7.8

Reviews of Le Fantôme de Berthe logement-attraction insolite

19 Rue de l'Eglise, 6980 La Roche-en-Ardenne, Belgium

  • Spyridon

    Reviewed: 31 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Very well decorated. Felt at home. Amazing shower

    Strict cleanup policy for the price point, wouldn't want to have to worry about that

  • 7.0 Good
    Heyvaert

    Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Paul

    Reviewed: 2 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    There's a bed, a shower and a toilet...and that's where the "fun" ends. You check in at least five days before and they take 200 Euros off you which supposedly they give back after 7 days after an inspection. The room is behind the company's office. How long does it take? There is a bin. But make sure you don't use it because they'll charge you €30 to empty it. Of course it's dark so the first thing you'll do is whack something while you find a light switch. To light the place properly there's about seven to find. (I dread to think what the carbon footprint is for a manufactured ambiance). Are the damaged bed, the broken mirror or the flickering lights something they're going to take out of your "deposit"? Or is any of the other stuff lying around going to be deemed "waste"? Or is it all part of the "game"? It's not an expensive room. Presumably the racket is that they take as much of your deposit as they can get away with.

    Property response:

    Dear, We’re sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. However, we do not fully understand your comments. The lighting is deliberately dim and the furniture is antique to match the medieval theme. The flickering lights and the game elements are also integrated into the decor to create an immersive experience without sacrificing comfort. If you were looking for something more modern or traditional, we also rent newly built accommodations with modern decor. We also don’t understand your remarks about the security deposit, as it was fully refunded to you…???

    Dear, We’re sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. However, we do not fully understand your comments. The lighting is deliberately dim and the furniture is antique to match the medieval theme. The flickering lights and the … Show more

    Le Fantôme de Berthe logement-attraction insolite
    12 July 2025
  • See the property
  • Katja

    Reviewed: 16 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Loved the quirky almost Edgar Allen Poe style experience. Lots of little trinkets around, it's intentionally dark and full of atmosphere. Still with modern facilities like a large walk-in shower. Staff not on site, but just around the corner in an office. Very detailed information on where to find the apartment and how to get in. Great location just behind the pedestrianised areas with bars ans restaurants.

    The escape room game was fun, yet very frustrating as we never knew what to do next. Brilliant idea, but I found it quite hard to solve compared to other ones I've done. Even with the hints we actually didn't manage to finish the game.

  • 7.0 Good
    Leslie

    Reviewed: 6 January 2025 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review
  • Lanslots

    Reviewed: 24 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Decoratie was mooi en audentiek

  • See the property
  • Jade

    Reviewed: 12 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review

    It was a very pretty room in a medieval style. We didn’t read the instructions very well so we were surprised to find the game in the room. I think it was a nice extra to the room and you aren’t obligated to participate. The shower is just WOW

    We missed a nightstand to put our phone or a beverage.

    Property response:

    Thank you Jade, We are taking good note of your remarks, we hope to see you again. Kind regards Ardn-bnb

    Le Fantôme de Berthe logement-attraction insolite
    13 December 2023
  • Vanspringel

    Reviewed: 16 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023

    Verified review

    Really special, different than other rooms. We really liked it!

    Lights were a little dim in some situations. We do realize that this adds to the character of the room.

  • Diane

    Reviewed: 19 July 2023 · Stayed in July 2023

    Verified review

    The property ethos is very good but it was far too dark. It would have been nice to have the option of brighter lighting if required. We didn’t play the game as arrived too late but I’m sure it’s alot of fun. Too dark to see many of the object in the room. It’s a beautiful idea and very romantic … in a medieval way. A kettle would have been good or at least instructions on how to use the coffee maker.

    Too dark

    Property response:

    Dear Diane, We are sorry the room did not fulfill your expectations. Please understand this is a féodal theme room. This means that we try to recreate the atmosphere of a room where there was no electricity and modern tools. Not an easy task to do with modern confort requirements. I feel sorry if you missed the point. but used furniture, broken items for the game, etc... Are there for a purpose not because of lack of maintenance like you mentioned. We also feel sorry you rated us so pourly after we offered you a bottle of cava for your birthday. We also feel sorry you rated us so pourly after all the intention and help we provided you during your stay and after. Really disappointing for all the team that worked hard to give you a smooth and pleasant stay. Kind regards Ardn-bnb

    Dear Diane, We are sorry the room did not fulfill your expectations. Please understand this is a féodal theme room. This means that we try to recreate the atmosphere of a room where there was no electricity and modern tools. Not an easy … Show more

    Le Fantôme de Berthe logement-attraction insolite
    19 July 2023
  • See the property
  • Paulo

    Reviewed: 7 April 2023 · Stayed in April 2023

    Verified review

    The place exceeded our expectations! The room has an amazing atmosphere and the game is very entertaining. Flat screen tv with Netflix, spacious warm shower, modern heating, espresso machine and a comfortable bed. Perfect for people visiting the feudal castle or for couples seeking a romantic evening.

    Property response:

    Thank you Paulo! You guys are always welcome.

    Le Fantôme de Berthe logement-attraction insolite
    8 April 2023
  • Anis

    Reviewed: 17 March 2023 · Stayed in March 2023

    Verified review
  • Axel

    Reviewed: 6 October 2022 · Stayed in September 2022

    Verified review

    Entering "le Fantôme de Berthe" was spectacular - we had fun discovering all the little details, decoration is very well done. The bathroom is spacious, we were able to park almost in front, you could walk everywhere in La Roche from there, we just loved the whole thing. We ended up booking an extra night!

    Not much negative to say, these are just details! There were a lot of (confusing) messages ahead of time, we had to pay a separate deposit (not on booking.com), and messages continued even after we did that. Not super relevant as it's a bonus, but we couldn't find instructions to start the game. We did play it using the clue envelopes and that was fun, but something was clearly missing and we weren't sure when it actually ended.

  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 13

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...