8.5

Reviews of Casa Strela B&B Tarrafal

Ponta De Atum, Tarrafal, Cape Verde

  • Ana

    Reviewed: 4 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Shannon

    Reviewed: 16 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely view from the rooftop restaurant, breakfast was amazing and the staff were welcoming and helpful.

  • Ouarda

    Reviewed: 14 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Tiago

    Reviewed: 19 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • Mette

    Reviewed: 20 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Breakfast was amazing. Rooftopterrace fantastic. Personnel was very friendly.

    A little far away from everything.

    Property response:

    Dear Matte, thank you very much for your review and kind words about our Guesthouse and team. Best regards, Casa Strela Team

    Casa Strela B&B Tarrafal
    4 April 2025
  • Drost

    Reviewed: 14 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Verry friendly staff and delicous dinner on roof terrace.

    Rooms are a bit noisy

  • See the property
  • Daniel

    Reviewed: 15 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review
  • Alicia

    Reviewed: 12 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Nora

    Reviewed: 19 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    Friendly staff.

  • See the property
  • Antonio

    Reviewed: 3 August 2024 · Stayed in July 2024

    Verified review

    Our experience was a wonderful one. From the walk introducing us to the location to the mosquito netting in each room, the service and facilities truly matched the B&B feel. The food was delicious and the sustainability and care for use was always present. The people were kind and generous with their time, and their pleasantry was almost infectious. Dinner is made in a very small kitchen and the wait is a bit longer than usual, but the food was spectacular and the patio area, with the sea and its sound in the distance, made the wait worthwhile. We would recommend it fully, even thought the surrounding area still needs developing the overall environment is lovely and worth the stay.

    The underdevelopment around the B&B, but it is the reality of the location. As such, there is a kind of honor to it, a forced perspective that forces you to view with different lenses.

    Property response:

    Dear Antonio, Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are very happy you had a wonderful time in Casa Strela! It was a pleasure to have your family here with us! Our neighborhood Ponta de Atum is transforming rapidly and there is many new projects for the near future... I am sure you will not recognize it next time you visit! Best wishes from the entire Casa Strela team!

    Dear Antonio, Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are very happy you had a wonderful time in Casa Strela! It was a pleasure to have your family here with us! Our neighborhood Ponta de Atum is transforming rapidly and there is man… Show more

    Casa Strela B&B Tarrafal
    3 August 2024
  • Kevin

    Reviewed: 31 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024

    Verified review

    The room and food were just superb. We really loved the fact that they take care of the stray dog from the area and that they also play a social rol in the community. Well done 👏

    Property response:

    Dear Kevin, thank you for your great review! This means a lot to us: we do our best to play a social role in the local community; in fact, we also do not exploit our team, we pay fair wages, work normal hours, pay bank holidays, insurances and we follow all the rules of the Cape Verdean labor law, which is still not common in Cabo Verde. Best regards and thanks for choosing us. Casa Strela Team

    Dear Kevin, thank you for your great review! This means a lot to us: we do our best to play a social role in the local community; in fact, we also do not exploit our team, we pay fair wages, work normal hours, pay bank holidays, insurances … Show more

    Casa Strela B&B Tarrafal
    31 July 2024
  • Lara

    Reviewed: 9 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Tiago

    Reviewed: 13 April 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    The location is great, very near the centre of the village. Good parking and very safe. The food in the restaurant is delicious.

    We staid in the room under the restaurant and we could hear the noise form upstairs. The restaurant service is very slow. For breakfast it takes a long time for them to get to your table and for dinner if you don´t order first it takes hours for them to get your food.

    Property response:

    Dear Tiago, thank you very much for your review. We are happy you liked your dinner and the stay with us. We actually serve our plates faster than other Restaurants, your main course should be at least after 40min served. If that was not in your case its maybe because of many orders at the same time that day. We hope you come back another day that we can proof. Best regards Andreas and the team

    Dear Tiago, thank you very much for your review. We are happy you liked your dinner and the stay with us. We actually serve our plates faster than other Restaurants, your main course should be at least after 40min served. If that was not i… Show more

    Casa Strela B&B Tarrafal
    15 April 2024
  • Stefan

    Reviewed: 9 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024

    Verified review

    Great breakfast on the roof top terrace.

    When we booked we got an email requesting a bank transfer payment (outside of booking.com) otherwise they would cancel. This was very weird and is normal a boho for us => minus two points Rather far from the city center. 10-15 min by foot, but we felt safe even in the dark A bit unfriendly personnel. Breakfast starts only at 8:00 and reception for check out at 8:30. when we cane at 8:30, she told us that she just starts her workday and that such an early check out is unusual. Actually nothing was to do besides taking the key.

