7.6

Reviews of Novotel Darwin CBD 4 stars

100 The Esplanade, Darwin CBD, 0800 Darwin, Australia

  • Ross

    Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Room as very good and beds comfortable despite dated fitout. Dined in the restaurant which served an excellent meal and overall staff were very friendly an helpful. Indoor foyer garden and landscaping is very restful and loved the display of indigenous art in different areas.

    Nil to report

  • Carolyn

    Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    All good

  • Dean

    Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • 7.0 Good
    Etienne

    Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Matthew

    Reviewed: 20 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Fff

    Staff members and cleaning

  • Danielle

    Reviewed: 20 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Good location and good room size

    Property is very dated. Lots of mouldy vents and open roof panels with wires hanging down. Carpets in room were stained and threadbare.

  • See the hotel
  • 3.0 Poor
    Drew

    Reviewed: 20 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Beecroft

    Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Angela

    Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The location was great

    The aircon was way too noisy. The room was way too cold when we arrived. There was a moldy smell in the room that perhaps was from the aircon as there was no visible sign of mold anywhere. We moved rooms fir the last night due to noisy aifcon. Much better and the second room did not smell of mold.

    Property response:

    Dear Angela, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, but we’re very sorry for the issues you experienced with the air conditioning and the initial room. Your comfort is very important to us, and we’re pleased that the second room met your expectations. Please be assured that we take your comments seriously, and we are reviewing our air conditioning systems to prevent similar issues in the future. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve the guest experience. Kind regards, Hendry

    Dear Angela, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, but we’re very sorry for the issues you experienced with the air conditioning and the initial room. Your comfort is very i… Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    21 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Vicki

    Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Location of the property was excellent as we were able to walk to most of the major tourist attractions such as crocosaurus cove and darwin waterfront which included the water park ,RFDS and underground tunnels. Shopping and entertainment areas were located in the street behind the hotel making for easy access. We particularly enjoyed the window seat located in our room which overlooked the esplanade. We didn't have the breakfast at the hotel but it seemed very popular with other guests at the hotel especially the outdoor dining area.

    Property response:

    Dear Vicki, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location and were able to easily explore Darwin’s attractions, shopping, and entertainment areas. It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed the window seat in your room overlooking the Esplanade! While you didn’t try our breakfast this stay, we hope you’ll have the chance to enjoy it on your next visit. We truly appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards, Hendry

    Dear Vicki, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location and were able to easily explore Darwin’s attractions, shopping, and entertainment areas. It’s wonderful to k… Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    21 August 2025
  • Andrew

    Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Decent hotel and you get what you pay for. Great staff and huge lunches!

    Room could do with an update

    Property response:

    Dear Andrew, Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased to hear you found value in your stay, enjoyed our staff’s service, and appreciated the generous lunches. We also appreciate your comment regarding the room update, please know we are undergoing renovations to refresh our facilities for an improved guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Darwin. Sincerely, Hendry

    Dear Andrew, Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased to hear you found value in your stay, enjoyed our staff’s service, and appreciated the generous lunches. We also appreciate your comment regarding the room update, please know we are… Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    18 August 2025
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Close to the shops and cafes

    Needs a bit of tlc

    Property response:

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed our location and found our team friendly and helpful. We appreciate your comment about the hotel needing some improvement, please know we are undergoing renovations to refresh our rooms and facilities for a better guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Hendry

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed our location and found our team friendly and helpful. We appreciate your comment about the hotel needing some improvement, please know we are undergoing renovations to refres… Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    18 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Mcgarvie

    Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Loved the bar areas. Great service at check in and when ordering food and drinks at the Bar.

    There was no ironing board in room. Had to use coffee table to iron dress. I know I could've contacted reception but didn't want to bother them.

    Property response:

    Dear McGarvie, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our bar areas and the service from our team. We apologise for the inconvenience regarding the ironing board. In future, our team would be more than happy to assist anytime to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hendry

    Dear McGarvie, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our bar areas and the service from our team. We apologise for the inconvenience regarding the ironing board. In future, our team would be more than ha… Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    15 August 2025
  • Helen

    Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    the staff were amazing, so friendly and very helpful, could not fault them at all,

    the pillows were not good at all, its time to replace all the pillows in the rooms, the bed was hard,

    Property response:

    Dear Helen, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our location and found our team friendly and helpful. We also appreciate your comments regarding the pillows and bed comfort. Your feedback has been shared with our management team as we continue to review and improve our guest rooms. We hope to welcome you back for an even more comfortable stay in the future. Sincerely, Hendry

    Dear Helen, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our location and found our team friendly and helpful. We also appreciate your comments regarding the pillows and bed comfort. Your feedback has been shar… Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    15 August 2025
  • Sarah

    Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The property is in a great location to walk to everything. The staff were nice. The room Was fairly clean.

