Reviews of Hotel Terrasse am See 3 stars
Bahnhofstrasse 2, 6354 Vitznau, Switzerland

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Zermatt, Switzerland
Engelberg, Switzerland
Stratford, Canada
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Saint Michaels, United States
Moyobamba, Peru
Lisbon, Portugal
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 30 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation -10/10 Litterly right next to the boat station and the bus and the gabdula, you walk no more then 2 min. Hotel view- wow. Right on the lake. Beautiful and charming hotel. Staff was super friendly! Helped us with every request. Definitely recommend.
If I knew there was no AC I would probably wouldn’t book it. I’m glad I didn’t see. It was perfect. Slept with the door open it was nice cold breeze at night. Definitely recommend to add more fans on summer season. Other than that. Perfect stay.
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation
Level of noise in the neighbour rooms coz of old building and price of course
Reviewed: 4 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewExcellent location for Rigi and walking. The views from the terrace are amazing! The room is basic. However, it is clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and welcoming.
There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room
Reviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLocation, views, hospitality, breakfast and the coffee maker.
Shower was a bit small but it’s a historical hotel so I get it, also didn’t like that guests smoked on the balcony, it was warm and we had to shut the windows due to the smell.
Reviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful location, wonderful staff.
Breakfast could be improved.
Reviewed: 13 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewWonderful location and charming
No kettle in room
Reviewed: 8 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewI loved my stay in Hotel Terrase See, the staff were very welcoming and the location and view were amazing!
The room was very hot, it would have been great to have a fan.
Reviewed: 1 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 28 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 12 October 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewVery cute room with view on the lake. It was quiet. Staff very friendly.
The Café where we had something to eat upon arrival is insanely expensive. It was good. But not that good …
Reviewed: 6 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewThe location. It is just absolutely stunning and practical. Right next to boats that go everywhere and the trains that go directly to the mountains. Quiet town with beautiful corners and tons of great places to eat. The views are breathtaking.
The room was soooo beautiful but it could be more comfortable. a better mattress and pillows would make it a complete heaven. But it was cozy and cute, with antique decor and vibes that just match the whole experience :)
Dear Tiago Thank you for your great feedback. It is truly appreciated and has been duly noted. It sounds like you were able to fully enjoy the charm of both the house and the village. We would be happy to welcome you back anytime, so you can enjoy another heavenly stay! Kind regards, Nina and the Terrasse Team
Dear Tiago Thank you for your great feedback. It is truly appreciated and has been duly noted. It sounds like you were able to fully enjoy the charm of both the house and the village. We would be happy to welcome you back anytime, so you c… Show more
Reviewed: 13 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 22 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewThe hotel sits on Lake Luzern and has gorgeous views. The staff is very nice and accommodating. Breakfast every morning was a delight. It is very charming.
It needs some updating and fixing up. Nothing horrible but little things that would make a big difference. One example, being able to open the windows and keep them open. Also the Rollladen would not stay down. Would be helpful to have a mini-fridge in the room.
Dear Bettina Thank you very much for your lovely and helpful feedback. We truly appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back again to provide you with another wonderful experience. Best wishes from Vitznau, Nina and the Terrasse Team
Dear Bettina Thank you very much for your lovely and helpful feedback. We truly appreciate it and would be delighted to welcome you back again to provide you with another wonderful experience. Best wishes from Vitznau, Nina and the Terr… Show more
Reviewed: 11 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewSuper nette Personal! Location is really nice.
Typical Swiss hotel breakfast…
Dear Ayumi We are glad to hear that you were able to wind down and relax at our charming house. We would be happy to welcome you once again. Warm regards from Vitznau, Nina and the Terrasse team
Reviewed: 2 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewThe location of the hotel is perfect with lake views. The staff were helpful and friendly and accommodated us when we asked to change rooms to one nearer the lake. Breakfast was fine and the special dinner we had for Swiss National Day was very good. Our bed was large and very comfortable.
Nothing.
Dear Bridget How wonderful to hear that you were fully satisfied with your stay at Hotel Terrasse. We appreciate your kind words about our team as well as the food. We wish you the very best and would be happy to welcome you again! Kind regards from Vitznau, Nina and the Terrasse Team
Dear Bridget How wonderful to hear that you were fully satisfied with your stay at Hotel Terrasse. We appreciate your kind words about our team as well as the food. We wish you the very best and would be happy to welcome you again! Kind… Show more
Reviewed: 19 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewThe lication
The room had an awful smell, the toilet smelled of urine. We had to sleep with windows open al Night. No air conditioning. Just a very old hotel that badly needed money spending on it. The tap in the bathroom didn't stop running all the time.
Dear Gough Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your stay did not meet your expectations and are sorry to hear about the issues you experienced. We also sensed that there may have been some challenges with the overall interaction from the beginning. Additionally, we would have been happy to provide a fan to help with cooling the room and apologize for any discomfort caused by the room’s condition. We did our best to address the issues you mentioned during your stay. We hope you had a relaxing holiday overall and wish you all the best. Kind regards, Nina and the Terrasse-Team
Dear Gough Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your stay did not meet your expectations and are sorry to hear about the issues you experienced. We also sensed that there may have been some challenges with the overall interaction fro… Show more
Reviewed: 18 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewThe hotel is lovely and in an amazing location. The lake boats stop is just next to the hotel and the train up to Mount Rigi is less than a minutes walk away. The staff were very helpful both in the hotel and at the tourist office next to the train stop. The views over the lake are stunning. The hotel provide a visitor pass for your stay, which includes free transport around Lake Lucene.
Dear Carrie Wow. How lovely to hear that you wholeheartedly enjoyed your stay with us, from the location to the staff. We would be very happy to welcome you back once again! With best wishes, Nina and the Terrasse-Team
Reviewed: 11 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewNice staff with great comunication and willingness to help. Great view on the lake from all the places: breakfest restarant, room ,terrase. Few meters away from boat and funicular stations
Room has not even kettle inside. It is awailable downstairs only. Prices for cofee/tea/wine are incredibly high. Better not forget to buy staff in supermarket. Parking on site is very limited
Dear Mark Thank you for your kind words and feedback. There is not only a kettle available downstairs. On your next trip to us, we would be happy to give you one for your room if you wish. We would love to welcome you back! Warm regards from Vitznau, Nina and the Terrasse-Team
Dear Mark Thank you for your kind words and feedback. There is not only a kettle available downstairs. On your next trip to us, we would be happy to give you one for your room if you wish. We would love to welcome you back! Warm regards f… Show more
Reviewed: 9 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewWonferful!
No AC, room was hot during day, but that was not surprise.
Dear Marko Thank you for your good feedback. As our house is a listed building, we are not allowed to have AC. However, we do have fans, which we are happy to provide if it gets too hot. Alternatively, you can always have a quick swim in the lake or enjoy a drink to cool down. Kind regards, Nina and the Terrasse-Team
Dear Marko Thank you for your good feedback. As our house is a listed building, we are not allowed to have AC. However, we do have fans, which we are happy to provide if it gets too hot. Alternatively, you can always have a quick swim in th… Show more
Reviewed: 26 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewAmazing view.
We got a room on the side of the train station… We noise was unpleasant from 6am until the evening.
Dear Ingrida We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful views our house offers. Unfortunately, as we are centrally located, there can be some noise from the Rigi station. However, we would love to welcome you next time in a superior room where you can enjoy a direct view of the lake. Kind regards, Nina and the Terrasse Team
Dear Ingrida We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful views our house offers. Unfortunately, as we are centrally located, there can be some noise from the Rigi station. However, we would love to welcome you next time in a superio… Show more