8.1

Reviews of Travelart Backpackers Hostel

72 Freetown Road, Belize City, Belize

  • Chris

    Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The owners are an excellent source of information, very approachable and knowledgeable. The location is good as it is both near the bus station and the port. The bathrooms were very big and clean. The kitchen is nice, and there is a great porch to look out onto the street.

    Although the location is great, the traffic can be pretty loud.

  • Jerwin

    Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The kitchen and bathroom/toilet are clean and well-maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful. Location is good.

    The upper bunk bed is rickety and not comfortable. They should ensure that the drinking water supply is always available and not let guests run out of it.

  • Tim

    Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Friendly staff, fast internet, super comfortable and good location. Yes, there is road noise, but it didn't bother me - I'm quite a heavy sleeper. Belize City has a reputation, but this is probably in the best part of the central city.

    Belize isn't cheap, so while this is the best value and most economical option in Belize City, it's still not "cheap". The window has louvers on it which don't shut completely, so you still get road noise and warm air (and possibly mosquitos) coming into the room.

  • See the property
  • Worldglobetrotter

    Reviewed: 24 July 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    It is possible to pay by card. The place is fairly clean. Each bed has an assigned locker (for which you need your own padlock) located in the common hall. The kitchen is fully equipped (and you definitely need it because it is not possible to eat outside: too dangerous!). The hotelier was responsive to the messages on booking.com app prior to my arrival, which is very important for the organization of the stay: Belize City has only one attraction, the National Museum, which can be visited while waiting the ferry to the Cayes. I wanted to visit two temples using this town as a base and the hotelier recommended to me a tour company friend of theirs. I made one of the tours with them and the other with another company because there were no group tours in those days (very few people chose those tours as it is not safe to stay in Belize City). The tours were nice (especially Lamanai), although not the best in Belize which makes it even less worth to do for the incredibly high price. The hostel is centrally located: you can reach on foot the bus station to San Ignacio, the water taxi to the Cayes and the National Museum (but be extremely careful while walking, even during daytime).

    Beds have no privacy curtains, there was a lot of noise from the cars in the street even at night and the hostel is pricy, but these are not the biggest problems here: the biggest issue is safety. The receptionist leaves at 20:00 and then you enter digiting a code on the gate. You really must stay locked in from before sunset to morning. The Cayes are safe at all times, San Ignacio is safe at daytime, but Belize City is terrible. The hostel is located in the least dangerous half of the City (the part north of the creek). Do not go in the south part as it is even much worse. Belize City is among the top cities in the world in the infamous ranking per homicide rates. Tourists also get involved. It is no joke. An armed assault was made at the airport the day before my flight. In the streets the population will not protect you like it happens in other countries where locals do not want tourists to run away. I was queuing at the food hawks with plenty of people when a bum grabbed my arm and tried to bring me to another place and those people were pretending not to see anything. It was still dusk and nothing happened, but it could have gone differently. I recognize the signs of how a city is (just my background), and I can only refrain everybody from staying in this town overnight. You can have combined tickets ferry + van to the airport so that you skip this city (use the company Caribbean Sprinter: it has no frills, but it suits more the customers of a hostel as it costs basically half compared to Belize Express).

  • Shih

    Reviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    It provides drinking water, and the environment is very clean.

    The air conditioners could only be open in limited hours, but fortunately there are also fans in the day time.

  • Yonas

    Reviewed: 8 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The place is clean with all amenities. It's nor far from the city center.

    Nothing

  • See the property
  • Christen

    Reviewed: 2 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The lodging, central in town is practical to reach to any location and has a well maintained standard by a caring staff. The spacious common room welcomes you with all sufficiency, access to 2 larges tiles bathrooms, good ventilation, a large dining, couches including a well equipped kitchen and porches for extra ventilation. The all staff makes sure the place stays well organized and spotless. The management is attentive to your needs as to adapt and fulfill any request.

    The only sad note is the City traffic.

  • Christen

    Reviewed: 1 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    well maintained lodging with a caring staff.

    It was all good!

  • Yuchen

    Reviewed: 23 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Not far away from the water taxi station, and it’s clean

    Staff was a little on his own. And a bit pity only fan and no air con

  • See the property
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 17 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    This place offered nothing but a bunk, shower and WiFi. If you must stay a night on a budget…fine…if not, choose somewhere else.

    The neighborhood was highly sketchy and the staff was of little help. The windows DID NOT have glass…only storm shudders…one could hear everything on the street. Drunks and homeless were everywhere. I was asked by other travelers to walk with them for shopping.

  • Shane

    Reviewed: 14 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    When it’s busy, it’s a nice sociable place 10 minutes walk from the bus station

    Far too noisy from outside traffic and people

  • Calder

    Reviewed: 3 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Jose

    Reviewed: 28 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Gregg

    Reviewed: 20 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The problems with this stay started before we even arrived. They charged our credit card more than the stated amount for our reservation without stating anything about that on the booking. They said it was a credit card fee but never stated that would be the case or give us an option to pay in cash or any other method. When I asked them about this, they said it could not be reversed. Then, when we finally did arrive, we had reserved a room with two beds only and it said single room AC on the details of our booking. We are given a room with the two beds but there is no AC, just a fan, and a window facing out to a very noisy street. When we asked management about this, they said we didn’t book the right room and we could go into a 6 bunk room instead which was not appealing as we booked a private room with AC for comfort and security. Speaking of security, no staff or security is here after 6pm, they would not even give us a key to our room which was essentially private and the lockers in the main area were far too small to put any actual luggage in. The lack of transparency and accommodation was extremely disappointing and I would not recommend staying here.

    Property response:

    Hello Gregg, Thank you for choosing to stay at Travelart Backpackers Hostel. We assigned you to the room you booked. As per our property description, all dorm rooms include air conditioning except for one. The room you reserved is the one without air conditioning, and your booking did not include this amenity. We offered to move you to another room with air conditioning at no extra charge; however, you preferred to stay in a room designated for you and your guest. Regarding your comment about "private" rooms, we do not list private rooms on our booking platforms; we only offer dormitory-style accommodations. While our staff is not present on the property 24/7, we have a security system monitored around the clock. Additionally, our team is available to assist you with any questions or needs you may have during your stay.

    Hello Gregg, Thank you for choosing to stay at Travelart Backpackers Hostel. We assigned you to the room you booked. As per our property description, all dorm rooms include air conditioning except for one. The room you reserved is the one… Show more

    Travelart Backpackers Hostel
    20 May 2025
  • Mohammad

    Reviewed: 14 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    It's close to shops and food places and markets. The place is very clean and tidy with comfortable chairs, sofa and dinner table. There is big kitchen however the fridge and freezer need to be cleaned and maintained much better.

    It can get very noisy during the whole night! never stopping traffic, loud and noisy cruising motorbikes and trucks are very common. Also I made the mistake to choose the cheapest room, which doesn't have air conditioning! just pay a bit extra for all other rooms that have it, because you'll need it!

  • See the property
  • Jyoti

    Reviewed: 5 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Harrison made us feel at home instantly. The property was great and AC made it easier to spend the night, we went when it was hot. But it was great stay and I recommend it for sure

  • Claudia

    Reviewed: 4 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The hostel was very new and clean. Location super close to the watertaxi station. Bathroom big and with hot water.

    The location is a bit noisy and the bed needed more comfortable stairs.

  • 7.0 Good
    Wasi

    Reviewed: 30 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Pavlo

    Reviewed: 21 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Aureliano

    Reviewed: 16 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • Matthew

    Reviewed: 13 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Staff was very helpful and genuine. Willing to assist with any questions or even bookings of tours I was interested.

    No bottle openers 😝😅

  • See the property
  • 7.0 Good
    Shuyuan

    Reviewed: 13 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Kitchen, purified water, hot shower

    Bunk beds 沒有窗簾

  • Paul

    Reviewed: 11 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • Zx

    Reviewed: 9 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Value for money

  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...