Reviews of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown 3 stars
239 12th Avenue SW, Beltline, T2R 1H7 Calgary, Canada

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Noordwijk aan Zee, Netherlands
Venice, Italy
Yokohama, Japan
Pune, India
Sapporo, Japan
Chervena Lokva, Bulgaria
Ko Yao Yai, Thailand
Guangzhou, China
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewVery helpful manager and staff Location was near start of tours--should be in your advertising breakfast room was exceptional friendly restaurants near by
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewIt was clean and tidy
The fact our room card wouldn’t allow up to go to Level 3, the laundry. The receptionist tried to fix this, without success. So we had to go down to level two and walk up the stairs. Also there was one lift not working.
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation of hotel Friendly staff
Elevator broken had to walk up and down stairs or wait
Dear Sheila, Thank you for your kind words. It’s nice to know our staff made a positive impression during your stay and that our location was perfect for your needs. However, we are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused by the elevator issue. Please know that we are taking steps to ensure smoother operations moving forward. Your feedback helps us improve, and we hope to welcome you back with a more seamless experience next time. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Sheila, Thank you for your kind words. It’s nice to know our staff made a positive impression during your stay and that our location was perfect for your needs. However, we are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused by the elevator i… Show more
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewOnly one elevator was working ,that creates delays
Dear Prem, While we genuinely appreciate your outstanding rating and hope that overall you had a pleasant stay, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by having only one elevator in service during your stay. We understand how delays can affect your plans, and your feedback has been shared with our concerned team to help improve efficiency and minimize disruptions for our guests in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to provide a smoother experience at Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown on your next visit. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Prem, While we genuinely appreciate your outstanding rating and hope that overall you had a pleasant stay, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by having only one elevator in service during your stay. We understand how d… Show more
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewVery clean and comfortable. Flavoured water and popcorn available for free. Easy check in and friendly staff.
The elevator was incredibly slow and small, only one was working. No parking on site. There was only an option for valet parking which was rather expensive and also very slow, or find street parking which had many limits. Only one person working valet and because parking was off site it took a long time.
Dear Amanda, We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our spotless property and that your arrival experience was smooth. It is also a pleasure to read such kind words about our associates and to know that the welcome amenities enhanced your time with us. That said, we regret the inconvenience caused by the limited elevator service and truly appreciate your patience. We also regret any frustration regarding valet parking fees and service. Your feedback has been shared with our team to ensure timely and efficient service for future guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable visit. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Amanda, We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our spotless property and that your arrival experience was smooth. It is also a pleasure to read such kind words about our associates and to know that the welcome amenities enhanced your … Show more
Reviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewBreakfast was good.
There was no safe in the room.
Dear Guest, We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your breakfast experience. That said, we regret to hear that you encountered difficulties with parking during your stay. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we are always reviewing ways to enhance our parking management. We are also sorry you felt your room did not have the amenities that you desired. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Guest, We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your breakfast experience. That said, we regret to hear that you encountered difficulties with parking during your stay. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we are always revie… Show more
Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe breakfast was really great. It has a nice variety and nost importantly it is CLEAN. The rooms were also clean and tidy and housekeeping was coming every 2 days which seems perfect for me.
One elevator was down so the whole hotel was depending on the other elevator. During the 4 days that i stayed, no work was getting done to fix the other elevator, so the waiting time for the one that was working was pretty long.
Dear Tina, We are delighted to know you would return to stay at Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown and that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings, as well as the cleanliness of both our guestrooms and public spaces. It is also wonderful to hear that our associates made a positive impression during your visit. At the same time, we regret the inconvenience you experienced with the elevator being out of service and the resulting wait times. Your feedback is appreciated and has been noted as we work on improving the overall guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Tina, We are delighted to know you would return to stay at Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown and that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings, as well as the cleanliness of both our guestrooms and public spaces. It is also wonder… Show more
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation good. Nearby restaurants. Walking distance to all downtown attractions.
One elevator only (the other is broken, & judging from the reviews by others, it has been out of service for 2+ years) This results in exceptionally long waits. Windows don't open. Cooling fan is extremely noisy, so you cannot sleep. This results in stuffy room. The windows are not adequately sound-proofed for this busy street. Generally, this hotel is overpriced.
Dear Lesley, We apologize for the wait time you had with our elevators during your visit. We certainly understand your frustration and are sorry for the temporary inconvenience. We will address this appropriately, and we want you to know we are grateful for your patience. We also regret the maintenance issues you encountered with the windows and the fan, as well as the noise disturbances you had. Our goal is to provide accommodations conducive to a peaceful night's rest, so we are disappointed that your sleep was disrupted. We are committed to offering the best experience for our guests, and we will use your comments for future improvements. That said, we are glad you liked our proximity to the nearby attractions and the many restaurant choices within walking distance. Thank you for choosing us and for your candid review. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the comfortable and restful stay you deserve. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Lesley, We apologize for the wait time you had with our elevators during your visit. We certainly understand your frustration and are sorry for the temporary inconvenience. We will address this appropriately, and we want you to know we… Show more
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat rooms, clean, plenty of room, great condition.
The lifts! 2 lifts and 1 was out of service. This meant getting the lift was always a very long wait. We were on 7th floor and did the stairs a lot but for those who may struggle with this, this would be a real problem. I understand the lift company are struggling to source the part but this needs resolved asap. Otherwise, 10 out of 10.
Dear Guest, We appreciate the generous remarks and are glad you enjoyed our hotel. We are particularly glad your room provided the comforts you expected and that you enjoyed our upscale accommodations. However, we apologize for the issues you had with our elevators. We understand your frustration and sincerely regret the temporary inconvenience. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We hope to see you again at Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Guest, We appreciate the generous remarks and are glad you enjoyed our hotel. We are particularly glad your room provided the comforts you expected and that you enjoyed our upscale accommodations. However, we apologize for the issues y… Show more
Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewStaff was good property’s strategic location
Lift was s huge problem. Only one lift was working at such a peak tourist period. Sometimes we had to wait upto 14 minutes for the single lift to come
Dear Guest, While we are glad our location was convenient for your visit and that your interactions with our associates were pleasant, we apologize for the wait time you had with our elevators during your visit. We are working diligently with our elevator contractor to ensure the elevator does not continue to have issues.. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a more favorable experience. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Guest, While we are glad our location was convenient for your visit and that your interactions with our associates were pleasant, we apologize for the wait time you had with our elevators during your visit. We are working diligently wi… Show more
Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewClose to the venue where I work
They need to do something with the elevators.
Dear Marigrace, We are glad our location was convenient for everything you wanted to do on this visit. That said, we also appreciate you pointing out areas where we can improve. We will look into the instances you mentioned, as we are committed to offering better service for our guests. Thank you for choosing Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again for a future stay. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Marigrace, We are glad our location was convenient for everything you wanted to do on this visit. That said, we also appreciate you pointing out areas where we can improve. We will look into the instances you mentioned, as we are commi… Show more
Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewClose to my venue
Elevator- only one is working and it’s creating long wait times
Dear Lourdes, It is nice to know you were pleased with our delicious breakfast offerings and that you found our location to be ideal for your needs. Having said that, we are sorry for the wait time you had with our elevator during your visit. We will address this appropriately, and we are grateful for your patience and feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards, General Manager
Dear Lourdes, It is nice to know you were pleased with our delicious breakfast offerings and that you found our location to be ideal for your needs. Having said that, we are sorry for the wait time you had with our elevator during your visi… Show more
Reviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation was perfect, room was basic but had everything you need and was clean.
Non optional valet service. Breakfast was one of the worst I've seen, having said that, it was a cheap stay so expectations weren't super high.
Dear Laura, We are thrilled to know you loved our convenient location and that your room provided all the comfort you expected. However, we are sorry for your disappointment with the complimentary breakfast. We will share your comments with appropriate individuals to enhance our guest experience. Additionally, being a downtown hotel in a major city, we understand that parking is often at a premium. To best provide for our guests' needs, we offer the convenience of valet parking. We take pride in offering competitively priced parking fee, which are presented on our website, enabling guests to access this information before making a reservation. Thank you for staying at Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Laura, We are thrilled to know you loved our convenient location and that your room provided all the comfort you expected. However, we are sorry for your disappointment with the complimentary breakfast. We will share your comments with… Show more
Reviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat location. Short walk to Calgary Tower and Stephen Avenue Walk. Friendly staff, comfortable & spacious room and a good breakfast. Well equipped fitness centre.
Dear Ann-Marie, We are glad our location was perfect for your travel plans and that our associates helped to elevate your time with us. We will be sure to share your kind praises with our entire team. We are also happy you loved our comfortable accommodations, delicious breakfast offerings, and fitness center. Thank you for making Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown a part of your travel plans, and we look forward to having you back soon. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Ann-Marie, We are glad our location was perfect for your travel plans and that our associates helped to elevate your time with us. We will be sure to share your kind praises with our entire team. We are also happy you loved our comfort… Show more
Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation
Broken/Slow elevator was a definite problem. Waited 15 minutes for valet before finally going upstairs to the front desk to get my car parked.
Dear Jennifer, While we are glad that you appreciated our location, we regret not meeting all of your expectations. We apologize for the valet issues you experienced during your stay. Your total satisfaction is always our top priority; therefore, we regret that this is not what we showed you during your time with us. We are also sorry to learn about the issues you had with our elevators. We understand your frustration and sincerely regret the temporary inconvenience. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We will look into the instances you mentioned, as we are committed to offering better service for our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Jennifer, While we are glad that you appreciated our location, we regret not meeting all of your expectations. We apologize for the valet issues you experienced during your stay. Your total satisfaction is always our top priority; ther… Show more
Reviewed: 3 August 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewGreat. Clean, friendly.
Dog fees to high, parking
Dear William, Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you found our property clean and appreciated the service provided by our team. We appreciate your feedback regarding pet fees and parking. Please know that both are listed on our website to ensure transparency prior to arrival. We apologize if this was not adequately communicated to you, and we will share your comments appropriately. We hope to have another chance to provide a better experience in the future. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear William, Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you found our property clean and appreciated the service provided by our team. We appreciate your feedback regarding pet fees and parking. Please know that both are listed on o… Show more
Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewIt’s in Downtown Calgary, Lots of restaurants around the beltline area. Our room has a view of the Calgary Tower so that is a plus! And they allow guests to leave their luggages after checkout for a few hours of safekeeping.
Breakfast is included but not much choices. There were just waffles, bread, eggs and banana. That’s it!
Dear Stanley, We are glad our location was convenient for everything you wanted to do on this visit and that you loved the amazing views of the city from your accommodations. That said, we regret to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy our breakfast offerings. We will follow up with our food and beverage team as we always want to know how we can improve our guest experience. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown, and we look forward to your next trip to the area. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Stanley, We are glad our location was convenient for everything you wanted to do on this visit and that you loved the amazing views of the city from your accommodations. That said, we regret to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy ou… Show more
Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 22 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewClose to restaurants
No free toothpaste but not a big deal
Dear Combalicer, We are glad you had a great time with us and that our proximity to the restaurants was perfect for your needs. Additionally, we value your observations regarding the lack of complimentary toothpaste and will share them appropriately. Thank you for sharing your experience at Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown, and we look forward to your next trip to the area. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Combalicer, We are glad you had a great time with us and that our proximity to the restaurants was perfect for your needs. Additionally, we value your observations regarding the lack of complimentary toothpaste and will share them appr… Show more
Reviewed: 21 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewIt’s extremely clean
They need to improve their breakfast
Dear Amansisa, We are glad our location was perfect for your travel needs and that you loved the overall cleanliness of our property. That said, we regret to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy our breakfast offerings. We will follow up with our food and beverage team as we always want to know how we can improve our guest experience. Thank you for being our guest at Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Tiffany Richards General Manager
Dear Amansisa, We are glad our location was perfect for your travel needs and that you loved the overall cleanliness of our property. That said, we regret to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy our breakfast offerings. We will follow up … Show more
Reviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified review