restaurants, and lovely staff especially the super friendly elderly cleaning lady.

  • Javier

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Room is nice and big. Easy self check-in

    The terrace of the double room we were in is shared with all the hostel and there is noise from early in the morning until late at night right at your doorstep. Also there is only one male toilet and one female toilet so you often need to queue to use it.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you liked the room and found the self check-in smooth — we’ve worked hard to make that part easy and efficient. Regarding the terrace: yes, it is a shared space, and unfortunately, not all guests respect quiet hours despite our signs and reminders. Even when other guests politely ask for quiet, some still choose to ignore it. We’re aware of this and already working on a solution to reduce this kind of disruption in the future. As for the bathrooms — you mentioned only one male and one female toilet, but there are two more full bathrooms on the other floor. Had you asked, we would’ve happily shown you. In busy shared environments, it's normal to wait sometimes — just like you would in a full café or restaurant. It’s not unusual or unexpected in a hostel setting. We’re constantly improving and always available to help during your stay — we just need guests to communicate with us, so we can do what we do best.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you liked the room and found the self check-in smooth — we’ve worked hard to make that part easy and efficient. Regarding the terrace: yes, it is a shared space, and unfortunately, not all guests … Show more

    Hostl - Beds & Rooms - The Hostel Inn Paphos, Old Town
    24 August 2025
  • Nguyen

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The garden

    The bathroom is not safe and dirty

    Property response:

    We’re honestly shocked by these reviews — not only because of the 2/10 score from the same group, but because of how selectively the facts were presented to make things sound worse than they were. Let’s set the record straight: You arrived very early, well before check-in time, and were making noise throughout the property. Still, we welcomed you, offered to store your luggage, and suggested you take a break and return later — which you did. This small act of kindness wasn’t even acknowledged in your review. One of your group members was originally booked in a mixed dorm. Out of respect for her religious needs, we moved her — during the busiest week of the summer — to a female-only room. Again, no mention of that effort or flexibility. You asked for plug adaptors but didn’t want to pay the minimal €3 fee. Even then, we explained safe alternatives, like using EU-to-UK charging blocks — helpful advice that some guests appreciate instead of complain about. And for clarity: we never encourage unsafe use of sockets — we only provide safe, realistic options for travelers who come unprepared. Now to address your so-called “problems”: If a toilet is dirty — it’s because someone left it dirty. We clean every day, and our staff was working in the bathroom while you were there. That includes 5 people trying to resolve a drainage issue, which was caused — like clearly marked signs warn — by flushing toilet paper or wipes, which is not allowed. So, if it didn’t drain, ask yourself who didn’t follow the basic rule posted multiple times, with clear illustrations. “You usually need to clean your room”? This is not only misleading — it’s false. All dormitory rooms are cleaned daily, as they were during your stay. Kitchen “dirty”? Again, that depends on the guests. It’s a shared kitchen, and like at home, if someone leaves a mess, it affects everyone else. The real issue here is respect — or lack of it. The “bad smell” in the female room was not reported, and when we asked another guest from the same room, she thanked us for the hospitality and said everything was clean and it was a great first-time hostel experience. So whose story do we trust? Doors and windows? We checked everything. All fully functional. If something was wrong, it could’ve been fixed — if you had reported it. But here’s what actually happened: you never reported anything. You just waited, then left these reviews to damage a small, hard-working business. That’s your choice — but we won’t stay silent when you twist the truth. And lastly — yes, we do clean, fix, and respond constantly. But we’re not here to carry your personal standards of perfection or manage your expectations if they’re completely disconnected from reality. To be very honest: we do not recommend you visit us again. Hostels are shared spaces. They require basic communication, respect, and kindness — none of which we saw from your side. We’ll continue to improve, grow, and serve the hundreds of respectful guests who value what we do — and one group trying to play games online won’t change that.

