Reviews of Rancho el Sobrino 3 stars
Weg naar kniphof z/n, Sabana Westpunt, Curaçao

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 28 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewLocation is quite good. We appreciated the clean pool, comfy pillows and the clothes line to hang our wet beachwear on. The room was clean, shower was hot and water pressure great. The staff are very helpful. The kitchen has minimal cookware and utensils and no running hot water but a kettle was provided to heat water for dishes.
Reviewed: 17 February 2025 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewEverybody friendly! Restaurant with tasty food! Sliding at the pool was fun. Room was beautiful.
It was totally hot in the room when we arrived. So sad that nobody turned on the air-conditioning before although we said the exact time of our arrival. The cleaning maid (nice person) always left open the door while cleaning. So thousands of mosquitos entered our room. After telling her and the woman at the reception it didn't go better. Annoying.
Reviewed: 9 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewLocation is quite far from the airport. And in a quiet part of the island. A rental car is strongly recommended
Our front door was sticky so if your hands were full the door was a little inconvenient but definitely not a major issue
Reviewed: 27 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewThe staff is very kind. You can rent a car at the property , which is highly recommended if you want to explore Westpunt. They can also arrange a transfer to the airport. Amazing beaches around, Kalki, Knips… if you don’t mind to walk, beaches are not that far.
Reviewed: 22 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewWe had a great time and enjoyed staying here, as the beautiful beaches were easy to reach by foot / with a car. The staff was super friendly. Easy check-in and check-out. The room had everything that we needed, was spacious and clean. We had great time chilling in the hammocks in our balcony as well as in the pool. A few nice restaurants nearby made the stay even more enjoyable. Would love to visit again in the future. Thank you!
Reviewed: 15 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewHammock at the balcony outdoor kitchen local dive trainer onsite
AC not working properly 1 toilet paper roll for 4 days first cleaning only after 5 days whole resort looked better in the past restaurant always closed no gas station and no grocery store near rented car was not working properly no direct beach access
Hi Kerstin, thank you for your feedback and great that you enjoyed the Hammocks and the Diving at our place. Indeed is there no grocery store in Westpunt, so you need to drive about 5 minutes to the next village. That is why we inform our guests to already shop on the way or ask them if they would like to have a welcome package in the fridge. The Cactus Cafe on property closed for their yearly holiday in June, we are sorry for that. We understand that this can be frustrating. Our Apartments are self contained and everything is there for our guests to use, we clean once a week and indicate that also in the description. Whenever you came to ask for toilet paper, we provided it. About the car, unfortunately you did not mention that the car had issues, we could have changed the car on the spot. We always appreciate when guests mention any problem right away, our front desk is open daily and we have a 24hr whatsapp. Only then we can react and make sure that everything is to your satisfaction.
Hi Kerstin, thank you for your feedback and great that you enjoyed the Hammocks and the Diving at our place. Indeed is there no grocery store in Westpunt, so you need to drive about 5 minutes to the next village. That is why we inform our g… Show more
Reviewed: 10 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewEverything specially the host Bernardo as he was super friendly and helpful
Reviewed: 22 April 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified reviewRelaxing and quiet atmosphere. Terrace with kitchen. Hammocks. Dive centre on site.
Reviewed: 21 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewWe loved our time at Rancho El Sobrino. Our room was clean and fairly spacious with a kitchen and dining area, a small balcony and good size bathroom. A/C worked well and the bed was very comfortable. The pool area was great for relaxing and the water was sparkling clean. We even met a couple of kitties that live on the property, Wilson, Ginger and Burrito and there is an on-site dive shop if you want to try scuba diving. The restaurant, Cactus Cafe, which is not owned by the property, was unbelievably exceptional. The food was amazing.
Reviewed: 11 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewOverall we had a great stay! The rooms were clean, bed comfortable, air conditioning worked well (for the first floor at least), and the staff were friendly. The on-site restaurant is excellent- as others have mentioned, try to make reservations and the African peanut soup is a must-try! Although there isn't direct access to the beach from the hotel, you're a few minute drive from several beautiful beaches and 10-15 minute drive from two national parks. They cleaned our room after 3 days, including doing the dishes, and fixed a dead outlet we had notified them of. We didn't use the pool at all, but it looked clean and inviting. Parking was straightforward (small cars help navigate the small lot though).
Our wifi didn't work in our room for half of our stay. My partner informed the staff within an hour of noticing, and they seemed unable to address the issue. This disabled the TV in the room as well. The shower pressure and temperature was overall good but unreliable (heat cut out completely, albeit briefly, during a couple of showers) and the drain didn't work well, so we'd be standing in at least an inch of water by the end of the shower. Luckily the threshold is high enough that it didn't leak outside of the shower, but this still isn't ideal. While it was great to have a kitchenette during our stay (note limited vegetarian entrees at most nearby restaurants), we found some of the pots to be in very rough shape and dirty. There also is no way to cool down the upstairs (kitchen and dining area). There was only a small ceiling fan upstairs and while using the stovetop, the heat would get pretty brutal. Hotel policy charges $20 if you leave the air conditioning on while outside of the room. We also couldn't get into the room for the first 30+ minutes. While this didn't bother us and we just went for a quick swim down the road, this doesn't fulfill typical expectations for accommodation. We had informed them ahead of time of our estimated arrival time of 5:30 PM and the front desk typically closes at 5 PM, so we were already a relatively late check-in.
Hi Ashley, thank you for staying with us and yes sorry we did have problems with the internet. That was due to the Internet company itself, we could do nothing to fix it. That should have been communicated with you clearly. In the meanwhile that issue is solved and we also installed some more enhancers to make use of 600 MB speed we have now in the whole Resort. Upstairs in the kitchen is no airconditioner, but there is a ceiling fan and you can open the front door plus the balcony door to get the breeze of the wind...... Saludos Bianca
Hi Ashley, thank you for staying with us and yes sorry we did have problems with the internet. That was due to the Internet company itself, we could do nothing to fix it. That should have been communicated with you clearly. In the meanwhile… Show more
Reviewed: 28 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified reviewBeautiful apartment right on the ocean. Amazing views and balcony. Great communication with the owner. The property was quiet you could only hear the waves and it had everything we needed.
Hi Jennifer, Thank you for staying with us and for the nice review. We try our best!! Saludos BIanca
Reviewed: 20 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified reviewFriendly staff , exceptional chef in the Cactus Cafe next door , nice sized pool and close to several beaches .
Appliances and accessories in the room were quite old , streaming on the TV was constantly buffering , constuction noise at the complex next door started at sunrise on most days and parking area and roads were full of potholes .
Reviewed: 26 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024
Verified reviewThe pool was big and beautiful
Reviewed: 22 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 December 2023 · Stayed in November 2023
Verified reviewOur stay at Rancho was outstanding. There are several restaurants in the area that serve delicious local cuisine with delightful atmosphere. Nearby are two National Parks to explore and quaint beaches for relaxation and snorkeling experiences. Took advantage of the pool every afternoon to cool down and to practice using our snorkeling gear.
It would have been nice if the attached restaurant had lunch options.
Hi Steven, thank you for staying with us!! It was a pleasure having you. We are working on lunch options, coffee, drinks....which you can also enjoy at the pool. We hope to see you guys back soon here.
Reviewed: 4 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewRenoushka took great care of us. We were not happy with our original room and wanted to leave Rancho el Sobrino. Renoushka offered us a different room and made our stay very enjoyable.
The first room had ants. The second room was much better but the hotel overall needs some updating.
Reviewed: 16 March 2023 · Stayed in March 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 9 February 2023 · Stayed in February 2023
Verified reviewGood location, friendly staff, good food in Cactus Cafe
Only drawback was the internet was spotty.
Reviewed: 7 February 2023 · Stayed in January 2023
Verified reviewgood location near the best beaches in Curaçao
very basic accommodations. no furniture in the room other than the bed. you can hear everything going on in the neighbouring rooms. Very bad sewage smell in the bathroom throughout our stay.
Reviewed: 1 February 2023 · Stayed in January 2023
Verified reviewBali is very nice guy Location is nice. Close to good beaches Big rooms and kitchen Pool
Admin Wifi Value for money No breakfast provided as advertised No hot water
Reviewed: 19 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023
Verified reviewGood location in West Punt Nice swimming pool if the guy didn't stay there watching you the whole time. We are normally not fussy with our accomodation and are familiar with budget accomodations, this place however was not cheap and was below budget accomodation standards.
There is no reception available to help you - they blame covid? You need to whatsapp message someone and they take days to respond. First night our air con stopped working midway through the night - no problem these things happen but we want it fixed as we are paying for aircon. We are told we cannot move in to another room but we can go to another bed on the property to sleep but need to spend our time in the room? One day was wasted with people in our room dismantling the aircon but still not fixing it while we are sitting around waiting. After multiple discussions we are moved to a new room. We had to threaten to leave and request our money back before they tried to resolve anything. We are told while moving into the other room to take our towels with us and not to use the aircon when we aren't in the room and don't use the sheets in the other spare bed. Common sense things I would have thought but overly pushing this we are a budget hotel vibe. Both rooms were filthy, unswept floors, bugs squished all over the walls, ants all over the kitchen, cockroaches squished on the floor. The "Double bed" is actually two single beds pushed together. You are provided with one half toilet roll and a tablespoon of dish liquid when you check in, don't use this up as you do not get more for the rest of your stay. When I asked the owner for a refill they told me this is a budget accomodation and I should expect such, even though they provide toilet paper as a service on the booking.com services list. Before we checked out the hotel cancelled our reservation on booking.com to try and prevent paying booking.com the fees and a $35 USD reward that was part of the incentive to book in the first place.
Dear guest, we are very sorry that the airco stopped working in the night. We told you right away that it is better to move to another room as on weekends we are dependent on the airco service to come from Willemstad to fix it and this is not in our hands. As you did not want to take our advice, our employees indeed tried to see if they can fix it, which unfortunately did not work out. You then moved to another room, and we moved the towels that were used only one day. (we dont know who you threatened to leave or asked for money back?) We offered you right away to move. The front desk is open 5 out of 7 days from 9.30- 5.00, but you never came to the front desk but preferred to send apps. When you moved to the next room, we contacted you to find out if you liked it but no reply. Your girl friend was very friendly and told Bali that everything was ok. No complaint about dirt or anything like that. Your stay was 58 USD a night. From day one, you ordered (not asked) for daily cleaning, refill of this, refill of that. You got toilet paper at check in, when you moved and also when the room was cleaned in between. At check in, all our guests fill in a registration from, where check out times, cleaning schedules are explained, and yes indeed, we do ask not to let the airco run, when out. That is normal procedure. You signed all this information at check in, but you said you were not aware of that you signed all that. There is Bali, who is 24/7 on the grounds to assist and help. We are sorry that you felt bothered by him. You sent an email to booking.com saying that you were over charged for your stay. We really try to accommodate wishes and if something goes wrong, we fix it. Bali is available 24/7 or the front desk or the app. If you are expecting a 24/7 front desk, daily cleaning and refill of soaps, we recommend addressing your wishes at check-in. Extra cleaning is available for a fee (also stated in the check in form that was signed). We also do provide soaps and have an amount of shower gel, sun screens, shampoos, moskito sprays at the front desk which we give out for free.
Dear guest, we are very sorry that the airco stopped working in the night. We told you right away that it is better to move to another room as on weekends we are dependent on the airco service to come from Willemstad to fix it and this is n… Show more
Reviewed: 12 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023
Verified reviewGood value for money. Very well located in Westpunt, walking distance to some restaurants and nearby beaches. There is a diving school and a restaurant in the premises which I also recommend. Very chilled environment and fully equipped apartments.
Given the end of rainy season, there is a crazy amount of mosquitoes and unfortunately the mosquito net over the bed was not the best allowing many mosquitoes to bother us at night. That should be fixed. Take repellent with you from Willemstad as you won't find it anywhere in westpunt.
Reviewed: 11 December 2022 · Stayed in December 2022
Verified reviewCozy and beautifully decorated place close to the beach. Friendly hosts and their cats, great facilities, a spacious very well equipped apartment with a nice inner yard.