Reviews of Cabinas Jimenez
50 meters to the right from the town entrance, 60702 Puerto Jiménez, Costa Rica

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe room(s) were spacious and comfortable. The view was stellar. The people at the check in desk were very kind and helpful. Parking was close and easy to get to. We saw lots of macaws and other birds and wildlife. We felt safe.
The AC unit if one of the bedrooms didn't work (at least there was a fan). The handle on the bathroom sink faucet was totally broken. The seats of the chairs around the kitchen table were ripping.
Thank you for your review. We appreciate it .. very much so.! The A.C. was working... I checked. You had it on the wrong settings.... Next time, if there is a problem... just let us know... We replaced the entire faucet to the bathroom, and I just bought new chairs for the kitchen table . John
Thank you for your review. We appreciate it .. very much so.! The A.C. was working... I checked. You had it on the wrong settings.... Next time, if there is a problem... just let us know... We replaced the entire faucet to the ba… Show more
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe staff were excellent - friendly and very helpful.
Thank you for your "The staff were excellent..." review. It is greatly appriciated by me, The owner of Cabinas Jimenez . I concider myself very fortunate to have such a Wonderful staff.. ! John
Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation, room
WiFi
Thank you for your kind review. The Hotel just installed Starlink WiFi, which is great and fast. We have been installing more routers and we need some more WiFi extenters. John
Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat location in Puerto Jimenez with very friendly and helpful staff; they even gave us a free upgrade on our room. Beach views from the back patio near the pool were lovely in the evening and early morning. Staff was very accommodating of our travel plans and helped secure our luggage and car while we were on an overnight tour in Corcovado National Park. This location is very walkable to other places in town or the beach front.
The power and WiFi can be a little iffy. When we first arrived a heavy storm passed through the area that resulted in a temporary power outage in several places, not just the hotel. There is WiFi but it cuts in and out, so I would not rely on it for extended work or personal use. Our room has an electric fan but no AC which made our stay a little toasty.
Thank you for your kind review. Yes, the Wifi can ne iffy. But ..now we know to place another WiFi extender near your room, because of the weak WiFi signal. We just changed over to Starlink WiFi which is so much more relieable that the other service. All of our rooms have A.C. ! you should have let us know..! We would have seen what the problem was.... Maybe.. you just didn't turn it on..? I am going to check if it is working ... John
Thank you for your kind review. Yes, the Wifi can ne iffy. But ..now we know to place another WiFi extender near your room, because of the weak WiFi signal. We just changed over to Starlink WiFi which is so much more relieable that th… Show more
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewIt’s a cute and clean hotel with good AC and internet. They have kayaks and bicycles that you can use for free anytime you want. It has a small pool and a relaxing atmosphere. The rooms have coffee makers with complimentary coffee and a mini fridge. It’s located right on the water with common areas overlooking the sea. Also, the rooms we got had a very nice outdoor area with cute wooden furniture, which allowed us to have a nice private space outdoors. We didn’t utilize their tour services, but they offer a lot of good adventures too.
We booked this hotel partly because of it’s proximity to the local pier and the ability to easily walk to the launch and to activities from the pier and beachside restaurants; however, the connecting bridge is damaged and unusable, so we had to either pay for taxis or walk long distances to be able to get to these areas. No basic toiletries provided, like shampoo, conditioner, body wash, etc. We didn’t pack these items because we thought they would have them. None of these things are deal breakers, but they would have made our stay a bit easier and more enjoyable.
Thank you for your "wonderful hotel with some lovely perks " review. It is greatly appreciated by us. Yes, the bridge is damaged and unusable ... Out of our control. We are just hoping that the governemnt will replace it... because it is a problem. But.. it has been many months and with no signs of it getting replacesd...any time soon. The hotel is in the process of suppling shampoo, conditioner , etc .... Another nice Perk to have. John
Thank you for your "wonderful hotel with some lovely perks " review. It is greatly appreciated by us. Yes, the bridge is damaged and unusable ... Out of our control. We are just hoping that the governemnt will replace it.… Show more
Reviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLocation per se excellent. Right at the waterfront and in short walking distance to cafes, shops and restaurants of the village. Reception super kind and very helpful!
The rooms wouldn't need much to appear a bit more modern. But curtains, bed linens, furniture leave a solid 60s impression. We didn't mind the cool shower, but you really have to find out how to handle the little switch for warm water. Kitchenware incomplete (spoons) and also dated (we skipped the use of the coffee machine). If heading out to nature by boat (e.g. Corcovado) - need to be aware that the bridge connecting to the pier is broken, changing a 5 minute walk into a 30 minute walk to get there. Us in particular and in addition a bit unlucky with neighbors underneath chain-smoking gifting us the smell.
