Reviews of Playa De Sala Boutique Hotel 5 stars
4.5 miles South San Pedro. Boca Ciega, San Pedro, Belize

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewComfortable king bed, amenities- coffee maker, hot water kettle for tea, ice, filtered water- large room with beautiful views. Great spa type of shower.
Location was a bit far from San Pedro (5 miles) via a very bumpy road on a golf cart
Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified review10 to the staff, especially Melissa, giving us lot of advices on what to do. And also thanks to Joshua, the Manager, for making our stay perfect.
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and for highlighting our team! We’re thrilled to hear that Melissa and Joshua made such a positive impact on your stay, they’ll be delighted to know their efforts were appreciated. We’re also grateful for your perfect scores on staff, cleanliness, comfort, and value for money. Your comments about location and facilities are noted as well, and we’ll continue working to enhance the overall guest experience. It was a true pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Playa De Sala soon!
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and for highlighting our team! We’re thrilled to hear that Melissa and Joshua made such a positive impact on your stay, they’ll be delighted to know their efforts were appreciated. We’re also gr… Show more
Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewI cannot be more grateful to everyone at Playa De Sala! The location is beautiful, quiet and peaceful. The food is so lovely and the rooms were clean and so unique. Most importantly, the staff were amazing. I’ve made some friends for life! A huge huge shoutout to Melissa, Princess, Jacob and Shawn who made my stay unforgettable and helped me through getting my lost luggage, taking me into town and making my stay so comfortable. Thank you for everything and I can’t wait to be back.
Wow, thank you so much for sharing such a thoughtful review! We’re beyond grateful to hear how much you enjoyed the peaceful setting, delicious food, and unique rooms at Playa De Sala. Our team will be overjoyed to know they made such an impact, Melissa, Princess, Jacob, and Shawn will be especially touched by your kind words. We’re so glad we could make your stay comfortable and help with your luggage adventure along the way. Knowing you left with lifelong friendships is exactly what we hope for every guest. We can’t wait to welcome you back for another unforgettable stay!
Wow, thank you so much for sharing such a thoughtful review! We’re beyond grateful to hear how much you enjoyed the peaceful setting, delicious food, and unique rooms at Playa De Sala. Our team will be overjoyed to know they made such an im… Show more
Reviewed: 18 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewIt was right on the water front with beautiful views from the well appointed rooms.
I can’t really say anything bad about the property or the staff who were all accommodating and friendly.
Thank you so much for your lovely words we really enjoyed having you stay with us. We hope to see you again.
Reviewed: 18 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 10 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewA little further from the town but amazing hotel, friendly staff and great food. Woke up to sunrise and the small beach from my room every morning. The room was superb, comfortable, modern and there is no noise around. Would recommend!
Just a little further from town for my work trip but was worth the distance !
Thank you so much for your kind review and for recommending us! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay—the peaceful surroundings, beautiful sunrises, comfortable modern room, and of course, our friendly team and great food. We understand that our location is a bit further from town, and we truly appreciate your understanding and kind words about it being worth the distance. It was a pleasure having you with us, and we hope to welcome you back—whether for work or relaxation—again soon.
Thank you so much for your kind review and for recommending us! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay—the peaceful surroundings, beautiful sunrises, comfortable modern room, and of course, our friendly team and great food. We u… Show more
Reviewed: 8 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewIt’s a perfect place to escape the stress, with no noise, few people, peace and calm.
Everything was good
Thank you for your kind words. We're so happy to hear that you found our property to be the perfect escape from stress and appreciated the peaceful, quiet atmosphere. It’s always our goal to provide a relaxing and serene experience for our guests, and we're glad everything met your expectations. We truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back for another peaceful getaway in the future.
