Reviews of Hostellerie La Claire Fontaine, Logis hôtels & Spa 4 stars
64, Rue Vecpré, 6980 La Roche-en-Ardenne, Belgium

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Ayr, United Kingdom
Ascona, Switzerland
Gurgaon, India
Rovinj, Croatia
Cowes, United Kingdom
Ksamil, Albania
Erice, Italy
Solo, Indonesia
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe look of the property and feel when staying here is homely and relaxing. The food was great and the staff ever so polite and friendly and helpful. The building has mix of new and old to it very characterful.
The roadside location isn’t ideal as we had a dog. Although there is one forest walk that takes you away from the roads( there is very little footpaths to the country roads). The bedroom was a little dated in the bathroom needing regroutting as there was some black mould near the bath tub on the tiles and the sink tap was not secure.
Thank you for taking your time to share your impressions of your stay with us. We are happy that you have found satisfaction at the Hostellerie de la Claire Fontaine. We take good note of your remark, thanks. We would be just as happy to welcome you during your next visit to the Ardennes.
Thank you for taking your time to share your impressions of your stay with us. We are happy that you have found satisfaction at the Hostellerie de la Claire Fontaine. We take good note of your remark, thanks. We would be just as happy to we… Show more
Reviewed: 20 August 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewFantastic location and facilities, friendly staff, super dog friendly, awesome breakfast. Parking and restaurant, service by the pool/terrace. The spa was amazing for our taste.
Only small issue, the balcony door was a bit faulty and needs looking at, but not a huge bother.
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hostellerie de la Claire Fontaine. We are always happy to have a follow-up after the stay of our customers and we are even more so when your stay went well. Again, we take good note of your remark for the door of the ballony, thank you. See you again in the Ardennes.
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hostellerie de la Claire Fontaine. We are always happy to have a follow-up after the stay of our customers and we are even more so when your stay went well. Again, we take good note of your remar… Show more
Reviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 30 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewpool, location and food
no airconditioning in the room and verry poor ventilation, we were cooking ourselves from the inside out
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our new pool area, the hotel's ideal location, and the quality of our restaurant service. We are sorry that your stay did not meet all of your expectations. The room you stayed in is well insulated and faces north. It is also true that you stayed with us during a heatwave. The room category you booked does not have air conditioning. Please do not hesitate to ask us for another type of room (superior) with air conditioning during your next stay. We remain at your disposal and hope to welcome you back to our establishment. Best regards.
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our new pool area, the hotel's ideal location, and the quality of our restaurant service. We are sorry that your st… Show more
Reviewed: 22 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewClean and comfortable rooms, with a good breakfast and parking on site.
Whilst the room-rate was reasonable, the on-site restaurant was expensive (but good) and the 40-minute walk into town left little alternative. The description on Booking.com also states "mountain view" which there wasn't - the room looked out over the main road outside and then the tree-lined hillside!
Reviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewwonderful experience and very hospitable and accommodating staff
some furniture items in the cabin’s need maintanance .. i.e. chair and tub
Thank you for taking your time to share your impressions of your stay with us. We are happy that you have found satisfaction at the Hostellerie de la Claire Fontaine and take good note of your comments, tank you. We would be just as happy to welcome you during your next visit to the Ardennes.
Thank you for taking your time to share your impressions of your stay with us. We are happy that you have found satisfaction at the Hostellerie de la Claire Fontaine and take good note of your comments, tank you. We would be just as happy t… Show more
Reviewed: 9 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 3 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 3 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 2 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 29 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewI liked the location. The breakfast offered a respectable range of food choices. Coffee was terrible, unfortunately. Made by a push-button machine.
However the room was offered as a "suite" but it was not a genuine suite. The decoration seemed outmoded. The bed was not of a modern standard, it seemed old. No boxspring. Bed linen seemed old. The remodelled bathroom was equipped with a bathtub and a handheld shower. This combination was intensely dangerous for someone like me, with stability issues, because I need a stable, flat, wet environment. There was no security rail to hold onto, so the shower was not a pleasant experience.
Reviewed: 28 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewVery kind staff, good food and a nice landscape around.
No gsm network and no AC in the room.
Thank you for taking your time to share your impressions of your stay with us. We are happy that you have found satisfaction at the Hostellerie de la Claire Fontaine. Our Wifi is working good and there are telephones in the rooms. Don't hesitate to ask support at the reception. We would be just as happy to welcome you during your next visit to the Ardennes.
Thank you for taking your time to share your impressions of your stay with us. We are happy that you have found satisfaction at the Hostellerie de la Claire Fontaine. Our Wifi is working good and there are telephones in the rooms. Don't hes… Show more
Reviewed: 26 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewSecure bicycle parking in garage. Very good breakfast.
Bed was a bit narrow.
Reviewed: 20 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewGood welcome. Hotel in lovely gardens by the river. Good evening meal.