Thank you for your review. We are constanly trying to update the rooms with new refrigerators, new linen, new piollows, and the maintenance. I am going to check on the missing spoons .... Yes, the bridge is out... causing a longer walk to the pier. It is out of our control... and we have been asking if there is any hope... in sight. And yes, I can Not stand chain smoking . If you would had said something... I would have asked the Guests, to smoke out in the street. John
Thank you for your review. We are constanly trying to update the rooms with new refrigerators, new linen, new piollows, and the maintenance. I am going to check on the missing spoons .... Yes, the bridge is out... causing a longer … Show more
Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe room was comfortable, with an outside seating area. We used the kayaks to explore the mangroves and the bikes to get around town and beyond, all free of charge. The hotel is right on the beach and has a pool. The staff were friendly and helpful. Puerto Jiminez is a small town, not busy with international tourists. It had everything we needed; shops, supermarkets, restaurants. We started our tour to Corcovado from there.
Breakfast is not included but there are plenty of options in Puerto Jiminez to buy your own and a fridge in the room to keep it in.
Thank you for yor " Comfortable place to stay in a great location... " review. It is greatly appreciated by us. We hope to see you again, back in the Osa Peninsula ! John
Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewPerfect location for taking trips to the national park. We had appartment # 15 with a little balkony over the ozean.
Thank you for your great review. It is greatly appreciated by us ! John
Reviewed: 30 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified review1- Very friendly and selfless reception/management staff - John and Gabi. Helped us make the most of our short stay with advice about places to visit, help with booking cost-effective tours&transport, and ensuring we got a room we were happy with. 2- Great to have free access to the (warm) pool, kayaks and bicycles. 3- Quick access to the beach and town (seconds away). 4- The town is friendly and has many services and good restaurants.
1- The bed slats could be a little quieter - I’m sure it’s an easy fix. 2- We couldn’t figure out how to make the shower water warmer. It wasn’t cold, just not very warm. Perhaps our fault!
Thank you for your "We Enjoyed our Stay ! " review. We repaired the bed slays. Thank you for letting us know. John
Reviewed: 29 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewOutdoor kitchen and common space with bbq were on the waterfront. Beautiful
Thank you for your " Stay longer than one day.... " review. It is greatly appreciated by us ! John
Reviewed: 26 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewroom, location, view
nothing
Thank you for your " Our Room , overlooking the harbor was worth the .... " review. It is greatly appreciated by me . John owner
Reviewed: 22 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe hosts were so extremely attentive and helpful. We could leave our luggage at the hotel while we went to Corcovado and were able to take a shower after. Highly recommend!!
Reviewed: 6 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 June 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewGreat location, with patio and other outdoor seating plus bikes, pool and kayaks. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Can't think of anything that could have been better for our purposes other than perhaps better pillows.
Thanl you for your kind review. It is greatly appreciated by us. I [ the hotel ] are into quality pillow and sheets... and I understand. I will have to find out which room you were in... and replace the pillows . Thank you for letting us know. John owner of Cabinas Jimenez
Thanl you for your kind review. It is greatly appreciated by us. I [ the hotel ] are into quality pillow and sheets... and I understand. I will have to find out which room you were in... and replace the pillows . Thank you for let… Show more
Reviewed: 4 June 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 31 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewLocation. Staff.
Thank you for your "Excellent place to sty. Great Location .." Review !
Reviewed: 24 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewVery friendly staff. Helped to arrange unforgettable tours. This place made Puerto Jimenez amazing
Thank you for your "very friendly Staff " review. ! We hope to see you again, back in the Osa Peninsula ! John
Reviewed: 15 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe hotel itself is in a good location right on the water. It's quiet, has a great view of the bay, and the rooms are nice and clean. Anne at the front desk was extremely helpful in suggesting things to do, restaurants, etc. She was also able to arrange a taxi to pick us up to take us to the pier to catch our boat to Corcovado the following morning at 5am, because unfortunately the bridge to walk to the pier is no longer there. We were able to keep our car in the parking lot, and store our bags while we went to Corcovado for two days, which was fantastic.
Thank you for your "Great spot to stay in Puerto Jimenez " review. It is greatly apppreciated by me. Yes, Anne is just wonderful ! I am very fortunate to have Anne... work at Cabinas Jimenez. John owner
Reviewed: 8 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewNext to the ocean, small swimming pool, nice view for drinking beer, quiet place
Thank you for taking your time out... in writting your kind review. !
Reviewed: 29 April 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewIt is just near the beach. they allowed us to leave our luggage and car when we visited Corcovado.
the mosquito nets are not properly fit to window in the room. the room was too noise. The room is on top of other building by steel construction. when someone moves in the other room, you can hear even the walk.
Thank you for your review. Yes, we store [ free ] luggage and cars while guests are visiting Corcovado National Park. We fixed the screen to fit property in the window.