Thank you for your kind words. We're so happy to hear that you found our property to be the perfect escape from stress and appreciated the peaceful, quiet atmosphere. It’s always our goal to provide a relaxing and serene experience for… Show more
Reviewed: 6 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThis property is located on the south part of the island, so if you are into the party scene….the strip with all the restaurants and being close to the action… You probably won’t like this property because it is super Quiet and out of the way. It’s about a good 20 to 30 minute ride on a golf cart and as you get closer if you are riding at night it is pretty dark. That made looking at the stars 1000x better. However, there was no point to where we felt unsafe. The staff is super nice and welcoming and also very helpful. You have access to sunscreen and bug spray if you do need that. The restaurant has amazing views and the food is really excellent. This is perfect for a couple who is looking for more laid-back vacation, but you still have access to make your way around the island should you want to make your way to secret beach, or explore some of the beach bars.
Nothing to not like.
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful and secluded setting, the stunning stargazing, and the warm hospitality from our team. It’s great to know you found the restaurant views and food excellent, and that the little touches—like complimentary sunscreen and bug spray—helped make your stay more comfortable. We especially appreciate your thoughtful insight for future guests, and we’re so glad you felt safe and well taken care of throughout your visit. Our location is indeed best suited for those seeking a laid-back, romantic getaway with the flexibility to explore the island at their own pace, and we’re thrilled that it was a perfect fit for your vacation. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another peaceful escape. Playa De Sala
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful and secluded setting, the stunning stargazing, and the warm hospitality from our team. It’s great to know y… Show more
Reviewed: 24 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewStaff was awesome. We all went out 😎
Thank you for the review we hope to host you back soon.
Reviewed: 21 February 2025 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewThe staff was great
The location was not so good. Roads are very bad
Reviewed: 19 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 12 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewBeautiful location, lovely staff, and great owner. I would stay here again.
The food was costly, the location was very far by golf cart (method of travel), the main roads were horrible potholes everywhere.
Thank you Sonya. I really enjoyed our chats and we do miss having you around here. Hope to see you again soon. Warm regards Forest Sala
Reviewed: 31 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewI like the vibe of the resort. It was clean and welcoming. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I liked that it was right on the water with a private beach.
Although the hotel is nice, the location is a little too far out from activities. The food was very mediocre and bland. The Internet (or lack thereof) was very lackluster. The property was advertised as “all inclusive “ which it definitely is not.
Thank you for your feedback! We’re thrilled you enjoyed the welcoming vibe, cleanliness, and friendly staff at our resort, as well as the private beach and waterfront location. We understand that the island’s activities, primarily located on the water or at Secret Beach, may feel a bit farther out, but this is true for all resorts on the island due to the unique layout of San Pedro. Regarding the food, we’re proud of the numerous awards our restaurant has received, but we recognize that taste is subjective and varies from person to person. As for the internet, we do provide the fastest speed available on the island, though we understand it may differ from what’s offered in other countries. Finally, we’d like to clarify that while Playa De Sala does not advertise itself as an all-inclusive resort, we do offer optional all-inclusive packages. Guests who book our standard rates may miss out on certain additional perks included in those packages. We appreciate your visit and your comments, which help us to continue improving. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Thank you for your feedback! We’re thrilled you enjoyed the welcoming vibe, cleanliness, and friendly staff at our resort, as well as the private beach and waterfront location. We understand that the island’s activities, primarily located o… Show more
Reviewed: 16 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewPrivate, quiet, good food, amazing customer service
It’s advertised as a swingers/nude hotel. Definitely is not, although private definitely not nude. No one to swing with. Also, extremely far from literally everything once the kitchen is closed there’s nothing! If you have a “bad back” definitely shouldn’t stay, the distance on golf cart with no pavement is a looooooong distance.
Natasha Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re thrilled you enjoyed the privacy, food, and customer service at Playa De Sala—those are all key parts of the experience we strive to offer. To clarify, we are not advertised as a swingers or nudist hotel. Unfortunately, a single TripAdvisor review mistakenly mentioned this in the past, but even the comments on that post confirmed it was not true. Nudist resorts or swinger hotels are not part of the offerings in Belize, as this isn’t common here. We also understand that our location may not suit everyone. Being tucked away in a private and peaceful part of the island is part of our charm, but we recognize that it can feel remote if guests are expecting easier access Warm and Sunny regards Forest Sala
Natasha Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re thrilled you enjoyed the privacy, food, and customer service at Playa De Sala—those are all key parts of the experience we strive to offer. To clarify, we are not advertised as a swingers … Show more
Reviewed: 13 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewThe property was beautiful and very accommodating to all our needs . The staff went out of their way to help us . The room was great and they even had it decorated for my Birthday including champagne ! Forest and her staff are the nicest people and she makes you feel like family . The resort has art work of her parents who were professional painters inside and out .The place is unique. Far away from town to be private and a quiet retreat . The food is excellent , one of my favorite resorts . We will be back !
The cleanliness and all the unique art work The private pool was right outside are room Beautiful restaurant on the roof Outstanding food
I have to say it was an absolute pleasure for myself and the staff to have you stay with us. We enjoyed your conversation and your company. Its not the same without you here. We hope you come back sooner than later. Warm regards Forest Sala
I have to say it was an absolute pleasure for myself and the staff to have you stay with us. We enjoyed your conversation and your company. Its not the same without you here. We hope you come back sooner than later. Warm regards Forest Sal… Show more
Reviewed: 9 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewI loved this property and the staff! Everyone was friendly and treated me very well. I was able to meet the owner who was very personable and will forever have a lasting impression on me. What she has done with this property has created a space where everyone is treated like family and more businesses she operate like hers.
I loved everything about this place.
It was a pleasure meeting you. All the staff and myself really enjoyed having you stay with us I was a sad day when you left. We all hope to see you again soon. Warm and sunny Regards Forest Sala
Reviewed: 1 September 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 9 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewThe food was delicious. Very private and secluded. Rooms are very nice and have there own touch.
I would consider if you want to go to San Pedro city often or secret beach. On golf cart, secret beach is 1 1/2 hr away. I wouldn't be out late because hotel isnt near other places so you do not want to be on a dark road for an hour.
Hello Paris, We want to thank you for the great review and we are happy to have hosted you and we sincerely hope to host you back soon. Sunny regards, Management Playa de Sala
Reviewed: 8 February 2024 · Stayed in January 2024
Verified reviewI did not like the property. The swimming pool, the beach and amenities were a joke and they look nothing like the pictures
That does not provide amenities according to the rating provided by Booking.com. The location is terrible and in the middle of nowhere and an area it does not look clean or safe
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I’m truly sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, and I regret that you chose to leave for another hotel. We always strive to provide our guests with a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and I’m sorry we fell short during your visit. I’d like to address a few of your concerns: Amenities and Property Conditions: I’m sorry to hear that you found our pool, beach, and amenities disappointing. We take great pride in ensuring our facilities match the descriptions and photos we provide. The photos you saw were taken using a standard iPhone, and we believe they accurately represent the property. However, I understand that personal preferences and expectations can vary, and I apologize that we did not meet yours in this regard. Location and Safety: We’re situated in a peaceful and serene part of the island, and I understand that our location may not appeal to every guest. However, I want to assure you that we take safety very seriously. Our property is located in the southern part of the island, which is regularly patrolled, making it one of the safest areas for visitors. We also have a dedicated security team to ensure that our guests feel secure at all times. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts, as this helps us improve and refine the experience we offer. We take all feedback seriously and will use it to make sure we can provide the best possible stay for all future guests. Again, I regret that we were unable to meet your expectations and hope you find accommodations that better suit your needs in the future. Warm and sunny regards Forest Sala
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I’m truly sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, and I regret that you chose to leave for another hotel. We always strive to provide our guests with a comfortable and enjoyabl… Show more
Reviewed: 28 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023
Verified reviewIt was modern and the cooks in the kitchen, bar tender, and the handyman were wonderful people. However, we encountered a series of very unfortunate events during our stay.
