Reviews of Lama y Solo Unique private room walking distance to the Beach
22 Malmokweg, Palm-Eagle Beach, Aruba

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewVery aesthetically pleasing. Beautiful outdoors. Clean inside. Everything I needed was there even including hairdryer and hair styling tools.
N/A
Reviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewWe loved everything about this stay. The host Lars was super friendly and helpful with recommendations. The property was beautiful and so relaxing.Thank you for the snorkel gear, we snorkeled at the shipwreck and had a great time. And who can forget Irish the dog and the two cats. It really was a home away from home.
Hi Gary, Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us with your lovely wife. Enjoy the rest of your stay in Aruba 🇦🇼
Reviewed: 27 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewEverything was beautiful! from the room, the decor the bathroom, pool and patio! Everything was a 10! Gutted l didnt take pictures without me in it to share.
loved everything! there is nothing not to like!
Thank you Vigi for your stay
Reviewed: 26 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe property was absolutely amazing! I was welcomed with warm smiles and genuine kindness from the moment I arrived. The pool and outdoor areas were stunning, the room was spotless, and there were so many fun, thoughtful amenities. Everything was beautifully maintained and had such a relaxing vibe. I’d recommend this place in a heartbeat to anyone
Hi Florence, Happy to hear you found tranquility at our place. Always welcome to come back ♥️
Reviewed: 16 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewFirst of all when i got there the hosts were very welcoming and nice The location love it super quiet and very serene And the apartment amazing Overall I would definitely stay there again and would give it a 10+
Hi Annabelle, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your short stay with us and hopefully we can welcome you soon back in our home 🙌
Reviewed: 11 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 11 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewThe pool was great for relaxing after a busy day. The bed was comfy And adjustable. Ac was also Cold. Very quite place. Good location. Felt very safe there. Hosts are great. Would stay there again for sure
.going home.
Hi Tim Thank you for your review. Happy you both enjoyed your stay. Always welcome to come back!
Reviewed: 9 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewThe bed was comfy. Bathroom facilities were good. Yes, it's close to the beach. About a 10-15 minute walk. The TV was close to the bed. I didn't use it but many people would like that. Nice facilities in the backyard with a swimming pool and chairs and couches. The price was good. The air conditioner works well.
I wish I could stay longer. Because it is away from the main part of Aruba, renting a car is somewhat of a necessity for extended stays. Taxis are not too expensive though. Otherwise, the beach nearby I know has some decent snorkeling and you have a few good areas to eat in the vicinity. I also didn't like that the owners couldn't be there when I arrived. It caused me a little worry. But through the communication with Booking.com I was able to get in the room with no problems!
Thank you Charles
Reviewed: 15 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewVery nice place. Clean, comfortable, and unique. Very pleasant garden with small pool which I had all to myself. Zen-like setting. Fridge, microwave, silverware, a few dishes; comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Lars was very responsive, though I didn't see much of him since he's busy with various entrepreneurial ventures. Sheryl was away for the week. But all is as described in the many deservedly positive reviews.
The only thing I would suggest people understand is that "walking distance to the beach" is relative. It's a 10-15 minute walk in the blazing sun, and that gets you to a nice spot on the water for snorkeling but no sandy beach--it's rocky there. It's a short drive to multiple sandy beach options though. There's not much in the way of restaurants or bars within walking distance but, again, having a car or readiness to use public transport gets you lots of places pretty quickly.
Hi Arthur Thank you for your review. Regards Lars and Sheryl
Reviewed: 10 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewThe place is very cozy & peaceful. We love the Bohemian ambiance. The owner is very friendly.
Thank you for your great review
Reviewed: 15 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewClean swimming pool, good size of bedroom and bathroom.
The location is terrible, there is absolutely nothing in the surrounding area, the nearest market is 3 km away, you need to use a car for everything, there are no restaurants or bars in the area. The nearest beach is at least 600 meters away, so it's not a short walk as described on booking.com. Owners do not offer any service, I stayed at the inn for 4 days and not even the trash was removed from the bathroom. The room has a small fridge, but it's completely empty, not even a bottle of tap water inside, I had to drink warm water from the bathroom tap on my arrival, I repeat, there are no markets or restaurants in the area. The shower does not have temperature regulation, the water is either boiling or at natural temperature, which may be cold for some people. The shower stall does not have a door, so the bathroom gets very wet after a shower. The internet is very bad, it only loads written messages on WhatsApp, it doesn't load photos or audio messages, Instagram doesn't load either. People frequent the inn right in front of the room, the door is made of glass, so if you want some privacy you will have to keep the door and the curtain closed. The double bed is a junction of two single beds leaving a gap in the middle. Check out until 10 am is unjustifiable when check in is at 3 pm, the inn has only 1 room. Cost-benefit is tragic, payment only cash. I do not recommend the inn.
