Reviews of BOHO Tamarindo 4 stars
Calle Cardinal calle langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewFrom the moment we arrived at Boho Hotel in Tamarindo, we weren’t treated like guests — we were treated like family. The staff went above and beyond in every single way, and special thanks go to Edward and Juan for making our stay unforgettable. Edward personally went out of his way (literally using his own money!) to surprise my boyfriend with champagne for mimosas on his birthday. Juan helped me plan his travel itinerary and choose tours that blew us away — and that’s saying a lot, because I lived in Costa Rica for 3 months and still discovered things I’d never experienced before! The highlight was Edward’s personalized local tours, always giving us the best tips to make the most of our evenings. The whole team even woke up — not once, but twice — at 2 AM to send us off with a delicious, healthy breakfast and freshly brewed coffee, free of charge. The hotel itself is a gem: • Walking distance to Tamarindo and Langosta Beach • The only free tuk-tuk in the area (perfect for local exploring!) • Private full gym & yoga area • Private beach access • Pool, towels, surfboards, boogie boards — they’ve thought of EVERYTHING! Even with some construction nearby, the rooms are so well insulated that my boyfriend (a very light sleeper) slept like a baby. They even provide blackout curtains and earplugs just in case. Tip: If you want to see wild monkeys nearby, ask Edward for his magical private tuk-tuk tour — you won’t regret it! We travel a lot, all over the world (including many places in Costa Rica), and nowhere have we experienced this kind of genuine, heartfelt hospitality. Thank you, Edward, Juan, and the entire Boho team. You’ve set the bar for service, and we can’t wait to come back!
Nothing.
Thank you so much for leaving such a thoughtful review. We care about each guest and our hearts are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at BOHO! We hope to see you again in the future. Pura Vida!
Reviewed: 4 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation, modern, spacious, staff, beach club access
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at BOHO! We were also excited that you stayed with us longer than expected. Pura Vida!
Reviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewWe had a wonderful prepared to order breakfast each morning.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at BOHO. Our goal is always a 10/10 so we hope to do better for you next time. Pura Vida!
Reviewed: 2 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewBoho Tamarindo is not just a boutique hotel—it's a feeling. From the moment we arrived, owners Laura and Clay, along with their amazing staff, made us feel like family. Their warmth, attention to detail, and genuine hospitality elevated our entire stay. If there was anything they could do to make us more comfortable, they didn’t just do it—they anticipated it. The location is ideal—just steps (barely 100 yards) from the beach and an easy walk to everything in town. Despite being so central, the vibe at Boho remains serene, relaxed, and intimate. Each morning, we were treated to thoughtfully crafted breakfast options that were as delicious as they were beautifully presented—an elegant start to each day. There have been some comments online about nearby construction noise. Speaking as someone from New York City, the noise was minimal and barely noticeable. That said, Laura and Clay go above and beyond to address any concerns—offering white noise machines, earplugs, and total transparency. Their proactive approach is just one more example of how much they care. One moment that perfectly summed up the spirit of Boho: upon our arrival, we saw Laura hand-scrubbing the outdoor flower pots. That level of pride and leadership is rare in any industry, but to find it here—at a small boutique hotel in Costa Rica—is extraordinary. Their example clearly inspires the entire team, who treat every guest interaction with sincerity and joy. The property also felt incredibly secure, with overnight security, cameras throughout, and personal safes in each room. More importantly, we felt relaxed, welcomed, and valued. That kind of comfort is something you can’t manufacture; it’s cultivated through culture and care. Boho is the only place I’d stay in Tamarindo. I can’t wait to return—again and again—not just to enjoy the space, but to reconnect with Laura and Clay.
This place is amazing nothing to explicitly say as dislikes more opportunities yet realized: the outside covered patio could become a simple movie projection viewing center for scheduled movie nights. Could place a wifi extender right there and have a bluetooth or wifi projector that the tenant could connect to and play what they want the next day the cloth screen could be simply removed. Electric is already there. Also in the lobby area, there could be a swap a book bookcase for those who stay, once they finish a book they go swap a book so the next people can enjoy.
Thank you so much for hanging out with our family here at BOHO!! We were so honored to have you as guests, and we all enjoyed getting to know you guys. At BOHO, we care about everyone here and you both were so kind to the entire group. Hopefully you will keep in touch and come visit us again soon. We love your recommendations!! We will get a projector for the property. You even gave us the idea that customers could check out a projector to project a movie in the room. I also love the idea about the book case and will implement this sooner than later. Thanks so much for these ideas! Again we hope to see you soon! Pura Vida!
Thank you so much for hanging out with our family here at BOHO!! We were so honored to have you as guests, and we all enjoyed getting to know you guys. At BOHO, we care about everyone here and you both were so kind to the entire group. H… Show more
Reviewed: 24 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 8 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewWe loved gray!
This even a question?
Thanks so much for taking time to leave your review! We care about each client and their experience at BOHO! We're happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. Thank you!!
Reviewed: 18 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewGreat location. Easy walk to the grocery, the food truck park and the rest of town for restaurants/bars. Streets we're lighted and felt safe. Friendly staff and quick service for breakfast (which was delicious). Loved the access to the beach club. The construction didn't bother us as we weren't hanging at the hotel during the day.
The pool could've been maintained better with leaf/bug removal. We didn't use it.
Thanks so much for taking time to leave a review. Your input is very valuable to us. We're glad to hear about the things you liked. I will talk to our staff about the pool. It is supposed to be skimmed with a net at the minimum of 4 times a day and as needed. Your input is very helpful. We hope to se you again at BOHO!
Thanks so much for taking time to leave a review. Your input is very valuable to us. We're glad to hear about the things you liked. I will talk to our staff about the pool. It is supposed to be skimmed with a net at the minimum of 4… Show more
Reviewed: 9 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewVery friendly staff.
Cleaning service needs to improve, our room was not cleaned during the 3 nights we stayed.
Ana, thank you so much for leaving this feedback and for your review. Our guests and their feedback is very important to us. I am shocked to hear that your room wasn't cleaned while you were there. The rooms are supposed to be cleaned and inspected by our staff daily unless the guest puts up the do not disturb sign. I have spoken to the assistant manager on site and our cleaning staff. Feedback like this from you is so important and we would not know if you didn't tell us, so thank you. I will stay on top of the staff to ensure rooms are cleaned daily as they should be. This was unacceptable and I am sorry. Once again, thanks so much for your feedback.
Ana, thank you so much for leaving this feedback and for your review. Our guests and their feedback is very important to us. I am shocked to hear that your room wasn't cleaned while you were there. The rooms are supposed to be cleane… Show more
Reviewed: 27 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe room is beautiful and the pool area is very comfortable. I would come back.
The noise around due to construction is unfortunate, but I understand there is nothing they can do. The access to the Beach club is nice but as a solo traveler I felt their service was the worst. There was a day that I went there in the morning, I was the only one there and it took one hour for someone to come check on me and bring the menu, they never returned to check if I would like to order something. On the hotel, my only request is that they need to add a blackout in the window in the closet area. Both days I woke up 6am because the room was too bright.
Victoria, thank you so much for your feedback. Feedback like this is so important to us!! You are not the only one to mention the light coming in the closets. I am the owner of the hotel and I recently stayed in a room after reading your review and the light bothered me as well. With your feedback and the feedback from another guest then my experience, I have ordered blackout shades for each room. So thank you! Also, we can't control what happens at Langosta beach club, but we will provide feedback to them as a paying client. In Costa Rica, it is customary for a server to not offer a check. It has to be requested. They don't want to rush guests. If you asked for the check and didn't receive, that is a different story and shouldn't have happened. I will address this either way. Again, thanks for staying at BOHO Tamarindo and thanks for your time in giving use feedback. Also, the construction is not our construction and we can't wait for it to be over. It has been a nightmare to us and our business! Thanks for understanding about the construction. Thank you!
Victoria, thank you so much for your feedback. Feedback like this is so important to us!! You are not the only one to mention the light coming in the closets. I am the owner of the hotel and I recently stayed in a room after reading your… Show more
Reviewed: 20 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewLovely staff, delicious breakfast and great facilities. Access to a local beach club also a big plus
Hello and thank you for your kind response! We will make sure to share your feedback with the staff and appreciate you taking time to leave a review of Boho!
Reviewed: 7 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewThe staff was amazing, the rooms were VERY clean and comfortable, and the property felt very safe.
The only thing that I did not like had nothing to do with the property. Walking at night was a little sketchy, very dark into town. It's a very quick walk, but very dark and as a solo female traveler I just made sure I took a UBER or was on property before dark.
Hi Sara - Tamarindo is very safe but one is always smart to take the safest route when traveling alone! Thank you for your kind remarks about Boho and your stay. We hope that you come back and see us again!
Reviewed: 9 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewLocation, Cleanliness, Staff
N/A
Thank you for your feedback!
Reviewed: 8 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewIt was quiet and appeared clean at first glance.
Ants crawling up walls and across ceiling dropping into bed. The was a crab on the floor that I stepped on. There were a bunch of smooshed ants on the floor which tells me house keeping really isn't doing much. The hotel is not on the beach. It sits up a muddy road in the middle of a construction site. The owner is nonexistent. The door to the hotel was locked at 3:30 PM on a Saturday with no staff around. I had to bang on the door for 10 mins before the owners boyfriend decided to get up and let me in.
Michael, I will respond in the same way in which I did on your other negative review. Hello, I am Laura, the owner of Boho. I do not live at the hotel, and I don't know many owners that do live on property. I live in the US with my family and we very much care about each person that stays at our property. Our staff also cares about each person and their experience. You looked at our property before you booked it so you knew about the location of the property and its proximity to the beach. We have a map on our website and do not claim to be on the beach. It is June in Costa Rica which means rain. There are halloween crabs are everywhere in the Tamarindo area during rainy season. This June, we've had record rain and as much as we care for, clean and treat the property, there are some things that come out after flooding rains. While we wish we could make everyone happy, there are some people we know that we can't make happy no matter how hard we try. We let you make a last minute booking because you are acquaintances with one of our good friends. You did not respond to our messages, and you were rude to another guest at our small boutique hotel. We will continue to work hard to make our guests happy and try to control every environment to make everything the best we can. At the same time, life is short and we want clients that also care and are kind. If future guests read this, please know that we will go out of our way to do everything we can to make your stay at Boho the best!
Michael, I will respond in the same way in which I did on your other negative review. Hello, I am Laura, the owner of Boho. I do not live at the hotel, and I don't know many owners that do live on property. I live in the US with my f… Show more
Reviewed: 30 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewIt’s a really nice vibe, perfect location and the rooms are immaculate. It’s almost like a mix between a really good AirBnB and a hotel - in the best way. You feel hosted but there aren’t always staff around either. Kristen is brilliant and super helpful and Schneider is awesome! His breakfasts are delicious and fresh and he’s great to chat to.
It didn’t bother us but it didn’t seem to be adult only, in case others expected it to be, based on the listing.
Philip, we're sorry we never responded to your review. We used to be an adult only property but we now allow kids in the hotel area. Typically children are 12 and up, but we sometimes have families in the house that hang out in the breakfast area. We have gone through as much as we can to say we allow children, but sometimes adult only still shows up. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to see you again at BOHO Tamarindo.
Philip, we're sorry we never responded to your review. We used to be an adult only property but we now allow kids in the hotel area. Typically children are 12 and up, but we sometimes have families in the house that hang out in the br… Show more
Reviewed: 20 May 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewEasy walk to the center of Tamarindo, with a couple restaurant and the food truck pavilion right nearby. Added bonus for a small grocery and liquor store a block away.
Evan, thank you so much for your review and feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay! Pura Vida, Tha BOHO Team
Reviewed: 5 April 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewLocation is great. 1 block away from beach and 2 blocks away from city center. You can walk everywhere. The hotel was very clean. Pool is nice. Loved that they have beach chairs and umbrellas that you can borrow
Pool towels were not even towels. They were some thin cloths, not very good for drying. Breakfast flavour was not very good. They didn't have black out curtains , at least in my room, so it gets very bright very early. Our room was located in the basement level, and all the A/C units were located there, so it was very loud, even to sleep. Only one pillow per person. Overall the rest was not very good in this hotel. Toilette was not working, and we realized at night , we had to wait with no toilet until next morning for maintenance to fix it.
Hello and thank you for taking time to give feedback on your stay at Boho. We appreciate your insights. We are actively working on an update on the curtains in each guest room. The new system will feature both blackout and sheer panels for enhanced comfort and privacy. The pool towels at Boho are Turkish cotton and chosen to dry swiftly and repel sand. This is particularly important in Costa Rica's humid climate. Additional pillows are always available and we will look into the possibility of placing extras in each room to ensure a restful stay for our guests. Your feedback aids us in refining our service and we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to welcoming you back for an improved experience in the future. All the best, Your friends at Boho
Hello and thank you for taking time to give feedback on your stay at Boho. We appreciate your insights. We are actively working on an update on the curtains in each guest room. The new system will feature both blackout and sheer panels fo… Show more
Reviewed: 23 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 20 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewThe breakfast was great everyday and Schneider was the friendly chef. Everybody was very friendly and helpful.
Water problems and no ice.
Ray, I'm sorry we never replied to your review. Somehow it was overlooked to reply but we did see it. We have ice now! Thanks to your review, we got an ice machine. Also, in March the entire area can have run out of water. We have since added a new large water tank to our property to make sure our guests have water. Again, thanks for your feedback. We appreciate what you have to say. We hope to see you at BOHO Tamarindo again soon.
Ray, I'm sorry we never replied to your review. Somehow it was overlooked to reply but we did see it. We have ice now! Thanks to your review, we got an ice machine. Also, in March the entire area can have run out of water. We have … Show more
Reviewed: 1 March 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified reviewGreat location! The staff was friendly and helpful.breakfast and coffee was good, I would definitely stay again.
No ice on the property was the only small "disliked"
Hello Michael and thank you for the great review - you have made our day with your kind comments. Boho does not have an on site commercial ice maker but we will make more ice available in our freezer . Thank you for your feedback . We always appreciate feedback and ways to improve the Boho experience. Please come and see us again in Costa Rica !
Hello Michael and thank you for the great review - you have made our day with your kind comments. Boho does not have an on site commercial ice maker but we will make more ice available in our freezer . Thank you for your feedback . We alway… Show more
Reviewed: 28 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 20 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 19 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified reviewGreat location, stylish decor - name is apropos - boho chic. However, there wasn’t really any service. There is new ownership and it sounds like it has changed quite a bit. The new owner did not welcome us. Nobody greeted us upon arrival nor gave us any information. Breakfast is definitely lacking - eggs with some sliced tomato - and it never changed. No meat, no toast, no avocado, etc. Felt super cheap. For $300 a night (CAD) this is not good value. Rooms are tiny. Pool was nice but could have been maintained better. Nothing to purchase onsite (I.e no food or drink). This isn’t a ‘boutique hotel’, it’s closer to an AirBNB that you have to share with other guests.
See above.
At Boho we pride ourselves on a unique, relaxing, non intrusive and intimate environment for our guests Our staff is on site everyday until between 5 and 6 pm and we offer self check in after hours . Breakfast is included and rotates between 3 and 4 options each day: eggs prepared to your liking, huevos rancheros, gallo pinto and banana bread. Fruit, juice, coffee and tea are offered as well. Our staff is available during the day, especially at breakfast, when we have the most time to interact with our guests before starting their day. We also offer an abundance of information related to booking tours in advance, airport transfers, etc in the reservation confirmation as well as tour books located in our lobby . Our staff loves to make suggestions ! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and please know that we appreciate your feedback . Hope to welcome you again in the future .
At Boho we pride ourselves on a unique, relaxing, non intrusive and intimate environment for our guests Our staff is on site everyday until between 5 and 6 pm and we offer self check in after hours . Breakfast is included and rotates betw… Show more
Reviewed: 11 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified review