6.9

Reviews of Sugar Patch Inn

Hopkins Village, Stan Creek District Belize C.A, Hopkins, Belize

  • Rasheedah

    Reviewed: 21 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    The staff has horrible customer service

    The staff double booked my room and gave it to someone else

    Property response:

    I guess if I had booked a room at your place for 2 nights and one guest and showed up with 4 you would have accommodated me even though there is a price that stated double occupancy and the 3rd and 4 person must pay $20.00 per person. You tried to beat the system and when your demands were met you carried on in a disgusting manner. 1 guest means 1 guest not 4

    I guess if I had booked a room at your place for 2 nights and one guest and showed up with 4 you would have accommodated me even though there is a price that stated double occupancy and the 3rd and 4 person must pay $20.00 per person. You t… Show more

    Sugar Patch Inn
    29 April 2025
  • Janice

    Reviewed: 9 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Quiet Great beach access

    It is a bit of a walk to the village center

  • Graham

    Reviewed: 25 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Scam alert

    SCAM Alert: We booked through this booking app; price was $USD621 + $78 fees and taxes, so about $700. When we arrived, they demanded $200 more, CASH ONLY, for additional taxes plus booking fees. Our $700 price had turned into $900. I paid, but later realized this shouldn’t have happened. I asked five times for a formal invoice of all amounts paid, but they wouldn’t provide one. Then they changed their story, said $100 or the extra $200 was a refundable deposit. Only when the police were called did they finally return all my money.

  • See the property
  • Hunter

    Reviewed: 25 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    The hotel host was very nice and did what she could with her limited resources. I'm not quite sure why she couldn't offer us another room though. It has a nice porch and view.

    The place is extremely overpriced for what it is. The beds were very uncomfortable, the television didn't work, lighting was too poor to read by, only cold water at sink. We paid for 2 nights in advance and left after 1 night, no refund. We cut our trip short because of these poor accomodations. This place is worth half of what is charged.

    Property response:

    It’s amazing to see that you can suggest what our prices should be. You booked a room with Mountain View and when you didn’t get what you wanted you leave and expect a refund. It’s so sad to come across individuals like you. Bullying and expecting people to bow to you because it a black owned business.

    It’s amazing to see that you can suggest what our prices should be. You booked a room with Mountain View and when you didn’t get what you wanted you leave and expect a refund. It’s so sad to come across individuals like you. Bullying and ex… Show more

    Sugar Patch Inn
    29 April 2025
  • Denise

    Reviewed: 26 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    View, proximity to shops, restaurants, and beach

    No drinking water, no housekeeping, owner sharing the same common area with his phone and tablet on speaker

    Property response:

    I am sorry that you have to to lie about no housekeeping. On the morning of the 3rd day housekeeping stop by to to clean the room and you refused . The housekeeper took the used towels and gave you a new one. As for drinking I purchase my own drinking water. To you a dozen beers were more important to you than drinking water. We do have standards here at Sugar Patch Inn, I guess that I am a challenging because told you not to do your laundry in the face basin and not to erect your personal cloth line on the balcony. You need to have consideration for other guest . There are clothing lines in the garden for all guest to used freely.

    I am sorry that you have to to lie about no housekeeping. On the morning of the 3rd day housekeeping stop by to to clean the room and you refused . The housekeeper took the used towels and gave you a new one. As for drinking I purchase my… Show more

    Sugar Patch Inn
    26 January 2025
  • Teresa

    Reviewed: 8 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Irene

    Reviewed: 24 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    Breakfast was delicious every day. Owner was kind & accommodating. hammock was amazing

  • Kevin

    Reviewed: 6 April 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    Great location on Outskirts of Hopkins. Close walk to Beach

    Wayne talked to much….Lol He’s a great Listener🤡 Loved everything about Sugar Patch. Would recommend

    Property response:

    You are welcome anytime Sir, Great conversations and laughter. Stay safe .

    Sugar Patch Inn
    16 April 2024
  • Skilly

    Reviewed: 24 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    Lovely spot, breakfast was good, beach two minutes walk away. Has pretty much everything you need, and a decent value for Hopkins.

    A little on the south end of town so have to walk a bit (~10m) to town and the grocery stores, but no real biggie.

    Property response:

    Thank you very much for staying with us, we would love to have here once again in the near future.

    Sugar Patch Inn
    28 March 2024
  • See the property
  • Carol

    Reviewed: 17 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review

    Wayne was a great host, helpful and so personable. Sugar Patch is very close to the beach and we used one of Wayne's double kayaks for half a day. He also provided us with a ride to catch the bus. A great place!

    Sugar Patch is right on the highway so the road noise was noticeable.

    Property response:

    Thanks and come on back soon you guys were great

    Sugar Patch Inn
    17 January 2024
  • Catherine

    Reviewed: 30 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review

    The owner was nice and kind offering us a drink the first night as we were upset by an uncomfortable taxi experience.

    The location- right in town was not a good thing here . We felt a bit unsafe with groups of men often hanging around intimidating us , taxi drivers ripping us off and the feeling everyone was out for your money .The town had a lot of rain whilst we were there causing the property to flood outside and create pooling in a lot of areas hence mosquitoes. However , I understand you can’t predict the weather ,but there is not enough infrastructure around the town to cope with the flooding. The nearby beach was littered . The room was very rudimentary with the shower hit and Miss for hot water and things taped together. No breakfast that was “included “ due to black out the first day and we declined the 2nd day after being woken up way too early to ask if we wanted some plus we lacked confidence in the facilities.

    Property response:

    I am sorry that you feel this way about Sugar Patch Inn . Anyway thanks for staying with us.

    Sugar Patch Inn
    1 November 2023
  • Tammymd

    Reviewed: 25 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023

    Verified review

    We loved the location, close to everything and the perfect beach. We swam with Manatees right off of shore which is an amazing experience.

    The beds could have been a tad softer. Other than that, we didn't want to leave.

    Property response:

    Hoping to see you soon in the near future. You were a wonderful guest.

    Sugar Patch Inn
    16 April 2024
  • See the property
  • Robert

    Reviewed: 17 February 2023 · Stayed in February 2023

    Verified review

    Comfortable, quiet room. Helpful friendly staff.

    the sea view rooms were booked up and would have been even nicer

  • Murray

    Reviewed: 13 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023

    Verified review

    good value, great staff

    difficulty with hot water availability

    Property response:

    It’s a great pleasure meeting and having you all staying with us. Come on back anytime and let the fun begin. By the way preserve that name Murray it is precious.

    Sugar Patch Inn
    16 April 2024
  • Amy

    Reviewed: 4 January 2023 · Stayed in December 2022

    Verified review

    We had 2 rooms on the upper floor. The view out to the ocean was very nice. The doors to the rooms were on a upper deck which had a great view and ocean breezes. The middle level of the house had a large outdoor deck that had a couple picnic tables and chairs for congregating. The rooms were clean, had a small fridge. The bathrooms were modern. The hotel provided coffee grounds, sugar, coffee filters and a coffee maker in the room. We only stayed one night but if we were staying longer I would have enjoyed making my own drip coffee and sitting on the deck enjoying the views and breeze. There is a very friendly dog named Jack which made my kids' day. The hotel is located down the main street in Hopkins. I was happy we had a car but the main part was within walking distance if you like to walk. The hotel has off street car parking. If you are looking for clean comfort and quiet then the Sugar Patch Inn can't be beat. If you want to be in the heart of things, probably not the right place for you.

    The Sugar Patch Inn sits on the back half of an ocean front lot. So you can see and walk to the ocean but there is a small house and another building between the Sugar Patch Inn and the ocean. The beach had quite a bit of plastic trash and ocean debris on it. However, we were visiting right after a hurricane and during the holidays so I'm not sure that our experience with the beach near the Sugar Patch Inn is reflectively of its normal state. This is not an ocean front hotel like in Placencia or San Pedro so don't expect the beach to be groomed to perfection. I wasn't expecting anything like that so I didn't really mind the beach. We still enjoyed walking on it.

    Property response:

    Thank you very much for your overall point of view. We tried to make our establishment as easy going as possible. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry that I wasn't there to meet you. Safe travels and an enjoyable New Year

    Sugar Patch Inn
    5 January 2023
  • See the property
  • Eliza

    Reviewed: 30 December 2022 · Stayed in December 2022

    Verified review
  • Stan

    Reviewed: 5 December 2022 · Stayed in December 2022

    Verified review
  • Showing 1 - 18

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...