    We’re honestly shocked by these reviews — not only because of the 2/10 score from the same group, but because of how selectively the facts were presented to make things sound worse than they were. Let’s set the record straight: You arri… Show more

    Hostl - Beds & Rooms - The Hostel Inn Paphos, Old Town
    24 August 2025
  • See the property
  • Le

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The toilet is dirty and the water can not drain out then go into your room. Therefore, you usually need to clean up your room. Furthermore, the kitchen devices are dirty. In the girl room, it has bad smell and the door and window in the toilet can not close tightly

    Property response:

    We’re honestly shocked by these reviews — not only because of the 2/10 score from the same group, but because of how selectively the facts were presented to make things sound worse than they were. Let’s set the record straight: You arrived very early, well before check-in time, and were making noise throughout the property. Still, we welcomed you, offered to store your luggage, and suggested you take a break and return later — which you did. This small act of kindness wasn’t even acknowledged in your review. One of your group members was originally booked in a mixed dorm. Out of respect for her religious needs, we moved her — during the busiest week of the summer — to a female-only room. Again, no mention of that effort or flexibility. You asked for plug adaptors but didn’t want to pay the minimal €3 fee. Even then, we explained safe alternatives, like using EU-to-UK charging blocks — helpful advice that some guests appreciate instead of complain about. And for clarity: we never encourage unsafe use of sockets — we only provide safe, realistic options for travelers who come unprepared. Now to address your so-called “problems”: If a toilet is dirty — it’s because someone left it dirty. We clean every day, and our staff was working in the bathroom while you were there. That includes 5 people trying to resolve a drainage issue, which was caused — like clearly marked signs warn — by flushing toilet paper or wipes, which is not allowed. So, if it didn’t drain, ask yourself who didn’t follow the basic rule posted multiple times, with clear illustrations. “You usually need to clean your room”? This is not only misleading — it’s false. All dormitory rooms are cleaned daily, as they were during your stay. Kitchen “dirty”? Again, that depends on the guests. It’s a shared kitchen, and like at home, if someone leaves a mess, it affects everyone else. The real issue here is respect — or lack of it. The “bad smell” in the female room was not reported, and when we asked another guest from the same room, she thanked us for the hospitality and said everything was clean and it was a great first-time hostel experience. So whose story do we trust? Doors and windows? We checked everything. All fully functional. If something was wrong, it could’ve been fixed — if you had reported it. But here’s what actually happened: you never reported anything. You just waited, then left these reviews to damage a small, hard-working business. That’s your choice — but we won’t stay silent when you twist the truth. And lastly — yes, we do clean, fix, and respond constantly. But we’re not here to carry your personal standards of perfection or manage your expectations if they’re completely disconnected from reality. To be very honest: we do not recommend you visit us again. Hostels are shared spaces. They require basic communication, respect, and kindness — none of which we saw from your side. We’ll continue to improve, grow, and serve the hundreds of respectful guests who value what we do — and one group trying to play games online won’t change that.

    We’re honestly shocked by these reviews — not only because of the 2/10 score from the same group, but because of how selectively the facts were presented to make things sound worse than they were. Let’s set the record straight: You arri… Show more

    Hostl - Beds & Rooms - The Hostel Inn Paphos, Old Town
    24 August 2025
  • Chang

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Kyuhwan

    Reviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Blecon

    Reviewed: 20 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Very nice neighbourhood and very close to the Karavella central bus station. the beds are comfortable and the kitchen is well furnished. Big plus for the giant courtyard to chill after a day of exploring. The staff is very nice and gives good advice regarding the area and sightseeing

    Small issue with the lack of privacy in the dorm (no blinds to separate the beds) and no plug on the top bunks which is not ideal to charge one's phone.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting the comfort, location, and vibe of the space — we’re happy you enjoyed the courtyard, the kitchen, and our team’s support during your stay. Regarding the dorm beds: the setup is exactly as shown in the listing photos, and we’ve never advertised bed curtains or individual plugs for the top bunks. That said, we’re always improving based on feedback, and adding those small comforts is already part of our upgrade plan. Appreciate you staying with us — and you’re always welcome back!

    Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting the comfort, location, and vibe of the space — we’re happy you enjoyed the courtyard, the kitchen, and our team’s support during your stay. Regarding the dorm beds: the setup is exactly as s… Show more

    Hostl - Beds & Rooms - The Hostel Inn Paphos, Old Town
    21 August 2025
  • 7.0 Good
    Amelia

    Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Georgia

    Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Met very friendly people. And the owner is very helpful

  • See the property
  • Theresa

    Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The hostel has an amazing garden terrace where you can chill. It’s not far from the main bus station and the new town.

    The property was self check in so I never interacted with any staff. It wasn’t a great place for solo travelers to meet others. It’s located up a hill about a 30 minute walk from the sea. There’s only 1 male and 1 female bathroom. The air conditioning is set to 26°C and only on during specific hours.

  • Abdellatif

    Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Good location Good price Clean

  • Anna

    Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Helen

    Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Kostas was brilliant The rooms were clean and airy, also a wonderful outdoor space with plenty of seating and tables and even a couple of hammocks at the end of the garden. Alexa, the housekeeper worked extremely hard making sure everything was clean and tidy. She is a great asset to Kostas

  • 7.0 Good
    Mostafa

    Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Friendly receptionist

    The hostel is located on top of a hill and you have to climb with your bags if you are coming on foot. Also, the hostel is not air-conditioned, only inside the rooms and it is open only at certain times, not all the time.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting the friendly reception — we appreciate that. Regarding the hill — our location is not a surprise. It’s clearly shown on the map before booking, and for guests arriving on foot with luggage, we always recommend either a taxi or a rental car, which we’re more than happy to help arrange. To count that as a negative against the hostel itself feels a bit unfair. As for the A/C — yes, our rooms are air-conditioned and it operates during set hours. They are set to run during specific hours because, unfortunately, many guests in the past have left it running for hours while not even being in the room. To avoid unnecessary energy waste and ensure the equipment lasts for everyone, we’ve set a balanced schedule that still keeps the space comfortable. We do not pretend to be a shopping mall :) This is a hostel designed for rest, comfort, and shared living. We’ve set these limits to avoid energy waste and keep the environment respectful and sustainable for all guests. We offer a clean and comfortable place to sleep, a kitchen to prepare a basic meal, a beautiful garden to enjoy your coffee, and showers to freshen up. And we do it all with care and effort every single day. You’re always welcome back!

    Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting the friendly reception — we appreciate that. Regarding the hill — our location is not a surprise. It’s clearly shown on the map before booking, and for guests arriving on foot with luggage, … Show more

    Hostl - Beds & Rooms - The Hostel Inn Paphos, Old Town
    14 August 2025
  • Ria

    Reviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The room was very cosy & clean, with nice shutters & blinds to keep the light out. The garden is perfect & well kept. The manager keeps a close eye and fixes any problems that occur immediately.

    It can get a bit noisy when people insist on using the shared bathroom & shower in the middle of the night, talking loudly, but being a hostel, that is to be expected, that s more to do with the lodgers than the hostel.

  • See the property
  • Yuliia

    Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Very nice and clean hostel. There is a beautiful terrace with a view of the sea. The staff and service are at a high level. Special thanks to Kostes, the admin, he really helped to figure everything out and install the Internet, a polite and wonderful person. I recommend this hostel 100%!

    Property response:

    Thank you so much for your kind words and strong recommendation! We're really happy you enjoyed the space, the sea-view terrace, and the overall vibe of the hostel. I appreciate the shoutout personally — it was a pleasure helping you, and we're always here to make sure everything runs smoothly. You're welcome back anytime!

    Thank you so much for your kind words and strong recommendation! We're really happy you enjoyed the space, the sea-view terrace, and the overall vibe of the hostel. I appreciate the shoutout personally — it was a pleasure helping you, a… Show more

    Hostl - Beds & Rooms - The Hostel Inn Paphos, Old Town
    14 August 2025
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...