Reviews of Belizean Nirvana
Beachfront Placencia, Westby Way, 50432 Placencia Village, Belize

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Valenciennes, France
Pigeon Forge, United States
Shimoda, Japan
Pamukkale, Turkey
Bük, Hungary
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Moscow, Russia
Jaisalmer, India
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 20 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewBreakfast could have been more of a variety, but was palatable and fresh
breakfast and the hours. Could have been for longer a it is only an hour and not too sufficient but the staff were great!
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast and try to accommodate guests schedule for tours.
Reviewed: 19 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewEverything was better than we could hope for. The location was great with everything within a short walk, feet from the warm ocean and the rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable. You will not regret staying here!
Thank you and glad you enjoyed you stay with us
Reviewed: 8 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 8 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThis property has a professional staff that makes it a great experience. They go above and beyond to ensure you’re comfortable and have everything you need.
There’s nothing to complain about, I loved it all.
Thank you and glad you enjoyed your stay
Reviewed: 8 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 29 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewIt's right on the beach, walking distance to everything. The space had a nice front porch & AC, beds were fine so we slept well. The folks there were friendly & helpful in answering questions. We had sargassum seaweed take over the beach so we didn't use it but they had pool passes to the beach club that picked us up by golf cart & we all loved our chill time there, especially the kids.
The decor wasn't easy beach comfort. The lighting was either too bright or too dark & the flow with doors to bedroom & bathroom were cumbersome (one blocked the other if open). It's fine if you're out all day (like most people) but if you're looking for a place to hang, mingle with other guests during the day, this doesn't feel like the place for that.
Thank you for the feedback, and sorry our decor was not what you were looking for. Unfortunately the sargassum is all over the Caribbean and many countries struggle with trying to keep it clean.
Reviewed: 2 April 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewThe location was perfect. Easy walk to many good places to eat and live entertainment. The breakfast available each day was wonderful. Would highly recommend staying at the Belizean Nirvana to anyone vacationing in Placencia.
Nothing comes to mind.
Thank you and glad you enjoyed your stay at our property
Reviewed: 10 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewAmazing location on the beachfront and with great access to local shops and restaurants
N/A, stay was very good
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate it and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Reviewed: 7 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThe Belizean Nirvana was an excellent place for a vacation. The host and staff treat you like family.
Thank you and so glad you enjoyed our Nirvana
Reviewed: 24 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewBarbara and Evan, owners of the property, were very informative and accommodating. The staff were truly kind and helpful when we needed anything. The room we booked was the one bedroom deluxe suite ocean front- named the “Namaste”. It had a full kitchen, dining area, and spacious living room. There were two full baths; one in the bedroom. The bedroom was very spacious and the suite itself was large for my husband and I. From the bedroom, there is a door that leads to the balcony and the balcony can be accessed through double doors from the living room which overlooks the ocean.
There is nothing we disliked.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay
Reviewed: 17 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 2 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewNice place but we found a cockroach.
The issue was the owner. We drove from San Ignacio so didn’t know our timing. We were early by about an hour. He lectured and scolded us. Ridiculous. Such a bad start. His worker was cutting weeds and a rock hit the back windshield of our car - in his secure parking lot. He never acknowledged or apologized at all. Just could have been so much kinder. Really rude owner. Staff was lovely.
I am sorry you did not have a good experience. It is unfortunate that you perceived the tone that was used in trying to accommodate your early arrival was as being scolded. Please accept my apologies. I spoke with the worker and he stated that he had not even started to do any yard work yet when you and your partner drove up to the yard. You parked the car, got out and opened the back door and you and he heard a loud pop and when your partner closed the door the glass shattered. The worker immediately got construction plastic and tape to secure the opening for you. The worker also stated that when your partner made the comment that they gave you an “curse word” old car, he said he even offered to be a witness on your behalf to car rental company and you responded that you had international insurance that covers that. While the vehicle was in our lot when it shattered with you there, it was not caused by any work being done in the yard since the worker had not started when you drove up. It is unfortunate that you did not tell us about any of these incidents at any time since the owner was not there when it happened, and you saw one of the owners before 7 am when you were leaving and when asked if there was an emergency when you came banging on the staff door, you responded, you have to leave early. Unfortunately in the Tropics you have waterbugs/roaches, geckos, and lizards We pride ourselves in keeping our property very clean and spray frequently. I will reach out to Booking and give you a refund for your stay.
I am sorry you did not have a good experience. It is unfortunate that you perceived the tone that was used in trying to accommodate your early arrival was as being scolded. Please accept my apologies. I spoke with the worker and he stated… Show more
Reviewed: 31 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewComfort, clean, location and the detail they put into things in our room that are not usually included in your stay.
Honestly cannot think of one thing.
Thank you and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Reviewed: 26 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 18 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewLocation was good, close to most things you would like for a relaxing vacation, bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Continental breakfast was a nice touch in the morning. Staffing was very pleasant.
The only thing that was inconvenient was the distance to pull your luggage to get to your room but you only need to do it twice on your vacation but they do have a service to retrieve it for you and were happy to do it.
Thank you for your review- because there is no way to drive up to the hotel since we are on the beach, we make arrangements to meet our guests at the roadside and bring in their luggage. Next time we will try to coordinate to assist with the luggage.
Thank you for your review- because there is no way to drive up to the hotel since we are on the beach, we make arrangements to meet our guests at the roadside and bring in their luggage. Next time we will try to coordinate to assist with t… Show more
Reviewed: 5 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewGreat location & low key, under the radar reserved experience. Very good management. Price is good to ensure a level of exclusivity to ensure guest privacy is maintained & customer service is reasonable.
Furnishings a little bit dated (i.e., couch in living room) & front area patio chair... could be a little more fresher... but acceptable for stay.
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.
Reviewed: 29 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewThe pictures and reviews really do not capture how remarkable this place, the hosts and staff are. This was my 15th trip to Belize so I have stayed at many places. This was by far the best and only place I will staying from here on. I already reserved for next year. The suite was perfect with a huge jacuzzi tub and very large private sitting area with hammocks and chairs looking out to the blue ocean. Two sets of french doors lead to the balcony. The location is right off the main sidewalk and yards from the sandy beach. Despite how close it is to everything, it is very quiet and peaceful. No need for a car-everything is here! No need to bring a lot because everything is right in your suite. Every time I thought of something I wanted from bandaids to brooms to luxurious robes I found them right in my suite. I only got breakfast once because I left early every day for different activities. They will gladly deliver it to your room. So kind, welcoming and ready to help any time. The place is immaculately clean and unlike any place I have ever stayed in Belize, always plenty of hot water and great water pressure. There is no detail they left out. I cannot wait to return to this heaven on earth place.
I cannot think.of anyway it could have been better.
Thank you so much - you were an amazing guest and look forward to your next visit.
Reviewed: 13 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewLoved being right on the beach. Everything was within walking distance. Staff was very friendly. They picked us up and dropped us off at the airport. Enjoyed the hammock on our porch every day. Used the kayaks a couple times too.
I do not have anything negative to say about the property
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Reviewed: 4 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewWe loved the beachfront location and it was easy to walk to restaurants, stores, and tour operators. While the property had bikes available, we didn't need to use them. Also, no need to rent a car and if you do rent a car, note that there isn't parking at the property, you will still have to walk from parking. We flew Tropic Air from Belize City and it was worth it. Plus, the property offers free pick up and drop off at the Placencia airport. This is a small, family owned and operated property. The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. With only 5 units available, it was quiet with a laid back feel and you never feel crowded. The beach was well maintained and beautiful. There were lounge chairs, tables, kayaks and paddle boards to use at no cost. They also provide beach towels, so no need to pack them. Our unit was on the second floor, which was named Namaste. It had a full kitchen and 2 full baths, which was more than the 2 of us needed but was nice to have. We had a large balcony with 4 chairs, 2 foot rests and 2 hammocks. We loved napping in the hammocks. The team offers breakfast daily on the rooftop terrace. While it is pretty simple, it is a nice offering to get your day started. If you have an early outing or it is raining, they will bring breakfast to your room. Overall, we felt it was a great location and experience for the price. We would definitely visit again.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your say with us and hope you will return. Evan, Barbara and the Nirvana team
Reviewed: 23 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewGreat location, very clean, excellent staff
Thanks glad you enjoyed your stay Evan and Barbara
Reviewed: 19 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewEverything was great! The location was perfect. The room had everything we needed. Every staff member we met was friendly and helpful. I talked to other tourists while in Placencia and none of them seemed to have better accomodations than Belizean Nirvana.
Thank you and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Reviewed: 16 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 8 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewGreat customer Service.Exceptional Staff , on the beach . Center of Town close to restaurant, supermarket and walking distance to everything.Very Clean comfortable bed.
Did not find anything that we didn’t like.
Thank you and glad you enjoyed your start with us. Nirvana Team
Reviewed: 16 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewFriendly. Wonderful staff. Comfortable beds. Perfect location!
Thank you - glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Reviewed: 9 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified review