Reviews of A Beautiful villa in a prime location of Jolly
Jolly Harbour, Jolly Harbour, Antigua & Barbuda

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 8 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewMichelle was very helpful and arranged taxi plus took me the shops.
Reviewed: 4 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewI didn’t like the fact that the microwave was not working
Reviewed: 16 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewExcellent location. We visited a lot of the popular beaches in our 10 day stay in Antigua and, apart from a few secluded beaches that you can only get to by boat, then Jolly Beach was our favourite. This property is less than a 5 minute slow stroll to the beach. Every morning we had an early morning swim before breakfast and another swim before sunset. The jolly harbour area felt safe, the villa was spacious and had everything we needed. It was clean, the air conditioning worked well, the shower worked well and all in all represented excellent value for money.
Maybe a little dated inside but you get to realise that many of the properties in Antigua are quite basic. Even many of the more expensive resorts have basic accommodation (just look at CocoBay at the other end of the beach). Some mentioned the back door didn't lock. It does but we had to get Anthea to show us how. We had no problem with the handover and collection of deposit but can see how it may have inconvenienced others. Perhaps collecting this and returning it electronically would be better (rather than cash). Anthea was lovely and gave her details should we have had any problems during our stay (which we didn't). We found it a little difficult to find the property so recommend maybe some better directions after booking. Even just adding the Peninsular Drive bit would have helped.
Reviewed: 19 May 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 May 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewThe location was beautiful and the villa was okay but there was a few things that could have been better to make the stay more enjoyable. Very close to the beach only a 5min walk.
So, the villa was lovely but the host of the villa is very rude and money orientated. From our 1st encounter with her via messaging when initially booking her replies were quick but as soon as i paid the non refundable deposit of 50% she went quiet which was a bit concerning as we didn't fully known where we stood. However I managed to get her whatsapp from booking.com and communicated via that and she replied. She was rude and stated I shouldn't be messaging her private number however what else was I meant to do. We booked the holiday 1 year in advance to try save some money and when it came to around 3 weeks before the holiday she messaged us stating we'd need to pay more as the fees had changed, however I argued that we had already paid and contacted booking.com again, and they made sure she had to honour her contract. Once there as stated before the villa was lovely but it was now time to meet her representative in antigua and this was a nightmare. We was made to wait hours before she arrived so we went for a walk as we wanted to explore and enjoy our holiday and I was bombarded with messages about money and fees etc, like we was going to run away without paying, tut tut... honestly it felt so melodramatic. No matter we handled this the next day with a little bit of better communication from their side. whilst there they didn't have a cooker. It was a convectional microwave oven. So cooking was slow and to make matters worse the machine broke a few times and they kept our $200 deposit saying jt was our fault even though the machine was installed in 2013 and literally broke mid use. However we weren't going to argue i could already tell what ki d of person this lady was from the 1st interaction. Sorry for the long review but I thought I'd leave an honest one considering some of the stuff she said via messages to me. Anyways all in all.
Thank you for your feedback Ross. It was so very unfortunate that you chose to put metal in a microwave, you refused to pay the rest of the accomadation fee considering you were honoured the reduced rate and lastly you chose to not respect the boundaries of communication. There are always two sides and I am glad you gave yours. You were so rude to Anthea and we will not tolerate any form of disrespect toward our staff or our property.
Thank you for your feedback Ross. It was so very unfortunate that you chose to put metal in a microwave, you refused to pay the rest of the accomadation fee considering you were honoured the reduced rate and lastly you chose to not respect … Show more
Reviewed: 6 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewGreat location, very spacious, perfect for a self-catering break. View over the harbour is lovely. Anthea was there to greet us and went out of her way to get our deposit back to us a day early as she wasn’t able to meet on the final day, very helpful.
Various payments in different forms (accommodation fee, wifi fee, paypal transaction fee, deposit in cash). Would be great if everything was packaged together for simplicity.
Reviewed: 27 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023
Verified reviewGood location and Anthea cleaned the property very well.
Property needs refurbishment. We had to leave a $200 cash damage deposit and requested to pay for the internet if using. Dated appliances/ fixtures & fittings. It would have been nice to have at least some water left in the fridge, on arrival.
Thank you for your feedback Julia. All properties as do hotels ask for a security deposit as many things are damaged and broken and all our terms state about internet fee prior to your deposit being paid. I am sorry you think our villa is dated.
Thank you for your feedback Julia. All properties as do hotels ask for a security deposit as many things are damaged and broken and all our terms state about internet fee prior to your deposit being paid. I am sorry you think our villa is d… Show more
Reviewed: 22 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023
Verified reviewVery easy to find and collect the key and get settled. The property was clean when we arrived and everything was easy to find. Awesome location and the host was very quick to respond to any questions. The villa location is also perfect to be able to enjoy the balcony at anytime of the day as the sun is not directly on it; you can sit there and enjoy the view of the harbour and mountains; very lovely!
A bit complicated to have to arrange to meet with someone to give a 200$ cash deposit for damage and then to get it back before we left as the person taking care of the property is not always available. Could have better cooking utensils but was ok and had all the basics. There is a part in the Host message on the listing that says that Wifi is complimentary but there was a small fee added to the bill. The following is a Booking.com issue I believe and myself for not contacting the host before booking. I tried to book for 3 adults as there are 2 bedrooms but the site kept putting it back to 2, so I just booked it, should have contacted the host first. I was then charged quite a bit extra for the 3rd person which made the "value for the money" lower.
Reviewed: 9 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023
Verified reviewVilla is very spacious, is bigger than it looks in the pictures. Location is great - 5min walk to amazing beach and 10min walk to a supermarket. Nice restaurants within 15-20min walk.
Nothing, all excellent.
Reviewed: 18 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewJolly Harbour is a beautiful location and the apartment is situated at the heart of the area very near the beach and facilities. The apartment is of the highest standard being well equipped including a BBQ.
I could not fault anything.
Reviewed: 1 October 2023 · Stayed in September 2023
Verified reviewThis villa is fantastic! So close to beach and supermarket. Villa has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Host was very responsive, overall a great safe place to stay, especially for single females.
Reviewed: 26 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023
Verified reviewThe position of the property is perfect . 3 minute walk to the beech , 5 minute walk to the supermarket . Sandra’s bar was the best bar and value , great staff and food . Jolly harbour was the best place we found to stay on the whole island . We would recommend hiring a car . The photos do not do the property justice , it really is stunning . Anthea who manages the property is lovely and there to sort any problems . The internet is good and there is a smart tv but no tv channels , we took a fire stick which worked perfectly
Nothing to dislike
Reviewed: 27 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewThe location, the facilities, V spacious nicely appointed - so much to like
All was good
Reviewed: 5 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewThe location was very good, the beach was only two minute walk and we though it was the best beach we found in all Antigua.
We booked the property because it had two en-suites, when the shower in one started to leak (again) we were told not to use it and all share the other one. The remote owner told me that I was lucky to have two bathrooms as most only had one! I pointed out that I specially booked a property with two but that fact was ignored.
Thank you for you review Tim. Unfortunately yes the shower did leak which was unexpected and has never happened before, howeve most villas in Jolly harbour do only have one shower so it is a pleasure to have a villa that has two and a toilet downstairs one which was fully working. It was not ignored our maintenance person came in striaght away to fix this, however you ignored many calls and we will not disrespect any gusest to come in uninvited. It really is very unpleasant to read such lies within this review especially as you stayed the duration of your stay and at any point had the option to leave. Pleaae do note, Tim you were extremely negative to my workers and to the people working in Antigua. Antigua is still a 3rd world country in many ways, the privaledges that you have in other developed worlds will lack in Antigua. Your conduct on behalf of my villa staff was unacceptable. I thank you for your review, I would suggest if you want flawless accomadation to book via a hotel with 5* guarantee. If snything goes wrong you then have the option to move rooms. The shower is fully functioning now, both of them and my maintenance team is excellent.
Thank you for you review Tim. Unfortunately yes the shower did leak which was unexpected and has never happened before, howeve most villas in Jolly harbour do only have one shower so it is a pleasure to have a villa that has two and a toil… Show more
Reviewed: 30 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023
Verified reviewThe villa came with Wi-fi , towels, an iron , TV etc all the things you would need in your home It was clean and comfortable Anthea the person we met at the villa was very friendly and kind , she made sure she was available if needed
Reviewed: 15 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023
Verified reviewThis villa is absolutely stunning and the pictures really don’t give it the justice it deserves. The location was perfect really close to a gorgeous beach. The villa had everything you could possibly want. The collection of keys was real simple. The host and the property manager were so helpful and happy to answer any questions no matter of the time of day or night. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Can’t recommend it highly enough
Nothing!
Reviewed: 24 April 2023 · Stayed in April 2023
Verified reviewFabulous accommodation - much more spacious than the photos show - in an excellent location close to the amazing beach and all amenities. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and well equipped.
Chairs and a table on the upstairs balcony would be a perfect addition.
Reviewed: 17 February 2023 · Stayed in February 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 13 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023
Verified reviewExcellent location if you love boats which we do
nothing it had everything you need
Reviewed: 30 December 2022 · Stayed in December 2022
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 December 2022 · Stayed in November 2022
Verified reviewDo not rent this house to avoid extortion or blame for things you did not cause. The owner will then threaten you with her family in the Antigua and Barbuda government and she will make sure to ban you from entering the country for speaking the truth about her dirty and unsafe home. Stay away if you do not want to smell these smelly bed covers, dirty kitchen, and them big roaches.
Unsafe and all the doors were open.
This amazes, considering you sat with our reprsenattaive for over 2 hours talking and offering her drinks. Then you bought fish into the property, which is not a problem at all, but at least have the decency too say you cooked fish and left awful fish water all over the oven, causing a awful smell. The cleaner had to clean 4 times and we had another guest in straight after. Thank you for your comments, but we will NOT host you ever again. It is unfortunate as many villas have experienced the same comments with you.
This amazes, considering you sat with our reprsenattaive for over 2 hours talking and offering her drinks. Then you bought fish into the property, which is not a problem at all, but at least have the decency too say you cooked fish and lef… Show more
Reviewed: 22 December 2022 · Stayed in December 2022
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 November 2022 · Stayed in November 2022
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 November 2022 · Stayed in November 2022
Verified reviewGreat place, really clean and comftorble.