Reviews of Ramada Plaza by Wyndham Calgary Downtown 3 stars
708 8th Avenue Southwest, T2P 1H2 Calgary, Canada

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Dresden, Germany
Porto-Vecchio, France
Belmullet, Ireland
Baku, Azerbaijan
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Waukesha, United States
Nelson Bay, Australia
London, United Kingdom
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 30 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewAmazing staff that reslly made the stay that bit more special. The valets were amazing, and the cleaning team kept everything pristine
Nil
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewFriendly staff and great location
Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation
No restaurant for lunch or dinner.
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you found our location convenient, but we’re sorry for any confusion regarding dining options. Our hotel does have a restaurant on-site that serves both lunch and dinner, and we’d be happy to assist with reservations or menu details on your next visit. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you found our location convenient, but we’re sorry for any confusion regarding dining options. Our hotel does have a restaurant on-site that serves both lunch and dinner, and we’d be happy to assist w… Show more
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation
Noise of the Construction near by
Thank you so much for the excellent rating! We're glad that you had a good experience during your stay with us. Should you have any suggestions on how we can improve our services, we'd love to hear from you. Until then, safe trafels and we hope to see you again soon!
Thank you so much for the excellent rating! We're glad that you had a good experience during your stay with us. Should you have any suggestions on how we can improve our services, we'd love to hear from you. Until then, safe trafels… Show more
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewI would really appreciate that maybe u would ha a little git more compassion because I'm sure if your mom,sister,aunt,uncle any would probably call u for help u maybe you can't but u can't so u try. So the whole point and what might kept being told no for this and no for that so u try and hold on to to suffer. So plz stop saying you want what u can't have. Staff to have more EMPARHY. Staff with me SYMPATHY. Staff to have understanding and would maybe if the benefit of the doubt and ask hey could wr do maybe 40 and get the rest when she says? Nope you made me cry and I sat there in the lobby and cried so.....
I HATED that your staff DID NOT even acknowledge me and my feeling nothing. Nobody were I lived help me so I can to rake out ask ppl I didn't like so meh. But you can what you charge for damage cause the rooms are not worth 100 mayvthe double rooms and stuff were I was put when I asked for 1 bed not 2 so there's prime example ehtwy DO NOT LISTEN AND U DO NOT RWAD THESE.
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear about your experience and the way you felt during your stay. It is never our intention for any guest to feel unheard or unsupported, and we sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments about empathy, understanding, and room preference are important to us, and we will be sharing them with our team to improve how we care for our guests.
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear about your experience and the way you felt during your stay. It is never our intention for any guest to feel unheard or unsupported, and we sincerely apologize that we did not meet you… Show more
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation is awesome. Very walkable and right beside the train/bus station.
The room temperature didn’t really work. Luckily it is set to 20 degrees but either up or down didn’t function. Elevators are slow as heck (but there is signs they are upgrading)
Thank you for sharing your review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our prime location and found it easy to get around. I’m sorry to hear about the issues with the room temperature and the slow elevators. We understand how these can impact your stay, and I’m happy to let you know that our team is actively working on upgrading the elevators to improve speed and efficiency. We’ll also have maintenance check the room temperature controls to ensure everything is functioning properly. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back for a better experience in the future.
Thank you for sharing your review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our prime location and found it easy to get around. I’m sorry to hear about the issues with the room temperature and the slow elevators. We understand how these can impact y… Show more
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation was perfect, staff were awesome!!!
Valet parking is mandatory but they don’t tell you that when you go there. It’s just shows up as a charge after the fact. This is not fair
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our location, the comfort of your room, and the service from our staff. Your kind words mean a lot to us. Regarding the valet parking, I apologize for any confusion. While parking is not included in the reservation, we’ll remind our team to better reiterate this at check-in so guests are fully aware. We want to ensure everything is clear from the start to avoid any surprises. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts, and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our location, the comfort of your room, and the service from our staff. Your kind words mean a lot to us. Regarding the valet parking, I apologize for any confus… Show more
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewNothing except staff.
NO Parking No breakfast included. Ac was not working in the room, poor ventilation, no microwave, no fridge
Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad to hear that our staff provided good service and that you were comfortable with the bed. I’m sorry to hear about the issues you faced with the AC, ventilation, and missing amenities like a fridge and microwave. This isn’t the experience we want to offer, and I’ll have our team look into these concerns right away. Regarding parking and breakfast, I apologize for any confusion. These are not included in the reservation, but we’ll work on making this clearer for future guests. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts. I hope we have the chance to improve your experience in the future.
Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad to hear that our staff provided good service and that you were comfortable with the bed. I’m sorry to hear about the issues you faced with the AC, ventilation, and missing amenities like a fridge and m… Show more
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewFriendly staff and very proactive. Great location. Recommended. Facilities nice and good quality
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We’re thrilled to hear that you had a positive experience with our staff, facilities, and the location of the hotel. It’s great to know you felt the quality and value were spot on. We truly appreciate your recommendation, and we’d love to welcome you back whenever you’re in Calgary again!
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We’re thrilled to hear that you had a positive experience with our staff, facilities, and the location of the hotel. It’s great to know you felt the quality and value were spot on. We truly appr… Show more
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGood option in downtown. The staff and the room were great and the location is superb for tourists.
Thank you so much for your amazing 10/10 rating! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with our staff, room, and location. It's fantastic to know that our central location worked well for your visit. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Thank you so much for your amazing 10/10 rating! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with our staff, room, and location. It's fantastic to know that our central location worked well for your visit. We truly a… Show more
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat location,great staff
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience with us. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed our location, facilities, and the service provided by our team. Your feedback means a lot to us, and we're so happy we could meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future!
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience with us. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed our location, facilities, and the service provided by our team. Your feedba… Show more
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat location, convenient
The heated pool was actually very cold, and the bedding was unusual. There was no duvet cover—just plain sheets wrapped around the duvet, which kept slipping off. It didn’t feel very hygienic.
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location and that our staff were helpful during your stay. I do apologize for the issues you encountered with the bedding and the heated pool. We certainly want every guest to feel comfortable, and I understand how the bedding setup might not have been ideal. I will ensure our housekeeping team reviews the bedding standards to provide a more comfortable experience. As for the pool, we’ll have our maintenance team look into the temperature to ensure it meets expectations for future stays. We truly appreciate your input and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location and that our staff were helpful during your stay. I do apologize for the issues you encountered with the bedding and the heated pool. We… Show more
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat location and staff are very helpful
The heated pool was actually very cold, and the bedding was unusual. There was no duvet cover—just plain sheets wrapped around the duvet, which kept slipping off. It didn’t feel very hygienic.
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location and that our staff were helpful during your stay. I do apologize for the issues you encountered with the bedding and the heated pool. We certainly want every guest to feel comfortable, and I understand how the bedding setup might not have been ideal. I will ensure our housekeeping team reviews the bedding standards to provide a more comfortable experience. As for the pool, we’ll have our maintenance team look into the temperature to ensure it meets expectations for future stays. We truly appreciate your input and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location and that our staff were helpful during your stay. I do apologize for the issues you encountered with the bedding and the heated pool. We… Show more
Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe staff was very helpful and accommodating. Location ok, price great.
The hotel is definitely in need of some maintenance. The main issue is their central Aircon system that blasted freezing cold air 24/7 and cannot be turned off or adjusted. The room was freezing cold and our little one got a runny nose from it. The staff did offer us a stand heater which is a bit of a ridiculous solution as we then had hot and cold air blasting through our room. There also smaller things here and there such as the bathroom countertop coming apart, some sticky tape covering up a hole and parts of the carpet coming undone.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we’re pleased to hear that you found our team helpful and accommodating, we’re very sorry to learn about the issues you experienced with the air conditioning and the condition of your room. We understand how frustrating this must have been, especially when traveling with a little one. We appreciate your comments regarding maintenance concerns, and we will review these with our maintenance team to ensure they are addressed promptly. Your feedback is invaluable in helping us improve the comfort and quality of our accommodations. We hope you’ll consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with a much more comfortable stay in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we’re pleased to hear that you found our team helpful and accommodating, we’re very sorry to learn about the issues you experienced with the air conditioning and the condition of y… Show more
Reviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewit was clean; central location
!!THEY DON'T HAVE REAL AIR CONDITIONING!! (they have some load central thing with fixed temperature that you can't even switch off)
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you appreciated our clean accommodations and central location, and we’re sorry to hear that our air conditioning system did not meet your expectations. Our property uses a centralized air system that maintains a consistent temperature throughout the building. While it cannot be individually adjusted or turned off in each room, our team is always happy to provide alternatives such as fans or heaters to help make your stay more comfortable. We truly value your comments and will keep them in mind as we continue to look for ways to enhance our guest experience.
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you appreciated our clean accommodations and central location, and we’re sorry to hear that our air conditioning system did not meet your expectations. Our property uses a centralized air system that … Show more