    Property response:

    Dear Stefan, thank you very much to rate us and I am happy you liked our breakfast. I could send you a long explanation about our problem in Africa with Booking.com but do it short. It was Booking.com who suggested us to handle pré payment like that. By the way we never contacted you outside of Booking.com. But you will receive normally a copy of your Booking.com chat with us on your private email account I guess that made your confusion. You should be able to check-out at 08:30, I will discuss that issue with the Receptionist of that day, I am sorry if this was not like that. We are a holiday Guesthouse and not a Business Hotel, that is why our breakfast start at 08.00h. Normally this is fine for our guests. Our team is rated as very friendly (9.2 in Booking.com) if this was not in your case I am sorry about. Best regards from Tarrafal Andreas and the team

    Dear Stefan, thank you very much to rate us and I am happy you liked our breakfast. I could send you a long explanation about our problem in Africa with Booking.com but do it short. It was Booking.com who suggested us to handle pré payment … Show more

    Casa Strela B&B Tarrafal
    9 April 2024
  • Stephen

    Reviewed: 4 April 2024 · Stayed in February 2024

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Ghita

    Reviewed: 29 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    The staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. They offered a great variety of activities to choose from, making it easy to plan our days. The on-site restaurant was truly excellent. The hot stone tuna was a particular highlight – delicious! I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing and enjoyable stay

    just a small suggestion for improvement: the mattress could be a bit firmer to provide optimal comfort. Otherwise, everything else was excellent!

    Property response:

    Dear Ghita, thank you very much for your great review and that you liked our staff and that we made your stay being great in Tarrafal. Thanks for your kind words about our restaurant. We have a bed ranking in Booking of 8.5 but we will change the mattresses soon, so next visit they will be new. Best regards Andreas and the team

    Dear Ghita, thank you very much for your great review and that you liked our staff and that we made your stay being great in Tarrafal. Thanks for your kind words about our restaurant. We have a bed ranking in Booking of 8.5 but we will chan… Show more

    Casa Strela B&B Tarrafal
    6 April 2024
  • Bruna

    Reviewed: 27 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review
  • Anita

    Reviewed: 22 January 2024 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    delicious breakfast (incl. fresh homemade traditional Catchupa) on the roof top terrace with a nice view hotel is located within walking distance from the town center, restaurants and beach hotel staff made sure we were picked up from Santiago airport and then transferred back by a very kind taxi driver called Stylee

    lots of locusts in the house

    Property response:

    Dear Anita, thank you so much for your kind words about our Guesthouse, our delicious breakfast, the location, the kind staff and our house driver Stylee. We hope to have you back one day. As we are in the middle of the nature, some days are locusts around, but not always. Best regards from Tarrafal Andreas and the team

    Dear Anita, thank you so much for your kind words about our Guesthouse, our delicious breakfast, the location, the kind staff and our house driver Stylee. We hope to have you back one day. As we are in the middle of the nature, some days ar… Show more

    Casa Strela B&B Tarrafal
    23 January 2024
  • See the property
  • Kim

    Reviewed: 17 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review

    We only stayed one night at Casa Strela B&B but it is a lovely place to stay. Our room was basic but comfortable and despite it having an external bathroom it was private, for our use only and with a key, and only a couple of paces outside our bedroom. The rooftop terrace with bar and restaurant is lovely. In the morning the view of the ocean whilst having breakfast is stunning. There is a limited menu for dinner in the evening but the quality of the food produced is excellent. The location is great, particularly as there is parking outside the property. It is only a few minutes walk to the main street and also a lovely promenade/exercise track which runs all the way along the edge of the sea to the small harbour at the top end of the town. If we ever returned to Tarrafal we would most certainly stay at Casa Strela again.

    Not a dislike, more of a recommendation, the rooftop restaurant gets busy in the evenings and is also open to non-residents. If you want to eat there book a table so as to avoid disappointment.

    Property response:

    Dear Kim, thank you so much for your lovely words about our Guesthouse. We are very happy you enjoyed your night at Casa Strela. Thank you also for your review about the small Restaurant we have. We try to send all our guests a message about reservations for the Restaurant and also at check-in we normally ask if guests want to eat at night to not be disappointed if we are fully booked. If you come back any day it would be our pleasure having you back again. Best regards from Tarrafal Andreas and the team

    Dear Kim, thank you so much for your lovely words about our Guesthouse. We are very happy you enjoyed your night at Casa Strela. Thank you also for your review about the small Restaurant we have. We try to send all our guests a message abo… Show more

    Casa Strela B&B Tarrafal
    23 January 2024
  • Sylvie

    Reviewed: 16 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review
  • Peter

    Reviewed: 16 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review

    Nothing!