1. Our room flooded in the middle of the night due to a failed plumbing fitting. The handyman, at the direction of the owner, was fast to help us mop up the water and he fixed it in the morning, again he was outstanding and kind. 2. Requested feather free linens and pillows- major allergy, I broke out in hives on my neck - something had feathers, and I feel they did not take my allergy seriously. 3. I booked a tour through the hotel- Upon arrival nobody knew about it and we had to wait for 2 hours for a family favorite tour operator to come to the hotel to help us rebook. We were told cash was the only method accepted. This was not luxury . 4. Hotel management issues with administration, check-in, and staff conflicts starting with both the manager and bartender being let-go but later returning and our prior correspondence regarding tours and arrival being lost. I don’t feel guests should be informed of internal staffing strife or conflicts. 5. Overpriced. 6. We were not asked if our clothes were soaked, nothing - we did not move rooms, it was truly not a luxury hotel. The folks working in the kitchen - they were so nice and the food was very good. The Handyman saved us during the room being flooded. He was amazing and worked so hard, even filling-in as a cook when needed. Overall - it was not a good experience- at a “luxury” hotel . The drive is very long to the hotel via golf club. It is very very dark with massive pot holes in the road. It took us 30-45 mins to get into town via a golf cart.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you experienced several challenges during your visit. We always strive to provide a welcoming and comfortable experience for all of our guests, and I deeply regret that we fell short in your case. I’d like to address a few of the points you mentioned: Room Flooding: I’m glad to hear the handyman was able to assist promptly. It’s certainly not an ideal situation, and I appreciate your understanding as we worked to resolve the issue quickly. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this caused. Feather-Free Linens: I completely understand the importance of managing allergies and, as someone who is hypersensitive to feathers myself, we make every effort to ensure all our linens are hypoallergenic. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations on this front and will work to review our processes to ensure this doesn't happen again. Tour Booking Issues: I’m truly sorry for the confusion with your tour booking. It seems there was a miscommunication, and I understand how frustrating it must have been to wait. We will ensure that better communication is in place for future bookings so that this doesn’t happen again. Hotel Management and Staff Transitions: I understand that internal issues and staffing changes can be unsettling, and I regret that you were made aware of our internal challenges. Please be assured that we are fully committed to providing exceptional service, regardless of any behind-the-scenes changes. Overpricing: We strive to offer a premium experience, but I understand if the value did not meet your expectations. We take all guest feedback seriously and will review our pricing to ensure it aligns with the experience we offer. Condition of the Property: I sincerely apologize that the road to the hotel and the overall condition of the property detracted from your experience. We are continuously working to improve the road with the government. Our facilities and surroundings, and your feedback is valuable in this process. Again, I want to thank you for recognizing the wonderful efforts of our kitchen staff and handyman. They are truly dedicated, and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them. I hope you’ll consider giving us another chance in the future. We are committed to making improvements and ensuring that all our guests have the exceptional experience they deserve.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you experienced several challenges during your visit. We always strive to provide a welcoming and comfortab… Show more
Reviewed: 26 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewWhat a beautiful hotel and amazing staff. I highly recommend it! From the moment you arrive, they learn your name and make sure to take care of anything you need. The beds are amazing and the rooms are super comfortable. As there are only five rooms, it was pretty quiet, but with as much drinks, fun and good as you wanted to add. We spent an entire day just drifting from the pool, to our deck, to the bar and back. Lovely!
We had the red curry with shrimp and it was amazing. The chicken pieces were also delicious. On the other hand, we had the fresh fish for dinner and each had two of the sides, trying four of them and the sides were just so-so. It's also a 20- minute golf cart ride from town, so it's nice to be in the quiet beauty, but takes a bit to get into town.
Hi Elizabeth, Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so glad to see that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you on your next trip to Belize!