Reviews of Hotel Kloster Fischingen
Kloster Fischingen, 8376 Fischingen, Switzerland

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Heppenheim an der Bergstrasse, Germany
Voronet, Romania
El Puerto de Santa María, Spain
Rheinhausen, Germany
Kotor, Montenegro
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Lezhë, Albania
Batumi, Georgia
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewVery scenic and quiet location with very friendly staff.
Parking is not optimal.
Dear Klaus Thank you very much for your valuable contribution about your experience of our hotel on Booking.com. We are delighted that you appreciate our picturesque and peaceful location as well as the friendliness of our staff. We take your comment regarding the parking situation seriously and regret for any inconvenience caused. However, we do have approx. 200 Parking spaces at and around the monastery for our guests. Therefore, a detailed feedback about it would have been a great help for us. We hope to welcome you back soon. With best regards Your monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Klaus Thank you very much for your valuable contribution about your experience of our hotel on Booking.com. We are delighted that you appreciate our picturesque and peaceful location as well as the friendliness of our staff. We tak… Show more
Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewBeautifully renovated hotel full of history. Spacious, well designed rooms with top quality interior, perfect bedding and even air purifying machine. It stood out a lot from other accommodation options and the price was worth it. Very kind and friendly staff. Good restaurant!
I truly enjoyed all
Dear Anna Thank you very much for your wonderful review as well as for your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our historic hotel so much. It is wonderful to read that you have highlighted the comfortable, clean and attractive design of your room, as well as the high-quality furnishings and perfect bed linen. We are very proud that the careful renovation and attention to detail are appreciated and that we stand out from other accommodations. Your comments about the friendly staff and the good restaurant are a great motivation for our entire team. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. With best regards Your monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Anna Thank you very much for your wonderful review as well as for your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our historic hotel so much. It is wonderful to read that you have highlighted the comfortable, clean … Show more
Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe accomodation was amazing!
Nothing
Dear Robbert Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at our hotel on Booking.com. We are delighted to read that you found your accommodation ‘awesome’. Your satisfaction is our greatest reward and a great motivation for our entire team. We hope to welcome you back soon. With best regards Your monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Robbert Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at our hotel on Booking.com. We are delighted to read that you found your accommodation ‘awesome’. Your satisfaction is our greatest reward and a great motivation for o… Show more
Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewIt was quiet and lovely
Dear Debesh Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Booking.com. We are delighted to hear that you found your stay peaceful and enjoyable. It is particularly important to us to offer our guests a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere. We hope to welcome you back soon. With best regards Your Monastery Team
Dear Debesh Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Booking.com. We are delighted to hear that you found your stay peaceful and enjoyable. It is particularly important to us to offer our guests a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere… Show more
Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe hotel was clean, calm and lovely. A really excellent place! The restaurant was superb!
Nothing.
Dear Silje Thank you very much for staying at our hotel as well as for sharing your experience. It sounds like you had a wonderful experience. It's great to read that you were impressed by our staff, the atmosphere, and the facilities. Knowing that the hotel was clean, calm, and lovely is fantastic, and it's especially wonderful to read that you found the restaurant superb. We look forward to your future visit already. With best regards Your monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Silje Thank you very much for staying at our hotel as well as for sharing your experience. It sounds like you had a wonderful experience. It's great to read that you were impressed by our staff, the atmosphere, and the facilities. Kn… Show more
Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 30 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewHistorical and pleasant place
Dear Apandi Thank you so much for your "Wonderful" review as well as for your room reservation at hotel. We're delighted to hear you found our place both historical and pleasant. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. With best regards Your monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Apandi Thank you so much for your "Wonderful" review as well as for your room reservation at hotel. We're delighted to hear you found our place both historical and pleasant. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. With be… Show more
Reviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewPerfect stay, beautiful environment and above all: a beautiful building!
/
Dear Demi Thank you very much for sharing on Booking.com about your experience at our hotel. It's always great to hear when a place exceeds expectations, especially when the surroundings and the building itself contribute to such a positive experience. We are already looking forward to your next visit in the future. With best regards Your monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Demi Thank you very much for sharing on Booking.com about your experience at our hotel. It's always great to hear when a place exceeds expectations, especially when the surroundings and the building itself contribute to such a positi… Show more
Reviewed: 25 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe room was clean and tasteful. The property was peaceful and well maintained. Excellent hiking right out the door. Really nice Honesty Bar in the lounge area.
We had dinner in the restaurant and the service was SO inattentive. The dining room was not busy. Only five tables occupied. Five staff members all stood by the kitchen door talking, most with their backs to the diners. We had dirty dishes and empty glasses in front of us for most of the meal. It felt like the young waitstaff wasn’t trained and/or supervised. Breakfast service wasn’t great either. Restaurant experience was 180 degrees opposite the hotel experience. Food was fine. Service just wasn’t there at all.