    DON’T GO THERE! This is the worst experience at the booking.com travel I have ever had! I have the Genius 3 level and I have been traveling with the booking.com for more than 10 years so far! SAD STORY! I wanted to pay for all my booked (4 days) accommodation after the first night. I requested the payment at the reception and surprisingly I found out that the price is much higher versus what I had booked online. The Italian owner did not provide me with any information at the booking.com site and did not inform me about the extra charges BEFORE I booked the room on line. Once I indicated there is a significant difference in the price he immediately started to tell me vague story about the taxes. Firstly, he started to educate me about the world’s taxation system (which was a bit bizarre) then afterwards he started to be very rude toward me and my wife, his guests! I told him that hiding the price is illegal action and he replied in the very rude way “I don’t care it’s not my problem, you have to pay this price!” I was trying to indicate the issue that he had different price online, which I received by email and I had in my booking.com account confirmation versus what he wanted me to pay. I even showed to the owner my other booking confirmation in Cabo Verde which included the honest and clear price, including all of the taxes, but stubbornly he did not want to listen! I told him that he is stubborn like a donkey when he kept saying all the time the same story trying to justify in a very rude way the reasons why the price, he want me to pay, is higher versus what I got at the booking.com confirmation. I called his action dishonest and I stated, that clearly he lied in the offer! I was very disappointed by his actions and words, however he surprised me even more once he called the police! This is the extreme situation when: 1. You want to pay for your vacation stay 2. You find out that the price is higher versus confirmed and 3.

    Property response:

    Dear Peter, We are sorry about your experience. But in the standard message, which you receive after you have booked your room, there is it written clearly, that the City Tax (2.5 Euro) has to be paid extra to room price. We had thousands of guests understanding this and paid without any problem. This was not in your case. So we tried to explain you why we handle this like that, but you did not want to understand (If the Tax would be included in the room rate, Booking.com will charging commission on the City Tax and that is why we exclude it from our price). Then you started raising your voice and used a undeveloped language and affronted our Receptionist. Also you thought as a Diplomat you don not have to pay the City Tax, which is totally wrong. As you did not follow our house rules, were aggressive and did not want to pay your bill, we called the Police (first time in 18 year as hotel manager) and we ask you, together with the police, to leave the house. Still you did not pay the City Tax which is a law in Cabo Verde. But we were just happy, that you left our house. Me, as the owner, will pay the 2.5 Euro per night for you at the local Financial Department - no problem Peter. And Peter, we are talking about 5 Euros per night of City Tax and not about a huge increase of the price. I do really apologize for this situation but you did not act correct with us. Best regards from Tarrafal Andreas Schäfer, owner

    Dear Peter, We are sorry about your experience. But in the standard message, which you receive after you have booked your room, there is it written clearly, that the City Tax (2.5 Euro) has to be paid extra to room price. We had thousands… Show more

    Casa Strela B&B Tarrafal
    29 January 2024
  • See the property
  • Dhori

    Reviewed: 15 January 2024 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review

    Breakfast was really good. For the the best i had in Cabo Verde. Most things are fresh and the terrace facing the sea is wonderful. Tours are not always avaialable and fairly pricy (I was in Decemeber)

    as each hotel in CV there are always things whicn need maintenance, so the bath tube in this case.

    Property response:

    Dear Dhori, thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy you liked your stay, our breakfast, the house and the Tours. In June we will change the bathtube of that room and will do a shower. Have a nice day Andreas and the team

    Dear Dhori, thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy you liked your stay, our breakfast, the house and the Tours. In June we will change the bathtube of that room and will do a shower. Have a nice day Andreas and the te… Show more

    Casa Strela B&B Tarrafal
    15 January 2024
  • Sherab

    Reviewed: 2 January 2024 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review
  • Joe

    Reviewed: 30 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review

    We didn't sleep one hour. AC is broken. Room is very hot. Full of moscitos. Very noisy. Chairs and tables are being moved upstairs from the restaurant until past 11 PM

    Property response:

    Good afternoon Jo. I am sorry you did not like the room. We installed the AC just 3 months ago and it already broke down, our technical support is fixing it these days As it is the coolest room of all and in December temperature getting cold at night, we did not expect you miss the AC. In December, guests usually ask for extra blankets. The room has mosquito nets on the windows and also there is a mosquito net over the bed. If only you had reported us about mosquitoes, then we could have removed them from your room and you shouldnt suffer at night as you wrote. Normally the restaurant closes at 10:30 p.m. and after that, all you can hear is the sound of the waves of the nearby ocean. Our restaurant is very busy over the holidays, which is why the days have been a little longer. I hope you were able to enjoy the rest of our cozy home. Best regards Andreas and the whole team

    Good afternoon Jo. I am sorry you did not like the room. We installed the AC just 3 months ago and it already broke down, our technical support is fixing it these days As it is the coolest room of all and in December temperature getting… Show more

    Casa Strela B&B Tarrafal
    29 January 2024
  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Haus Kanisblick Appartements

Schnepfau, Austria

Sheraton Parsippany Hotel

Parsippany, United States

Kamala's Guesthouse

Chiang Mai, Thailand

B&B 't Poorthuys

Middelburg, Netherlands

Apartment Sophio

Tbilisi City, Georgia

Phung Hoang Motel

Vung Tau, Vietnam

Auberge Marcel Gagnon

Sainte-Flavie, Canada

Cà del Re 29

Rho, Italy

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...