8.2

Reviews of A Beautiful villa in a prime location of Jolly

Jolly Harbour, Jolly Harbour, Antigua & Barbuda

  • Mike

    Reviewed: 8 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    Michelle was very helpful and arranged taxi plus took me the shops.

  • 7.0 Good
    Chris-mae

    Reviewed: 4 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    I didn’t like the fact that the microwave was not working

  • Matt

    Reviewed: 16 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024

    Verified review

    Excellent location. We visited a lot of the popular beaches in our 10 day stay in Antigua and, apart from a few secluded beaches that you can only get to by boat, then Jolly Beach was our favourite. This property is less than a 5 minute slow stroll to the beach. Every morning we had an early morning swim before breakfast and another swim before sunset. The jolly harbour area felt safe, the villa was spacious and had everything we needed. It was clean, the air conditioning worked well, the shower worked well and all in all represented excellent value for money.

    Maybe a little dated inside but you get to realise that many of the properties in Antigua are quite basic. Even many of the more expensive resorts have basic accommodation (just look at CocoBay at the other end of the beach). Some mentioned the back door didn't lock. It does but we had to get Anthea to show us how. We had no problem with the handover and collection of deposit but can see how it may have inconvenienced others. Perhaps collecting this and returning it electronically would be better (rather than cash). Anthea was lovely and gave her details should we have had any problems during our stay (which we didn't). We found it a little difficult to find the property so recommend maybe some better directions after booking. Even just adding the Peninsular Drive bit would have helped.

  • See the property
  • Simon

    Reviewed: 19 May 2024 · Stayed in February 2024

    Verified review
  • Ross

    Reviewed: 6 May 2024 · Stayed in April 2024

    Verified review

    The location was beautiful and the villa was okay but there was a few things that could have been better to make the stay more enjoyable. Very close to the beach only a 5min walk.

    So, the villa was lovely but the host of the villa is very rude and money orientated. From our 1st encounter with her via messaging when initially booking her replies were quick but as soon as i paid the non refundable deposit of 50% she went quiet which was a bit concerning as we didn't fully known where we stood. However I managed to get her whatsapp from booking.com and communicated via that and she replied. She was rude and stated I shouldn't be messaging her private number however what else was I meant to do. We booked the holiday 1 year in advance to try save some money and when it came to around 3 weeks before the holiday she messaged us stating we'd need to pay more as the fees had changed, however I argued that we had already paid and contacted booking.com again, and they made sure she had to honour her contract. Once there as stated before the villa was lovely but it was now time to meet her representative in antigua and this was a nightmare. We was made to wait hours before she arrived so we went for a walk as we wanted to explore and enjoy our holiday and I was bombarded with messages about money and fees etc, like we was going to run away without paying, tut tut... honestly it felt so melodramatic. No matter we handled this the next day with a little bit of better communication from their side. whilst there they didn't have a cooker. It was a convectional microwave oven. So cooking was slow and to make matters worse the machine broke a few times and they kept our $200 deposit saying jt was our fault even though the machine was installed in 2013 and literally broke mid use. However we weren't going to argue i could already tell what ki d of person this lady was from the 1st interaction. Sorry for the long review but I thought I'd leave an honest one considering some of the stuff she said via messages to me. Anyways all in all.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your feedback Ross. It was so very unfortunate that you chose to put metal in a microwave, you refused to pay the rest of the accomadation fee considering you were honoured the reduced rate and lastly you chose to not respect the boundaries of communication. There are always two sides and I am glad you gave yours. You were so rude to Anthea and we will not tolerate any form of disrespect toward our staff or our property.

    Thank you for your feedback Ross. It was so very unfortunate that you chose to put metal in a microwave, you refused to pay the rest of the accomadation fee considering you were honoured the reduced rate and lastly you chose to not respect … Show more

    A Beautiful villa in a prime location of Jolly
    6 May 2024
  • Michael

    Reviewed: 6 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    Great location, very spacious, perfect for a self-catering break. View over the harbour is lovely. Anthea was there to greet us and went out of her way to get our deposit back to us a day early as she wasn’t able to meet on the final day, very helpful.

    Various payments in different forms (accommodation fee, wifi fee, paypal transaction fee, deposit in cash). Would be great if everything was packaged together for simplicity.

  • See the property
  • Julia

    Reviewed: 27 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    Good location and Anthea cleaned the property very well.

    Property needs refurbishment. We had to leave a $200 cash damage deposit and requested to pay for the internet if using. Dated appliances/ fixtures & fittings. It would have been nice to have at least some water left in the fridge, on arrival.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your feedback Julia. All properties as do hotels ask for a security deposit as many things are damaged and broken and all our terms state about internet fee prior to your deposit being paid. I am sorry you think our villa is dated.

    Thank you for your feedback Julia. All properties as do hotels ask for a security deposit as many things are damaged and broken and all our terms state about internet fee prior to your deposit being paid. I am sorry you think our villa is d… Show more

    A Beautiful villa in a prime location of Jolly
    30 November 2023
  • Sylvie

    Reviewed: 22 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    Very easy to find and collect the key and get settled. The property was clean when we arrived and everything was easy to find. Awesome location and the host was very quick to respond to any questions. The villa location is also perfect to be able to enjoy the balcony at anytime of the day as the sun is not directly on it; you can sit there and enjoy the view of the harbour and mountains; very lovely!

    A bit complicated to have to arrange to meet with someone to give a 200$ cash deposit for damage and then to get it back before we left as the person taking care of the property is not always available. Could have better cooking utensils but was ok and had all the basics. There is a part in the Host message on the listing that says that Wifi is complimentary but there was a small fee added to the bill. The following is a Booking.com issue I believe and myself for not contacting the host before booking. I tried to book for 3 adults as there are 2 bedrooms but the site kept putting it back to 2, so I just booked it, should have contacted the host first. I was then charged quite a bit extra for the 3rd person which made the "value for the money" lower.

  • Martin

    Reviewed: 9 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    Villa is very spacious, is bigger than it looks in the pictures. Location is great - 5min walk to amazing beach and 10min walk to a supermarket. Nice restaurants within 15-20min walk.

    Nothing, all excellent.

  • See the property
  • Stuart

    Reviewed: 18 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review

    Jolly Harbour is a beautiful location and the apartment is situated at the heart of the area very near the beach and facilities. The apartment is of the highest standard being well equipped including a BBQ.

    I could not fault anything.

  • Cecilia

    Reviewed: 1 October 2023 · Stayed in September 2023

    Verified review

    This villa is fantastic! So close to beach and supermarket. Villa has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Host was very responsive, overall a great safe place to stay, especially for single females.

  • David

    Reviewed: 26 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023

    Verified review

    The position of the property is perfect . 3 minute walk to the beech , 5 minute walk to the supermarket . Sandra’s bar was the best bar and value , great staff and food . Jolly harbour was the best place we found to stay on the whole island . We would recommend hiring a car . The photos do not do the property justice , it really is stunning . Anthea who manages the property is lovely and there to sort any problems . The internet is good and there is a smart tv but no tv channels , we took a fire stick which worked perfectly

    Nothing to dislike

  • See the property
  • Richard

    Reviewed: 27 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023

    Verified review

    The location, the facilities, V spacious nicely appointed - so much to like

    All was good

  • Tim

    Reviewed: 5 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023

    Verified review

    The location was very good, the beach was only two minute walk and we though it was the best beach we found in all Antigua.

    We booked the property because it had two en-suites, when the shower in one started to leak (again) we were told not to use it and all share the other one. The remote owner told me that I was lucky to have two bathrooms as most only had one! I pointed out that I specially booked a property with two but that fact was ignored.

    Property response:

    Thank you for you review Tim. Unfortunately yes the shower did leak which was unexpected and has never happened before, howeve most villas in Jolly harbour do only have one shower so it is a pleasure to have a villa that has two and a toilet downstairs one which was fully working. It was not ignored our maintenance person came in striaght away to fix this, however you ignored many calls and we will not disrespect any gusest to come in uninvited. It really is very unpleasant to read such lies within this review especially as you stayed the duration of your stay and at any point had the option to leave. Pleaae do note, Tim you were extremely negative to my workers and to the people working in Antigua. Antigua is still a 3rd world country in many ways, the privaledges that you have in other developed worlds will lack in Antigua. Your conduct on behalf of my villa staff was unacceptable. I thank you for your review, I would suggest if you want flawless accomadation to book via a hotel with 5* guarantee. If snything goes wrong you then have the option to move rooms. The shower is fully functioning now, both of them and my maintenance team is excellent.

    Thank you for you review Tim. Unfortunately yes the shower did leak which was unexpected and has never happened before, howeve most villas in Jolly harbour do only have one shower so it is a pleasure to have a villa that has two and a toil… Show more

    A Beautiful villa in a prime location of Jolly
    7 August 2023
  • Applewhaite

    Reviewed: 30 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023

    Verified review

    The villa came with Wi-fi , towels, an iron , TV etc all the things you would need in your home It was clean and comfortable Anthea the person we met at the villa was very friendly and kind , she made sure she was available if needed

  • See the property
  • Michelle

    Reviewed: 15 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023

    Verified review

    This villa is absolutely stunning and the pictures really don’t give it the justice it deserves. The location was perfect really close to a gorgeous beach. The villa had everything you could possibly want. The collection of keys was real simple. The host and the property manager were so helpful and happy to answer any questions no matter of the time of day or night. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Can’t recommend it highly enough

    Nothing!

  • Lisa

    Reviewed: 24 April 2023 · Stayed in April 2023

    Verified review

    Fabulous accommodation - much more spacious than the photos show - in an excellent location close to the amazing beach and all amenities. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and well equipped.

    Chairs and a table on the upstairs balcony would be a perfect addition.

  • Pier

    Reviewed: 17 February 2023 · Stayed in February 2023

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Meryl

    Reviewed: 13 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023

    Verified review

    Excellent location if you love boats which we do

    nothing it had everything you need

  • Heart

    Reviewed: 30 December 2022 · Stayed in December 2022

    Verified review
  • F

    Reviewed: 27 December 2022 · Stayed in November 2022

    Verified review

    Do not rent this house to avoid extortion or blame for things you did not cause. The owner will then threaten you with her family in the Antigua and Barbuda government and she will make sure to ban you from entering the country for speaking the truth about her dirty and unsafe home. Stay away if you do not want to smell these smelly bed covers, dirty kitchen, and them big roaches.

    Unsafe and all the doors were open.

    Property response:

    This amazes, considering you sat with our reprsenattaive for over 2 hours talking and offering her drinks. Then you bought fish into the property, which is not a problem at all, but at least have the decency too say you cooked fish and left awful fish water all over the oven, causing a awful smell. The cleaner had to clean 4 times and we had another guest in straight after. Thank you for your comments, but we will NOT host you ever again. It is unfortunate as many villas have experienced the same comments with you.

    This amazes, considering you sat with our reprsenattaive for over 2 hours talking and offering her drinks. Then you bought fish into the property, which is not a problem at all, but at least have the decency too say you cooked fish and lef… Show more

    A Beautiful villa in a prime location of Jolly
    2 January 2023
  • See the property
  • Hayley

    Reviewed: 22 December 2022 · Stayed in December 2022

    Verified review
  • Tracy

    Reviewed: 24 November 2022 · Stayed in November 2022

    Verified review
  • Vedran

    Reviewed: 14 November 2022 · Stayed in November 2022

    Verified review

    Great place, really clean and comftorble.

  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...