Reviews of YHA Cairns Central 4 stars
20-26 Mcleod Street, 4870 Cairns, Australia

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Bologna, Italy
Benidorm, Spain
Paignton, United Kingdom
Mykolaiv, Ukraine
Montalcino, Italy
Banská Bystrica, Slovakia
Santa Marta, Colombia
Senec, Slovakia
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewRooms good size and personal lockers .needed to spend an hour round shopping centre to find padlock it said on your site you have them and from a previous review. Comfy bed with light nice touch nice cotton sheets warm duvet. Extractor fan not working in bathroom so room mega hot .bathroom window open all the time other room mates left aircon on 24/7 .. Please ...Just fix extractor . Manager Discriminated a guest There was a male guest who came in later at night around 10 as per his booking. Manager cancelled his booking and refused to give him.a refund to find another hostel as they thought he was disabled !!! He Requested he just struggled to get into top bunks on an earlier email in the morning it was confirmed by the manager that it would be ok and would allocate lower bunk .police were called as YHA manager on duty in the eve made him homeless . He was walking and certainly had no clear disabilities very intelligent wasn't in wheelchair or anything he just requested lower bunk he was 6.5ft tall and he was assured by manager earlier in the day that was fine .There were also vacant dble room was rejected that as well. I met him outside and he told me everything . said the YHA had called the police and they told him to wait outside and locked him out. disgusting that the staff member treated him in that way i had spare bed in my room on the lower level i'm sure my room mates would have not minded .Cairns is very dodgy place after dark for many reasons . There Police were calm took 35 mins to arrive I stayed with this guy till then But if YHA discriminate like that i dont want to recommend this organisation . Other guests were aware again will lose repeat custom. I've stayed with YHA since 1998 I am an uber driver in Brisbane i get you guys lot of business ..this member of staff needs retraining on discrimination YHA could be shut down for that .I hope the guy got a refund and a room. Not much more to say
Read above
Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewVery clean. Staff very friendly
Dear Rana, Thank you for your lovely feedback! We’re delighted you enjoyed the cleanliness and friendliness of our team. We’d be happy to welcome you back anytime. Sincerely, Vee YHA Cairns Central
Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewI was in a 4-bed female dorm with ensuite bathroom and it was great. As you'd expect for a hostel but it was in a perfect location (right outside Cairns Central shopping centre) and only a 15 minute walk to the Lagoon and marina for day trips.
The room was a little bit noisy due to the construction work on another property, and the kitchen got incredibly busy, but that's what you get in a hostel!
Thank you for sharing your experience! We’re glad you enjoyed the ensuite dorm and our convenient location. We regret to learn that nearby construction disrupted your sleep. Unfortunately, this is out of our control, however, we are confident the work will be completed soon. As for the kitchen, it does tend to get busiest around meal times, but coming a bit earlier or later usually makes cooking easier. We appreciate your understanding and hope to welcome you back for another stay! Sincerely, Vee YHA Cairns Central
Thank you for sharing your experience! We’re glad you enjoyed the ensuite dorm and our convenient location. We regret to learn that nearby construction disrupted your sleep. Unfortunately, this is out of our control, however, we are confi… Show more
Reviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe swimming-pool and the kitchen were really nice.
The room was too small but the rest really good.
Dear Yuna, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our lovely pool. We hope to see you again very soon, and when you do come back, maybe we can get you booked into one of our larger rooms. Sincerely, Joe YHA Cairns Central
Dear Yuna, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our lovely pool. We hope to see you again very soon, and when you do come back, maybe we can get you booked into one of our larger rooms. S… Show more
Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewWe booked a queen ensuite room, and it was away from the communal areas in a quieter wing which was nice. Bedroom was clean and comfortable bed. Staff were friendly and helpful with check-in. Location was great within walking distance of everything you need in cairns so you don’t need a car
The cleanliness of the kitchen, all down to other guests not doing their dishes at all! That is quite rare for hostels, you do get a few dishes left here and there but here people were just not even cleaning after themselves which is sad.. the kitchen was cleaned thoroughly in mornings though. Other downside in our room was the fan turning itself on in the bathroom all the time, and the toilet cistern was constantly refilling too which was noisy. Needs maintenance
Dear Leonore, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had so many great things to say. As for your feedback on the kitchen, while yes, it can be hard to keep up with all guests, we do provide kitchen cleaning 5 times a day. As for your thoughts on the bathroom fan, they are connected to motion sensors, which is why it is turning on. We have had someone look into the toilet, and you will be happy to hear that it has been replaced. We hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Joe YHA Cairns Central
Dear Leonore, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had so many great things to say. As for your feedback on the kitchen, while yes, it can be hard to keep up with all guests, we do provide… Show more
Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 20 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 20 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewAn incredible experience in middle of the jungle
Dear Victory, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We can see what you mean by jungle, with all the beautiful plants we have around the property. We hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Joe Yha Cairns Central
Dear Victory, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We can see what you mean by jungle, with all the beautiful plants we have around the property. We hope to see you again very soon. Sincerel… Show more
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe manager was fantastic. Super friendly and helpful.
Hi Chantal, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We’re delighted to hear you found our team friendly and helpful, it means a lot to us! We hope to welcome you back to Cairns Central YHA in the future. Warm regards, Gio, Management Team
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewIts a very good value for money stay in Cairns , major shopping center opposite , very easy walk to shops and restaurants . Its got all the amenities you need and its very well maintained .
Every thing was good
Hi Michael, Thank you for your kind words. We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and amenities convenient. It’s wonderful to know everything met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to Cairns Central YHA again soon! Warm regards, Gio, Management Team
Hi Michael, Thank you for your kind words. We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and amenities convenient. It’s wonderful to know everything met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to Cai… Show more
Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewBreakfast was good
1. Slow WiFi 2. Not enough towel provided 3. PowerPoints insufficient
Hi John, Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall experience and our breakfast offering. Regarding the Wi-Fi, we provide two different networks: a basic one and a faster app-only one that can be accessed by setting up an account with the same email used at check-in, our reception team can always help with this. For towels, while they are only placed in private rooms initially, all guests are welcome to request fresh ones for free at reception as often as needed. And as for your last comment, while there may not be a socket directly beside every bed, extension leads are also available at reception upon request. Our friendly staff are always happy to assist with any questions and provide help at any time. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Gio, Management Team
Hi John, Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall experience and our breakfast offering. Regarding the Wi-Fi, we provide two different networks: a basic one and a faster app-only one that can be accessed… Show more
Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewI arrived unexpectedly, had to take a dorm and the whole experience was much better than I expected. Respectful people, and helpful staff. Even provided me with a padlock for my own bag cupboard. Central but quiet area in the town.
Dear David, Thank you for your kind words! We’re glad your stay exceeded expectations and that our team could help make your visit comfortable and secure. We hope to welcome you again soon, perhaps for another impromptu visit to Cairns! Sincerely, Vee
Dear David, Thank you for your kind words! We’re glad your stay exceeded expectations and that our team could help make your visit comfortable and secure. We hope to welcome you again soon, perhaps for another impromptu visit to Cairns!… Show more
Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat location, kind staff, clean shared amenities. Shared kitchen is massive & well-equipped. It was exactly what we expected and just as pictured. Suited us perfectly being at the end of our trip when the funds were low lol.
Dear Ketumi, Thank you for your fantastic review! We’re thrilled to hear our location, friendly team, and clean shared facilities met your expectations. It’s great that the kitchen and overall setup suited your needs perfectly. We hope to welcome you back anytime. Sincerely, Vee
Dear Ketumi, Thank you for your fantastic review! We’re thrilled to hear our location, friendly team, and clean shared facilities met your expectations. It’s great that the kitchen and overall setup suited your needs perfectly. We hope… Show more
Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewClean, functional room and well-equipped common area with kitchen, outdoor seating, workspace and pool. Centrally located and very close to shopping mall and supermarkets. One of the more quiet hostels.
No power outlets, light or privacy at the beds. Showers and washbasins chronically wet and overflowing. AC struggling to stay on top of tropical humid climate.
Hi Birgit, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re glad to hear you found the room clean, the common areas well-equipped, and enjoyed our central location and peaceful atmosphere. We appreciate your comments regarding the beds, showers, and air conditioning. Our team is continuously looking at ways to improve comfort and functionality for our guests, and your feedback is very helpful in guiding these improvements. We hope to welcome you back to Cairns Central YHA in the future after our upcoming renovation. Gio, Management Team
Hi Birgit, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re glad to hear you found the room clean, the common areas well-equipped, and enjoyed our central location and peaceful atmosphere. We appreciate your comments regarding the beds, showers… Show more
Reviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe location was brilliant
Facilities need updating , only one washing machine and one dryer available to use between the whole hostel and doesn’t look like there’s a push/hurry to get the other machines fixed.
Hi Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed our central location. We understand your concerns regarding the laundry facilities and apologise for the inconvenience. We are aware of the issues and are looking into them. Please know we are planning a renovation in the near future, and we hope to welcome you back to Cairns Central YHA once these improvements have been made. Best regards, Gio, Management Team
Hi Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed our central location. We understand your concerns regarding the laundry facilities and apologise for the inconvenience. We are aware of the issues an… Show more
Reviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe whole place had a good vibe
Hi John, Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We’re glad you enjoyed the good vibe here at Cairns Central YHA and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Gio, Management Team
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified review