9.3

Reviews of BOHO Tamarindo 4 stars

Calle Cardinal calle langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica

  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    From the moment we arrived at Boho Hotel in Tamarindo, we weren’t treated like guests — we were treated like family. The staff went above and beyond in every single way, and special thanks go to Edward and Juan for making our stay unforgettable. Edward personally went out of his way (literally using his own money!) to surprise my boyfriend with champagne for mimosas on his birthday. Juan helped me plan his travel itinerary and choose tours that blew us away — and that’s saying a lot, because I lived in Costa Rica for 3 months and still discovered things I’d never experienced before! The highlight was Edward’s personalized local tours, always giving us the best tips to make the most of our evenings. The whole team even woke up — not once, but twice — at 2 AM to send us off with a delicious, healthy breakfast and freshly brewed coffee, free of charge. The hotel itself is a gem: • Walking distance to Tamarindo and Langosta Beach • The only free tuk-tuk in the area (perfect for local exploring!) • Private full gym & yoga area • Private beach access • Pool, towels, surfboards, boogie boards — they’ve thought of EVERYTHING! Even with some construction nearby, the rooms are so well insulated that my boyfriend (a very light sleeper) slept like a baby. They even provide blackout curtains and earplugs just in case. Tip: If you want to see wild monkeys nearby, ask Edward for his magical private tuk-tuk tour — you won’t regret it! We travel a lot, all over the world (including many places in Costa Rica), and nowhere have we experienced this kind of genuine, heartfelt hospitality. Thank you, Edward, Juan, and the entire Boho team. You’ve set the bar for service, and we can’t wait to come back!

    Nothing.

    Property response:

    Thank you so much for leaving such a thoughtful review. We care about each guest and our hearts are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at BOHO! We hope to see you again in the future. Pura Vida!

    BOHO Tamarindo
    21 August 2025
  • Fredy

    Reviewed: 4 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Location, modern, spacious, staff, beach club access

    Property response:

    We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at BOHO! We were also excited that you stayed with us longer than expected. Pura Vida!

    BOHO Tamarindo
    21 August 2025
  • Karin

    Reviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    We had a wonderful prepared to order breakfast each morning.

    Property response:

    We're glad you enjoyed your stay at BOHO. Our goal is always a 10/10 so we hope to do better for you next time. Pura Vida!

    BOHO Tamarindo
    31 July 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Doherty

    Reviewed: 2 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Boho Tamarindo is not just a boutique hotel—it's a feeling. From the moment we arrived, owners Laura and Clay, along with their amazing staff, made us feel like family. Their warmth, attention to detail, and genuine hospitality elevated our entire stay. If there was anything they could do to make us more comfortable, they didn’t just do it—they anticipated it. The location is ideal—just steps (barely 100 yards) from the beach and an easy walk to everything in town. Despite being so central, the vibe at Boho remains serene, relaxed, and intimate. Each morning, we were treated to thoughtfully crafted breakfast options that were as delicious as they were beautifully presented—an elegant start to each day. There have been some comments online about nearby construction noise. Speaking as someone from New York City, the noise was minimal and barely noticeable. That said, Laura and Clay go above and beyond to address any concerns—offering white noise machines, earplugs, and total transparency. Their proactive approach is just one more example of how much they care. One moment that perfectly summed up the spirit of Boho: upon our arrival, we saw Laura hand-scrubbing the outdoor flower pots. That level of pride and leadership is rare in any industry, but to find it here—at a small boutique hotel in Costa Rica—is extraordinary. Their example clearly inspires the entire team, who treat every guest interaction with sincerity and joy. The property also felt incredibly secure, with overnight security, cameras throughout, and personal safes in each room. More importantly, we felt relaxed, welcomed, and valued. That kind of comfort is something you can’t manufacture; it’s cultivated through culture and care. Boho is the only place I’d stay in Tamarindo. I can’t wait to return—again and again—not just to enjoy the space, but to reconnect with Laura and Clay.

    This place is amazing nothing to explicitly say as dislikes more opportunities yet realized: the outside covered patio could become a simple movie projection viewing center for scheduled movie nights. Could place a wifi extender right there and have a bluetooth or wifi projector that the tenant could connect to and play what they want the next day the cloth screen could be simply removed. Electric is already there. Also in the lobby area, there could be a swap a book bookcase for those who stay, once they finish a book they go swap a book so the next people can enjoy.

    Property response:

    Thank you so much for hanging out with our family here at BOHO!! We were so honored to have you as guests, and we all enjoyed getting to know you guys. At BOHO, we care about everyone here and you both were so kind to the entire group. Hopefully you will keep in touch and come visit us again soon. We love your recommendations!! We will get a projector for the property. You even gave us the idea that customers could check out a projector to project a movie in the room. I also love the idea about the book case and will implement this sooner than later. Thanks so much for these ideas! Again we hope to see you soon! Pura Vida!

    Thank you so much for hanging out with our family here at BOHO!! We were so honored to have you as guests, and we all enjoyed getting to know you guys. At BOHO, we care about everyone here and you both were so kind to the entire group. H… Show more

    BOHO Tamarindo
    6 July 2025
  • Krisztian

    Reviewed: 24 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 8 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    We loved gray!

    This even a question?

    Property response:

    Thanks so much for taking time to leave your review! We care about each client and their experience at BOHO! We're happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. Thank you!!

    BOHO Tamarindo
    8 June 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Wynette

    Reviewed: 18 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Great location. Easy walk to the grocery, the food truck park and the rest of town for restaurants/bars. Streets we're lighted and felt safe. Friendly staff and quick service for breakfast (which was delicious). Loved the access to the beach club. The construction didn't bother us as we weren't hanging at the hotel during the day.

    The pool could've been maintained better with leaf/bug removal. We didn't use it.

    Property response:

    Thanks so much for taking time to leave a review. Your input is very valuable to us. We're glad to hear about the things you liked. I will talk to our staff about the pool. It is supposed to be skimmed with a net at the minimum of 4 times a day and as needed. Your input is very helpful. We hope to se you again at BOHO!

    Thanks so much for taking time to leave a review. Your input is very valuable to us. We're glad to hear about the things you liked. I will talk to our staff about the pool. It is supposed to be skimmed with a net at the minimum of 4… Show more

    BOHO Tamarindo
    9 June 2025
  • Julian

    Reviewed: 9 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • Ana

    Reviewed: 1 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Very friendly staff.

    Cleaning service needs to improve, our room was not cleaned during the 3 nights we stayed.

    Property response:

    Ana, thank you so much for leaving this feedback and for your review. Our guests and their feedback is very important to us. I am shocked to hear that your room wasn't cleaned while you were there. The rooms are supposed to be cleaned and inspected by our staff daily unless the guest puts up the do not disturb sign. I have spoken to the assistant manager on site and our cleaning staff. Feedback like this from you is so important and we would not know if you didn't tell us, so thank you. I will stay on top of the staff to ensure rooms are cleaned daily as they should be. This was unacceptable and I am sorry. Once again, thanks so much for your feedback.

    Ana, thank you so much for leaving this feedback and for your review. Our guests and their feedback is very important to us. I am shocked to hear that your room wasn't cleaned while you were there. The rooms are supposed to be cleane… Show more

    BOHO Tamarindo
    8 June 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Eduard

    Reviewed: 27 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • Vitoria

    Reviewed: 27 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    The room is beautiful and the pool area is very comfortable. I would come back.

    The noise around due to construction is unfortunate, but I understand there is nothing they can do. The access to the Beach club is nice but as a solo traveler I felt their service was the worst. There was a day that I went there in the morning, I was the only one there and it took one hour for someone to come check on me and bring the menu, they never returned to check if I would like to order something. On the hotel, my only request is that they need to add a blackout in the window in the closet area. Both days I woke up 6am because the room was too bright.

    Property response:

    Victoria, thank you so much for your feedback. Feedback like this is so important to us!! You are not the only one to mention the light coming in the closets. I am the owner of the hotel and I recently stayed in a room after reading your review and the light bothered me as well. With your feedback and the feedback from another guest then my experience, I have ordered blackout shades for each room. So thank you! Also, we can't control what happens at Langosta beach club, but we will provide feedback to them as a paying client. In Costa Rica, it is customary for a server to not offer a check. It has to be requested. They don't want to rush guests. If you asked for the check and didn't receive, that is a different story and shouldn't have happened. I will address this either way. Again, thanks for staying at BOHO Tamarindo and thanks for your time in giving use feedback. Also, the construction is not our construction and we can't wait for it to be over. It has been a nightmare to us and our business! Thanks for understanding about the construction. Thank you!

    Victoria, thank you so much for your feedback. Feedback like this is so important to us!! You are not the only one to mention the light coming in the closets. I am the owner of the hotel and I recently stayed in a room after reading your… Show more

    BOHO Tamarindo
    8 June 2025
  • Ilya

    Reviewed: 20 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Lovely staff, delicious breakfast and great facilities. Access to a local beach club also a big plus

    Property response:

    Hello and thank you for your kind response! We will make sure to share your feedback with the staff and appreciate you taking time to leave a review of Boho!

    BOHO Tamarindo
    24 February 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Sara

    Reviewed: 7 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    The staff was amazing, the rooms were VERY clean and comfortable, and the property felt very safe.

    The only thing that I did not like had nothing to do with the property. Walking at night was a little sketchy, very dark into town. It's a very quick walk, but very dark and as a solo female traveler I just made sure I took a UBER or was on property before dark.

    Property response:

    Hi Sara - Tamarindo is very safe but one is always smart to take the safest route when traveling alone! Thank you for your kind remarks about Boho and your stay. We hope that you come back and see us again!

    BOHO Tamarindo
    24 February 2025
  • Nadine

    Reviewed: 9 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024

    Verified review

    Location, Cleanliness, Staff

    N/A

    Property response:

    Thank you for your feedback!

    BOHO Tamarindo
    10 March 2025
  • Michael

    Reviewed: 8 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024

    Verified review

    It was quiet and appeared clean at first glance.

    Ants crawling up walls and across ceiling dropping into bed. The was a crab on the floor that I stepped on. There were a bunch of smooshed ants on the floor which tells me house keeping really isn't doing much. The hotel is not on the beach. It sits up a muddy road in the middle of a construction site. The owner is nonexistent. The door to the hotel was locked at 3:30 PM on a Saturday with no staff around. I had to bang on the door for 10 mins before the owners boyfriend decided to get up and let me in.

    Property response:

    Michael, I will respond in the same way in which I did on your other negative review. Hello, I am Laura, the owner of Boho. I do not live at the hotel, and I don't know many owners that do live on property. I live in the US with my family and we very much care about each person that stays at our property. Our staff also cares about each person and their experience. You looked at our property before you booked it so you knew about the location of the property and its proximity to the beach. We have a map on our website and do not claim to be on the beach. It is June in Costa Rica which means rain. There are halloween crabs are everywhere in the Tamarindo area during rainy season. This June, we've had record rain and as much as we care for, clean and treat the property, there are some things that come out after flooding rains. While we wish we could make everyone happy, there are some people we know that we can't make happy no matter how hard we try. We let you make a last minute booking because you are acquaintances with one of our good friends. You did not respond to our messages, and you were rude to another guest at our small boutique hotel. We will continue to work hard to make our guests happy and try to control every environment to make everything the best we can. At the same time, life is short and we want clients that also care and are kind. If future guests read this, please know that we will go out of our way to do everything we can to make your stay at Boho the best!

    Michael, I will respond in the same way in which I did on your other negative review. Hello, I am Laura, the owner of Boho. I do not live at the hotel, and I don't know many owners that do live on property. I live in the US with my f… Show more

    BOHO Tamarindo
    9 July 2024
  • See the hotel
  • Philip

    Reviewed: 30 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024

    Verified review

    It’s a really nice vibe, perfect location and the rooms are immaculate. It’s almost like a mix between a really good AirBnB and a hotel - in the best way. You feel hosted but there aren’t always staff around either. Kristen is brilliant and super helpful and Schneider is awesome! His breakfasts are delicious and fresh and he’s great to chat to.

    It didn’t bother us but it didn’t seem to be adult only, in case others expected it to be, based on the listing.

    Property response:

    Philip, we're sorry we never responded to your review. We used to be an adult only property but we now allow kids in the hotel area. Typically children are 12 and up, but we sometimes have families in the house that hang out in the breakfast area. We have gone through as much as we can to say we allow children, but sometimes adult only still shows up. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to see you again at BOHO Tamarindo.

    Philip, we're sorry we never responded to your review. We used to be an adult only property but we now allow kids in the hotel area. Typically children are 12 and up, but we sometimes have families in the house that hang out in the br… Show more

    BOHO Tamarindo
    9 June 2025
  • Evan

    Reviewed: 20 May 2024 · Stayed in April 2024

    Verified review

    Easy walk to the center of Tamarindo, with a couple restaurant and the food truck pavilion right nearby. Added bonus for a small grocery and liquor store a block away.

    Property response:

    Evan, thank you so much for your review and feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay! Pura Vida, Tha BOHO Team

    BOHO Tamarindo
    25 May 2024
  • Andrecr16

    Reviewed: 5 April 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    Location is great. 1 block away from beach and 2 blocks away from city center. You can walk everywhere. The hotel was very clean. Pool is nice. Loved that they have beach chairs and umbrellas that you can borrow

    Pool towels were not even towels. They were some thin cloths, not very good for drying. Breakfast flavour was not very good. They didn't have black out curtains , at least in my room, so it gets very bright very early. Our room was located in the basement level, and all the A/C units were located there, so it was very loud, even to sleep. Only one pillow per person. Overall the rest was not very good in this hotel. Toilette was not working, and we realized at night , we had to wait with no toilet until next morning for maintenance to fix it.

    Property response:

    Hello and thank you for taking time to give feedback on your stay at Boho. We appreciate your insights. We are actively working on an update on the curtains in each guest room. The new system will feature both blackout and sheer panels for enhanced comfort and privacy. The pool towels at Boho are Turkish cotton and chosen to dry swiftly and repel sand. This is particularly important in Costa Rica's humid climate. Additional pillows are always available and we will look into the possibility of placing extras in each room to ensure a restful stay for our guests. Your feedback aids us in refining our service and we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to welcoming you back for an improved experience in the future. All the best, Your friends at Boho

    Hello and thank you for taking time to give feedback on your stay at Boho. We appreciate your insights. We are actively working on an update on the curtains in each guest room. The new system will feature both blackout and sheer panels fo… Show more

    BOHO Tamarindo
    15 April 2024
  • See the hotel
  • Nancy

    Reviewed: 23 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review
  • Ray

    Reviewed: 20 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    The breakfast was great everyday and Schneider was the friendly chef. Everybody was very friendly and helpful.

    Water problems and no ice.

    Property response:

    Ray, I'm sorry we never replied to your review. Somehow it was overlooked to reply but we did see it. We have ice now! Thanks to your review, we got an ice machine. Also, in March the entire area can have run out of water. We have since added a new large water tank to our property to make sure our guests have water. Again, thanks for your feedback. We appreciate what you have to say. We hope to see you at BOHO Tamarindo again soon.

    Ray, I'm sorry we never replied to your review. Somehow it was overlooked to reply but we did see it. We have ice now! Thanks to your review, we got an ice machine. Also, in March the entire area can have run out of water. We have … Show more

    BOHO Tamarindo
    9 June 2025
  • Michael

    Reviewed: 1 March 2024 · Stayed in February 2024

    Verified review

    Great location! The staff was friendly and helpful.breakfast and coffee was good, I would definitely stay again.

    No ice on the property was the only small "disliked"

    Property response:

    Hello Michael and thank you for the great review - you have made our day with your kind comments. Boho does not have an on site commercial ice maker but we will make more ice available in our freezer . Thank you for your feedback . We always appreciate feedback and ways to improve the Boho experience. Please come and see us again in Costa Rica !

    Hello Michael and thank you for the great review - you have made our day with your kind comments. Boho does not have an on site commercial ice maker but we will make more ice available in our freezer . Thank you for your feedback . We alway… Show more

    BOHO Tamarindo
    1 March 2024
  • See the hotel
  • Maria

    Reviewed: 28 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024

    Verified review
  • Frances

    Reviewed: 20 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024

    Verified review
  • Deanna

    Reviewed: 19 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024

    Verified review

    Great location, stylish decor - name is apropos - boho chic. However, there wasn’t really any service. There is new ownership and it sounds like it has changed quite a bit. The new owner did not welcome us. Nobody greeted us upon arrival nor gave us any information. Breakfast is definitely lacking - eggs with some sliced tomato - and it never changed. No meat, no toast, no avocado, etc. Felt super cheap. For $300 a night (CAD) this is not good value. Rooms are tiny. Pool was nice but could have been maintained better. Nothing to purchase onsite (I.e no food or drink). This isn’t a ‘boutique hotel’, it’s closer to an AirBNB that you have to share with other guests.

    See above.

    Property response:

    At Boho we pride ourselves on a unique, relaxing, non intrusive and intimate environment for our guests Our staff is on site everyday until between 5 and 6 pm and we offer self check in after hours . Breakfast is included and rotates between 3 and 4 options each day: eggs prepared to your liking, huevos rancheros, gallo pinto and banana bread. Fruit, juice, coffee and tea are offered as well. Our staff is available during the day, especially at breakfast, when we have the most time to interact with our guests before starting their day. We also offer an abundance of information related to booking tours in advance, airport transfers, etc in the reservation confirmation as well as tour books located in our lobby . Our staff loves to make suggestions ! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and please know that we appreciate your feedback . Hope to welcome you again in the future .

    At Boho we pride ourselves on a unique, relaxing, non intrusive and intimate environment for our guests Our staff is on site everyday until between 5 and 6 pm and we offer self check in after hours . Breakfast is included and rotates betw… Show more

    BOHO Tamarindo
    19 February 2024
  • See the hotel
  • Hockey

    Reviewed: 11 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024

    Verified review
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...