8.1

Reviews of Hotel Dunas de Sal 4 stars

Ponta Preta - Santa Maria , 21100 Santa Maria, Cape Verde

  • Dustin-benedict

    Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Michael

    Reviewed: 16 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Nice hotel at the good location just one block from the beach. They have own zone with sun beds on the beach. Room was big size with huge comfortable bed. A lot of space for sunbathing around the swimming pool nice garden. The only thing what was disappointing was breakfast very boring everyday same stuff plus a lot of sugar. For person who is not eating sugar was too much unhealthy options.

  • 7.0 Good
    Paul

    Reviewed: 6 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    General feel and small size of hotel.Good friendly staff. Position to beach and short walk to town

    Room quite small. Breakfast a bit limiting

  • See the hotel
  • David

    Reviewed: 27 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Terrible value; overpriced; far from town; overcrowded and poor quality breakfast; I got stuck in a broken elevator for 10 mins and then didn’t use it again.

  • An

    Reviewed: 12 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    The room was big and clean with a nice balcony. Bed was comfortable, sofa-bed not so comfortable. Pool area is great, although very exposed to the wind. Good breakfast, with lot of options and very tasty dinners. Amazing staff, always available to help. Location is a little far from the center.

  • 7.0 Good
    Gvaligy

    Reviewed: 12 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    The facilities were amazing, very clean, and the staff was amazing!

    Not a lot a variety for the food on Half Board. The breakfast is buffet and is great, but Dinner a la carte with a specific menu for Half Board customers was not goog, specially when travelling with children and after paying all that money

  • See the hotel
  • Francisco

    Reviewed: 6 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Location was ok, not 1st line but close enough to the beach, and walkable to the Center (~20 min) for dinner. The facilities were according to expectations and the bed and pillows were quite comfortable. Bathroom could be better. Pufs by the pool were very nice! Nice area of sunbeds at the beach, with not many people and a calm environment.

    Breakfast was what I found considerably bad for a 4star hotel - variety was moderate but quality was very low, both of food, drinks, etc

  • Elisa

    Reviewed: 28 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review
  • Elizabete

    Reviewed: 26 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Location was perfect! Staff was professional and very helpful in anything we needed. The beach is across the road.

  • See the hotel
  • Levie

    Reviewed: 16 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Almost nothing. Hotel overestimated in quality and price. Breakfast was ok that's it!

    Yhe quality of the hotel. Swimming pool minuscule, windy, warranty required for towels overpriced (15 euros), bar inintetesting...

  • Natalie

    Reviewed: 15 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review
  • Jarrett

    Reviewed: 4 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Satisfied with the variety. The staff were professional and helpful.

    The Wi-Fi in the room was weak

  • See the hotel
  • Frans

    Reviewed: 21 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    The staff was amazing.

    Everything was excellent, expect the WiFi. For this price we should get the best WiFi possible. But this was terrible.

  • 7.0 Good
    Nathalie

    Reviewed: 10 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    The hotel is in a good location a 5 mins walk to the centre of Santa Maria and the beach is closed.Rooms are clean and cleaned daily.

    Hotel was a bit boring and I found some of the staff were not very helpful. Breakfast was standard, on the last day we had a late flight and there is no facilities to shower or change after a day at the beach. We were told we could have a late check out however some of the staff were very unhelpful with regards this matter and said there were no rooms although we knew that rooms were available! We stayed in the suite and it says it's sleeps 4 however the sofa bed is extremely uncomfortable 2 adults couldn't sleep here. Mattress is very thin and bed is crooked, had to end up placing mattress on the floor. Don't think the hotel is value for money!

  • Salomé

    Reviewed: 28 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    People

    Cold pool Ester

  • See the hotel
  • Tamás

    Reviewed: 19 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    The receptionists were trying to help us contact the airline multiple times who delayed our luggage so we could get updates. We did not like the breakfast (see more about it below) and after the first morning we decided not to eat at the hotel any more. One day we got lazy and decided to have lunch there and I have to admit it was surprisingly good.

    Breakfast: There were options, but the quality was generally poor. Pancakes were like eating rubber, texture of the croassant is hard to describe but it was bad, fresh fruits were tasteless, fried eggs were drenched in oil. And there were flies around some of the uncovered food too. Apart from that there were a lot of sparrows outside trying to get to your food. We had one of them pooping on my chair too. We decided to have breakfast in town after this. I know breakfast is included in the price, but I would rather have no breakfast or pay for better quality breakfast. And hotel's page on booking.com says "Fabulous breakfast". Far from it. Hot water: There was no hot water when we arrived, I complained twice, I got promised it would be fixed twice. During my stay I felt hot water only once, when I washed my hands. Safety deposit box: They charge you 10 Euros for the key to the safe. It is not a huge amount, but the idea to charge for that is laughable. Never in my life have I been in a hotel anywhere in the world where they would charge for this. Can you really not include this in your price?! And yes, I know it is described on the hotel's page that there is an additional charge, but who reads through all the items in that list of facilities with 100+ items. Not knowing what is "extra" is my fault, but it is still nothing more than the hotel trying to pull a bit more out of the guests. Soundproofing: This is mentioned on the list of facilities and our room was supposed to have it. It is non-existent. The corridor outside our room has nothing that would absorb sounds and I could see light coming through between the door and doorframe. You could hear anyone talking at the other end of the corridor or anyone shutting a door. One more thing: We arrived late and our luggage did not arrive with us (airline's fault), so we asked reception if they have a small pack of toothbrush, toothpaste as shops were already closed. They did not.

  • Jilly

    Reviewed: 12 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Breakfast good

    Expensive No coffee maker as promised Reception not friendly No free water on arrival as in every other establishment visited Lift not working on departure - no offer of help with case despite being elderly Beach/pool towels 15 Euro - other establishments free Shower head broken Bedside mat had glass/thorns

    Property response:

    Good morning dear Guest, First of all, sorry for not match your needs during your stay in Hotel Dunas de Sal. We work everyday to fullfill our guests expectations and feel really disappointed for not being able to fulfill yours. I will inquire personally to understand what happen during your stay in order to ensure it doesnt happen again and really hope you can give HOTEL DUNAS DE SAL another chance to make it up to you. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and give us the oportunity to improve our service. Thank you

    Good morning dear Guest, First of all, sorry for not match your needs during your stay in Hotel Dunas de Sal. We work everyday to fullfill our guests expectations and feel really disappointed for not being able to fulfill yours. I will inq… Show more

    Hotel Dunas de Sal
    24 December 2024
  • Guilherme

    Reviewed: 12 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Agnieszka

    Reviewed: 8 October 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review
  • Fátima

    Reviewed: 14 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review

    The outdoors, the staff and the breakfast was good.

    The suite room for 4 people is very uncomfortable. The extra bed (sofa) for 2 people is thw worst bed i hace ever slept before. The solution was adding an extra mattress but it was bad anyway, we had a lot of back pain. Also a lot of ants in the bathroom.

    Property response:

    Dear Mrs. Fatima, Thank you very much for the time you took to give us your review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have the most confortable experience due to the Sofa bed. We tried to assist the best way possible with the second mattress as mentioned. Thank you also for your comment on our outdoor, staff and breakfast. Wishing yoh a lovely day.

    Dear Mrs. Fatima, Thank you very much for the time you took to give us your review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have the most confortable experience due to the Sofa bed. We tried to assist the best way possible with the second… Show more

    Hotel Dunas de Sal
    14 September 2024
  • Daniela

    Reviewed: 11 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Daniela

    Reviewed: 11 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review

    My son (4yo) was sick and all the staff was incredibly warm and kind to us and to him. He was in need of a special diet and they provided us with no extra charge.

    It could have more activities at evening and night time. Specially for kids.

  • Preyu

    Reviewed: 18 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024

    Verified review

    Superb

    The magic show lol

    Property response:

    Dear Priyu, Great to have received your feedback. We are happy that you have enjoyed your oberallstay with us. Wishing you a great day!

    Hotel Dunas de Sal
    18 June 2024
  • Henry

    Reviewed: 30 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024

    Verified review

    Location easily accessible

    Staff are not prudent - ended up trying to charge for other client food consumption. Also seemed understaffed which affects customer care

    Property response:

    Good morning dear Mr. Henry, thank you very much for taking the time to send us your review and comments. I perfectly remember passing by the reception on the time of your check out and the team was already sorting out why there was a mistakenly charged dinner expense in your room. we managed to see clearly that it was not your expense as the signature on the ticket was different from yours. I believe you may understand that is may happen that when a guest gives the room number to the waitter there is room to confusion and this is exactly what happened. The waitter who served this meal misunderstood the room number and charged it to your room, again, by mistake. The situation was identified through our control system and I personally had the opportunity to apologise to you. I kindly ask you not to see my staff who are commited and honest as someone who try to take advantage on our guests. In hospitality integrity and honesty are two fundamentals as we depend on or reputation as good hosts to build our family of guests. Once again I want to apologise for not managing to give you this feeling of safety on your one night stay with us but fully assure you that it was nothing but a inocent mistake that was resolved as supposed. Wishing you a lovely day.

    Good morning dear Mr. Henry, thank you very much for taking the time to send us your review and comments. I perfectly remember passing by the reception on the time of your check out and the team was already sorting out why there was a mista… Show more

    Hotel Dunas de Sal
    22 May 2024
  • See the hotel
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Sheraton Rhodes Resort

Ixia, Greece

Hotel Wentzl

Kraków, Poland

Lyndene Holiday Apartments

Skegness, United Kingdom

Spillers Farm

Axminster, United Kingdom

Hashtag 12 BoutiQue Hotel

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

Apartamento Palacio Real

Madrid, Spain

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...