7.8

Reviews of Hotel Hirschen 3 stars

Niederdorfstrasse 13, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

  • Paul

    Reviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Lemenuel

    Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The female staff member that checked me in was absolutely delightful, polite, and receptive to the guests.

    The second lodging receptionist that was responsible for checkout he came off as very cold. He didn't greet me with a "good morning", or say "just one moment I'll be right with you", or "how can I help you?" He really just seemed completely in bothered like he didn't want to help me or provide assistance. They had luggage storage and wanted to know exactly how long I'd be keeping my luggage there. What does it matter? I'm not moving in, I just want to go grab breakfast and I needed to make an adjustment to my itinerary because there was a cancellation, so I didn't know exactly right then how long I'd be. But really it shouldn't even matter, I'm not leaving my luggage there multiple days or something. I ended up checking out and going to a different hotel after that.

  • Demini

    Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Olga

    Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Sam

    Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Small room, very small bathroom. Very little air flow. With the window open, it was very noisy through the night.

  • Matt

    Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Location

    The stuff that insisted to leave the key every time I go out.

    Property response:

    Dear guest, we regret that our traditional way of working did not meet your needs. We are one of the oldest hotels in Zurich in a historic building which is more than 600 years old. The modern, impersonal style does not suit our establishment and is not in line with our philosophy. That is why we maintain a traditional reception desk staffed 24 hours a day with real keys and a service to store heavy keys while guests are away. We understand that not everyone is familiar with this and not everyone likes it. However, in our view, this has nothing to do with poor customer service on the part of the staff – quite the contrary.

    Dear guest, we regret that our traditional way of working did not meet your needs. We are one of the oldest hotels in Zurich in a historic building which is more than 600 years old. The modern, impersonal style does not suit our establishme… Show more

    Hotel Hirschen
    1 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Tom

    Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    nice people

    Property response:

    Thank you very much, what a pleasure!

    Hotel Hirschen
    1 August 2025
  • 7.0 Good
    Alexander

    Reviewed: 30 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Great location. No significant downsides, good hotel overall.

    Relatively simple rooms for the price. No hot breakfast.

    Property response:

    Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and your review. We are happy to read that overall you had a pleasant stay. Yes, we offer a swiss style cold continental buffet. We do not have a real kitchen and are therefore not able to provide hot breakfast.

    Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and your review. We are happy to read that overall you had a pleasant stay. Yes, we offer a swiss style cold continental buffet. We do not have a real kitchen and are therefore not able to provide hot br… Show more

    Hotel Hirschen
    1 August 2025
  • Gopal

    Reviewed: 30 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The owner and the staff were very friendly!

    Breakfast! it could have been better

  • See the hotel
  • 7.0 Good
    Phillip

    Reviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Tamari

    Reviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Richard

    Reviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    This was amazing value. Right in the heart of the old town in Zurich and a really well renovated hotel. Staff were amazing, my room was whisper quiet, comfy bed. I am a cynic when it comes to hotels, but I completely surprised by how great this hotel was.

    The main entrance seems a bit dank and it does not match the stellar experience waiting inside.

  • See the hotel
  • Emanuela

    Reviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Nataliya

    Reviewed: 26 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Facilités

    No Airco Windows goes directly to the small street where was evacuation if Airco from kitchens : noisy and bad air

  • Joseph

    Reviewed: 25 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Great location in the heart of the old town and only a few minutes walk from the train station. Good breakfast. Good sized room.

    No safe in the room. Noisy when the restaurants and bars closed late night and the street cleaning early morning but had to have a window open to cool the room.

  • See the hotel
  • 7.0 Good
    Maree

    Reviewed: 25 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Meliisa

    Reviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Location was perfect. Easy walk to the main train station. Lots of shops and restaurants.

    No A/C. The room did have a plug in fan, which was a life saver.

  • Khris

    Reviewed: 22 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Mark

    Reviewed: 21 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    I really liked the location, though there were drawbacks to that as well. The staff was kind. There was some charm to the old building detail like the exposed heavy timbers and stones in the plaster walls.

    I thought that I had looked for a property with AC, but must have overlooked it. It was a bit hot when we were there and the rooms were warm. The noise of the square prevented us from opening the windows. I also found that the shower floors was dangerously slippery and is something that should be addressed.

  • Mackenzie

    Reviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Nice hotel room, in a very good location. The young male staff member was very lovely and accommodating, even allowing us to store our chocolate purchased from the Lindt chocolate factory in their fridge, so it did not melt prior to checking out.

    There was no air conditioning, and it was 30+ degrees every day we were there. The rooms were very hot, making it hard to sleep. On arrival, we had one very small fan in the room, and that was it. When we asked about a second fan, the older gentleman working there seemed quite taken aback about the request, and quite rudely provided us with a second small fan. This was while the entire staff desk had constant air conditioning going. It just seemed like a bit of a slap in the face that the staff had air conditioning constantly going, yet none of the hotel rooms had air con, and the staff member was surprised and rude when we said the room was very hot. Opening the windows did not help, and the noises from patrons outside also made it disruptive.

    Property response:

    Dear Guest, we thank you for your visit and review. We regret that you did not pay enough attention to the hotel facilities before booking and were not aware that our hotel does not have air conditioning. We would very much like to provide our guests with air-conditioned rooms, but our historic building is a listed building and air conditioning is therefore not permitted. Our employees work 9-hour shifts and are expected to be presentable and answer guests' questions and address their concerns with cheerfulness and patience. Therefore, it is only reasonable that we attempt to cool their workplace to a degree that allows for concentrated work. In addition, guests should be able to cool off a little on hot days when they arrive with their often large and heavy suitcases. Since the front door – unlike the doors to the rooms – is opened and closed hundreds of times a day, allowing the intense heat from outside to enter the building, it becomes much hotter at the reception desk than in the rooms. We deeply regret that you felt it was unfair that we tried to help our employees cope with their work shifts by providing them with air conditioning. That was not our intention in any way.

    Dear Guest, we thank you for your visit and review. We regret that you did not pay enough attention to the hotel facilities before booking and were not aware that our hotel does not have air conditioning. We would very much like to provide … Show more

    Hotel Hirschen
    21 July 2025
  • 7.0 Good
    Thareek

    Reviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Alvyn

    Reviewed: 14 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Samantha

    Reviewed: 11 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    location, though it was hard to find.

    no air conditioning and very uncomfortable bed.

    Property response:

    We regret that you have not double checked that you book a hotel with air conditioning and have chosen our historic hotel where we do not get a permission for AC. In the description of our hotel it is mentioned that we provide a fan, not an AC.

    We regret that you have not double checked that you book a hotel with air conditioning and have chosen our historic hotel where we do not get a permission for AC. In the description of our hotel it is mentioned that we provide a fan, not an… Show more

    Hotel Hirschen
    12 July 2025
  • Jonathan

    Reviewed: 11 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Excellent location at the heart of the old city

  • See the hotel
  • Seyyed

    Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Hotel Verdi

Rostock, Germany

Hotel Arlberghöhe

Sankt Christoph am Arlberg, Austria

Ogosta Apartments

Sofia, Bulgaria

Plattner's Alpenhotel

Sonnenalpe Nassfeld, Austria

PrimeBiz Hotel Kuta

Kuta, Indonesia

Veski Külalistemaja

Kantküla, Estonia

Park Studio by Feels Like Home

Bucharest, Romania

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...