6.4

Reviews of Darwin Hostel 4 stars

88 Mitchell Street, Darwin CBD, 0800 Darwin, Australia

  • 7.0 Good
    Laura

    Reviewed: 8 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review
  • Achille

    Reviewed: 4 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Nice staff and peoples around, the spaces are ok, location is good. Really relax dont have much expectations and ull meet cool peoples and have a good time. Projector, game, the park next door and the bottle shop at 30meter.

    Be ready for a rainy season the place gets wet like every the wall outside the rooms etc. Also make to keep your stuff safe there is definitely a local issue lets say, NO RECEPTION, important know so do things with zen around here.

  • Hector

    Reviewed: 23 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    This review has been hidden because it doesn't meet our guidelines.

  • See the property
  • Jennifer

    Reviewed: 10 November 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    Didn't answer calls to get access to the facility! Sent message in booking they didn't answer. Needed to book another accommodation and didn't get my money back! YHA is so much better recommended and it the same price for better standards!

    Can't contact them. Impossible to get a hold of

    Property response:

    Hi, you are full of S and a liar You were emailed at 10am the day of your checkin No news - no phone calls - no emails until 7am the day after , to which you emailed us “ First booked the wrong hostel. Then I couldn't check in, didn't see messages they Sent on booking! That you should send a picture of your passport. When I got there at 19.00, it says on the door that you should call. But they didn't answer, so had to arrange another accommodation for the night. So would like a refund!” You are a disgraceful person and I wish you the worse Maybe sort out your life instead of blaming anyone for your failures CU in the NT

    Hi, you are full of S and a liar You were emailed at 10am the day of your checkin No news - no phone calls - no emails until 7am the day after , to which you emailed us “ First booked the wrong hostel. Then I couldn't check in, didn't … Show more

    Darwin Hostel
    13 November 2024
  • 7.0 Good
    Christophe

    Reviewed: 9 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review
  • Epeli

    Reviewed: 8 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    It's simple and affordable.

    Location and set-up.

  • See the property
  • Gina

    Reviewed: 30 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review
  • Még

    Reviewed: 29 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    Nice & cosy place. Really clean with an outside space spacious with big tables & several efficient & really good fridges ! Security camera working 24/7 in the kitchen .

    There's no cover space outside. Almost no shade. All the chilling area (couch, seats, tables, chairs...) aren't covered. Same for the pool. Only one fan for the whole backpack. No pressure in the showers. No pressure in the hot water kitchen sink. All the sunbath, the oven, the pans are in a terrible state.... + indigenous come regularly in the backpack at night (3times this month)

    Property response:

    Hi, thanks for your review I agree. We had to destroy the front building which is impacting all the investment we can make. Hopefully we can get back on track asap with a new building Crime is impacting the whole NT and we have been doing well this year except this month thats right. New fence is helping a lot and we fixed most places where intruders came from. Nothing since you left. But thats right it happened 3 times on october - 0 times the previous 6 months (before we were closed, reopened in April) We will close soon for renovations and hopefully we can fix all the issues you mentioned All the best

    Hi, thanks for your review I agree. We had to destroy the front building which is impacting all the investment we can make. Hopefully we can get back on track asap with a new building Crime is impacting the whole NT and we have been doing… Show more

    Darwin Hostel
    29 October 2024
  • Bronwyn

    Reviewed: 20 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    The pool and location are nice

    A little expensive for how small and minimal room for bags.

  • See the property
  • 7.0 Good
    Audrey

    Reviewed: 18 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    If you want to have a place where you can

  • Hannah

    Reviewed: 17 October 2024 · Stayed in July 2024

    Verified review
  • Peris

    Reviewed: 16 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Mccready

    Reviewed: 14 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review
  • Eduardo

    Reviewed: 10 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    Good rooms.

    My sneakers were stolen.

  • Yuima

    Reviewed: 8 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Ziqi

    Reviewed: 4 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review
  • Demitrice

    Reviewed: 30 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review

    Nothing my reservation was cancelled

    I didn’t stay because it was cancelled!!!

  • Valeria

    Reviewed: 26 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Luke

    Reviewed: 19 September 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review
  • Austin

    Reviewed: 17 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review

    Nice relaxing atmosphere

    The mattress was horribly uncomfortable

  • Amy

    Reviewed: 12 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review

    Aircon

    Lot of drug use. Needle under the bed. Very unsafe. Kitchen horrible. People jumping off roof and loud all night.

  • See the property
  • Wunungmurra

    Reviewed: 11 September 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review

    Haven't had any chance to meet the expectations 😕 it was disrupted by my families.

    No comments

  • George

    Reviewed: 8 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review
  • Julie

    Reviewed: 26 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review

    We were both disgusted at the ageism we were confronted with. It is against the law and we will be making a formal complaint to the ACCC and the Federal Minister. Hence we did not stay in the property as we felt unwelcome.

    Property response:

    “ Ageism “ : expired angry bitter boomer who despite clear written indications and policies, decides to book a youth hostel, never step into it, and yet dare slander the property - push their frustration on the new generation because the end is near. Book the cheapest youth hostel in town despite being fully loaded after a life of profusion “ So Karen if you could please complain to Vegan restaurant about their lack of meat, about Ladies night because they get free entry and I don’t, and ask government to do something about tall people in concerts as it’s not fair for short people Instead of saying you were wrong and ask for a refund that you would have had without any issues, you prefered to slander us Therefore No refund + fees for wasting my time

    “ Ageism “ : expired angry bitter boomer who despite clear written indications and policies, decides to book a youth hostel, never step into it, and yet dare slander the property - push their frustration on the new generation because the en… Show more

    Darwin Hostel
    27 August 2024
  • See the property
  • Leila

    Reviewed: 26 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review

    Nice pool, friendly travellers there with me, funky setup - felt like a campsite. A/c was good to have in the room, self checkin worked for me. Cleanliness in room was alright. Being able to leave luggage for the day was cool, though was outdoors without any protection or anyone looking after it.

    Apparently at least the week I was there it was common (maybe just a mishap this particular week) that rooms were overbooked so a few of us were asked to change location or sleep in a mixed dorm rather than women's dorm. I ended up in my room that I'd booked but that was a bit stressful as we were out and away during the day and when I thought I'd come for my room, things had changed. I didn't love that the kitchen smelled really poorly, I assume it might have been the bins. That might have been other travellers' doing but that was foul. Bathroom tap kept running, wasting precious water, one of the toilets kept the light on 24/7 as switch was broken, wasting precious energy. Shower was passable, not a heap of water coming out but hot and cold - almost outdoor showers as doors for showers and toilets were open at bottom and top like public toilets, right next to pool. Was okay, again felt like camping. Nowhere to leave valuables, no staff to see and talk to, wouldn't pick up the phone for a call but messaged back after a while. Pool chairs and sofas had seen better years, very well-used. I found it a bit pricey considering no staff were present at any time (except for changing sheets). Other travellers had used up all cupboard and floor space, so had to sleep with my luggage in bed.

  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...