Dear Ryan Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel as well as for your honest feedback about your experience while you were here. It sounds like you had a mixed experience during your stay. It's wonderful to hear that you found the hotel itself great, particularly the clean and tasteful room, the peaceful and well maintained property, the excellent hiking opportunities, and the nice Honesty Bar. However, it's clear the restaurant experience was a significant disappointment, completely contrasting with the rest of your stay. The inattentive service you described, with staff talking by the kitchen door while dirty dishes and empty glasses remained on your table, is certainly frustrating, especially when the dining room wasn't busy. It's understandable why you felt the young waitstaff might have been untrained or unsupervised, and that the breakfast service also fell short. While the food itself was fine, the lack of service clearly impacted your enjoyment. Thank you for providing such detailed feedback, it highlights a clear area for improvement for the hotel's restaurant operations. We will for sure make that these kind of scenarios does not repeat in the future and will do everything in terms of improvement. We hope to welcome you back in the future so that you can also take home positive and unforgettable memories. With best regards Your Monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Ryan Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel as well as for your honest feedback about your experience while you were here. It sounds like you had a mixed experience during your stay. It's wonderful to hear that you found the… Show more
Reviewed: 21 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLovely building in a picturesque location. Very good breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Great access to public transport.
Dear Emma Thank you for your kind words. It's wonderful to hear you had such a delightful stay and found our hotel to be a "little piece of unique". We're so pleased you appreciated our lovely building and picturesque location. It truly means a lot to us when guests enjoy the unique charm of our surroundings. We're also thrilled that you found the breakfast very good and the bed very comfortable, ensuring a great night's sleep and a good start to your day are always top priorities. And it's fantastic that our access to public transport was convenient for your travels. We hope to welcome you back again very soon to your "little piece of unique" in Fischingen. With best regards Your Monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Emma Thank you for your kind words. It's wonderful to hear you had such a delightful stay and found our hotel to be a "little piece of unique". We're so pleased you appreciated our lovely building and picturesque location. It truly m… Show more
Reviewed: 20 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful historic building, lovely staying in a monastery. Very friendly staff and delicious food.
Nothing
Dear Fiona Thank you very much for your room reservation at our hotel as well as for the great review on Booking.com. It sounds like a wonderful experience. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful historic building and the unique experience of staying in a monastery. It's particularly also good to know that the staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. Those elements can really make a stay memorable. We look forward to welcome again in the future. With best regards Your monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Fiona Thank you very much for your room reservation at our hotel as well as for the great review on Booking.com. It sounds like a wonderful experience. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful historic building and the uniq… Show more
Reviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewFantastic peaceful location and a beautiful building Excellent breakfast with very helpful and attentive staff Easy enough access to Zurich and countryside with a car
Quite noisy rustling pillows and bed sheets
Dear Philip Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel as well as for your valuable feedback. It sounds like you had a truly wonderful and peaceful stay in the Swiss countryside. We're so pleased to hear you found our location fantastic and our building beautiful. It's especially gratifying to know you enjoyed the excellent breakfast and found our staff very helpful and attentive. We do always strive to provide a comfortable and welcoming experience and your kind words confirm we're succeeding. We're also glad that having a car made accessing both Zurich and the surrounding countryside easy for you. We do apologize for the noisy rustling of the pillows and bed sheets. We understand how important a quiet night's sleep is, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will certainly look into different linen options to ensure a more serene experience for our guests in the future. We hope to welcome you back to our peaceful Swiss retreat again soon. With best regards The Monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Philip Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel as well as for your valuable feedback. It sounds like you had a truly wonderful and peaceful stay in the Swiss countryside. We're so pleased to hear you found our location fantast… Show more
Reviewed: 15 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGood breakfast. our room it was fantastic and the hotel was very restful. It is a converted monastery. There are no televisions in the hotel rooms. we didn’t find this a problem. The food was excellent at the restaurant and the hotel has its own micro brewery. The staff were excellent and very attentive. It is a lovely location in the country and has activities, such as an open-air play and it also put some musical events from time to time
Nothing really.
Dear David Thank you so much for your kind review and for sharing your impressions of your stay at our monastery hotel in Fischingen. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere, the fantastic room, and our countryside location. It’s also wonderful that you appreciated our breakfast and the excellent food at our restaurant, as well as our microbrewery — a special highlight for many of our guests. Your recognition of our attentive staff means a lot to us. We’re proud of the team’s dedication to creating a welcoming and restful experience. We’re especially glad that the absence of televisions in the rooms didn’t detract from your enjoyment. This choice is intentional — to support a deeper sense of calm and connection, whether through nature, history, or the cultural events we regularly host. It was a pleasure to have you with us. We hope to welcome you back for another enriching stay in the future. With warm regards Your Monastery Fischingen Team
Dear David Thank you so much for your kind review and for sharing your impressions of your stay at our monastery hotel in Fischingen. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere, the fantastic room, and our countrysid… Show more
Reviewed: 15 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful stopover on our way from France to Italy. After two days in Eurodisney, this was exactly what we needed. Peace and quiet. We had a junior suite for our family of four, and it was a big and spacious room. The kids also found the hotel interesting and exciting. The pilgrim-soup in the restaurant was really good. Would have loved to stay longer.
Dear Caroline Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We’re delighted that your stopover at our monastery provided exactly the peace and quiet you were looking for after two exciting days at Eurodisney. It’s great to hear that your family felt comfortable in the spacious junior suite and that even the children found the hotel interesting and exciting. We’re also especially glad you enjoyed our pilgrim soup – a guest favourite. We would have loved to have you stay longer as well, and we hope to welcome you again on a future journey. Warm regards Your Monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Caroline Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We’re delighted that your stopover at our monastery provided exactly the peace and quiet you were looking for after two exciting days at Eurodisney. It’s great to hear that your fa… Show more
Reviewed: 7 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 29 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful location and atmosphere. Comfortable and clean rooms. Good quality breakfast and dinner. A place full of history. The luxury is not always about the best spa or wellness. This place offers a spiritual journey and that is its luxury.
Nothing. I liked it all.
Dear Neva It's wonderful to hear such positive feedback about your recent stay in Fischingen. We're thrilled that you found our location and atmosphere beautiful and that our rooms were comfortable and clean. We also appreciate your kind words about our breakfast and dinner. Your reflection on the historical richness of our establishment and how it contributes to a "spiritual journey" as a form of luxury truly resonates with us. It's precisely the experience we aim to offer, providing a unique sense of peace and historical connection rather than conventional amenities. Thank you for highlighting that you liked everything. It means a great deal to our team. We hope to welcome you back for another enriching experience in the future. With best regards Your Monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Neva It's wonderful to hear such positive feedback about your recent stay in Fischingen. We're thrilled that you found our location and atmosphere beautiful and that our rooms were comfortable and clean. We also appreciate your kind … Show more
Reviewed: 14 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewSpacious rooms with all the modern features. The hotel is advertised as a seminar hotel and so comes equipped to a high standard. Food and drink (including the monastery’s own brewery) was excellent throughout. Overall staff friendliness and service was very good. Don’t miss the chance to join the monk’s prayers in one of the smaller chapels. A unique experience!
Nothing to report.
Dear James Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your last visit to Fischingen as well as for taking your precious time in order to write about your great experience on Booking.com. That sounds like a truly perfect and unique experience. It's great to hear that the hotel, with its spacious rooms and modern amenities, fully fulfils the requirements of a seminar hotel. Of course, the excellent food and drink deserves special mention, and the monastery's own brewery must have been a real highlight. It's always nice when the friendliness and service of the staff are so good, as this contributes significantly to a sense of well-being. The opportunity to attend the monks' prayers in one of the smaller chapels sounds like a profoundly unique and memorable occasion - something very special that sets our hotel apart from the others. When there's ‘nothing to complain about’, that's always a sign of an all-round successful stay. It seems like you had a truly marvellous time in Fischingen. We look forward to welcome you again the future. With best regards Your Monastery Fischingen Team
Dear James Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your last visit to Fischingen as well as for taking your precious time in order to write about your great experience on Booking.com. That sounds like a truly perfect and unique ex… Show more
Reviewed: 2 June 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewKloster Fischingen is a peaceful and unique place to stay. The surroundings are quiet, and everything was clean and well-maintained. It was easy to check in late thanks to a key locker system, and the staff were friendly and welcoming.
The room was a bit noisy, which took away from the overall calm atmosphere. Breakfast was quite basic and could use a bit more variety.
Dear Sanne Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We're delighted to hear that you found our monastery a peaceful and unique place to stay, and that you appreciated the quiet surroundings and our clean, well-maintained facilities. It's also wonderful to know that our key locker system made your late check-in easy and that you found our staff friendly and welcoming. We truly strive to create a serene and hospitable environment for all our guests. We sincerely apologize for the noise you experienced in your room, which detracted from the calm atmosphere we aim to provide. We understand how important a peaceful night's sleep is, and we're actively looking into ways to address sound insulation to enhance our guests' comfort. Your comments are invaluable in helping us identify areas for improvement. We also appreciate your honest feedback regarding our breakfast. We understand that our selection might not suit everyone's preferences, and we're currently reviewing our breakfast offerings to introduce more variety and ensure a more satisfying start to your day. Thank you again for your constructive comments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Monastery Fischingen in the future for an even more tranquil and enjoyable experience. With best regards Your Monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Sanne Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We're delighted to hear that you found our monastery a peaceful and unique place to stay, and that you appreciated the quiet su… Show more
Reviewed: 16 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 March 2025 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewIncredibly historic and calm location
Would have been great to have more context about the church and current monastic inhabitants
Dear Maurice Thank you for your review and your feedback on your stay in our hotel, which combines monastic tradition with modern hospitality. We are delighted that you enjoyed the incredibly historic and tranquil location. We understand your desire for more context about the church and the current monastic residents. It is indeed a special aspect of our hotel that often raises questions and piques interest. We take your feedback very seriously and will look into how we can offer our guests more information and insight into the monastic history and current life in the monastery in the future. We are already looking forward to your next visit. With best regards Your Monastery Fischingen Team
Dear Maurice Thank you for your review and your feedback on your stay in our hotel, which combines monastic tradition with modern hospitality. We are delighted that you enjoyed the incredibly historic and tranquil location. We understan… Show more