Reviews of Le Fantôme de Berthe logement-attraction insolite
19 Rue de l'Eglise, 6980 La Roche-en-Ardenne, Belgium

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 31 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewVery well decorated. Felt at home. Amazing shower
Strict cleanup policy for the price point, wouldn't want to have to worry about that
Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 2 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThere's a bed, a shower and a toilet...and that's where the "fun" ends. You check in at least five days before and they take 200 Euros off you which supposedly they give back after 7 days after an inspection. The room is behind the company's office. How long does it take? There is a bin. But make sure you don't use it because they'll charge you €30 to empty it. Of course it's dark so the first thing you'll do is whack something while you find a light switch. To light the place properly there's about seven to find. (I dread to think what the carbon footprint is for a manufactured ambiance). Are the damaged bed, the broken mirror or the flickering lights something they're going to take out of your "deposit"? Or is any of the other stuff lying around going to be deemed "waste"? Or is it all part of the "game"? It's not an expensive room. Presumably the racket is that they take as much of your deposit as they can get away with.
Dear, We’re sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. However, we do not fully understand your comments. The lighting is deliberately dim and the furniture is antique to match the medieval theme. The flickering lights and the game elements are also integrated into the decor to create an immersive experience without sacrificing comfort. If you were looking for something more modern or traditional, we also rent newly built accommodations with modern decor. We also don’t understand your remarks about the security deposit, as it was fully refunded to you…???
Dear, We’re sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. However, we do not fully understand your comments. The lighting is deliberately dim and the furniture is antique to match the medieval theme. The flickering lights and the … Show more
Reviewed: 16 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewLoved the quirky almost Edgar Allen Poe style experience. Lots of little trinkets around, it's intentionally dark and full of atmosphere. Still with modern facilities like a large walk-in shower. Staff not on site, but just around the corner in an office. Very detailed information on where to find the apartment and how to get in. Great location just behind the pedestrianised areas with bars ans restaurants.
The escape room game was fun, yet very frustrating as we never knew what to do next. Brilliant idea, but I found it quite hard to solve compared to other ones I've done. Even with the hints we actually didn't manage to finish the game.
Reviewed: 6 January 2025 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewDecoratie was mooi en audentiek
Reviewed: 12 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023
Verified reviewIt was a very pretty room in a medieval style. We didn’t read the instructions very well so we were surprised to find the game in the room. I think it was a nice extra to the room and you aren’t obligated to participate. The shower is just WOW
We missed a nightstand to put our phone or a beverage.
Thank you Jade, We are taking good note of your remarks, we hope to see you again. Kind regards Ardn-bnb
Reviewed: 16 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewReally special, different than other rooms. We really liked it!
Lights were a little dim in some situations. We do realize that this adds to the character of the room.
Reviewed: 19 July 2023 · Stayed in July 2023
Verified reviewThe property ethos is very good but it was far too dark. It would have been nice to have the option of brighter lighting if required. We didn’t play the game as arrived too late but I’m sure it’s alot of fun. Too dark to see many of the object in the room. It’s a beautiful idea and very romantic … in a medieval way. A kettle would have been good or at least instructions on how to use the coffee maker.
Too dark
Dear Diane, We are sorry the room did not fulfill your expectations. Please understand this is a féodal theme room. This means that we try to recreate the atmosphere of a room where there was no electricity and modern tools. Not an easy task to do with modern confort requirements. I feel sorry if you missed the point. but used furniture, broken items for the game, etc... Are there for a purpose not because of lack of maintenance like you mentioned. We also feel sorry you rated us so pourly after we offered you a bottle of cava for your birthday. We also feel sorry you rated us so pourly after all the intention and help we provided you during your stay and after. Really disappointing for all the team that worked hard to give you a smooth and pleasant stay. Kind regards Ardn-bnb
Dear Diane, We are sorry the room did not fulfill your expectations. Please understand this is a féodal theme room. This means that we try to recreate the atmosphere of a room where there was no electricity and modern tools. Not an easy … Show more
Reviewed: 7 April 2023 · Stayed in April 2023
Verified reviewThe place exceeded our expectations! The room has an amazing atmosphere and the game is very entertaining. Flat screen tv with Netflix, spacious warm shower, modern heating, espresso machine and a comfortable bed. Perfect for people visiting the feudal castle or for couples seeking a romantic evening.
Thank you Paulo! You guys are always welcome.
Reviewed: 17 March 2023 · Stayed in March 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 October 2022 · Stayed in September 2022
Verified reviewEntering "le Fantôme de Berthe" was spectacular - we had fun discovering all the little details, decoration is very well done. The bathroom is spacious, we were able to park almost in front, you could walk everywhere in La Roche from there, we just loved the whole thing. We ended up booking an extra night!
Not much negative to say, these are just details! There were a lot of (confusing) messages ahead of time, we had to pay a separate deposit (not on booking.com), and messages continued even after we did that. Not super relevant as it's a bonus, but we couldn't find instructions to start the game. We did play it using the clue envelopes and that was fun, but something was clearly missing and we weren't sure when it actually ended.