Reviews of Hotel MiraBela 3 stars
1 Junho, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Po Box 74, Cabo Verde, 4111 Santa Maria, Cape Verde

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Rimini, Italy
La Quiaca, Argentina
Lively, Canada
Sandomierz, Poland
Dunhuang, China
Berkeley, United Kingdom
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Saint-Jean-dʼAulps, France
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewClean, friendly staff, the food for the breakfast was fresh and really healthy food, it has air conditioner the most important basic in a hot weather it was the best. Very quite room and very safe if you travel alone girl or boy
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you liked your stay so much. We are always happy when we see so many 10s because it means that someone had a really good time. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewRooms were comfortable and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. The free breakfast was very good and the staff was very helpful. The hotel is located 1 block away from the beach and a quick walk to a beach that you can swim in and use their beach club. Lots of restaurants and shops near the hotel.
If you want to use the air conditioner you have to pay an additional 3€ a night. I thought that was very odd. You can't sleep with the windows open because of the loud music from the shisha lounge, nearby bars and the busy street.
Dear Victoria, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had such a good time with us. I hope the extra payment for the AC didn't come as a surprise, because it is mentioned when you book and it is also in the booking confirmation. But again; we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Dear Victoria, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had such a good time with us. I hope the extra payment for the AC didn't come as a surprise, because it is mentioned when you book and it is also in the booking confirmatio… Show more
Reviewed: 19 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewIt's centrally located with very easy access to the beach. They can book great tours for you, and breakfast on the rooftop is good - you can ask for eggs (omelet, etc.) alongside buffet items.
Dear Angela, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you liked your stay and we hope to see you again some day. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela.
Reviewed: 9 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful charming hotel. I had a room with cute balcony
There is a club next door on a rooftop. So the music is outside. The music is outrageously loud. Even with double windows and earplugs you can not stop the noise… i am so happy i was here for only one night. I would have left if i would have booked more nights
Dear Raymond, Thank you for your review. I am of course sorry for you that you did not sleep well. It is however advertised everywhere that our hotel is located in the middle of a touristic town. There is live music practically everywhere until around midnight. A lot of people book especially with us because the hotel is in the middle of everything. If you like that, there is no better location. Some people however like it quiet. The fact is that the people who like it really quiet should obviously not book a hotel room in the center of a touristic town. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Dear Raymond, Thank you for your review. I am of course sorry for you that you did not sleep well. It is however advertised everywhere that our hotel is located in the middle of a touristic town. There is live music practically everywher… Show more
Reviewed: 19 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewLovely hotel right in the centre of Praia, located on a lively pedestrian-only street with many restaurants and shops nearby
The room was very small, but it was comfortable. One member of staff was very strange.
Dear Judith, Thank you for your review, but is this a review for Hotel MiraBela in Santa Maria? You wrote twice that we are in Praia but of course we are in Santa Maria. And we also do not have strange staff members :). Although that of course depends on your definition of strange. I wish you had been a little more specific because now I do not know what I can do with this remark. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Dear Judith, Thank you for your review, but is this a review for Hotel MiraBela in Santa Maria? You wrote twice that we are in Praia but of course we are in Santa Maria. And we also do not have strange staff members :). Although that of co… Show more
Reviewed: 29 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewVery noisy with open windows - you can sleep with closed windows but they will charge you extra for the AC! You will hear music until at least midnight…then also drunk people on the street. I had 2 rough nights
Dear Jonas, It is advertised everywhere that our hotel is right in the centre of a touristic town, surrounded by bars and restaurants. So yes, there can be some noise. It is also advertised everywhere that we charge a little extra for usage of the AC. You could have read this in THREE different places: on the Booking page in the general info, in the small print PLUS in your booking conformation. So you were well informed. And we are talking about a surcharge of € 3 per night. This is less than one beer at happy hour time. For that small amount of money you could have closed our wonderful sound insulated doors and windows and have slept like a baby. Well worth it I would think. Last but not least we have a very good reason for charging a little extra for the AC. This is explained several times in our answers to reviews and it has everything to do with environmental issues, which we are very proud of. I am sorry for you that you sacrificed your good nights sleep for € 3 euros per night. Kind regards, Ron Brinckman Owner of Hotel MiraBela
Dear Jonas, It is advertised everywhere that our hotel is right in the centre of a touristic town, surrounded by bars and restaurants. So yes, there can be some noise. It is also advertised everywhere that we charge a little extra for usag… Show more
Reviewed: 13 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThe staff's behavior was good, and the breakfast, as well as the balcony view, were satisfactory.
I found a cockroach in my room, as well as sewage flies in the toilet and bathroom. Additionally, there were no mosquito nets on the windows.
Dear Mahmoud, we spray the entire hotel on a monthly basis for all kinds of insects and bugs. We are in Africa and there can be some cockroaches on the streets. We cannot be 100% sure that no cockroach ever comes inside, even though we spray as often as recommended. It barely ever happens, but 1 or 2 times per year it does happen unfortunately. I am sorry for you that it seems to have ruined your entire holiday. The complaint about the mosquito screens is a little strange , because I am totally convinced that you did not see any mosquito in your room. We never have mosquitos in the hotel. They just are not there, higher up in the main street. That is a good reason for not having mosquito screens, is it not? The sewage flies as you call them are "humidity flies". They can come inside when it is very humid outside. I am totally sure that you only saw one or two. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Dear Mahmoud, we spray the entire hotel on a monthly basis for all kinds of insects and bugs. We are in Africa and there can be some cockroaches on the streets. We cannot be 100% sure that no cockroach ever comes inside, even though we sp… Show more
Reviewed: 5 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewVery helpful,positiv staff, Great location ,fresh,clean. Rekommend it warm
Dear Johan, Thank you for your review. We are always very happy when we see a 10 :). We are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Reviewed: 13 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewgood, friendly family run hotel
nothing i did not like
Dear Anthony, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Reviewed: 3 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewGreat friendly staff, a nice welcome drink, awesome breakfast, and perfect location.
Dear Matthew, All individual 10s, wow! We are happy that you liked your stay so much and hope to see you again some day. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Reviewed: 26 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewWe really enjoyed our stay at the MiraBela. It located perfectly - beach, restaurants & shops are very close. The staff is really friendly and the room has everything we needed. They organised an airport pick-up for us and were happy to help us with all the questions we had and gave some tips on what to explore on the island. We especially enjoyed to roof-top-Terrasse. The breakfast up there was lovely and we also enjoyed spending time there during the day. For us it was the perfect start to our Cabo Verde Holiday
Dear Indra, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Reviewed: 18 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewBreakfast was a little chaotic and the friend I was with had to wait 45mins for his only to send it back and order something else
Needs more power sockets in the room. Breakfast need to be a little more professional
Graham, You were the worst behaving guest we ever had in our hotel. We regret not calling the police to evict you from our hotel, which we will do next time if we ever get a guest again who behaves like you did. We do not allow guests to be so loud inside the hotel and bang on other people's doors in the middle of the night because they cannot handle their drinks. And this is only one example of your misconduct. We are now going to write down the rules that our guests have to comply to. Those rules do not go further than showing respect towards other guests and our staff, but it goes to show that for some people this is too much to ask and they need to be told. Your comment about the breakfast is also nonsense because you were so drunk every night, that you never made it to breakfast. Do us all a favor and don't ever come back. Ron Brinckman Owner Hotel MiraBela
Graham, You were the worst behaving guest we ever had in our hotel. We regret not calling the police to evict you from our hotel, which we will do next time if we ever get a guest again who behaves like you did. We do not allow guests to … Show more
Reviewed: 7 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewThis is a charming place, with friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable staff (thank you Caroline, Luciette & Adi!!) The location is very central, which is great if you want to be close to restaurants, Praia de Santa Maria, shops...but be aware this also means it can be VERY loud and boisterous at night. (Granted, we were there over Winter Break, including New Year's Eve...but even on regular weekend nights we can imagine it being equally active.) The windows/doors of Hotel Mirabela do a great deal to reduce outdoor noise...but it can still be very loud and thunderous with music at night time. Water is filtered on-site, and therefore is potable out of the tap, and the hotel makes efforts to be more environmentally conscious (with cloth bags on-loan in the rooms to reduce plastic shopping bags, and refillable water bottles). Breakfast was delicious, and is served on the upstairs terrace - which is a great way to start the day! We will definitely look to stay here again when we have an opportunity to return to Sal, C.V. !!
Despite thick glass windows, it can be very loud on weekends and other festive nights. Also the mattresses were not as comfortable as we would have hoped (but everyone has there own preferences and tastes of comfort).
Dear Everett, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have liked your stay with us. We hope to see you again some day. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Reviewed: 3 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewBasic room but clean. Breakfast was good, location is very central
A little noisy at night time as the hotel is located right on the main street and downstairs there are many restaurants
Dear Lala, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked your stay. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Reviewed: 8 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewMiraBela had a colonial appearance and charm with balconies and a great roof terrace for breakfast of chilling out. It was central in the town, our room overlooked nearby restaurants and street life. The lovely beach could be seen from the rooftop. Staff could not have been more helpful. We were able to check out, leave our bags and make use of the roof top terrace. We swam and ate out in beach side restaurants and in the evening in the town next to MiraBela. Lots of local colour. We really enjoyed our short time in Santa Maria
Nothing
Dear Bruce, We are happy that you liked your stay so much. Thank you for your kind words. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Reviewed: 30 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewThe hotel has everything you need, is at a great location very nearby the center and the beach, the staff is very friendly and provides good service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!
Nothing
Dear Suraagnie, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy that you liked your stay so much. we hope to see you again some day. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Reviewed: 8 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewThis was my second time booking this accommodation, and still so very happy that I stayed here. One of the members even recognized me! The team treats you as family and makes sure that all is well. I wanted to book a last minute catamaran cruise tour but everything was fully booked.. I told them and just a few calls later, they managed to arrange one for me! Thank you so much for all the care and help.
Nothing to complain about! Everything is well taken care of.
Dear Jenelyn, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that we could welcome you again. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We are so glad that they work for us and make our guests have a good time. So when will be your third time? :). Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Dear Jenelyn, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that we could welcome you again. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We are so glad that they work for us and make our guests have a good time. So when will be your third tim… Show more
Reviewed: 2 November 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewWe loved everything of our stay. The location was perfect and the room too with a balcony to relax. They also have a terrace with a view of the restaurants and it's a perfect location to relax, listening to music. It's close to the beach and you have everything you might need nearby, including local restaurants (touristy ones too if you prefer). But what made our stay amazing was the staff. Everyone was so nice and kind, we had great chats and they were really friendly. From the reception guys, the cook, the cleaning lady. It felt like home. They helped us when our flight got cancelled and offered an airport transfer even before we asked. We also booked an island tour with them and it was great and a lot fun. If we were to go back to Sal we would 100% stay here again.
That we could only stay one week as we ran out of holiday ;)
Dear Laura, Thank you so much for your review. Wow, all 10s! This is what we do it for :). We are happy that you had such a great time. We love our staff too, they're the best :). We hope to see you again some day. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Dear Laura, Thank you so much for your review. Wow, all 10s! This is what we do it for :). We are happy that you had such a great time. We love our staff too, they're the best :). We hope to see you again some day. Kind regards, Hot… Show more
Reviewed: 30 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewGreat location right on the main tourist street. Staff was wonderful. They let us keep one of the two rooms that was not reserved until after our day tour so we could shower and change before our flight. Breakfasts were great with several made to order choices.
Can be a little loud in the evening being next to Jamaican bar but not hotel fault and part of charm of being in this great location.
Dear Brian, Thank you so much for your great review. We are happy that you liked your stay so much and hope to welcome you again one day. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Reviewed: 11 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewIt is right centre of the Main Street of Sal. Positive as it’s close to restaurants. Negative as it could be noisy with music. However the rooms have good doors to block the noise. Lovely balcony if you are a smoker or people gazer. Internet was good. The staff were excellent in organising tours and taxi. And giving local tips.
Breakfast could be varied as it was same every day.
Dear Sam Rai, Thank you so much for your review. I am happy that you liked your stay so much. We made the choice to put everything we have for the breakfast out every day, so that guests can very their breakfast themselves. For us this makes more sense than for example having pancakes and omelets one day, and homemade cake and fried eggs another day. We think it is better if we don't make these choices for our guests but the guests make those choices themselves. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Dear Sam Rai, Thank you so much for your review. I am happy that you liked your stay so much. We made the choice to put everything we have for the breakfast out every day, so that guests can very their breakfast themselves. For us this m… Show more
Reviewed: 20 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 7 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewThe food on the terrace was lovely
Too much noise from the street and front the customers who came from the street
Dear Jorge, We are sorry that you did not like your stay. We advertise it everywhere that we are right in the centre of a touristic town, surrounded by bars and restaurants, so you could have known that there can be some noise. Some people keep the outside doors open nonetheless, but those doors are very special sound insulating doors. If one closes those doors, hardly any noise is heard from the outside. We always tell this when people arrive. You stayed only one night and maybe you had some bad luck with some guests entering the hotel. We barely ever get any complaints from noise from inside the hotel, but of course something like this can happen every now and then if someone else comes in drunk. Our apologies for this. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela
Dear Jorge, We are sorry that you did not like your stay. We advertise it everywhere that we are right in the centre of a touristic town, surrounded by bars and restaurants, so you could have known that there can be some noise. Some peopl… Show more
Reviewed: 5 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewVery friendly staff!
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you liked your stay so much that you valued our individual categories with an average of 9.58. We are happy that you like our staff so much. Kind regards, Hotel MiraBela