The room faced the road which was noisy during the day. It was a bit stuffy, no air con, with no way of keeping insects out if the door was open for ventilation. The bathroom was very narrow and cramped. Large car park. Breakfast was a bit lacking. Hot food was dried up scrambled egg or boil your own egg and the fruit was tired looking.
After reading your return after your stopover in the Ardennes, we send you our thanks. The success of your stay is important to us and we will continue our efforts in this direction. We take good note of yours comments and will handle it with the team of the breakfast, thank you. You can count on the Hostellerie of the Claire Fontaine to welcome you again.
After reading your return after your stopover in the Ardennes, we send you our thanks. The success of your stay is important to us and we will continue our efforts in this direction. We take good note of yours comments and will handle it wi… Show more
Reviewed: 15 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewVery good place to stay, right on the river, nice gardens. Very good restaurant. Excellent facilities.
There was a wedding and our room was very close to it so noisy
Thank you for taking your time to share your impressions of your stay with us. We are happy that you have found satisfaction at the Hostellerie de la Claire Fontaine. Our apologies for the noise of the night. We would be just as happy to welcome you during your next visit to the Ardennes.
Thank you for taking your time to share your impressions of your stay with us. We are happy that you have found satisfaction at the Hostellerie de la Claire Fontaine. Our apologies for the noise of the night. We would be just as happy to we… Show more
Reviewed: 13 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe location, the architecture, the swimming pool and the rooms.
Considering we were in Belgium, which is supposed to be the home of excellent food. It was not great. Would have preferred simple food rather than overly complicated small portions which pretty average.
Thank you for taking your time to share your impressions of your stay with us. We are happy that you have found satisfaction at the Hostellerie de la Claire Fontaine and we would be just as happy to welcome you during your next visit to the Ardennes. We take good note of your impression of the meals, thanks for your feed-back.
Thank you for taking your time to share your impressions of your stay with us. We are happy that you have found satisfaction at the Hostellerie de la Claire Fontaine and we would be just as happy to welcome you during your next visit to the… Show more
Reviewed: 18 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewLocation was good for our needs
The road noise at the front of the hotel is bad even with the windows closed, but when the windows are closed it was extremely hot so we didn’t get much sleep at all.
Following your comment, we thank you for taking the time to write it. We are pleased that you highlighted the location. On the other hand, we are sorry to have read that all of our services did not meet your requirements. We hope to welcome you soon for a stay that will meet your expectations.
Following your comment, we thank you for taking the time to write it. We are pleased that you highlighted the location. On the other hand, we are sorry to have read that all of our services did not meet your requirements. We hope to welcome… Show more
Reviewed: 25 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 15 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewNice and clean, good service, friendly stuff.
Booked a hotel fore the swimming pool, but is is still being built
Thank you for your return and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. However, we can see that you were expecting a swimming pool, which is advertised as available from 10 May on our website and which is not yet visible on booking. Please let us know where you found the information, thank you. We would be happy to see you again for a stay in the Ardennes; around the swimmingpool.
Thank you for your return and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. However, we can see that you were expecting a swimming pool, which is advertised as available from 10 May on our website and which is not yet visible on booking. Please let us… Show more
Reviewed: 4 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewWhat I loved about the hotel was that it was very clean and quiet, and the staff was very friendly. But the best advantage is that there are plenty of activities to do in the area. It’s centrally located for hiking, exploring nature, walking, visiting the dam, and so much more.
Dear, Many thank for your positive feedback. We're really pleased to hear you've enjoy your stay in La Clairefontaine for his quietude and the friendliness of our staff. La Roche and the surrounding area are suitable for many outdoor activities, the nature is fabulous ... Don't hesitate to ask us about more ideas during your next stay in the Ardennes. Best regards.
Dear, Many thank for your positive feedback. We're really pleased to hear you've enjoy your stay in La Clairefontaine for his quietude and the friendliness of our staff. La Roche and the surrounding area are suitable for many outdoo… Show more
Reviewed: 25 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewDelicious and tasty breakfast. Friendly staff who escorted us to our room. Good restaurant. Building is a combination of modern and old, very beautiful.
They are till renovating the hall on the second floor (at the time that we stayed there). Room itself was renewed! Door of the room was an old one.
Dear, Many thank you for your very positive feedback on your stay in our establishment. And we are sorry for any inconvenience caused by the minor refurbishment work carried out during your stay. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in the Ardennes. Yours sincerely
Dear, Many thank you for your very positive feedback on your stay in our establishment. And we are sorry for any inconvenience caused by the minor refurbishment work carried out during your stay. We hope to welcome you again during your ne… Show more
Reviewed: 2 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewExcellent food and facilities.
We sincerely thank you for your very positive comment and hope to welcome you again on a future stay in the Ardennes. Kind regards