    The rooms and facilities are VERY dated. The room service and reception phone were not answered, I had to go down stairs to order room service and then was charged a $5 delivery fee. Quite a few of the plates and glasses at breakfast were not cleaned properly and had old food or lipstick on them.

    Property response:

    Dear Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed our central location and found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. I sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced with the room facilities, room service phone, and breakfast cleanliness. These are not the standards we strive to uphold. Your comments have been shared with the relevant teams to ensure immediate improvements are made. Please be assured that we are currently undergoing renovations to refresh our rooms and facilities, and your feedback helps us focus on the areas that matter most to our guests. We appreciate your understanding and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience the improvements firsthand. Warm regards, Hendry

    Dear Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed our central location and found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. I sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced with the room fa… Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    11 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • William

    Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Staff were very good

    One day room was not made up or cleaned Room was noisy Very cold even without AC on

    Property response:

    Dear William, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad to hear you found our staff to be very good. I apologise that your room was not cleaned on one day during your stay. This unfortunately happened on a public holiday when our housekeeping services were limited. However, fresh towels were always available upon request, and we hope this helped during your stay. We also appreciate your feedback regarding noise and room temperature. We know how important a comfortable and quiet environment is, and we’re continually working on ways to enhance guest comfort. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back for a better experience next time. Warm regards, Hendry

    Dear William, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad to hear you found our staff to be very good. I apologise that your room was not cleaned on one day during your stay. This unfortunately happened on a public ho… Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    11 August 2025
  • 7.0 Good
    Denise

    Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Location

    Our room downgraded without notice or refund

    Property response:

    Dear Denise, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m truly sorry that we were unable to provide your original room. Unfortunately, we only discovered an unexpected issue on the day of your arrival, and our priority was to ensure you still had a comfortable stay. We explained the situation upon check-in and offered alternatives. While the view was different from your original booking, we ensured you stayed in the same category — a Junior Suite. As compensation, we provided complimentary breakfast for two for your entire stay, which was of greater value than the rate difference between the two rooms. This was mutually agreed upon in place of a refund. We truly appreciate your understanding and hope to welcome you back in the future for the full experience you had originally booked. Sincerely, Hendry

    Dear Denise, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m truly sorry that we were unable to provide your original room. Unfortunately, we only discovered an unexpected issue on the day of your arrival, and our priority was to… Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    11 August 2025
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Good position. Nice outdoor cafe area on corner. Staff nice but under-resourced.

    Nothing in the mini-bar apart from diet coke. Aircon noisy. Foyer smells dank. Phone in room didn't work (no dial tone). Bathroom leaked water everywhere when showering. Didn't eat there. No normal tea bags.

    Property response:

    Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and the terrace area, and we truly appreciate your kind words about our team. Our staff work hard to provide a welcoming experience, even when challenges arise. We sincerely regret the issues you encountered with your room, including the air conditioning, phone, minibar, and bathroom. Your comments have been shared with our relevant teams for immediate follow-up. We’re also in the process of upgrading our facilities to improve comfort and quality throughout the property. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us as we work toward providing a better experience for all our guests. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to experience the improvements. Sincerely, Hendry

    Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and the terrace area, and we truly appreciate your kind words about our team. Our staff work hard to provide a welco… Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    7 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Peter

    Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Great place, location and the staff were really helpful. The large open area in the middle of the resort for the bar and restaurant was a great place for a rest and beer or meal.

    Property response:

    Dear Peter, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our location, the spacious open area, and the relaxing atmosphere of our bar and restaurant. It’s also great to know our team made a positive impression, your kind words mean a lot to us. We truly appreciate your support and hope to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable stay. Warm regards, Hendry

    Dear Peter, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our location, the spacious open area, and the relaxing atmosphere of our bar and restaurant. It’s also great to know our team made a positive i… Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    7 August 2025
  • Colomba

    Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The service we had was exceptional

    Cleanliness

    Property response:

    Dear Colomba, Thank you so much for your kind words. We’re thrilled to hear that you received exceptional service and that cleanliness met your expectations. Your feedback means a lot to our team and motivates us to continue delivering great experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm regards, Hendry

    Dear Colomba, Thank you so much for your kind words. We’re thrilled to hear that you received exceptional service and that cleanliness met your expectations. Your feedback means a lot to our team and motivates us to continue delivering gr… Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    7 August 2025
  • Pulenuu

    Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    It faces the Ocean and close to what’s needed. If you enjoy the nightlife.

    Sola, she a rude manager. Complete Rubbish! But everyone else was amazing. Reception ladies re always helpful. Especially the one from Indonesia. The cleaner is also amazing. PNG 5th floor Queen.

    Property response:

    Dear Pulenuu, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed the beautiful ocean views, our convenient location, and the warm service provided by our reception and housekeeping teams. We’re sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay, especially regarding the upgrade fee miscommunication. Upon review, it appears there was an error where the upgrade fee was mistakenly mentioned as $100 instead of the correct amount of $90. We understand this may have caused some frustration, and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Our Assistant manager, Sola, responded to clarify the actual upgrade fee and to ensure that any incorrect information was promptly addressed. While we welcome all feedback and understand that issues can be upsetting, we kindly remind all guests to communicate respectfully, so we can work together toward a positive resolution. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future and provide a seamless experience. Warm regards, Hendry

    Dear Pulenuu, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed the beautiful ocean views, our convenient location, and the warm service provided by our reception and housekeeping teams. We’re sorry for … Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    7 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Lyn

    Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Nice location

    We had several emails about check in times prior to our arrival after the check in time . When we arrived the room was not ready for a further 2 hours. The trade off was a drink in the bar they thought. The reception staff were lovely but I am not so sure there is communication to the other services staff as we had and empty tea and coffee selection and no face washers supplied despite asking several times . I eventually found some one that looked new but we didn’t have any linen replaced until we left the next day and put our sign up . I’m still waiting for the tea and coffee. I’m glad we left when we did as the toilet paper was running low. The room was comfortably large enough and we had paid extra for harbour views but for the price, it was very tired looking hotel room in need of an overhaul. There was a charge on water in the room. Breakfast was not included and I’m glad we didn’t go back the second day as for $35 it was only just acceptable but the bacon was cold and it was quite a basic buffet. Barista coffee was an additional fee.

    Property response:

    Dear Lyn, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you found our reception staff lovely and appreciated the spaciousness of your room and the harbour views. At the same time, I sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you experienced, including the delay at check-in, the communication issues affecting tea and coffee supplies, housekeeping delays, and the condition of the room and breakfast offerings. Please know that your comments about service coordination and room amenities have been shared with the relevant departments for immediate attention and improvement. We are also actively undertaking renovations throughout the hotel to refresh our rooms and facilities, and your feedback will help guide these efforts. We truly value your feedback as it helps us improve our service and guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide a much-improved stay. Sincerely, Hendry

    Dear Lyn, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you found our reception staff lovely and appreciated the spaciousness of your room and the harbou… Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    7 August 2025
  • Lynda

    Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Richard

    Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Benn

    Reviewed: 29 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Great location. Friendly and helpful staff

    Hot water wasn’t very hot.

    Property response:

    Hi Benn, Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed the location, value, and the friendly service from our team. We do apologise that the hot water wasn’t as expected during your stay, we’ve shared this with our maintenance team to look into and resolve. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back for an even better stay next time. Sincerely, Hendry

    Hi Benn, Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed the location, value, and the friendly service from our team. We do apologise that the hot water wasn’t as expected during your stay, we’ve shared this with our maintenance team … Show more

    Novotel Darwin CBD
    1 August 2025
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Grand Hotel Menaggio

Menaggio, Italy

ibis Amman

Amman, Jordan

Residence Airone

Orbetello, Italy

The Otter Lodge

Ottertail, United States

Bambook Bamboo Guest House

Golden Sands, Bulgaria

Villa Yanik - Sapanca

Sapanca, Turkey

Apartments Antonia

Malinska, Croatia

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...