8.3

Reviews of Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town 3 stars

Niederdorfstrasse 40, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

  • Lawrence

    Reviewed: 30 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Sandra

    Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Clean rooms, good location and friendly reception staff.

    Property response:

    Thank you, Sandra, for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander with us. We are delighted that you appreciated the central location in the old town, the cleanliness of the rooms, and our friendly reception team—these are key criteria for many of our guests, and we greatly appreciate you highlighting these aspects. At the same time, we regret that our breakfast, facilities, and comfort did not quite meet your expectations. Please be assured that we are constantly working to further develop and improve our services. We are happy to take your comments as an opportunity to further review our services. We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip to Zurich—perhaps we will be able to win you over completely then. Kind regards, Your team at Hotel Alexander

    Thank you, Sandra, for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander with us. We are delighted that you appreciated the central location in the old town, the cleanliness of the rooms, and our friendly rec… Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    28 August 2025
  • Mohammad

    Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Location

    Breakfast poor.

    Property response:

    Thank you, Mohammad Saeid, for taking the time to review your stay at ***Hotel Alexander. We are sorry to hear that our breakfast and value for money did not meet your expectations. We take your feedback very seriously, as it helps us to continuously improve our services. Please rest assured that we regularly review and expand our breakfast selection to cater to the diverse preferences of our international guests. As for the price, Zurich is one of the most expensive cities in Europe, but we strive to offer our guests fair and transparent prices for our central location and the service we provide. We would be delighted if you would give us a second chance on a future visit, we are also happy to assist you directly in advance so that we can better accommodate your wishes. Kind regards, Your team at Hotel Alexander

    Thank you, Mohammad Saeid, for taking the time to review your stay at ***Hotel Alexander. We are sorry to hear that our breakfast and value for money did not meet your expectations. We take your feedback very seriously, as it helps us to co… Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    28 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Wendy

    Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The location , very clean , lovely staff

    Nothing negative to say about this property .

    Property response:

    Dear Wendy, Thank you very much for your fantastic review and your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander! We are delighted that you were so satisfied with the central location, the cleanliness, and especially with our team—that is exactly what we strive for, and it is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay to the fullest. We are particularly pleased with your friendly conclusion, “Nothing negative to say,” and your recommendation means a lot to us. We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next visit to Zurich! Best regards, Your team at Hotel Alexander

    Dear Wendy, Thank you very much for your fantastic review and your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander! We are delighted that you were so satisfied with the central location, the cleanliness, and especially with our team—that is exactly what we… Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    28 August 2025
  • Kristopher

    Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Marwa

    Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Annie

    Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Rebecca

    Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Very helpful and polite staff

    Size of room and limited space, small basin and

    Property response:

    Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander with us. We are delighted that you particularly appreciated our central location and the friendliness and helpfulness of our team – this means a lot to us! At the same time, we regret that you were not entirely satisfied with the comfort of your room and the layout. As our hotel is located in a listed building dating from the 16th century, certain structural limitations – such as smaller rooms or bathrooms – are unfortunately unavoidable. Nevertheless, we always strive to offer a pleasant stay through cleanliness, facilities and service. If you visit us again, please let us know in advance – we will be happy to advise you on our different room categories, some of which offer more space and comfort. With kind regards from Zurich, Your Hotel Alexander team

    Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander with us. We are delighted that you particularly appreciated our central location and the friendliness and helpfulness of our… Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    24 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Stella

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Very bad experience. Rooms not like in the pictures. Too noisy during the night. Rude staff. Poor breakfast.

    Property response:

    Dear Stella Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions – we are very sorry that your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander did not meet your expectations. We are sincerely sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with several aspects of your stay. We are particularly concerned about your feedback regarding the behaviour of our team – friendliness and helpfulness are of paramount importance to us, and we will investigate this criticism internally. The photos of our rooms on the booking platforms correspond to the actual conditions – however, if you felt that your room was not as expected, we apologise. We also take your feedback on breakfast seriously and are constantly reviewing how we can improve our offering. With regard to noise at night, as our hotel is located in the heart of Zurich's lively old town, there may occasionally be increased noise levels. We are happy to provide earplugs on request or offer quieter rooms, subject to availability. We would be delighted if you would contact us directly to discuss your experience in more detail. This is the only way we can learn from constructive criticism and improve our service in a targeted manner. With kind regards, Your Hotel Alexander team

    Dear Stella Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions – we are very sorry that your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander did not meet your expectations. We are sincerely sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with several aspect… Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    24 August 2025
  • Laurie

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Good location in the old town area. Staff was friendly. The hotel was clean and quiet.

    Unfortunately, the AC in our room that day was broken. They were able to relocate us to a smaller room, but we’ve had adequate AC.

    Property response:

    Dear Laurie Thank you very much for your kind review and for taking the time to share your experience at ***Hotel Alexander. We’re pleased to hear that you appreciated our location in the heart of Zurich’s Old Town, as well as the cleanliness, quiet atmosphere, and the friendliness of our team. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the malfunctioning air conditioning in your original room. Our building is equipped with a water-cooled air system that is usually reliable, and we regret that it did not function properly during your stay. We're glad we could offer you an alternative room, even if it was a bit smaller, to ensure you could still enjoy a comfortable temperature. Thank you for your understanding, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again under more ideal circumstances. Warm regards, Your Hotel Alexander Team

    Dear Laurie Thank you very much for your kind review and for taking the time to share your experience at ***Hotel Alexander. We’re pleased to hear that you appreciated our location in the heart of Zurich’s Old Town, as well as the cleanli… Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    24 August 2025
  • Susan

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Rebecca

    Reviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Great location and great base to explore the city from. Compact, clean, comfortable room.

    Property response:

    Dear Rebecca Thank you very much for your great review and kind words about your stay with us at the ***Hotel Alexander! We are delighted that you enjoyed the central location and that our hotel was a good starting point for your tour of Zurich. We are particularly pleased to hear that you found your room clean, comfortable and well equipped – that is exactly what we aim to provide. We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next visit to Zurich! Kind regards, Your Hotel Alexander team

    Dear Rebecca Thank you very much for your great review and kind words about your stay with us at the ***Hotel Alexander! We are delighted that you enjoyed the central location and that our hotel was a good starting point for your tour of … Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    24 August 2025
  • Joanne

    Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Well places for exploring. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Room was small.

    Property response:

    Dear Joanne, We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be a good starting point for your explorations of Zurich. Our location in the heart of the old town is really convenient for discovering the city at your leisure. We are particularly pleased to hear your praise for our team! We will be sure to pass it on. Perhaps you will find yourself back in Zurich soon and we would be delighted to welcome you back. Warm regards, Your Hotel Alexander Team

    Dear Joanne, We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be a good starting point for your explorations of Zurich. Our location in the heart of the old town is really convenient for discovering the city at your leisure. We are p… Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    23 August 2025
  • Riikka

    Reviewed: 20 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Agnieszka

    Reviewed: 20 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Highly recommend this hotel, great deco, very unique, great location with a tram stopping in front of the hotel. The staff was lovely, friendly and helpful. Food was really great, and a great variety for breakfast. specious rooms, comfy beds, awesome bathrooms with great shower, always fresh water available to drink. I would definitely pick this hotel again when visiting Zurich.

    n/a

    Property response:

    Dear Agnieszka, Thank you very much for taking the time to describe your stay with us at the ***Hotel Alexander in such detail. We are particularly pleased that you not only appreciated our location in the heart of the old town and right next to the tram stop, but also the atmosphere in the hotel from the furnishings to the many small details such as the drinking water that is always available. We are delighted that you felt so comfortable in the rooms with their comfortable beds and modern bathrooms. We will be happy to pass on your praise to our team – it means a lot to us to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We are also very pleased that you have such positive memories of our breakfast buffet – we attach great importance to ensuring that every guest finds something to their liking, whether savoury or sweet. Of course, we are most thrilled by your statement: ‘I will definitely come back.’ That is the best recognition for us. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Zurich. With warm regards from the old town Your Hotel Alexander team

    Dear Agnieszka, Thank you very much for taking the time to describe your stay with us at the ***Hotel Alexander in such detail. We are particularly pleased that you not only appreciated our location in the heart of the old town and right … Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    23 August 2025
  • Olteanu

    Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    - centrally located with quick access to all the facilities of the city

    - breakfast really poor with the same dishes daily

    Property response:

    Dear Olteanu, Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at Hotel Alexander Zurich. We are very happy to read, that you enjoyed our very central location and our friendly staff. As we are very keen to keep improving, we are open to suggestions for our breakfast buffet. Please feel free to send us any suggestions and ideas that could enhance our buffet. We would be pleased to welcome you again to another occassion. Until then we wish you all the best from Zurich, Your Team-Alexander

    Dear Olteanu, Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at Hotel Alexander Zurich. We are very happy to read, that you enjoyed our very central location and our friendly staff. As we are very keen to keep improving, we are open to… Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    23 August 2025
  • Farzana

    Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    It was a noisy location being close to the train station, which is what we wanted.

    The area around the hotel is run down.

    Property response:

    Dear Farzana, Thank you very much for sharing your impression of your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander! We’re delighted to hear that you found your time with us both convenient and comfortable. Our central location in Zurich’s Old Town, combined with a welcoming atmosphere, is designed to make short or longer stays as easy and pleasant as possible. We’d be very happy to welcome you back on your next visit to Zurich – perhaps you’ll have the chance to discover even more of what our beautiful city has to offer. Warm regards, Your Hotel Alexander Team

    Dear Farzana, Thank you very much for sharing your impression of your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander! We’re delighted to hear that you found your time with us both convenient and comfortable. Our central location in Zurich’s Old Town, com… Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    23 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Aileen

    Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Kzsu

    Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Central location in the pedestrian old town, very clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, nice bedlinen. I had a quiet room on the courtyard side. Friendly and helpful staff. I was compensated for the air conditioning not working. Big buffet breakfast included in the room price. I could leave my luggage after check-out.

    It was a hot day and my room was one of a few left with no air conditioning. Tiny room.

    Property response:

    Dear KZSU, Thank you very much for sharing your positive impressions with us about your stay at Hotel Alexander Zurich. We are delighted to read that you felt comfortable in your quiet room facing the courtyard and enjoyed both the cleanliness and the comfort of the bed and bed linen. It is precisely these little details that make all the difference when you are travelling, so it is all the more wonderful that you noticed them. Your praise for our team also means a lot to us. Friendliness and helpfulness are very important to us, and it is nice to hear that you felt well looked after in every way. We are sorry that the air conditioning did not work quite as it should have – thank you for your understanding. We are glad that we were able to find a good solution for you. We are also delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and were able to take advantage of the luggage storage service to enjoy your last day in Zurich without any worries. We would be very pleased to welcome you back soon and perhaps you will discover a few new aspects of our beautiful old town. Warm regards from Zurich Your Hotel-Alexander Team

    Dear KZSU, Thank you very much for sharing your positive impressions with us about your stay at Hotel Alexander Zurich. We are delighted to read that you felt comfortable in your quiet room facing the courtyard and enjoyed both the cleanl… Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    23 August 2025
  • Olga

    Reviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Daniel

    Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The fact that I bothered to waste my time to write a review and painstakingly find appropriate photos mean this place is DAMN GOOD! Having sparkling, still water dispenser and coffee machine at the lobby is a SURE WIN for me with fruits laying around at different floors! Location is strategic in the city centre, near the train station and convenient for me to visit ETH Zurich for my meeting just behind it with many eating places surrounding and even beside it! I had stayed in many cities and hotels, including 4 stars, in the world but never had I stayed in a room which provides free sparkling water, still water, beer, Coke in the fridge with a small Swiss chocolate on top of each pillow (2 for mine) in the room! In addition, we have Swiss, Euro, China and UK power plug options in the room so you can even survive without travel adapters if you come from those countries! The toilet, tissue and even face oil control paper are provided with exceptional thick quality I think I can print them in the laser printer! The stone heated half 'boiled' or should I say 'grilled' egg was AMAZING experience for me. I requested for the iron and ironboard the day before and the housekeeping arrived on time SHARP like the accurate Swiss timekeeping reliability efficiency. My only regret is not to stay longer! Argh! Top grade hospitality, just take my money!

    Maybe the only thing I can be picky with is the smaller space without bathtub. There is no other picky things I can find fault on! There was a customer who is vegetarian / vegan who had limited selection for breakfast so this is probably one limitation that the hotel should address. Personally, I am satisfied with the spread and I think I can survive with just fruits and vegetable selections (though maybe slightly limited but good enough choices for me) if there is still not enough option!

    Property response:

    Dear Daniel Wow, what a review! Thank you so much for taking the time, it really means a lot to us. We are delighted that you enjoyed all the little details, such as the Swiss chocolate on the pillow, the universal sockets and even our ‘grilled’ egg. That's exactly what we strive for! We will gladly take your comment about the vegetarian/vegan breakfast on board – we want every guest to start their day feeling satisfied. It's just great to read that you felt so comfortable. We hope to welcome you back soon and maybe for a little longer next time. Sunny greetings from Zurich Your Team at Hotel Alexander

    Dear Daniel Wow, what a review! Thank you so much for taking the time, it really means a lot to us. We are delighted that you enjoyed all the little details, such as the Swiss chocolate on the pillow, the universal sockets and even our ‘gri… Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    17 August 2025
  • Dovilė

    Reviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Panos

    Reviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Great location in the heart of old town Zürich. Very convenient for walking to restaurants and sights around Zurich. Despite being in a loud area, the hotel was well soundproofed and very quiet. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was made fresh and had lots of options to choose from. Front desk staff was very helpful.

    Very simple room for the price paid, but that seems to be standard in an expensive place like Switzerland. Lobby smelled like cigarettes from people smoking outside.

    Property response:

    Dear Panos, Thank you very much for your detailed and positive review of your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander in Zurich! We are delighted that you appreciated our central location in Zurich's old town, the quiet and well-soundproofed rooms, and our breakfast menu with its fresh variety. We would particularly like to thank you for your praise of our reception team – this is very motivating for us! We understand your comment regarding pricing. Unfortunately, Zurich is generally one of the more expensive cities in Europe, but we always strive to offer a good balance between comfort, service, and price. Thank you also for pointing out the smell of smoke in the lobby area—we take this very seriously and are currently looking into solutions to better prevent odors from entering the building. We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Zurich – we would be happy to offer you a quiet room facing the courtyard. With kind regards, Your team at ***Hotel Alexander

    Dear Panos, Thank you very much for your detailed and positive review of your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander in Zurich! We are delighted that you appreciated our central location in Zurich's old town, the quiet and well-soundproofed r… Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    15 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Donald

    Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Breakfast was delicious and staff friendly and welcoming

    Property response:

    Dear Donald, Thank you very much for your fantastic review and your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander in Zurich! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were particularly impressed by our team. Your praise for the friendliness and helpfulness of each and every member of staff means a great deal to us – we will be sure to pass it on to the whole team! We are also delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast and felt completely welcome. This is exactly what we aim to achieve: to offer our guests a pleasant and warm stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards from Zurich, Your team at the ***Hotel Alexander

    Dear Donald, Thank you very much for your fantastic review and your stay at the ***Hotel Alexander in Zurich! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were particularly impressed by our team. Your praise for the fri… Show more

    Hotel Alexander Zurich Old Town
    15 August 2025
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Asaa Camping & Cottages

Aså, Denmark

La Fiera GuestHouse

Fiumicino, Italy

Apartments Bergblick

Sonnenalpe Nassfeld, Austria

Surin Sweet Hotel

Surin Beach, Thailand

Al Pic de Corone

Terzo dʼ Aquiléia, Italy

Hostal La Posada

Torrellano, Spain

Yes Boutique Hotel

Pattaya South, Thailand

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...