Hi Vanius, Thank you for your reply and I would love to reply on that regarding all points you made. 1) Location: The location is visible on booking.con and I even sent you the location by WhatsApp. This is Malmok, the most luxurious area in Aruba and 600m away from the beach paying this price per day is the best deal you will get. We always recommend guests to rent a car. Unless you want to stay at the pool or the beach. It is not our problem that you don’t want to rent a car but we told you from the moment you booked the room. A short walk for us is 600m. You could have booked another room beach front but you would have paid around $500 per night. - We don’t offer service. This is not a hotel. You rent an Airbnb room meaning you are responsible for your own food and you are responsible for taking the trash out of your room. We have traveled a lot and have never seen this in Airbnb room. So for next time I suggest you to stay in a hotel on the beach, with full service but you will Pay a lot of money. Written in our description is a small refrigerator. It is our decision if we would like to offer something in it. Water is delicious out of the tap so we didn’t decide to offer water bottles as a complementary but instead of water we offer Nespresso. The closest restaurant is around the corner, 800m so please stay on facts because that is where you got your dinner/breakfast. Regarding the water boiler, you are right. You can’t regulate that but we never had any issues before regarding this matter so we will look into this. We have had more than 70 reviews. The shower has a glass panel so yes there will be some water on the floor, but again never had any issues before with any other guests. We will look into this matter. Internet is usually very fast but the provider had some issues which we couldn’t resolve. You didn’t mention anything to us so we couldn’t solve this matter. For the next time when you rent a room, I would suggest you to talk with the owners if you have an issue so they can respond to that instead of writing a review like this afterwards. In the advertisement you read it’s a shared space outside so you knew before that you might see some other people. Your entrance has a sliding door with a curtain. We never had any issues with this matter neither. Check in time and check out time are written in our policies on booking website. Obviously you didn’t read anything we sent you including the guidebook, otherwise you have known this and you could have cancelled your reservation. Sometimes people request a late check out and we approve but only if we don’t have another booking. You asked for a check out at 12 noon, and I told you 11 am, so I made an exception, but you forget to mention that in the review. If you would have read the guidebook and policies on booking you knew even before the booking only cash payments and I explained why. Conclusion, 95% of your negativity wouldn’t have been an issue if you read the policies before you booked our room. The moment you booked our room you got our guidebook, and could have read it so you would have noticed the same policies and you could have cancelled your reservation. Thank you for your stay and I hope Aruba treated you well 🤗 Lars and Sheryl
Hi Vanius, Thank you for your reply and I would love to reply on that regarding all points you made. 1) Location: The location is visible on booking.con and I even sent you the location by WhatsApp. This is Malmok, the most luxurious area … Show more
Reviewed: 8 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewIt was really peaceful and quiet
Thank you Hanny! We are happy you enjoyed your stay! Regards, Lars & Sheryl
Reviewed: 24 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewThe location was close to beaches and restaurants. The pool was very clean and refreshing. The property was beautiful and in a very quiet area of town.
The only downside was not having options for grilling or cooking meals on site besides a microwave in room.
Hi Greg, Thank you for your review! We are happy you both enjoyed your stay with us. I understand the part of having no grill around or a kitchen but that is a choice we made, but thank you for the feedback. Hope you had a safe flight back home. You are always welcome here. Regards from the sunny island
Hi Greg, Thank you for your review! We are happy you both enjoyed your stay with us. I understand the part of having no grill around or a kitchen but that is a choice we made, but thank you for the feedback. Hope you had a safe flight back… Show more
Reviewed: 11 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewSheryl and Lars are very nice locals and they provide chairs, towels and snorkel gear to enjoy the beaches. The location is superb, close to the beautiful Tres Trapi and Boca Catalina. The bathroom is great with extra towels and dryer. The room comes with coffee machine, microwave, plates and cups which is nice for simple meals. The pool is refreshing with a nice garden area as well.
The owners have a gym business and there's a lot of people coming in and out using the garden area for workout, so there's not a lot of privacy.
Hi Laise, Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that your stay was good and actually you are right, an affordable stay in the luxurious area of Malmok close to the beach. Actually we don’t have a gym, but we are personal trainers meaning that so now and then we have a client in our backyard whom we train. Not more than 4 clients a day, usually 2 in the morning and 2 in the afternoon. We have a cold plunge on the side of the house which is private, which your husband used as well, so usually in the weekend we have some people coming over to dip in the plunge. We always offer our guests a free cold plunge as well. In our add is stated that the common area is our backyard, meaning that sometimes it is shared by other people. The pool is private and the outdoor seating area as well but like mentioned before we use our backyard a few times a day for a training. Unfortunately you didn’t read that before booking but we never had any issues before. Regards Lars & Sheryl
Hi Laise, Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that your stay was good and actually you are right, an affordable stay in the luxurious area of Malmok close to the beach. Actually we don’t have a gym, but we are personal trainers meani… Show more
Reviewed: 18 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewthe beds where very nice electric beds, the host were very friendly and welcoming. Many utilities to use.
It didnt have any regular sized cups which was a bit annoying but apart of that the rest was perfect.
Hi Jasmine, Thank you for your guest review. We have two small espresso cups, two large mugs for coffee and two glasses for two persons which we provide in our room. I am sorry you couldn’t find the right size cup in our room. But we are happy with your stay
Hi Jasmine, Thank you for your guest review. We have two small espresso cups, two large mugs for coffee and two glasses for two persons which we provide in our room. I am sorry you couldn’t find the right size cup in our room. But we are ha… Show more
Reviewed: 2 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewBeatiful property, very relaxing, the patio area has everything you'd need or want. The bathroom and shower are very nice.
There's nothing really bad to say. The AC might be slightly loud if you're an extremely light sleeper. But I don't think it would bother anyone.
Hi Silva, Thank you for your review. Regarding the AC, you will get used to it. I don’t even hear it anymore. Have a great weekend! Regards Lars and Sheryl
Reviewed: 11 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewIt was very clean , perfect location and really nice hosts . I’ve felt really safe !! 😊
Hi Paulina, Thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Sunny regards Lars & Sheryl
Reviewed: 30 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewHi Danielle, Thank you for your review and hopefully see you soon again. Sunny Regards
Reviewed: 28 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewSuperb accommodation. Lars and Sheryl are just two of the nicest people you can meet. The room itself is large and comfortable, bed is incredible. Bathroom is stunning. Pool area is great, beach a short walk away. A bus stop is at the end of the road and takes you into Palm Beach, or you can walk along the boardwalk if feeling active. Irish is also worth a mention... Sweetheart of a dog (who likes a slice of ham for a treat). For a relaxing stay it's perfect
Not a single complaint... Perfect
Thank you so much for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay at Lama y Solo
Reviewed: 20 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewEverything was great. Absolute hidden gem. Prime location. The pictures don't do justice compared to the actual view.
Hi Shaquille, Thank you for your review. Happy you and your gf enjoyed the stay. Always welcome
Reviewed: 19 April 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewThe room was very comfortable & the outdoor living space was very relaxing. The hosts provided a few extras to make your stay more enjoyable; like snorkel gear & beach chairs. We did not get a chance to use them but it was nice to see that they were there for our use. The beach is in walking distance, I was just with my mother who can not walk that far due to back issues. Also with in a short drive you can find quite a few places to eat, we even found a wonderful Pastry shop serving coffee too! Or you could just walk to the end of the street and in a private community they have a very nice restaurant. It overlooks the pool area, so there is a view. Our lunch was tasty as well as reasonably priced, plus there was a lunch Happy Hour! If you have ever been to Aruba before, you'll know reasonably priced is a good find! Location wise, it literally is right near the entrance to Teirra Del Sol.
The owners were away during our stay, so we were a little caught offguard when a few other people stopped by the house to use their outdoor 'cold tub'. The property owners have a Fitness Business so we just assumed they were clients of theirs. Just felt a bit intrusive since we did not expect anyone to be there & so we did not feel comfortable to lay by the pool or use it that day. BUT it really was a small issue & would not prevent us from a return stay.
Hi Carla, Thank you for your reply. We understand that we caught you off guard. Recently we opened the cold plunge and made sure it is on our back patio covered with plants so guests don’t feel uncomfortable. As of this week we are building an outdoor shower so those guests who use our cold plunge don’t need to be around the swimming pool area. Thank you for your feedback and always welcome to come back🙌 Sunny regards Sheryl and Lars
Hi Carla, Thank you for your reply. We understand that we caught you off guard. Recently we opened the cold plunge and made sure it is on our back patio covered with plants so guests don’t feel uncomfortable. As of this week we are buildin… Show more
Reviewed: 14 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewNear Boca Catalina Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in Aruba, the bathroom is beautiful, the bed is most comfortable, big TV, the pool is clean and beautiful, everything is fantastic, the place is near of bus station, I used the bus for everything in Aruba. I used the bus for Baby Beach ( until San Nicolas ), Arashi, divi, eagle, and Palm Beach, you got to walk to Boca Catalina
Hi Rodrigo, Thank you for your review and we are happy you and your wife enjoyed your stay at our place. Always welcome to come back again. Regards Sheryl and Lars
Reviewed: 24 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewWe loved everything!!
Hi Jacqueline, Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our place and you are always welcome to come back. Sunny regards Lars and Sheryl
Reviewed: 8 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified review