Reviews of Darwin Hostel 4 stars
88 Mitchell Street, Darwin CBD, 0800 Darwin, Australia

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 8 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewNice staff and peoples around, the spaces are ok, location is good. Really relax dont have much expectations and ull meet cool peoples and have a good time. Projector, game, the park next door and the bottle shop at 30meter.
Be ready for a rainy season the place gets wet like every the wall outside the rooms etc. Also make to keep your stuff safe there is definitely a local issue lets say, NO RECEPTION, important know so do things with zen around here.
Reviewed: 23 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewThis review has been hidden because it doesn't meet our guidelines.
Reviewed: 10 November 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewDidn't answer calls to get access to the facility! Sent message in booking they didn't answer. Needed to book another accommodation and didn't get my money back! YHA is so much better recommended and it the same price for better standards!
Can't contact them. Impossible to get a hold of
Hi, you are full of S and a liar You were emailed at 10am the day of your checkin No news - no phone calls - no emails until 7am the day after , to which you emailed us “ First booked the wrong hostel. Then I couldn't check in, didn't see messages they Sent on booking! That you should send a picture of your passport. When I got there at 19.00, it says on the door that you should call. But they didn't answer, so had to arrange another accommodation for the night. So would like a refund!” You are a disgraceful person and I wish you the worse Maybe sort out your life instead of blaming anyone for your failures CU in the NT
Hi, you are full of S and a liar You were emailed at 10am the day of your checkin No news - no phone calls - no emails until 7am the day after , to which you emailed us “ First booked the wrong hostel. Then I couldn't check in, didn't … Show more
Reviewed: 9 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 8 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewIt's simple and affordable.
Location and set-up.
Reviewed: 30 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 29 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewNice & cosy place. Really clean with an outside space spacious with big tables & several efficient & really good fridges ! Security camera working 24/7 in the kitchen .
There's no cover space outside. Almost no shade. All the chilling area (couch, seats, tables, chairs...) aren't covered. Same for the pool. Only one fan for the whole backpack. No pressure in the showers. No pressure in the hot water kitchen sink. All the sunbath, the oven, the pans are in a terrible state.... + indigenous come regularly in the backpack at night (3times this month)
Hi, thanks for your review I agree. We had to destroy the front building which is impacting all the investment we can make. Hopefully we can get back on track asap with a new building Crime is impacting the whole NT and we have been doing well this year except this month thats right. New fence is helping a lot and we fixed most places where intruders came from. Nothing since you left. But thats right it happened 3 times on october - 0 times the previous 6 months (before we were closed, reopened in April) We will close soon for renovations and hopefully we can fix all the issues you mentioned All the best
Hi, thanks for your review I agree. We had to destroy the front building which is impacting all the investment we can make. Hopefully we can get back on track asap with a new building Crime is impacting the whole NT and we have been doing… Show more
Reviewed: 20 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewThe pool and location are nice
A little expensive for how small and minimal room for bags.
Reviewed: 18 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewIf you want to have a place where you can
Reviewed: 17 October 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 16 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 10 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewGood rooms.
My sneakers were stolen.
Reviewed: 8 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 30 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewNothing my reservation was cancelled
I didn’t stay because it was cancelled!!!
Reviewed: 26 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 19 September 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewNice relaxing atmosphere
The mattress was horribly uncomfortable
Reviewed: 12 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewAircon
Lot of drug use. Needle under the bed. Very unsafe. Kitchen horrible. People jumping off roof and loud all night.
Reviewed: 11 September 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewHaven't had any chance to meet the expectations 😕 it was disrupted by my families.
No comments
Reviewed: 8 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewWe were both disgusted at the ageism we were confronted with. It is against the law and we will be making a formal complaint to the ACCC and the Federal Minister. Hence we did not stay in the property as we felt unwelcome.
“ Ageism “ : expired angry bitter boomer who despite clear written indications and policies, decides to book a youth hostel, never step into it, and yet dare slander the property - push their frustration on the new generation because the end is near. Book the cheapest youth hostel in town despite being fully loaded after a life of profusion “ So Karen if you could please complain to Vegan restaurant about their lack of meat, about Ladies night because they get free entry and I don’t, and ask government to do something about tall people in concerts as it’s not fair for short people Instead of saying you were wrong and ask for a refund that you would have had without any issues, you prefered to slander us Therefore No refund + fees for wasting my time
“ Ageism “ : expired angry bitter boomer who despite clear written indications and policies, decides to book a youth hostel, never step into it, and yet dare slander the property - push their frustration on the new generation because the en… Show more
Reviewed: 26 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewNice pool, friendly travellers there with me, funky setup - felt like a campsite. A/c was good to have in the room, self checkin worked for me. Cleanliness in room was alright. Being able to leave luggage for the day was cool, though was outdoors without any protection or anyone looking after it.
Apparently at least the week I was there it was common (maybe just a mishap this particular week) that rooms were overbooked so a few of us were asked to change location or sleep in a mixed dorm rather than women's dorm. I ended up in my room that I'd booked but that was a bit stressful as we were out and away during the day and when I thought I'd come for my room, things had changed. I didn't love that the kitchen smelled really poorly, I assume it might have been the bins. That might have been other travellers' doing but that was foul. Bathroom tap kept running, wasting precious water, one of the toilets kept the light on 24/7 as switch was broken, wasting precious energy. Shower was passable, not a heap of water coming out but hot and cold - almost outdoor showers as doors for showers and toilets were open at bottom and top like public toilets, right next to pool. Was okay, again felt like camping. Nowhere to leave valuables, no staff to see and talk to, wouldn't pick up the phone for a call but messaged back after a while. Pool chairs and sofas had seen better years, very well-used. I found it a bit pricey considering no staff were present at any time (except for changing sheets). Other travellers had used up all cupboard and floor space, so had to sleep with my luggage in bed.