Reviews of Hotel Hirschen 3 stars
Niederdorfstrasse 13, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Rostock, Germany
Sankt Christoph am Arlberg, Austria
Sofia, Bulgaria
Sonnenalpe Nassfeld, Austria
Kuta, Indonesia
Kantküla, Estonia
Bucharest, Romania
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe female staff member that checked me in was absolutely delightful, polite, and receptive to the guests.
The second lodging receptionist that was responsible for checkout he came off as very cold. He didn't greet me with a "good morning", or say "just one moment I'll be right with you", or "how can I help you?" He really just seemed completely in bothered like he didn't want to help me or provide assistance. They had luggage storage and wanted to know exactly how long I'd be keeping my luggage there. What does it matter? I'm not moving in, I just want to go grab breakfast and I needed to make an adjustment to my itinerary because there was a cancellation, so I didn't know exactly right then how long I'd be. But really it shouldn't even matter, I'm not leaving my luggage there multiple days or something. I ended up checking out and going to a different hotel after that.
Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat location and friendly staff.
Small room, very small bathroom. Very little air flow. With the window open, it was very noisy through the night.
Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLocation
The stuff that insisted to leave the key every time I go out.
Dear guest, we regret that our traditional way of working did not meet your needs. We are one of the oldest hotels in Zurich in a historic building which is more than 600 years old. The modern, impersonal style does not suit our establishment and is not in line with our philosophy. That is why we maintain a traditional reception desk staffed 24 hours a day with real keys and a service to store heavy keys while guests are away. We understand that not everyone is familiar with this and not everyone likes it. However, in our view, this has nothing to do with poor customer service on the part of the staff – quite the contrary.
Dear guest, we regret that our traditional way of working did not meet your needs. We are one of the oldest hotels in Zurich in a historic building which is more than 600 years old. The modern, impersonal style does not suit our establishme… Show more
Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewnice people
Thank you very much, what a pleasure!
Reviewed: 30 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat location. No significant downsides, good hotel overall.
Relatively simple rooms for the price. No hot breakfast.
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and your review. We are happy to read that overall you had a pleasant stay. Yes, we offer a swiss style cold continental buffet. We do not have a real kitchen and are therefore not able to provide hot breakfast.
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and your review. We are happy to read that overall you had a pleasant stay. Yes, we offer a swiss style cold continental buffet. We do not have a real kitchen and are therefore not able to provide hot br… Show more
Reviewed: 30 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe owner and the staff were very friendly!
Breakfast! it could have been better
Reviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThis was amazing value. Right in the heart of the old town in Zurich and a really well renovated hotel. Staff were amazing, my room was whisper quiet, comfy bed. I am a cynic when it comes to hotels, but I completely surprised by how great this hotel was.
The main entrance seems a bit dank and it does not match the stellar experience waiting inside.
Reviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewFacilités
No Airco Windows goes directly to the small street where was evacuation if Airco from kitchens : noisy and bad air
Reviewed: 25 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat location in the heart of the old town and only a few minutes walk from the train station. Good breakfast. Good sized room.
No safe in the room. Noisy when the restaurants and bars closed late night and the street cleaning early morning but had to have a window open to cool the room.
Reviewed: 25 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLocation was perfect. Easy walk to the main train station. Lots of shops and restaurants.
No A/C. The room did have a plug in fan, which was a life saver.
Reviewed: 22 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewI really liked the location, though there were drawbacks to that as well. The staff was kind. There was some charm to the old building detail like the exposed heavy timbers and stones in the plaster walls.
I thought that I had looked for a property with AC, but must have overlooked it. It was a bit hot when we were there and the rooms were warm. The noise of the square prevented us from opening the windows. I also found that the shower floors was dangerously slippery and is something that should be addressed.
Reviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewNice hotel room, in a very good location. The young male staff member was very lovely and accommodating, even allowing us to store our chocolate purchased from the Lindt chocolate factory in their fridge, so it did not melt prior to checking out.
There was no air conditioning, and it was 30+ degrees every day we were there. The rooms were very hot, making it hard to sleep. On arrival, we had one very small fan in the room, and that was it. When we asked about a second fan, the older gentleman working there seemed quite taken aback about the request, and quite rudely provided us with a second small fan. This was while the entire staff desk had constant air conditioning going. It just seemed like a bit of a slap in the face that the staff had air conditioning constantly going, yet none of the hotel rooms had air con, and the staff member was surprised and rude when we said the room was very hot. Opening the windows did not help, and the noises from patrons outside also made it disruptive.
Dear Guest, we thank you for your visit and review. We regret that you did not pay enough attention to the hotel facilities before booking and were not aware that our hotel does not have air conditioning. We would very much like to provide our guests with air-conditioned rooms, but our historic building is a listed building and air conditioning is therefore not permitted. Our employees work 9-hour shifts and are expected to be presentable and answer guests' questions and address their concerns with cheerfulness and patience. Therefore, it is only reasonable that we attempt to cool their workplace to a degree that allows for concentrated work. In addition, guests should be able to cool off a little on hot days when they arrive with their often large and heavy suitcases. Since the front door – unlike the doors to the rooms – is opened and closed hundreds of times a day, allowing the intense heat from outside to enter the building, it becomes much hotter at the reception desk than in the rooms. We deeply regret that you felt it was unfair that we tried to help our employees cope with their work shifts by providing them with air conditioning. That was not our intention in any way.
Dear Guest, we thank you for your visit and review. We regret that you did not pay enough attention to the hotel facilities before booking and were not aware that our hotel does not have air conditioning. We would very much like to provide … Show more
Reviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 11 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewlocation, though it was hard to find.
no air conditioning and very uncomfortable bed.
We regret that you have not double checked that you book a hotel with air conditioning and have chosen our historic hotel where we do not get a permission for AC. In the description of our hotel it is mentioned that we provide a fan, not an AC.
We regret that you have not double checked that you book a hotel with air conditioning and have chosen our historic hotel where we do not get a permission for AC. In the description of our hotel it is mentioned that we provide a fan, not an… Show more
Reviewed: 11 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewExcellent location at the heart of the old city
Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified review