8.2

Reviews of In the Wind Hostel and Guesthouse 3 stars

100 Meters West of Escuela De La Roosevelt, 10101 San José, Costa Rica

  • Cadin

    Reviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Heindel

    Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Quiet, clean, convenient location, good pancake.

    I had no complaints.

  • Alisson

    Reviewed: 24 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Cadin

    Reviewed: 24 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Elina

    Reviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The host was awesome! Always warm pancake done individually for you as soon as you wake up. Good facilities with reasonable price. Highly recommended!

  • Edward

    Reviewed: 8 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Quite a homely and quirky little guesthouse in a very quiet spot. Bed was comfy and the provided breakfast of pancakes was super tasty. There is a kitchen with utensils.

    A bit far from the centre but in a nice area. 5 percent surcharge on card payments. Curtains on the bedroom windows are quite thin and translucent.

  • See the property
  • Lillian

    Reviewed: 8 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Really great neighborhood, convenient location. Whole place is very clean, beds are comfortable and cozy, Nice HOT showers. Simple kitchen but well equipped, plus a nice big pancake breakfast included. Owner is extremely friendly and accommodating. Cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Eudy

    Reviewed: 5 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Martin

    Reviewed: 2 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    One of the nicer hostels in San Jose

  • See the property
  • 7.0 Good
    Josue

    Reviewed: 26 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 25 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The hostel is in a safe area right next to the uni, it has a kitchen and the bathroom and sheets were clean, all in all very good for the price

    Couple small things - the walls to neighbouring rooms are super thin and the flush of the upstairs toilet insanely loud, while it was overall clean our room had a couple spider webs that could easily be cleaned

  • Mario

    Reviewed: 25 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Delicious pancakes and good coffee as breakfast included

    No parking

  • See the property
  • Giselle

    Reviewed: 14 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Wendi

    Reviewed: 13 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Close to a mall. Kitchen to cook.

    It gets really hot in the dorm rooms and there was a fly that buzzes around me there. When I went on the top bunk, the steel part that holds the curtain to cover the bed falls.

  • Thomas

    Reviewed: 3 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Excellent value for money. The centre is walkable or a short bus journey away and the pancakes for breakfast was tasty and filling.

  • See the property
  • Alona

    Reviewed: 27 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
    Property response:

    Holà, I am a foreigner in Costa Rica working in the tourism industry. It's a bit difficult to be what you say. We've never had a problem with any community except the one from USA. We know there are problems with white people, but this isn't USA. When a customer is rude and disrespectful, we try to keep our smile. Pura vida,

    Holà, I am a foreigner in Costa Rica working in the tourism industry. It's a bit difficult to be what you say. We've never had a problem with any community except the one from USA. We know there are problems with white people, but t… Show more

    In the Wind Hostel and Guesthouse
    5 May 2025
  • Jessica

    Reviewed: 21 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Only stayed for one night but it was lovely and had everything we needed. Lots of space, a well equipped shared kitchen, great breakfast pancakes and we slept well

    The location is not great, quite far but it was fine for what we needed

  • Wendi

    Reviewed: 21 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Nice customers to meet other people. Laundry services.

    The room gets really hot in the day and there was a fly.

    Property response:

    There's a fan in the dorm. If you needed a second one, you had to ask us. As for the fly... Don't forget that a dorm is shared with other people who complained about you shouting and talking loudly during the night. Pura vida,

    In the Wind Hostel and Guesthouse
    22 April 2025
  • See the property
  • Lucilene

    Reviewed: 25 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    It was a great cost benefit. The house is old but very clean and has excellent price for the location, confort and breakfast included. We had a good, quiet, cozy stay.

    It's not flexible to any personal needs like a later check-in, or earlier breakfast if you are getting late or having an early tour, for example. The locker of the bathroom was broken.

  • Marcelo

    Reviewed: 25 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Nice hostel, well located in a quiet neighborhood near University of Costa Rica. Plenty of shops, restaurants and sodas in the surroundings. Comfortable room, clean and well furnished. Great breakfast: Amazing pancake with coffee. Highly recommended place to stay if you want to avoid San Jose downtown with its particularities.

    .

  • Glen

    Reviewed: 18 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    great place, pancakes at breakfast were a bonus.

    i had to leave.

  • See the property
  • Grant

    Reviewed: 17 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Great breakfast, friendly staff.

    wifi cuts out periodically.

    Property response:

    We asked the company to come and check. Sure enough, there was an external cable that was slightly broken. They replaced it. Pura vida,

    In the Wind Hostel and Guesthouse
    19 March 2025
  • James

    Reviewed: 16 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    It was cheap and the location wasn’t awful.

    The beds all had some weird sand like stuff all over them, even under the sheets. The hostel owner Mark was quite unfriendly and blunt, I definitely didn’t feel welcomed. There really wasn’t a social vibe here at all and had a lot of people that came there to sleep late at night and then leave at the crack of dawn. It’s a bit far away from town but okay if you’re taking Ubers or the bus. The neighbourhood felt a bit sketchy but that’s just my personal opinion. Overall I’d say it’s fine for a quick overnight stay if passing through San Jose but even then it’s far from the airport so not even that convenient. I personally wouldn’t come back.

    Property response:

    Holà, Someone probably left their dirty suitcase on your mattress, sorry. If you had told us, we would have changed the sheets. As for the atmosphere, we don't understand since you stayed in the dorm. We are located in the University of Costa Rica area with several bars and restaurants. There was even a cultural festival at the park. If you need to go to the airport, you have to book near the airport...

    Holà, Someone probably left their dirty suitcase on your mattress, sorry. If you had told us, we would have changed the sheets. As for the atmosphere, we don't understand since you stayed in the dorm. We are located in the University of… Show more

    In the Wind Hostel and Guesthouse
    16 March 2025
  • Chen

    Reviewed: 15 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Boss is really friendly, good location, everything is wonderful, family , friends friendly accommodating.

    Nope

  • See the property
  • Roman

    Reviewed: 9 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Cleanness and good breakfast

    Unfriendly staff and lot of stupid rules

    Property response:

    Holà, I understand that it's stupid for you to remind you that the B&B closes at 10PM, that we don't smoke inside, that breakfast is between 8AM and 10AM, that the kitchen closes at 9h30PM and that check-out is at 11AM. Sorry,

    In the Wind Hostel and Guesthouse
    14 March 2025
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Hampton Inn Middletown

Middletown, United States

Hotel Enrique Calvillo

El Bosque, Spain

Kobæk Strand Holiday House

Boeslunde, Denmark

Captain Nick Aparthotel

Mikros Gialos, Greece

Deep Sea Resort Batticaloa

Batticaloa, Sri Lanka

Coffs Shearwater Motel

Coffs Harbour, Australia

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...